DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the patented case wholly encompasses the scope of the current application.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958
1. An image encoding device for encoding a target image in a block unit, the image encoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
1. An image encoding device for encoding a target image in a block unit, the image encoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing prediction using a plurality of reference images;
a calculator circuitry configured to calculate a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block and includes a plurality of pixels,
an evaluator circuitry configured to evaluate a prediction accuracy of the block of the prediction image for each image portion based on the degree of similarity calculated for the image portion;
a transformer/quantizer circuitry configured to perform a transform and a quantization of a prediction residual indicating a difference in a pixel unit between the block of the target image and the block of the prediction image;
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore the prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients input from the transformer/quantizer; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry is used for modifying a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion unit.
3. The image encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
2. The image encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
4. An image decoding device for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
5. An image decoding device for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing prediction using a plurality of reference images;
a calculator circuitry configured to calculate a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block and includes a plurality of pixels,
an evaluator circuitry configured to evaluate a prediction accuracy of the block of the prediction image for each image portion based on the degree of similarity calculated for the image portion;
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual indicating a difference in a pixel unit between the block of the target image and the block of the prediction image by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients obtained by performing a transform and a quantization of the prediction residual at an image encoding device; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry is used for modifying a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion unit.
6. The image decoding device according to claim 4, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
6. The image decoding device according to claim 5, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
7. An image decoding method for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding method comprising:
a step of generating a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
a calculating step of calculating an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block;
a step of restoring a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combine step of reconstructing the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual obtained by the step of restoring a prediction residual with the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine at the combine step in the image portion.
9. An image decoding method for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding method comprising:
a step of generating a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing prediction using a plurality of reference images;
a calculating step of calculating a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block and includes a plurality of pixels;
an evaluate step of generating an evaluate value for each image portion based on the degree of similarity calculated for the image portion;
a step of restoring a prediction residual indicating a difference in a pixel unit between the block of the target image and the block of the prediction image by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients obtained by performing a transform and a quantization of the prediction residual at an image encoding side; and
a combine step of reconstructing the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual obtained by the step of restoring a prediction residual with the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluate value at the evaluate step is used for modifying a target to combine at the combine step in the image portion unit.
Claims 2, 5, and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 in view of Blasi et al. (GB2500023) (hereinafter Blasi).
Regarding claim 2, U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 claims all of the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 further claims:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual and the block of the prediction image (claim 3, col 33, lines 1 – 6).
U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is further configured to generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
Blasi, however, teaches an image encoding device for encoding a target image in a block unit:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is further configured to generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry (e.g. pg. 16, 1st paragraph – pg. 18, 1st paragraph: describing that the system uses the calculated SAD value to determine an offset [parameter S], the offset added to the residual signal and the prediction signal, wherein the residual signal is the equivalent of the restored prediction residual and the prediction signal is the equivalent of the prediction image).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 by adding the teachings of Blasi in order for the combiner circuit to further generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification reduces the number of bits required to encode the video, thereby increasing coding efficiency (Blasi, e.g. pg. 13, par. 2: describing a desire to reduce the number of bits required to encode the video).
Turning to claim 5, U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 claims all of the limitations of claim 4, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 further claims:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual and the block of the prediction image (claim 7, col 34, lines 4 – 9).
U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is further configured to generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
Blasi, however, teaches an image decoding device for decoding a target image in a block unit:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is further configured to generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry (e.g. pg. 16, 1st paragraph – pg. 18, 1st paragraph: describing that the system uses the calculated SAD value to determine an offset [parameter S], the offset added to the residual signal and the prediction signal, wherein the residual signal is the equivalent of the restored prediction residual and the prediction signal is the equivalent of the prediction image).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 by adding the teachings of Blasi in order for the combiner circuit to further generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification reduces the number of bits required to encode the video, thereby increasing coding efficiency (Blasi, e.g. pg. 13, par. 2: describing a desire to reduce the number of bits required to encode the video).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 claims all of the limitations of claim 7, as discussed above. U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 further claims:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual and the block of the prediction image (claim 3, col 33, lines 1 – 6).
