DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is responsive to the claims filed 18 June 2026.
Claims 21-39 are currently pending and being examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-25 and 34-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moffat (US 5,727,417) in view of Kondo (US 2012/0258832).
Moffat teaches:
Claim 21: A modular power unit for hydraulic power tools (see fig. 5 showing the parts being screwed together, therefore modular; 20-fig.2), the modular power unit comprising:
a motor (48-fig.2);
a transmission assembly (54-fig.5) having an input end (annotated fig.5) operatively coupled to the motor (4:56-65) and an output end (annotated fig.5), the transmission assembly translates rotational motion from the motor to reciprocal linear movement at the output end (4:56-65), the transmission assembly having a transmission collar (annotated fig.5) at the input end; and
a pump assembly (at least 69 and 42-fig.5) having an input end (annotated fig.5) operatively coupled to the output end of the transmission assembly (4:47-55) and an output end (annotated fig.5), the input end of the pump assembly has a pump collar (annotated fig.5) configured to mate with the output end of the transmission assembly such that the pump assembly is locked in position relative to the transmission assembly (see fig. 5 showing the pump collar locked in relative to the transmission with screws).
Moffat does not expressly teach a motor collar coupled to the motor and the transmission assembly having a transmission collar at the input end that is configured to mate with the motor collar such that the transmission assembly is locked in position relative to the motor collar.
However, Kondo teaches a motor collar (8-fig.2) coupled to a motor (3-fig.1) and a transmission assembly (5-fig.2) having a transmission collar (9-fig.2) at the input end that is configured to mate with the motor collar such that the transmission assembly is locked in position relative to the motor collar (¶[0035]-[0036]; the collars are locked in place by pins 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the tool of Moffat, by adding a collar to the motor of a tool, as taught by Kondo, so that the motor can be easily removed from the tool and replaced if needed.
Moffat as modified by Kondo further teaches:
Claim 22: The modular power unit according to claim 21, further comprising a fluid reservoir (Moffat: 100,102-fig.4) in fluid communication with the pump assembly (Moffat: 6:1-9).
Claim 23: The modular power unit according to claim 21, wherein the transmission assembly comprises a gear assembly (Moffat: 54-fig.5) and a pump drive assembly (Moffat: 42-fig.5).
Claim 24: The modular power unit according to claim 23, wherein the gear assembly comprises a multi-stage gear system (Moffat: see fig. 5 showing at least two planetary gears).
Claim 25: The modular power unit according to claim 23, wherein the pump drive assembly comprises a drive member (Moffat: 46-fig.4) operatively coupled to a wobble plate (Moffat: 52-fig.4) such that rotational movement of the drive member is translated to reciprocal linear movement of the wobble plate (Moffat: 4:46-6:9).
Moffat teaches:
Claim 34: A modular power unit for hydraulic power tools (see fig. 5 showing the parts being screwed together, therefore modular; 20-fig.2), the modular power unit comprising:
a motor (48-fig.2) having a motor drive shaft (annotated fig.5);
a transmission assembly (54-fig.5) enclosed within a housing (see fig.5 showing gears 54 enclosed within a housing) having a transmission collar (annotated fig.5) at an input end (annotated fig.5) and an output end (annotated fig.5), the transmission assembly includes a gear assembly (54-fig.5) having an input operatively coupled to the motor drive shaft (4:56-65) and an output operatively coupled to a pump drive assembly (42-fig.5) such that rotational movement of the motor drive shaft is reduced and translated to reciprocal linear movement at an output of the pump drive assembly (4:46-6:9); and
a pump assembly (at least 42-fig.5) enclosed within a housing (69-fig.5) having a pump collar (annotated fig.5) at an input end (annotated fig.5) and an output end (annotated fig.5), the pump collar being coupled to the output end of the transmission assembly such that the pump collar is locked to the transmission assembly housing (see fig. 5 showing the pump collar locked in relative to the transmission with screws), wherein the reciprocal linear movement at the output of the pump drive assembly drives the pump assembly (4:56-65).
Moffat does not expressly teach a motor collar coupled to the motor and the transmission collar being configured to be at least partially inserted into the motor collar or to receive the motor collar such that the transmission collar is locked to the motor collar.
