DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 22 Jan 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-8, 11, 12, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavala et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0295989) in view of Benisty (Pub. No. US 2018/0321864).
Claim 1:
Kavala et al. disclose a method, comprising:
receiving, by a separate command address (SCA)-based memory controller, a plurality of commands [pars. 0113-0118 – Commands are received. (“The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”)];
converting the scheduled commands into SCA-based commands [pars. 0113-0118 – Commands are converted. (“The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”)];
selecting, from the scheduled SCA-based commands, one or more scheduled SCA-based commands for a sequence execution [pars. 0113-0118 – Commands are selected. (“The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”)]; and
executing, in sequence, the selected one or more SCA-based commands using one or more logical units (LUNs) of a channel in a memory component [pars. 0006-0007, 0044-0050, 0113-0119 – The commands are executed. Per the ONFI specification, a LUN is the minimum unit that can independently execute commands and report status. There are one or more LUNs per NAND Target. (“A nonvolatile memory package, a storage device including the same, and a method of operating the same may include an interface chip (or a buffer chip) having a bidirectional command address (CA) pin and a chip enable (CE) pin between different protocols (e.g. legacy protocol and new protocol; joint electron device engineering council (JEDEC) protocol and open NAND flash interface (ONFI) protocol), thereby improving protocol compatibility.” … “The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.” … “The buffer chip 1110 may communicate with other NAND flash memory chips 1120 connected to other channels.”)].
However, Kavala et al. do not specifically disclose,
scheduling, by the SCA-based memory controller, the plurality of commands using two or more data path scheduler (DPS) request queues;
In the same field of endeavor, Benisty discloses,
scheduling, by the SCA-based memory controller, the plurality of commands using two or more data path scheduler (DPS) request queues [fig. 4; par. 0069 – “In addition, command queuing 432 is configured to queue part or all of the fetched NVMe commands for further processing. Command scheduler 434 is configured to select the next pending command for further execution from command queuing 432. As shown in FIG. 4, there may be several queues from which to select from. Data path scheduler 438 is configured to schedule one or more types of data transfers. As one example, read data may arrive from different memory arrays in parallel. Data path scheduler 438 may arbitrate from amongst the different data transfers.”];
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kavala et al. to include command queueing, as taught by Benisty, in order to improve performance.
Claim 2 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Benisty discloses, wherein the scheduling of the plurality of commands further comprises:
scheduling a first command that is associated with a first operation using a first DPS request queue [pars. 0069-0071 – “As one example, read data may arrive from different memory arrays in parallel. Data path scheduler 438 may arbitrate from amongst the different data transfers.” … “NVMe may include support for parallel operation by supporting up to 65,535 I/O Queues with up to 64K outstanding commands per I/O Queue.”]; and
scheduling, in parallel, a second command that is associated with a second operation using a second DPS request queue, wherein the first operation is independent from the second operation [pars. 0069-0071 – “As one example, read data may arrive from different memory arrays in parallel. Data path scheduler 438 may arbitrate from amongst the different data transfers.” … “NVMe may include support for parallel operation by supporting up to 65,535 I/O Queues with up to 64K outstanding commands per I/O Queue.”].
Claim 5 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Benisty discloses the method, further comprising:
executing in sequence the selected one or more scheduled SCA-based commands via a plurality of NAND flash controller (NFC) queues [pars. 0069-0071 – “NVMe may include support for parallel operation by supporting up to 65,535 I/O Queues with up to 64K outstanding commands per I/O Queue.”].
Claim 6 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Benisty discloses, the method further comprising:
sending notification to a DPS, wherein the notification includes status of execution in the one or more LUNs [pars. 0069-0070 – “As shown in FIG. 4, there may be several queues from which to select from. Data path scheduler 438 is configured to schedule one or more types of data transfers. As one example, read data may arrive from different memory arrays in parallel. Data path scheduler 438 may arbitrate from amongst the different data transfers.” … “Completion queue manager 440 is configured to post completion entries to the completion queues 406, while also handling the relevant pointers. Error correction 442 is configured to correct the data that is fetched from the memory arrays 450. Flash interface module 446 is configured to control and access the memory arrays 450.”].
Claim 7 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Kavala et al. disclose,
wherein the memory component includes a NAND flash memory [fig. 1; pars. 0044-0050 – “A nonvolatile memory package, a storage device including the same, and a method of operating the same may include an interface chip (or a buffer chip) having a bidirectional command address (CA) pin and a chip enable (CE) pin between different protocols (e.g. legacy protocol and new protocol; joint electron device engineering council (JEDEC) protocol and open NAND flash interface (ONFI) protocol), thereby improving protocol compatibility.”].