U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 does not explicitly teach:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is further configured to generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
Blasi, however, teaches an image decoding method for decoding a target image in a block unit:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is further configured to generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry (e.g. pg. 16, 1st paragraph – pg. 18, 1st paragraph: describing that the system uses the calculated SAD value to determine an offset [parameter S], the offset added to the residual signal and the prediction signal, wherein the residual signal is the equivalent of the restored prediction residual and the prediction signal is the equivalent of the prediction image).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,394,958 by adding the teachings of Blasi in order for the combiner circuit to further generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification reduces the number of bits required to encode the video, thereby increasing coding efficiency (Blasi, e.g. pg. 13, par. 2: describing a desire to reduce the number of bits required to encode the video).
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,818,360. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the patented case wholly encompasses the scope of the current application.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,818,360
1. An image encoding device for encoding a target image in a block unit, the image encoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
1. An image encoding device for encoding a target image in a block unit, the image encoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for modifying a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
3. The image encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
2. The image encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
4. An image decoding device for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
3. An image decoding device for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for modifying a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
6. The image decoding device according to claim 4, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
4. The image decoding device according to claim 3, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
7. An image decoding method for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding method comprising:
a step of generating a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
a calculating step of calculating an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block;
a step of restoring a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combine step of reconstructing the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual obtained by the step of restoring a prediction residual with the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine at the combine step in the image portion.
5. An image decoding method for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding method comprising:
a step of generating a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
a calculating step of calculating an evaluation value related to a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block;
a step of restoring a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combine step of reconstructing the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual obtained by the step of restoring a prediction residual with the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluate value at is used for modifying a target to combine at the combine step in the image portion.
Claims 1 - 8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 - 8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,238,296. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the patented claims wholly encompass the scope of the current application.
Current Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,238,296
1. An image encoding device for encoding a target image in a block unit, the image encoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
1. An image encoding device for encoding a target image in a block unit, the image encoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
2. The image encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the combiner circuitry is configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual, the block of the prediction image, and an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
2. The image encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the combiner circuitry is configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual, the block of the prediction image, and an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
3. The image encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
3. The image encoding device according to claim 1, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
4. An image decoding device for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
4. An image decoding device for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding device comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value related to a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block,
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion.
5. The image decoding device according to claim 4, wherein the combiner circuitry is configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual, the block of the prediction image, and an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
5. The image decoding device according to claim 3, wherein the combiner circuitry is configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual, the block of the prediction image, and an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
6. The image decoding device according to claim 4, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
6. The image decoding device according to claim 4, wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images.
7. An image decoding method for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding method comprising:
a step of generating a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
a calculating step of calculating an evaluation value related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block;
a step of restoring a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combine step of reconstructing the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual obtained by the step of restoring a prediction residual with the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine at the combine step in the image portion.
7. An image decoding method for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image decoding method comprising:
a step of generating a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images;
a calculating step of calculating an evaluation value related to a degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block;
a step of restoring a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients; and
a combine step of reconstructing the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual obtained by the step of restoring a prediction residual with the prediction image in a pixel unit,
wherein the evaluate value at is used for generating a target to combine at the combine step in the image portion.
8. The image decoding method according to claim 7, comprising: a step of generating a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual, the block of the prediction image, and an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the calculating step.
8. The image decoding device according to claim 7, comprising: a step of generating a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual, the block of the prediction image, and an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2019/0230350) (hereinafter Chen), as cited by applicant, in view of Blasi et al. (GB 2500023) (hereinafter Blasi).
