DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 16-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 5-15 of USPN 12,244,719 (Appl. No: 18/815573). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. (see Claim-Comparison Table below for independent claim 16 of the instant application against Claim 10 of 12,244,719).
Claim
Application#19/034136
Claim
USPN # 12,244,719
16
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored thereon computer-executable instructions for causing a computer system, when programmed thereby, to perform operations comprising:
enrolling a user in a computer-implemented authentication platform, wherein the enrolling the user comprises establishing a user profile of the user, the enrolling further comprising:
receiving identity information of the user;
digitally encrypting the identity information of the user to provide digitally encrypted identity information;
storing the digitally encrypted identity information of the user in a blockchain as part of the user profile of the user;
generating, using the digitally encrypted identity information of the user, an identifier of the user; and
storing the identifier of the user in the blockchain as part of the user profile of the user; and
authenticating the user in the computer-implemented authentication platform, wherein the authenticating the user comprises:
receiving the identifier of the user;
retrieving the digitally encrypted identity information of the user from the blockchain, including using the identifier of the user to retrieve the digitally encrypted identity information of the user;
decrypting the digitally encrypted identity information of the user using a decryption token to provide decrypted identity information of the user; and
using the decrypted identity information of the user to authenticate the user.
10
One or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored thereon computer-executable instructions for causing a computer system, when programmed thereby, to perform operations comprising:
enrolling a user in a computer-implemented authentication platform, wherein the enrolling the user comprises establishing a user profile of the user, the enrolling further comprising:
receiving identity information of the user; digitally encrypting the identity information of the user to provide digitally encrypted identity information;
storing the digitally encrypted identity information of the user in a blockchain as part of the user profile of the user; generating, using the digitally encrypted identity information of the user, an identifier of the user; and
storing the identifier of the user in the blockchain as part of the user profile of the user; and
authenticating the user in the computer-implemented authentication platform, wherein the authenticating the user comprises:
receiving the identifier of the user; generating first authentication data; transmitting the first authentication data to a mobile device of the user;
receiving a first indication that the first authentication data has been provided to a verification agent computing device, the first indication including the first authentication data;
verifying that the first authentication data from the first indication matches the first authentication data generated and transmitted to the mobile device of the user;
in response to the verifying that the first indication matches the first authentication data, retrieving the digitally encrypted identity information of the user from the blockchain, including using the identifier of the user to retrieve the digitally encrypted identity information of the user;
decrypting the digitally encrypted identity information of the user using a decryption token to provide decrypted identity information of the user;
transmitting the decrypted identity information of the user to the verification agent computing device;
receiving input confirming that the decrypted identity information of the user matches identity information of a person in the presence of the verification agent; generating second authentication data; transmitting the second authentication data to the mobile device of the user; receiving a second indication that the second authentication data has been provided to the verification agent computing device, the second indication including the second authentication data; and
verifying that the second authentication data from the second indication matches the second authentication data generated and transmitted to the mobile device of the user.
Claims 17-35 of the instant application is equivalent in scope with Claims 1-2 and 5-15 of USPN 12,244,719.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 19, 23-24, 27 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ebrahimi US 2016/0330027.
As per claim 16, Ebrahimi teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having stored thereon computer-executable instructions for causing a computer system, when programmed thereby, to perform operations comprising: enrolling a user in a computer-implemented authentication platform, wherein the enrolling the user comprises establishing a user profile of the user, the enrolling further comprising: receiving identity information of the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0019], [0021], [0034], [0036], receive user identity information);
digitally encrypting the identity information of the user to provide digitally encrypted identity information (Ebrahimi paragraph [0024], [0039], hashing the information and signing the hash);
storing the digitally encrypted identity information of the user in a blockchain as part of the user profile of the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0025]-[0026], [0040]-[0041], storing the signed hash in a blockchain);
generating, using the digitally encrypted identity information of the user, an identifier of the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0042], generating and storing a transaction number for the stored data); and
storing the identifier of the user in the blockchain as part of the user profile of the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0025]-[0027], [0040]-[0042], generating and storing a transaction number for the stored data); and
authenticating the user in the computer-implemented authentication platform, wherein the authenticating the user comprises: receiving the identifier of the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0028], [0043]-[0044], receiving transaction number);
retrieving the digitally encrypted identity information of the user from the blockchain, including using the identifier of the user to retrieve the digitally encrypted identity information of the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0028], [0044], retrieving the stored signed hash using the transaction number);
decrypting the digitally encrypted identity information of the user using a decryption token to provide decrypted identity information of the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0044], [0046]-[0047], decrypt the signed hash and compare with the generated hash to authenticate the user); and
using the decrypted identity information of the user to authenticate the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0044], [0046]-[0047], decrypt the signed hash and compare with the generated hash to authenticate the user).
