Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fido Device onboard Specification 1.1.
Regarding claim 1, Fido discloses a method for onboarding devices, the method comprising: connecting a device to a control plane(Pages 11-12, Owner is an entity that is able to prove ownership to the Device using an Ownership Voucher. The Owner Onboarding Service is an application that executes on some platform already controlled by the Owner); validating, after the connecting, an ownership voucher associated with the device(Page 4, By protocol cooperation between the Device, the Rendezvous server, and the new owner, the device and new owner are able to prove themselves to each other, sufficient to allow the new owner to establish new cryptographic control of the device. When this process is finished, the device is equipped with credentials supplied by the new owner); upon completing the validating, obtaining information about a set of permissible FIDO serviceinfo modules (FSIMs) associated with the device(Page 12, 54, In the Transfer Ownership Protocol 2 (TO2), after mutual trust is proven, and a secure channel is established, key-value pairs are exchanged. During the initial Device ServiceInfo, the device sends the complete list of modules to the Owner); and initiating onboarding of the device using the set of permissible FSIMs, wherein the device comprises a plurality of FSIMs and the set of permissible FSIMs is a subset of the plurality of FSIMs(Pages 53-55, The “devmod” module implements a set of messages to the FIDO Device Onboard Owner that identify the capabilities of the device. In addition, all “devmod” messages are sent by the Device in the first Device ServiceInfo. In some FIDO Device Onboard implementations, multiple modules can perform overlapping functions. Some modules may implement legacy versions of others (e.g., TPM versions) and some modules may control alternative IOT control techniques. The FIDO Device Onboard Owner and FIDO Device Onboard Device need to negotiate to select the right set of modules).
Regarding claim 2, Fido discloses the method of claim 1, wherein onboarding of the device using the set of permissible FSIMs results in a first configuration of the device(Page 55, In some FIDO Device Onboard implementations, multiple modules can perform overlapping functions. Some modules may implement legacy versions of others (e.g., TPM versions) and some modules may control alternative IOT control techniques. The FIDO Device Onboard Owner and FIDO Device Onboard Device need to negotiate to select the right set of modules).
Regarding claim 3, Fido discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising: connecting a second device to the control plane; validating, after the connecting, a second ownership voucher associated with the second device; upon completing the validating of the second device, obtaining information about a second set of permissible FSIMs associated with the second device; and initiating onboarding of the second device using the second set of permissible FSIMs, wherein the second device comprises the plurality of FSIMs and the second set of permissible FSIMs is a second subset of the plurality of FSIMs.
Regarding claim 4, Fido discloses the method of claim 3, wherein onboarding of the second device using the second set of permissible FSIMs results in a second configuration of the device, wherein the second configuration is different than the first configuration(Pages 53-55, The “devmod” module implements a set of messages to the FIDO Device Onboard Owner that identify the capabilities of the device. In addition, all “devmod” messages are sent by the Device in the first Device ServiceInfo. In some FIDO Device Onboard implementations, multiple modules can perform overlapping functions. Some modules may implement legacy versions of others (e.g., TPM versions) and some modules may control alternative IOT control techniques. The FIDO Device Onboard Owner and FIDO Device Onboard Device need to negotiate to select the right set of modules).
Regarding claim 5, Fido discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the device and the second device are initially manufactured with the same hardware and software(Pages 1, 4, Device onboarding is the process of installing secrets and configuration data into a device so that the device is able to connect and interact securely with an IoT platform. Due to late binding, the device does not yet know the prospective IOT Platform to which it must connect. One manufactured device may onboard, without modification, to many different IOT platforms. In totality, Fido discloses that devices are manufactured with the same hardware and software, and that different configurations are possible for different functionalities established during onboarding).
Regarding claim 6, Fido discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the first set of FSIMs and the second set of FSIMs partially overlaps(Page 55, In some FIDO Device Onboard implementations, multiple modules can perform overlapping functions. Some modules may implement legacy versions of others (e.g., TPM versions) and some modules may control alternative IOT control techniques. The FIDO Device Onboard Owner and FIDO Device Onboard Device need to negotiate to select the right set of modules).
Regarding claim 7, Fido discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the device is connected to the control plane using a trusted key(Page 12, 54, In the Transfer Ownership Protocol 2 (TO2), after mutual trust is proven, and a secure channel is established, key-value pairs are exchanged).
Claims 8-20 recite substantially similar limitations as claims 9-20 and thus taught by Fido, as explained above.
Conclusion
/NIMESH G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2185