DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20100330404A1) hereinafter NISHINO, in view of Lee et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20220355968A1) hereinafter LEE.
Regarding claim 1, NISHINO teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 below) a battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 comprising:
a first series of slots N17B-01 located on a top side N17B-02 of the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900,
wherein a first slot N17B-03 of the first series of slots N17B-01 is configured to at least partially encapsulate a first battery cell N17B-04 for storage and transportation; and
a second series of slots N17B-05 located on a bottom side N17B-06 of the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900,
wherein a second slot N17B-08 of the second series of slots N17B-05 is configured to at least partially encapsulate a second battery cell N17B-07 for storage and transportation,
wherein the second series of slots N17B-05 is laterally offset from the first series of slots N17B-01.
NISHINO fails to teach second series of slots N17B-05 is vertically overlapping the first series of slots N17B-01.
However, LEE teaches (see FIG. 2 - FIG. 4 below) a tray 10, 20 for loading a battery cap 30, wherein second series of slots 11 is vertically overlapping the first series of slots 23 to meet design requirements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified second series of slots N17B-05 / first series of slots N17B-01 in the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 of NISHINO with second series of slots 11 / first series of slots 23 as taught in the tray 10, 20 for loading a battery cap 30 of LEE to meet design requirements.
Regarding claim 2, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, wherein the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 is configured to stack (FIG. 15) with an additional tray 1800, 1900 of an identical configuration by nesting the top side N17B-02 of the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 with a bottom side N17B-06 of the additional tray 1800, 1900.
Regarding claim 3, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 2 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, wherein, when stacked with the additional tray 1800, 1900, the first series of slots N17B-01 together with an additional series of slots on the bottom side N17B-06 of the additional tray 1800, 1900 provide full enclosures (FIG. 15) for a plurality of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07.
Regarding claim 4, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, wherein the first series of slots N17B-01 is configured to receive a first plurality N17B-04 of vertically oriented battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07.
Regarding claim 5, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, further comprising an overhang N14B-01 at least partially around a perimeter of the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, the overhang N14B-01 configured to overlap a portion of an additional tray 1800, 1900 when the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 is stacked with the additional tray 1800, 1900.
Regarding claim 6, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, further comprising a cavity N14B-02 at an end of the first slot N17B-03 of the first series of slots N17B-01, the cavity N14B-02 configured to receive a terminal of the first battery cell N17B-04.
Regarding claim 7, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 6 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO fails to teach (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, further comprising a shelf between the cavity N14B-02 and the first slot N17B-03.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified cavity N14B-02 / first slot N17B-03 in the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 of NISHINO and LEE to comprise a shelf since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ47.
Regarding claim 8, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, further comprising a single-layer barrier 1920 between the first slot N17B-03 of the first series of slots N17B-01 and the second slot N17B-08 of the second series of slots N17B-05.
NISHINO fails to teach single-layer barrier 1920 is a double-layer barrier.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified single-layer barrier 1920 in the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 of NISHINO and LEE to comprise a double-layer barrier for securement purposes. Moreover, duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 9, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, wherein the second series of slots N17B-05 is longitudinally aligned with the first series of slots N17B-01.
Regarding claim 10, NISHINO and LEE (as applied to claim 1 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, further comprising an electrolyte-corrosive-resistant polymer material (page 22, para. [0066], lines 1-4, “… resin …”).
Claim(s) 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20100330404A1) hereinafter NISHINO.
Regarding claim 14, NISHINO (as applied to claim 13 below) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO further teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900, wherein the second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 comprises a single-layer barrier 1920 between a second slot N17B-08 of the second plurality of slots N17B-05 and an adjacent slot on a bottom side N17B-06 of the second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, the adjacent slot corresponding to a first slot N17B-03 of the first plurality of slots N17B-01 of the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900.
NISHINO fails to teach single-layer barrier 1920 is a double-layer barrier.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified single-layer barrier 1920 in the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 of NISHINO to comprise a double-layer barrier for securement purposes. Moreover, duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 16, NISHINO (as applied to claim 15 below) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO fails to teach (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900, further comprising a shelf between the cavity N14B-02 and the first slot N17B-03.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified cavity N14B-02 / first slot N17B-03 in the battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 of NISHINO to comprise a shelf since a change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey et al., 149 USPQ47.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NISHINO, in view of Wei (China Patent CN215285931U) hereinafter WEI.
Regarding claim 19, NISHINO (as applied to claim 11 below) teaches all the limitations of the claim. NISHINO fails to teach (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900, further comprising a belt configured to secure the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 and the second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 together.
However, WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2 below) packaging system 1, further comprising a belt 19 configured to secure the first packaging carton 1 and the second packaging carton 1 together for securement purposes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900 of NISHINO with packaging system 1 of WEI for securement purposes.
Regarding claim 20, NISHINO and WEI (as applied to claim 19 above) teaches all the limitations of the claim. The combination of NISHINO (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) and WEI teaches (see FIG. 1 - FIG. 2 above) further teaches battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900, wherein, when the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 and the second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 are secured together, the battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900 comprises a single palletized unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nishino et al. (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20100330404A1) hereinafter NISHINO.
Regarding claim 11, NISHINO teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) a battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900 comprising:
a first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 configured to hold a first plurality N17B-04 of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07; and
a second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 configured to hold a second plurality of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07, and configured to be stacked on top of the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 and enclose the first plurality N17B-04 of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07 such that the first plurality N17B-04 of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07 vertically overlap with the second plurality of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07.
Regarding claim 12, NISHINO teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900, wherein, when the first and second battery cell storage and transportation trays 1800, 1900 are loaded respectively with the first and second pluralities of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07, the first plurality N17B-04 of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07 is laterally staggered from the second plurality of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07.
Regarding claim 13, NISHINO teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900, wherein, the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 comprises a first plurality of slots N17B-01 to receive the first plurality N17B-04 of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07, and
wherein the second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 comprises a second plurality of slots N17B-05 to receive the second plurality of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07.
Regarding claim 15, NISHINO teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900, wherein the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 comprises a cavity N14B-02 at an end of a first slot N17B-03 of the first plurality of slots N17B-01, the cavity N14B-02 configured to receive a terminal of a first battery cell N17B-04 of the first plurality N17B-04 of battery cells N17B-04, N17B-07.
Regarding claim 17, NISHINO teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900, wherein:
the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 comprises a first configuration, the second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 comprises a second configuration identical to the first configuration, and the second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 is configured to be stacked on top of the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 in an opposite orientation of the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900.
Regarding claim 18, NISHINO teaches (see FIG. 2A, FIG. 2B, FIG. 5A, FIG. 5B, FIG. 7A, FIG. 9A, FIG. 13A, FIG. 14A, FIG. 14B, FIG. 15 above) battery cell storage and transportation system 1800, 1900, wherein the second battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 comprises an overhang N14B-01 configured to overlap a portion of the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900 when stacked on top of the first battery cell storage and transportation tray 1800, 1900.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wei et al. (China Patent Application Publication CN117401277A): Teaches an “assembly” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Sun et al. (China Paten CN218464430U): Teaches a “packaging” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Ohta (U. S. Patent Application Publication US20230395914A1): Teaches a “tray” with similar characteristics as the claimed invention.
Contact
/M.J.R.M./
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735