Regarding claims 1, 4, and 7, Chen teaches an image encoding device for encoding a target image in a block unit, an image decoding device for decoding a target image in a block unit, and an image decoding method for decoding a target image in a block unit, the image encoding device, image decoding device, and decoding method comprising:
a predictor circuitry configured to generate a block of a prediction image corresponding to a block of the target image by performing bi-directional prediction using a plurality of reference images (e.g. Fig. 5, element 502 and par. 45: depicting and describing a bi-predictor configured to generate a prediction block corresponding to a current video block by performing prediction using two reference images, wherein the current video block is the equivalent of the block of the target image);
an evaluator circuitry configured to calculate an evaluation value between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block (e.g. Fig. 5, element 502, and Fig. 6, and pars. 45-51: depicting and describing that the system performs an evaluation by determining a minimum difference between each reference block and the current block, wherein determining a minimum difference is the equivalent of calculating a degree of similarity),
an inverse quantizer/inverse transformer circuitry configured to restore a prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of quantized transform coefficients (e.g. Figs. 1 and 5, elements 110 and 112, and pars. 30 and 25: depicting and describing an inverse quantizer and an inverse transformer configured to restore the prediction residual by performing an inverse quantization and an inverse transform of the quantized transform coefficients); and
a combiner circuitry configured to reconstruct the block of the target image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transformer with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit (e.g. Figs. 1 and 5, element 126, and pars. 30 and 45: depicting and describing that the system reconstructs the current block of the image by combining the restored prediction residual input from the inverse quantizer/inverse transform with the block of the prediction image in a pixel unit),
wherein the evaluation value is used for generating a target to combine of the combiner in the image portion (e.g. Fig. 5, element 502, and Fig. 6, and pars. 45- 51: depicting and describing that the generated prediction block used for both generating the prediction residual of the current block and restoring the current block is generated by performing a weighted average of the two reference image blocks, each respective weight determined based on the determined minimum difference, wherein the minimum difference is the equivalent of the evaluation value).
Chen does not explicitly teach:
wherein the evaluation value is related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block.
Blasi, however, teaches an image encoding device, an image decoding device, and an image decoding method:
wherein the evaluation value is related to sum of absolute differences between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block (e.g. Fig. 2, element 200, and pgs. 12 - 13, and pg. 17, last paragraph – pg. 18, 3rd paragraph: depicting and describing that determines a sum of absolute differences (SAD) between the reference images and the target block, the target block including a sub-macroblock [see, e.g. pg. 12, 1st paragraph: describing that the target block is block that includes sub-blocks], the SAD used as an error value wherein the error value is the equivalent of the evaluation value).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chen by adding the teachings of Blasi in order for the evaluation value to be related to a sum of absolute difference between the plurality of reference images for each image portion that is a smaller unit than the block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification reduces the number of bits required to encode the video, thereby increasing coding efficiency (Blasi, e.g. pg. 13, par. 2: describing a desire to reduce the number of bits required to encode the video).
Turning to claims 2, 5, and 8, Chen and Blasi teach all of the limitations of claims 1, 4, and 7, respectively, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein the combiner circuitry is configured to generate a reconstructed image based on the restored prediction residual and the block of the prediction image (e.g. Fig. 5 and pars. 45 – 51: depicting and describing that the system controls the combination of the reconstructed prediction residual combined with the generated prediction block based on a weighted average of each reference image portion, the weights used being determined by the minimum difference, wherein the minimum difference is the equivalent of the evaluation value).
Chen does not explicitly teach:
wherein the combiner circuitry is further configured to generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry.
Blasi, however, teaches an image encoding device, an image decoding device, and an image decoding method:
Wherein the combiner circuitry is further configured to generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation by the evaluator circuitry (e.g. pg. 16, 1st paragraph – pg. 18, 1st paragraph: describing that the system uses the calculated SAD value to determine an offset [parameter S], the offset added to the residual signal and the prediction signal, wherein the residual signal is the equivalent of the restored prediction residual and the prediction signal is the equivalent of the prediction image)
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Chen by adding the teachings of Blasi in order for the combiner circuit to further generate the reconstructed image based on an offset value according to a result of evaluation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification because the modification reduces the number of bits required to encode the video, thereby increasing coding efficiency (Blasi, e.g. pg. 13, par. 2: describing a desire to reduce the number of bits required to encode the video).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Chen and Blasi teach all of the limitations of claims 1 and 4, respectively, as discussed above. Chen further teaches:
wherein the evaluator includes a normalizer configured to normalize a value indicating the degree of similarity between the plurality of reference images (e.g. pars. 45 – 51: describing that the minimum difference is based on the average value of the two reference images, wherein the minimum difference is the equivalent of the evaluation value).
Conclusion
SHANIKA M. BRUMFIELD
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/SHANIKA M BRUMFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2487
/Dave Czekaj/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2487