Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatia(US 12,380,051) and Fullenkamp (US 2023/0171249).
Regarding claim 1, Bhatia discloses an information handling system, comprising: sensor hardware(Column 8, Lines 28-29, The BMC firmware has capabilities to dynamically handle such changes in devices and sensors); a baseboard management controller (BMC) configured to receive the configuration options from a configuration manager(Column 11, Lines 17-41, An orchestration process executed by the build orchestrator 310 involves managing a repository of firmware components, which includes drivers, bootloaders, and platform-specific configurations. The build orchestrator 310 uses this repository to put together a firmware image that aligns with the new configuration of the system's hardware. Once the firmware image is constructed, the build orchestrator 310 oversees its deployment to the BMC 212, which may require the BMC to enter flash mode for the firmware update and subsequently reboot the system to apply the new configuration); and an original equipment manufacturer (OEM) sensor framework including framework hardware and framework firmware from an OEM, the OEM sensor framework configured to receive the selected configuration options and the platform type option, to select a set of sensor features from a plurality of sensor features to enable based on the selected configuration options and the platform type option, and to enable a set of the sensor hardware based on the set of sensor features(Column 13, Lines 27-41, Once the platform is identified, the firmware checks if it already has support for that platform from the storage 417. If the firmware found the necessary configurations for the identified platform, including sensor, power, event, thermal, or device configurations, from the management packages 440 stored on the storage 417, these configurations are loaded into the BMC 420's memory location. The firmware then loads and applies these configurations during the boot process. As such, the platform-specific settings are applied when the BMC 420 is booted. Accordingly, the sensor monitoring service is initialized. The management packages 440 contain platform-specific files necessary for the BMC 420 to function properly on a given platform, including sensor configurations, event filters, power and thermal configurations, and more).
Bhatia does not specifically disclose the configuration manager operable to provide an interface whereby configuration options for the information handling system are selected, the configuration options including a platform type option specifying the information handling system as operating as one of a plurality of platform types. However, Fullenkamp discloses a GUI 402 may present a configuration page to the field technician to solicit configuration information for the particular device 104 being commissioned. The network configuration information may include configuration information for configuring the node device 104 (Paragraph 82) and a selection of a platform type by having the GUI 402 present a page flow to the field technician to solicit a platform type of the node device 104 being commissioned(Paragraph 89). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Bhatia and Fullenkamp to have the configuration manager operable to provide an interface whereby configuration options for the information handling system are selected, the configuration options including a platform type option specifying the information handling system as operating as one of a plurality of platform types. The motivation to do so would be for the presentation and selection of options and specifying the platform type, since the platform type is key information need to configure system.
Regarding claim 2, Bhatia and Fullenkamp disclose the information handling system of claim 1, wherein the configuration manager includes a basic input/output system (BIOS) configuration manager and a manufacturer configuration manager(Fullenkamp: Paragraph 32, FIG. 3 represents a workflow for initial provisioning while workflow 400 of FIG. 4 is a workflow for in-the-field updates. Workflow 300 begins with the creation (302), by IT administrators, of an initial BIOS attribute map, which is provided (304) to an OEM tool (306) for generating a role-based BIOS attribute authorization table (308), signing (310) the authorization table with an OEM signing tool, adding (312) the table to the BIOS using a verification tool and shipping (314) the system to an enterprise end user) .
Regarding claim 3, Bhatia, Fullenkamp and Rajagopalan disclose information handling system of claim 2, wherein the platform type option is set by the manufacturer configuration manager(Fullenkamp: Paragraph 89, specify platform type).
Regarding claim 4, Bhatia and Fullenkamp disclose the information handling system of claim 1, wherein the configuration manager encodes the selected configuration options prior to sending the configuration options to the BMC(Fullenkamp: Paragraph 7, predefining relationships between user roles and BIOS attributes, secure provisioning, either offline at the factory or in-the-field updates, and secure access based on the defined relationships).
Regarding claim 5, Bhatia and Fullenkamp disclose the information handling system of claim 1, wherein, when the platform type option indicates that the information handling system is operating as a first platform type, the set of sensor features includes a first subset of the sensor features(Bhatia: Column 10, Lies 25-32), These platform-specific files enabling device discovery, sensor monitoring, event actions etc. are packaged into modules called platform configuration capsules (PCCs). The PCCs may contain one or more of the following: Sensor Data Record (SDR) information: Detailing the mappings of sensors to their respective I2C buses within the modular server system, aiding in prescient sensor management. Column 12, Lines 38-81, Dynamically select the platform type at runtime and enable the appropriate sensor management packages for that platform).
Regarding claim 6, Bhatia and Fullenkamp disclose information handling system of claim 5, wherein when the platform type option indicates that the information handling system is operating as a second platform type, the set of sensor features includes the first subset and a second subset of the sensor features(Bhatia: Column 10, Lies 25-32), These platform-specific files enabling device discovery, sensor monitoring, event actions etc. are packaged into modules called platform configuration capsules (PCCs). The PCCs may contain one or more of the following: Sensor Data Record (SDR) information: Detailing the mappings of sensors to their respective I2C buses within the modular server system, aiding in prescient sensor management. Column 12, Lines 38-81, Dynamically select the platform type at runtime and enable the appropriate sensor management packages for that platform).
Regarding claim 7, Bhatia and Fullenkamp disclose information handling system of claim 6, wherein when the platform type option indicates that the information handling system is operating as a third platform type, the set of sensor features includes the plurality of sensor features(Bhatia: Column 10, Lies 25-32), These platform-specific files enabling device discovery, sensor monitoring, event actions etc. are packaged into modules called platform configuration capsules (PCCs). The PCCs may contain one or more of the following: Sensor Data Record (SDR) information: Detailing the mappings of sensors to their respective I2C buses within the modular server system, aiding in prescient sensor management. Column 12, Lines 38-81, Dynamically select the platform type at runtime and enable the appropriate sensor management packages for that platform).
Regarding claim 8, Regarding claim 9, Bhatia and Fullenkamp disclose information handling system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose the sensor hardware includes a motion detector. However, official notice is being taken that this sensor is well-known in the art and routinely used in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a motion detector sensor. The motivation would be to detect motion to perform activities.
Regarding claim 9, Bhatia and Fullenkamp disclose information handling system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose the sensor hardware includes an ambient light sensor. However, official notice is being taken that this sensor is well-known in the art and routinely used in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a motion detector sensor. The motivation would be to detect ambient light to perform activities.
Regarding claim 10, Bhatia and Fullenkamp disclose information handling system of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose the sensor hardware includes a user presence sensor. However, official notice is being taken that this sensor is well-known in the art and routinely used in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a motion detector sensor. The motivation would be to detect user presence to perform activities.
Claims 11-20 recite substantially similar limitations as claims 1-10 and thus taught by Bhatia and Fullenkamp, as explained above.
Conclusion
/NIMESH G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2185