Claim 8 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Kavala et al. disclose,
wherein the received plurality of commands includes high-level commands that are translated to observe an SCA protocol [par. 0115 – “The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”].
Claim 11:
Kavala et al. disclose an apparatus, comprising:
a memory component [fig. 1; pars. 0044-0050 – “A nonvolatile memory package, a storage device including the same, and a method of operating the same may include an interface chip (or a buffer chip) having a bidirectional command address (CA) pin and a chip enable (CE) pin between different protocols (e.g. legacy protocol and new protocol; joint electron device engineering council (JEDEC) protocol and open NAND flash interface (ONFI) protocol), thereby improving protocol compatibility.”]; and
a separate command address (SCA)-based memory controller coupled to the memory component and configured to:
receive a plurality of commands [pars. 0113-0118 – Commands are received. (“The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”)];
convert the scheduled plurality of commands into SCA-based commands [pars. 0113-0118 – Commands are converted. (“The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”)];
select from the scheduled SCA-based commands one or more scheduled SCA-based commands for a sequence execution [pars. 0113-0118 – Commands are selected. (“The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”)]; and
execute in sequence the selected one or more SCA-based commands using one or more logical units (LUNs) of a channel in the memory component [pars. 0006-0007, 0044-0050, 0113-0119 – The commands are executed. Per the ONFI specification, a LUN is the minimum unit that can independently execute commands and report status. There are one or more LUNs per NAND Target. (“A nonvolatile memory package, a storage device including the same, and a method of operating the same may include an interface chip (or a buffer chip) having a bidirectional command address (CA) pin and a chip enable (CE) pin between different protocols (e.g. legacy protocol and new protocol; joint electron device engineering council (JEDEC) protocol and open NAND flash interface (ONFI) protocol), thereby improving protocol compatibility.” … “The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.” … “The buffer chip 1110 may communicate with other NAND flash memory chips 1120 connected to other channels.”)].
However, Kavala et al. do not specifically disclose,
the memory controller configured to:
schedule the plurality of commands using two or more data path scheduler (DPS) request queues;
In the same field of endeavor, Benisty discloses,
the memory controller configured to:
schedule the plurality of commands using two or more data path scheduler (DPS) request queues [fig. 4; par. 0069 – “In addition, command queuing 432 is configured to queue part or all of the fetched NVMe commands for further processing. Command scheduler 434 is configured to select the next pending command for further execution from command queuing 432. As shown in FIG. 4, there may be several queues from which to select from. Data path scheduler 438 is configured to schedule one or more types of data transfers. As one example, read data may arrive from different memory arrays in parallel. Data path scheduler 438 may arbitrate from amongst the different data transfers.”];
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kavala et al. to include command queueing, as taught by Benisty, in order to improve performance.
Claim 12 (as applied to claim 11 above):
Benisty discloses, wherein the SCA-based memory controller is further configured to:
schedule in parallel the commands using corresponding DPS request queues, wherein the commands are associated with operations that are independent from one another [pars. 0069-0071 – “As one example, read data may arrive from different memory arrays in parallel. Data path scheduler 438 may arbitrate from amongst the different data transfers.” … “NVMe may include support for parallel operation by supporting up to 65,535 I/O Queues with up to 64K outstanding commands per I/O Queue.”].
Claim 17 (as applied to claim 11 above):
Kavala et al. disclose, wherein the SCA-based memory controller is further configured to:
generate a sequence of command executions for an ONFI-based memory component [pars. 0006-0007, 0044-0050, 0113-0119 – “A nonvolatile memory package, a storage device including the same, and a method of operating the same may include an interface chip (or a buffer chip) having a bidirectional command address (CA) pin and a chip enable (CE) pin between different protocols (e.g. legacy protocol and new protocol; joint electron device engineering council (JEDEC) protocol and open NAND flash interface (ONFI) protocol), thereby improving protocol compatibility.” … “The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.” … “The buffer chip 1110 may communicate with other NAND flash memory chips 1120 connected to other channels.”].
