DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 2 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025, 05/16/2025, and 02/17/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ishikawa et al. U.S. Patent Application 2023/0087660 (hereinafter “Ishikawa”).
Regarding claim 1, Ishikawa teaches an electrostatic chuck (i.e. electrostatic chuck 112)(figs.3 and 4) comprising: a dielectric substrate (i.e. ceramic member 112a)(figs.3 and 4) including a placement surface (i.e. central area 110a)(figs. 3 and 4) on which an object to be attracted is placed (i.e. substrate W)(fig.3); an attraction electrode (i.e. electrostatic electrode 115a)(fig.4) provided inside the dielectric substrate (implicit)(refer to fig.4) and an RF electrode (i.e. bias electrode 116a)(fig.4) provided inside the dielectric substrate (implicit)(refer to fig.4), wherein the RE electrode is provided in a range where an outer circumferential edge of the RF electrode is positioned inside an outer circumferential edge of the attraction electrode when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the placement surface (implicit)(refer to fig.4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishikawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yonekura et al. U.S. Patent Application 2009/0308538 (hereinafter “Yonekura”).
Regarding claim 2, Ishikawa teaches the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1; however, Ishikawa does not teach wherein the dielectric substrate is formed with a seal ring which is an annular protrusion with a tip serving as a part of the placement surface, and at least part of the seal ring overlaps the attraction electrode when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface. However, Yonekura teaches wherein the dielectric substrate is formed with a seal ring (i.e. 102b)(fig.2) which is an annular protrusion (implicit)(refer to fig.2) with a tip serving as a part of the placement surface (implicit)(refer to fig.2), and at least part of the seal ring overlaps the attraction electrode when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface (implicit)(refer to seal ring 102b and electrostatic electrode 103)(fig.2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrostatic chuck of Ishikawa to include the seal ring and placement of the attraction electrode of Yonekura to provide the advantage of providing a tight seal between the wafer and the seal ring through the electrostatic attraction to prevent backside gas from escaping.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cho et al. U.S. Patent Application 2025/0226257 (hereinafter “Cho”) teaches a portion of each of the RF electrode (114C)(fig.2) and the attraction electrode (114A)(fig.2) overlapping the seal ring.
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838