Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-12 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Examiner has brought in Mahalingam (2024/0147370) and Eloy (2002/0097689) to disclose newly amended features.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan (2015/0121413) in view of Mahalingam (2024/0147370) and Eloy (2002/0097689).
As for claims 1 and 10, Ramakrishnan discloses a method of operating a terminal for pre-downloading content ahead of a user's request, the method comprising:
obtaining an identifier assigned to the terminal (Collects information regarding mobile communication device; [0019], [0024]);
obtaining a list of one or more contents curated through personalized recommendations for the user (Recommendation server 130 provides a recommendation list to mobile communication device based on user’s media activity; [0022], [0026], [0028], [0059]); and
downloading at least some of the one or more contents in one or more time periods (non-peak hours and/or during hours of reduced traffic and/or download costs) which are determined based on the identifier within a predefined pre-download period (The mobile communication device pre-fetches media content during hours of reduced traffic and/or download costs; [0052]).
However, Ramakrishnan fails to disclose:
Wherein the pre-defined pre-download period comprises a plurality of frames, each frame including a plurality of slots,
The downloading comprises switching between a wake-up mode in which pre-downloading is enabled and a sleep mode in which pre-downloading is disabled, based on a target slot determined by the identifier for each of the plurality of frames, and
A position of the target slot within each frame is different across the plurality of frames.
In an analogous art, Mahalingam discloses:
Wherein the pre-defined pre-download period comprises a plurality of frames (During a wake-up cycle, the end-user device becomes active and data is transmitted for later consumption. The end-user device is woken up based on the identity of the end-user device; [0091], [0092]),
The downloading comprises switching between a wake-up mode in which pre-downloading is enabled and a sleep mode in which pre-downloading is disabled,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramakrishnan’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Mahalingam, for the advantage of energy conservation.
However, Ramakrishnan and Mahalingam fail to disclose:
each frame including a plurality of slots,
the downloading is based on a target slot determined by the identifier for each of the plurality of frames,
A position of the target slot within each frame is different across the plurality of frames.
In an analogous art, Eloy discloses:
each frame including a plurality of slots (Each time frame includes a plurality of time slots; [0014], [0016], [0033]),
the downloading is based on a target slot determined by the identifier for each of the plurality of frames ([0037]-[0039]),
A position of the target slot within each frame is different across the plurality of frames (The slot for each frame changes; [0037]-[0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramakrishnan and Mahalingam’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Eloy, for the advantage of preventing interference between receivers.
As for claim 3, Ramakrishnan discloses wherein the downloading is initiated without receiving a download request from the user (Content is pre-fetched according to recommendations; [0044], [0048], [0017]).
As for claim 4, the modified Ramakrishnan discloses wherein:
the switching between a wake-up mode and a sleep mode, is performed based on a wake-up time point and a sleep time point (Mahalingam: [0189])
the sleep time point is set based on an end time point of the target slot in a current frame (Eloy: [0037]-[0039]), and
the wake-up time point is set based on a start time point of a target slot of a next frame (Eloy: [0037]-[0039])and
the wakeup point is set based on whether there is content that has not been completely downloaded by the sleep time point (Mahalingam: [0091], [0107], [0147]).
As for claim 5, Ramakrishnan discloses wherein the downloading further comprises:
switching to the sleep mode even before the end time point or remaining in the sleep mode even after the start time point, based on whether a wireless connection status of the terminal satisfies a predetermined condition (“Wi-fi connection has degraded substantially…stop further pre-fetching activity”; [0049]).
As for claim 9, Ramakrishnan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing instructions for causing, when executed by a computer, the computer to perform the method according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Grunewald (2017/0351388).
As for claim 2, Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy fail to disclose wherein the identifier and the list are obtained in an initial configuration procedure following execution of an application installed in the terminal.
In an analogous art, Grunewald discloses wherein the identifier and the list are obtained in an initial configuration procedure following execution of an application installed in the terminal ([0080]-[0082]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Grunewald, for the advantage of simplifying the process of installing relevant content to the user.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cornelius (2015/0074022).
As for claim 6, Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam, and Eloy fails to disclose further comprising, after the downloading, deleting incomplete content which has not been completely downloaded within the pre- download period.
In an analogous art, Cornelius discloses after the downloading, deleting incomplete content which has not been completely downloaded within the pre- download period ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Cornelius, for the advantage of conserving memory.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam, and Eloy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tomay (2014/0365617).
As for claim 7, Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy fail to disclose further comprising, after the downloading, downloading a remaining portion of incomplete content, which has not been completely downloaded within the pre-download period, in a next pre-download period.
In an analogous art, Tomay discloses after the downloading, downloading a remaining portion of incomplete content, which has not been completely downloaded within the pre-download period, in a next pre-download period ([0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Tomay, for the advantage of conserving network resources.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wen (2015/0358689).
As for claim 8, Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy fail to disclose after the downloading, based on whether incomplete content, which has not been completely downloaded within the pre-download period, is selected as playback content, streaming playback of a remaining portion of the incomplete content.
In an analogous art, Wen discloses after the downloading, based on whether incomplete content, which has not been completely downloaded within the pre-download period, is selected as playback content, streaming playback of a remaining portion of the incomplete content (With start of pre-fetched portion, computing device streams remainder of the content [0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Wen, for the advantage of reducing unnecessary downloads.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen (2024/0004086).
As for claim 11, Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy fail to disclose switching to the sleep mode even before an end time point of target slot or remaining in the sleep mode even after a start time of the target slot, based on whether a location of the terminal satisfies a predetermined condition.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses switching to the sleep mode even before an end time point of target slot or remaining in the sleep mode even after a start time of the target slot, based on whether a location of the terminal satisfies a predetermined condition ([0028]-[0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Chen, for the advantage of reducing power consumption.
As for claim 12, Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy fail to disclose switching to the sleep mode even before an end time point of target slot or remaining in the sleep mode even after a start time of the target slot, based on whether a current time satisfies a predetermined condition.
In an analogous art, Chen discloses switching to the sleep mode even before an end time point of target slot or remaining in the sleep mode even after a start time of the target slot, based on whether a current time satisfies a predetermined condition ([0077], [0078], [0087], [0109]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ramakrishnan, Mahalingam and Eloy’s invention to include the abovementioned limitation, as taught by Chen, for the advantage of reducing power consumption.
Relevant Prior Art
Sasaki (2021/0124477) discloses downloading content prior to a scheduled output period. The content is correlated to the received terminal ID.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SUMAIYA A. CHOWDHURY
Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/SUMAIYA A CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421