Claim 18:
Kavala et al. disclose an apparatus, comprising:
a storage device comprising [fig. 1; par. 0045]:
a memory component [fig. 1; pars. 0044-0050 – “A nonvolatile memory package, a storage device including the same, and a method of operating the same may include an interface chip (or a buffer chip) having a bidirectional command address (CA) pin and a chip enable (CE) pin between different protocols (e.g. legacy protocol and new protocol; joint electron device engineering council (JEDEC) protocol and open NAND flash interface (ONFI) protocol), thereby improving protocol compatibility.”]; and
a memory controller that is further configured to:
receive a plurality of commands [pars. 0113-0118 – Commands are received. (“The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”)];
select from the scheduled commands one or more scheduled commands for a sequence execution [pars. 0113-0118 – Commands are selected. (“The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.”)]; and
execute in sequence the selected one or more using one or more logical units (LUNs) of a channel in the memory component [pars. 0006-0007, 0044-0050, 0113-0119 – The commands are executed. Per the ONFI specification, a LUN is the minimum unit that can independently execute commands and report status. There are one or more LUNs per NAND Target. (“A nonvolatile memory package, a storage device including the same, and a method of operating the same may include an interface chip (or a buffer chip) having a bidirectional command address (CA) pin and a chip enable (CE) pin between different protocols (e.g. legacy protocol and new protocol; joint electron device engineering council (JEDEC) protocol and open NAND flash interface (ONFI) protocol), thereby improving protocol compatibility.” … “The command interface converter 1111 may receive a legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) from the controller 1200, may convert the received legacy protocol command (DQ/ALE/CLE/CE) to an SCA protocol command, and may output the SCA protocol command corresponding to the legacy protocol command to the NAND flash memory chip 1120 through CA_CE and CA pins.” … “The buffer chip 1110 may communicate with other NAND flash memory chips 1120 connected to other channels.”)].
However, Kavala et al. do not specifically disclose,
the memory controller configured to:
schedule the plurality of commands using two or more data path scheduler (DPS) request queues;
In the same field of endeavor, Benisty discloses,
the memory controller configured to:
schedule the plurality of commands using two or more data path scheduler (DPS) request queues [fig. 4; par. 0069 – “In addition, command queuing 432 is configured to queue part or all of the fetched NVMe commands for further processing. Command scheduler 434 is configured to select the next pending command for further execution from command queuing 432. As shown in FIG. 4, there may be several queues from which to select from. Data path scheduler 438 is configured to schedule one or more types of data transfers. As one example, read data may arrive from different memory arrays in parallel. Data path scheduler 438 may arbitrate from amongst the different data transfers.”];
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kavala et al. to include command queueing, as taught by Benisty, in order to improve performance.
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavala et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0295989) in view of Benisty (Pub. No. US 2018/0321864) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, respectively, and further in view of Bellows et al. (Pub. No. US 2006/0129764).
Claim 3 (as applied to claim 1 above):
Kavala et al. and Benisty disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose, wherein the scheduling of the plurality of commands further comprises:
tracking a DPS request queue that is associated with a processing of a first command; and
scheduling a second command in the tracked DPS request queue, wherein the second command is associated with an operation that is dependent upon an operation of the first command.
In the same field of endeavor, Bellows et al. disclose,
tracking a DPS request queue that is associated with a processing of a first command [pars. 0011-0016 – “In contrast, according to the present methods and apparatus, an entry of a read or write queue may include a bit (e.g., a dependency valid bit) or an encoding of a state indicating whether the command stored in the entry is dependent on another command (e.g., whether such command requires another command to complete execution before the command may execute), and a pointer for storing the number of the queue entry storing such other command. Further, the entry of the read or write queue may include a bit (e.g., a linked bit) for indicating whether another command depends on the command stored in the entry. According to the present methods and apparatus, when a new command is received, logic may be employed to set such bits and pointer. For example, when a new command is received and the read and/or write queues include multiple previously-received commands on which the new command depends, the logic may set (e.g., assert) the dependency valid bit and set the pointer to the number of the queue entry storing the most-recently received command of such previously-received commands on which the new command depends. The logic may employ linked bits associated with respective commands already stored in the queue to identify the most-recently received command on which the new command depends. In this manner, command dependency may be tracked by forming a single linked list.”]; and
scheduling a second command in the tracked DPS request queue, wherein the second command is associated with an operation that is dependent upon an operation of the first command [pars. 0011-0016 – “In contrast, according to the present methods and apparatus, an entry of a read or write queue may include a bit (e.g., a dependency valid bit) or an encoding of a state indicating whether the command stored in the entry is dependent on another command (e.g., whether such command requires another command to complete execution before the command may execute), and a pointer for storing the number of the queue entry storing such other command. Further, the entry of the read or write queue may include a bit (e.g., a linked bit) for indicating whether another command depends on the command stored in the entry. According to the present methods and apparatus, when a new command is received, logic may be employed to set such bits and pointer. For example, when a new command is received and the read and/or write queues include multiple previously-received commands on which the new command depends, the logic may set (e.g., assert) the dependency valid bit and set the pointer to the number of the queue entry storing the most-recently received command of such previously-received commands on which the new command depends. The logic may employ linked bits associated with respective commands already stored in the queue to identify the most-recently received command on which the new command depends. In this manner, command dependency may be tracked by forming a single linked list.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Kavala et al. and Benisty to include tracking dependent operations, as taught by Bellows et al., in order to maintain data integrity.
