Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flood (US 2022/0002002 A1) in view of Buehler (US 2013/0209687 A1) in view of Di (CN 1066331621 A).
Claims 1, 9-12:
Flood teaches a method for masking an aerospace part, followed by treating the aerospace part with the masking medium thereon (Fig. 1). Flood is comprehensive in terms of the specific aerospace parts [0033], thermoplastic and metal materials (Id.), and types of treatment including chemical treatment in the form of a gel [0034]. The masking medium includes an adhesive tape and sealant [0036].
Flood does not explicitly teach sulfonation as the particular treatment.
However, Buehler teaches a process for treating thermoplastic by sulfonation in order to improve the adhesion relative to a subsequent painting step [0001]. Buehler’s sulfonation is vapor phase and includes sulfur trioxide followed by neutralizing with ammonium [0011].
Additionally, Di teaches a method for improving wettability of PEEK that includes sulfonation by application of concentrated sulfuric acid fluid.
It is noted that the combination does teach pretreatment of a part prior to further coating. The steps of removing the sulfonation fluid and washing the thermoplastic article would have been obvious in the context of pretreatment of a part prior to further coating because the pretreatment chemical is not intended to remain indefinity on the article and washing prepares the surface for further coating by removing contaminates or other interference.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the method of Flood wherein the chemical treatment is sulfonation using concentrated sulfuric acid followed by neutralization. The inclusion of removal and washing steps are nothing more than conventional steps for pretreatment of a surface prior to further coating.
Claims 2-3, 16:
Flood teaches stencil shapes, which dictate the mask shape, including O-shaped and C-shaped, which would circumscribe a region of the part [0049]. The treatment is applied to the masked region, inclusive of the interior portion.
Claims 4, 13:
Performing the operation in situ would have been obvious from an efficiency perspective because the step of removing and reinstalling the part would be eliminated.
Claim 7:
Both Flood [0034] and Di teach removal of prior coating and cleaning.
Claim 8:
The mask can include vinyl cutout, plastic form [0036] that reads on barrier film.
Claim(s) 5-6, 14, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flood (US 2022/0002002 A1) in view of Buehler (US 2013/0209687 A1) in view of Di (CN 1066331621 A) in view of Gerner (US 5376479).
Previously cited prior art already teaches concentrated sulfuric acid in gel form as the treatment, but does not teach the composition of the gel. However, Gerner teaches a method for forming a sulfuric acid gel comprising the combination of sulfuric acid and 3-8% fumed silica (4:13-22). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the sulfuric acid gel by adding 3-8% fumed silica because Gerner states this is a suitable composition for forming sulfuric acid gel.
Claims 18-19:
Claims 18-19 are a description of the sulfonation process and measurement to achieve the desired level of sulfonation. In this respect, the duration needed to achieve specific levels of sulfonation is a result effective variable and obvious through routine optimization. It is further noted that the prior art sulfonation processes all are performed to achieve specific results with respect to adhesion and wettability, for example.
Claim 20:
Both Flood [0034] and Di teach removal of prior coating and cleaning.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flood (US 2022/0002002 A1) in view of Buehler (US 2013/0209687 A1) in view of Di (CN 1066331621 A) in view of Gerner (US 5376479) in view of Dixon (US 2727831).
Previously cited prior art already teaches formation of a sulfonation gel comprising the combination of concentrated sulfuric acid and fumed silica, but does not teach fuming sulfuric acid. Fuming sulfuric acid has the composition H2SO4 xSO3 with x sulfur trioxide. Dixon teaches using concentrated sulfuric acid to perform sulfonation on polystyrene where the concentrated sulfuric acid ranges from 80% sulfuric acid up to 10% fuming sulfuric acid (2:13-14). The range is written this way because fuming sulfuric acid is essentially super concentrated sulfuric acid and the 10% represents the mass percent of sulfur trioxide.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the concentrated sulfuric acid with up to 10% fuming sulfuric acid because Dixon teaches that this range is suitable for sulfonation treatment.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759