As per claim 19, Ebrahimi teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the identity information is an image of the user (Ebrahimi paragraph [0019], [0021], [0034], [0036], photo of the user).
As per claim 23, Ebrahimi teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 16, wherein the using the decrypted identity information of the user to authenticate the user comprises: transmitting the decrypted identity information of the user to a verification agent computing device; and receiving input confirming that the decrypted identity information of the user matches identity information of a person in the presence of a verification agent (Ebrahimi paragraph [0046], receiving from verification logic that the hash values matches).
As per claims 24, 27 and 31-32, the claims claim a system and a method essentially corresponding to the non-transitory computer readable medium claims 16, 19 and 23 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebrahimi, in view of Seger, II et al. USPN 9,397,985 (hereinafter Seger).
As per claim 18, Ebrahimi teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 16.
Ebrahimi does not explicitly disclose wherein blockchain is permissioned blockchain.
Seger teaches wherein blockchain is permissioned blockchain (Seger col 5 lines 40-45, private distributed ledger).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ebrahimi of storing data in a blockchain with the teachings of Seger to include a private distributed ledger because the resulted would have been predictable and resulted in having a private blockchain and storing the data in a private blockchain.
As per claim 26, the claim claims a system essentially corresponding to the non-transitory computer readable medium claim 18 above, and is rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claims 20, 28 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebrahimi, in view of Phan et al. US 2015/0269570 (hereinafter Phan).
As per claim 20, Ebrahimi teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 16.
Ebrahimi does not explicitly disclose wherein authenticating user further comprises: requesting decryption token from an encryption service; and receiving, from the encryption service, the decryption token.
Phan teaches wherein authenticating user further comprises: requesting decryption token from an encryption service; and receiving, from the encryption service, the decryption token (Phan paragraph [0024], [0054], requesting and receiving a public key for verifying signature).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the storing and retrieval of the public key of the invention of Ebrahimi with the teachings of Phan of storing and retrieving the public key from a separate public database because the results would have been predictable and resulted in storing and retrieving the public key from a separate public database for signature verification.
As per claims 28 and 34, the claims claim a system and a method essentially corresponding to the non-transitory computer readable medium claim 20 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Claims 21-22, 29-30 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebrahimi, in view of Headley US 2013/0047223.
As per claim 21, Ebrahimi teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 16.
Ebrahimi does not explicitly disclose wherein authenticating user further comprises: generating authentication data;
transmitting the authentication data to a mobile device of the user;
receiving an indication that the authentication data has been provided to a verification agent computing device; and
verifying that the indication matches the authentication data.
Headley teaches wherein authenticating user further comprises: generating authentication data (Headley paragraph [0033], generate otp);
transmitting the authentication data to a mobile device of the user (Headley paragraph [0033], send otp via SMS);
receiving an indication that the authentication data has been provided to a verification agent computing device (Headley paragraph [0034]-[0035], receive and compare otp); and
verifying that the indication matches the authentication data (Headley paragraph [0034]-[0035], receive and compare otp).
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Ebrahimi of authenticating a user based on stored data from a blockchain with the teachings of Headley to include OTP generation and verification in order to provide multifactor authentication of the user via OTP.
As per claim 22, Ebrahimi in view of Headley teaches the one or more computer-readable media of claim 21, wherein the authentication data is an authentication token (Headley paragraph [0033], otp).
As per claims 29-30 and 35, the claims claim a system and a method essentially corresponding to the non-transitory computer readable medium claims 21-22 above, and they are rejected, at least for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 25 and 33 would be allowable if a terminal disclaimer is timely filed to overcome the double patenting rejection(s), set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HENRY TSANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2495