However, Kondo teaches a motor collar (8-fig.2) coupled to the motor (3-fig.1) and a transmission collar (9-fig.2) being configured to be at least partially inserted into the motor collar (¶[0035]) or to receive the motor collar such that the transmission collar is locked to the motor collar (¶[0035]-[0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the tool of Moffat, by adding a collar to the motor of a tool, as taught by Kondo, so that the motor can be easily removed from the tool and replaced if needed.
Moffat as modified by Kondo further teaches:
Claim 35: The modular power unit according to claim 34, further comprising a fluid reservoir (Moffat: 100,102-fig.4) in fluid communication with the pump assembly (Moffat: 6:1-9).
Claim 36: The modular power unit according to claim 34, wherein the gear assembly comprises a multi-stage gear system (Moffat: see fig. 5 showing at least two planetary gears).
Claim 37: The modular power unit according to claim 34, wherein the pump drive assembly comprises a drive member (Moffat: 46-fig.4) operatively coupled to a wobble plate (Moffat: 52-fig.4) such that when the motor drive shaft rotates, the rotational movement of the motor drive shaft is translated to rotational movement of the drive member, and rotational movement of the drive member is translated to reciprocal linear movement of the wobble plate (Moffat: 4:46-6:9).
Claim(s) 26 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moffat (US 5,727,417) in view of Kondo (US 2012/0258832), further in view of Montminy (US 2007/0256554).
Moffat as modified by Kondo teaches:
Claim 26: The modular power unit according to claim 25, wherein the drive member is associated with a first bearing system (Moffat: 73-fig.5).
Moffat as modified by Kondo does not expressly teach the wobble plate is associated with a second bearing system.
However, Montminy teaches a wobble plate (60-fig.4) is associated with a second bearing system (108-fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Moffat as modified by Kondo, by adding a wobble plate bearing, as taught by Montminy, to allow for smoother operating tool with less vibration.
Moffat as modified by Kondo teaches:
Claim 38: The modular power unit according to claim 34, wherein the drive member is associated with a first bearing system (Moffat: 73-fig.5).
Moffat as modified by Kondo does not expressly teach the wobble plate is associated with a second bearing system.
However, Montminy teaches a wobble plate (60-fig.4) is associated with a second bearing system (108-fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Moffat as modified by Kondo, by adding a wobble plate bearing, as taught by Montminy, to allow for smoother operating tool with less vibration.
Claim(s) 27-32 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moffat (US 5,727,417) in view of Kondo (US 2012/0258832), further in view of Gregory (US 8,935,948).
Moffat as modified by Kondo teaches:
Claim 27: The modular power unit according to claim 21.
Moffat as modified by Kondo does not expressly teach the pump assembly comprises a unitary pump that includes a low pressure pump and a high pressure pump.
However, Gregory teaches a pump assembly (90-fig.3) comprises a unitary pump that includes low pressure pump and a high pressure pump (“The pump assembly provides a high and a low stage pumping mechanism. When pumping in the high stage mode, the pump delivers a high volume of hydraulic fluid at low pressure preferably being 300 PSI. When pumping in the low stage mode, the pump delivers a low volume of hydraulic fluid at a high pressure preferably being 10,000 PSI." 5:1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Moffat as modified by Kondo, by having a unitary pump, as taught by Gregory, for being able to operate the tool depending on the application the tool is being used for.
Moffat teaches:
Claim 28: A modular power unit for hydraulic power tools (see fig. 5 showing the parts being screwed together, therefore modular; 20-fig.2), the modular power unit comprising:
a motor (48-fig.2);
a transmission module (54-fig.5) having an input end (annotated fig.5) operatively coupled to the motor module (4:56-65) and an output end (annotated fig.5), the transmission assembly translates rotational motion from the motor module to reciprocal linear movement at the output end (4:56-65), the transmission assembly having a transmission collar at the input end (annotated fig.5); and
a pump assembly (at least 69 and 42-fig.5) having an input end (annotated fig.5) operatively coupled to the output end of the transmission assembly (4:47-55) and an output end (annotated fig.5), the input end of the pump assembly has a pump collar (annotated fig.5) configured to mate with the output end of the transmission assembly such that the pump assembly is locked in position relative to the transmission assembly (see fig. 5 showing the pump collar locked in relative to the transmission with screws).
