DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 20220103283 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a sewer cap monitoring system comprising: a sewer cap [110] that is removably attachable to an access point in a sewer line; a water level sensor [124] attached to an underside of said sewer cap; a transmitter [126] for transmitting a wireless notification when said water level sensor detects that a liquid level within said sewer line has reached a predetermined level; a power source [128] operatively connected to said water level sensor and said transmitter.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Kim further discloses the transmitter communicated with a remote computing device [ICT system; see figures 4 & 5], and the water level sensor is an ultrasonic sensor [Description paragraph 8].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20220103283 A) in view of Cho (KR 102729630 B1).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Kim fails to disclose the water level sensor includes a pair of downwardly extending proves and further details thereof.
Cho teaches a manhole pump system comprising a water level sensor attached to the bottom of the manhole cover having a pair of adjustable probes extending downwardly below [14, 15; Description paragraph 20].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kim by substituting the sensor disposed in the manhole cover for the adjustable probes as described by Cho to provide a physical device at the water level locations to increase reliability with respect to one housed in the manhole cover as dirt/grime/rust/etc. buildup would require more frequent cleaning, which would also cost money.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Kim-Cho combination as applied to claims 1-4 and 8 above, and further in view of Youn (KR 20240056004 A).
The Kim-Cho combination fails to disclose an electronically controlled main water valve having a main water valve having a receiver for receiving a signal from said transmitter.
Youn teaches an electronically controlled main water valve [110] that opens/closes upon signals detected from the manhole cover [Description; Figures 6 & 7].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kim by adding the main water valve and control system as described by Youn to enable the device to directly control the flow of water as needed in the system, thereby providing automation and saving time/money.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20220103283 A) in view of Cho (KR 20240130228 A).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Kim fails to disclose the power source is a rechargeable solar cell battery.
Cho teaches a manhole equipped with a solar panel [200] to power a monitoring system mounted to the manhole cover [Figure 7].
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kim by substituting the generic batteries for the solar powered system as described by Cho to obviate the need to replace batteries thereby saving time/money and reducing environmental waste.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 20220103283 A) in view of Youn (KR 20240056004 A).
Kim fails to disclose the use of an electronically controlled stop-valve to prevent backflow in the sewage line.
Youn teaches an electronically controlled main stop valve [110] that opens/closes upon signals detected from the manhole cover [Description; Figures 5-7]
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Kim by adding the main water valve and control system as described by Youn to enable the device to directly control the flow of water as needed in the system and prevent backflow of water into the control unit under the manhole, thereby providing automation and protection of the device, saving both time/money.
Conclusion
KYLE ARMSTRONG, P.E.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3678
/KYLE ARMSTRONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619