DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astaix (US 2016/0193879) in view WO’006 (WO 2022/025006) and Mukai (US 2008/0000564).
US 2023/0264518 is a U.S. equivalent to WO’006 and is relied as an English translation to WO’006.
Regarding claims 1-3, Astaix teaches a pneumatic tire for passenger vehicle comprising a tread (3) and a belt structure (10: 10a, 10b, 10c) including belt plies reinforced with monofilaments of high tensile steel (120, 130) and a cap ply reinforced with heat-shrinkable textile cords (110). See FIG. 1, Fig.2, and abstract.
Astaix is silent to a product: T1 x T2 x La x tanδ1. However, Astaix teaches the diameter of the first reinforcers D1 is between 0.20 mm to 1.20 mm [0015] and the second 120 and third 130 reinforcers of steel monofilaments having a diameter D2 and D3, respectively between 0.20 mm and 0.50 mm [0017]. The mean thickness Ez1 is between 0.20 mm and 0.40 mm and the mean thickness Ez2 is between 0.35 mm and 0.60 mm and the total thickness of the three layers (C1, C2, C3) is between 1.8 and 2.7 mm [0061]-[0064].
For example: D1 =D2 = D3 = 0.50 mm and Ez1 = Ez2 = 0.4, the average thickness of each belt ply is = 0.9 mm (“T2”) (claim 2).
In the same field of endeavor of passenger car tires, WO’006 teaches a tire comprising a tread having a 30°C tanδ = 0.200 (“tanδ1”) and a thickness of the tread = 7.6 mm (“T1”) (TABLE 7: example 4-1) for rolling resistance and chipping resistance. In the same field of endeavor of passenger car tires, Mukai teaches a tire having a tread with a land ratio for 60%-70% (“La”) for enhanced steering stability and drainage [0077]. The tire of Astaix et al. satisfying T1 x T2 x La x tanδ1 in a range of 0.33 to 1.10 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by providing known dimensions for the same class of tires as shown by Astaix et al, WO’006, and Mukai to obtain the known and expected benefits of rolling resistance, chipping resistance, and steering stability and drainage respectively.
For example:
T1 = 7.6 mm (WO’006),
T2 = 0.9 mm (Astaix et al.),
La = 0.70 (Mukai), and
tanδ1 = 0.20 (WO’006)
T1 x T2 x La x tanδ1 = 7.6 mm x 0.9 mm x 0.70 x 0.20 ≈ 0.96.
T1 x La x tanδ1 = 7.6 mm x 0.70 x 0.20 ≈ 1.06 (claim 3)
Regarding claims 4-5, see [0042]-[0046] of Astaix et al.
Regarding claims 6-16, the second 120 and third 130 reinforcers are steel monofilaments (1x1) having a diameter D2 and D3, respectively between 0.20 mm and 0.50 mm [0017] rendering obvious the claimed outer diameter.
Regarding claim 17, Astaix et al. teaches the same material, same cord construction used in the same tire component of the same class of tire as the instant application [0085]. There is a reasonable expectation and basis to conclude the claimed limitation is satisfied.
Regarding claim 18, see [0085] of Astaix et al.
Regarding claims 19-20, [0018] of Astaix et al. teaches the second and third reinforcers has a density of 100-180 threads/dm which is 50-90 cords/5cm, overlapping and rendering the claimed limitation obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 7 of the remarks, Applicant states a person of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the three references in an effort to achieve or conceive the claimed invention because the three references completely addresses different technical problems with different solution, and thus each reference is based on subject matter that is different from one another and from the present invention.
This argument is unpersuasive because providing the same technical problem and the same solution as the present invention is not a requirement for a proper 103. Providing known tread properties and dimensions as disclosed by WO’006 and Muaki to the passenger car tire of Astaix et al. yields the known, predictable, and expected results of low rolling resistance, chipping resistance, steering stability and drainage.
On page 10 of the remarks, Applicant argues that there is no proper motivation for the person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the three cited documents, and then somehow extract the claimed four specific parameter therefrom, multiply them together, and then limit the product to the claimed specific ranges.
This is argument is unpersuasive because WO’006 provides motivation to use a tire tread having a 30°C tanδ = 0.200 and a thickness of the tread = 7.6 mm for rolling resistance and chipping resistance benefits and Mukai provides motivation to provide the tread of a tire with a land ratio of 60%-70% for enhance steering stability and drainage. The rejection of record does not take the position that one of ordinary skill would extract, multiply, and limit the product of (T1 x T2 x La x tanδ1) in a range from 0.33 to 1.10. More properly, when one of ordinary skill in the art provides the tire of Astaix with the known tread properties and dimensions of WO’006 and Mukai to obtain the known, predictable, and expected benefits of low rolling resistance, chipping resistance, steering stability and drainage, the claimed product of (T1 x T2 x La x tanδ1) would reasonably be satisfied. While the Examiner acknowledges none of the prior art recites a product of (T1 x T2 x La x tanδ1), the claimed invention reads on an obvious tire construction, i.e. a tire of Astaix et al. provided with known tread properties and dimensions of WO’006 and Mukai rendering the claimed invention unpatentable.
On page 11 of the remarks, the Applicant argues all inventive examples have unexpectedly improved ride comfort while simultaneously achieving improved rolling resistance.
In response, Table 1 and Table 2 does not demonstrate unexpected results. When reviewing Ref1-Ref4, when the product of (T1 x T2 X La x tanδ1) increase, rolling resistance benefits are reduces while riding comfort is improved and the working example shows that same trade off in performance between rolling resistance and ride comfort. Further, Astaix teaches a pneumatic tire having a belt structure that reduces rolling resistance, WO’006 teaches a tire tread comprising a tanδ = 0.200 and a thickness of 7.6 mm results in improved rolling resistance and chipping resistance, and Mukai teaches a tread with a land ratio of 60%-70% enhances steering stability and drainage (related to riding comfort) suggesting the Applicant’s results are expected results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KENDRA LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749