Moffat does not expressly teach a motor module having a collar and a transmission collar at the input end that is configured to mate with the motor collar such that the transmission assembly is locked in position relative to the motor module.
However, Kondo teaches a motor module (3-fig.1) having a collar (8-fig.2) and a transmission collar (9-fig.2) at the input end that is configured to mate with the motor collar such that the transmission assembly is locked in position relative to the motor module (¶[0035]-[0036]; the collars are locked in place by pins 28).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the tool of Moffat, by adding a collar to the motor of a tool, as taught by Kondo, so that the motor can be easily removed from the tool and replaced if needed.
Moffat as modified by Kondo does not expressly teach the pump assembly includes a unitary pump having a low pressure pump and a high pressure pump.
However, Gregory teaches a pump assembly (90-fig.3) includes a unitary pump having a low pressure pump and a high pressure pump (“The pump assembly provides a high and a low stage pumping mechanism. When pumping in the high stage mode, the pump delivers a high volume of hydraulic fluid at low pressure preferably being 300 PSI. When pumping in the low stage mode, the pump delivers a low volume of hydraulic fluid at a high pressure preferably being 10,000 PSI." 5:1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Moffat as modified by Kondo, by having a unitary pump, as taught by Gregory, for being able to operate the tool depending on the application the tool is being used for.
Moffat as modified by Kondo and Gregory further teaches:
Claim 29: The modular power unit according to claim 28, further comprising a fluid reservoir (Moffat: 100,102-fig.4) in fluid communication with the pump assembly (Moffat: 6:1-9).
Claim 30: The modular power unit according to claim 28, wherein the transmission module comprises a gear assembly (Moffat: 54-fig.5) and a pump drive assembly (Moffat: 42-fig.5).
Claim 31: The modular power unit according to claim 30, wherein the gear assembly comprises a multi-stage gear system (Moffat: see fig. 5 showing at least two planetary gears).
Claim 32: The modular power unit according to claim 30, wherein the pump drive assembly comprises a drive member (Moffat: 46-fig.4) operatively coupled to a wobble plate (Moffat: 52-fig.4), and wherein the drive member is operatively coupled to the motor module such that rotational movement of the drive member is translated to reciprocal linear movement of the wobble plate. (Moffat:4:46-6:9)
Moffat as modified by Kondo teaches:
Claim 39: The modular power unit according to claim 34.
Moffat as modified by Kondo does not expressly teach the pump assembly comprises a unitary pump that includes a low pressure pump and a high pressure pump.
However, Gregory teaches a pump assembly (90-fig.3) comprises a unitary pump that includes low pressure pump and a high pressure pump (“The pump assembly provides a high and a low stage pumping mechanism. When pumping in the high stage mode, the pump delivers a high volume of hydraulic fluid at low pressure preferably being 300 PSI. When pumping in the low stage mode, the pump delivers a low volume of hydraulic fluid at a high pressure preferably being 10,000 PSI." 5:1-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Moffat as modified by Kondo, by having a unitary pump, as taught by Gregory, for being able to operate the tool depending on the application the tool is being used for.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moffat (US 5,727,417) in view of Kondo (US 2012/0258832) and Gregory (US 8,935,948), further in view of Montminy (US 2007/0256554).
Moffat as modified by Kondo and Gregory further teaches:
Claim 33: The modular power unit according to claim 32, wherein the drive member is associated with a first bearing system (Moffat: 73-fig.5).
Moffat as modified by Kondo and Gregory does not expressly teach the wobble plate is associated with a second bearing system.
However, Montminy teaches a wobble plate (60-fig.4) is associated with a second bearing system (108-fig.4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant's claimed invention, to modify the device of Moffat as modified by Kondo and Gregory, by adding a wobble plate bearing, as taught by Montminy, to allow for smoother operating tool with less vibration.
Conclusion
/KATIE L GERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3731