Claim 4 (as applied to claim 3 above):
Bellows et al. disclose the, further comprising:
using a look-up table (LUT) to track the operations between the first command and the second command [pars. 0011-0016 – “The logic may employ linked bits associated with respective commands already stored in the queue to identify the most-recently received command on which the new command depends. In this manner, command dependency may be tracked by forming a single linked list.”].
Claim 16 (as applied to claim 11 above):
Claim 16, directed to an apparatus, is rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 4 above, mutatis mutandis.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavala et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0295989) in view of Benisty (Pub. No. US 2018/0321864) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Ellis et al. (Pub. No. US 2016/0306553).
Claim 19 (as applied to claim 18 above):
Kavala et al. and Benisty disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose,
wherein the memory controller selects the one or more scheduled commands for the sequence execution based on a request priority associated with each of the scheduled commands.
In the same field of endeavor, Ellis et al. disclose,
wherein the memory controller selects the one or more scheduled commands for the sequence execution based on a request priority associated with each of the scheduled commands [pars. 0014-0030 – “(A4) In some embodiments of the method of any one of A1 to A3, the method further includes: at the first die, in response to receiving the memory operation command corresponding to the first memory operation, suspending performance of the blocking low-priority memory operation. After the suspending, the method further includes performing the first memory operation. After performing the first memory operation, the method further includes resuming performance of the blocking low-priority memory operation.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Kavala et al. and Benisty to include selecting commands according to priority, as taught by Ellis et al., in order to improve performance by allowing high priority commands to bypass waiting for a low priority command to complete.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavala et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0295989) in view of Benisty (Pub. No. US 2018/0321864) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Hashimoto (Pub. No. US 2017/0180477).
Claim 20 (as applied to claim 18 above):
Kavala et al. and Benisty disclose all the limitations above but do not specifically disclose,
wherein the memory controller selects the one or more scheduled commands for the sequence execution based on a workload in the one or more LUNs.
In the same field of endeavor, Hashimoto discloses,
wherein the memory controller selects the one or more scheduled commands for the sequence execution based on a workload in the one or more LUNs [par. 0058 – “According to this sharing of the bus, a plurality of flash memory chips 17 that belong to the same bank group can be accessed in parallel through driving of the plurality of channels. Also, the plurality of banks can be operated in parallel through an interleave access. The controller 14 fetches, from the submission queue 50, a command to access a bank in an idle state in priority to a command to access a busy bank, in order to perform a more efficient parallel operation. Physical blocks 36 that belong to the same bank and are associated with the same physical block address belong to the same physical block group 36G, and assigned a physical block group address corresponding to the physical block address.”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined teachings of Kavala et al. and Benisty to include selecting commands based on a workload, as taught by Hashimoto, in order to improve performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10, 13-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not disclose the limitations of the listed claims in conjunction with the limitations of the base claim and intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Richter et al. (Pub. No. US 2024/0402927) disclose, “The controller 206 is configured to receive read commands (and write commands) from the host device 202 via the PCIe/MAC/PHY interface 208. The NVMe inbound controller 210 may be configured to pass commands received at the PCIe/MAC/PHY interface 208 to the one or more queues 212. The scheduler 214 retrieves the commands queued in the one or more queues 212 and schedules the commands to be executed to the NVM 216. The scheduler 214 may arbitrate between the new commands placed in each input queue, effectively creating an arbitration between all of the tenants working with the data storage device 204. In other words, the scheduler 214 may retrieve and execute commands from the one or more queues 212 in a round robin order or any other applicable order. Data read from the NVM 216 as part of a read command received from one of the tenants of the host device 202 is provided back to the host device 202. While the scheduler 214 is arbitrating between the commands from the different tenants to enable some bandwidth sharing, receiving a large command from a tenant may cause a bottleneck in the data storage device 204.” [par. 0031]
LARRY T. MACKALL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2131
4 March 2026
/LARRY T MACKALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2139