DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “the amount” in line 9 is suggested to change to - - an amount. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 2006/0004485) in view of Klein et al. (US 2011/0125563) and JP WO2019167257A1, English machine translation, hereinafter “257A1”.
Regarding claim 1, Thomas teaches a vending machine (100, fig. 1), comprising: an interactive display unit (124, [0021]), at least two dispensers (108 and 104), including a dispenser configured to dispense a dry-good product ([0028]) and a dispenser for dispensing liquid ([0026]); a tray for supporting a refillable vessel (holder for holding nozzle 106), and internal storage (112) for grocery products ([0027]), wherein the interactive display unit is configured to show transaction ([0019], [0024] and [0027]).
Thomas fails to teach the interactive display unit is configured to show an environment impact of a transaction, including an amount of CO2 mitigated and/or the amount of electricity saved.
However, Klein teaches system and method for reducing environment impact comprising a display configured to show an environment impact of a transaction ([0085]) and controller configured to calculate an amount of CO2 mitigated and/or an amount of electricity saved ([0088]). Moreover, 257A1 teaches displaying an environmental impact including an amount of CO2 mitigated (fig. 3 and page 5, line 37 to page 6, line 5).
In view of both Klein and 257A1’s teachings, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Thomas by incorporating the teachings as taught by Klein and 257A1 so that user can be able to view the impact of the transaction.
Regarding claim 2, Thomas as modified by Klein and 257A1 teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Thomas further teaches a payment device (120, fig. 1 and [0019]).
Regarding claim 3, Thomas as modified by Klein and 257A1 teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Both Thomas and Klein further teach wherein the interactive display unit is configured to show transactions of an individual across a period of time and/or the vending machine across a period of time (Thomas: [0019]. Klein: [0085]-[0088]).
Regarding claim 4, Thomas as modified by Klein and 257A1 teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Klein further teaches wherein the environment impact includes a number of plastic bottles saved, a weight of the plastic bottle saved, and/or an amount of money saved ([0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Thomas as modified by Klein and 257A1 teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Thomas further teaches a method of obtaining a refill of a liquid or dry-good product, the method comprising: obtaining a liquid and/or dry good product that is provided in a vessel; and obtaining a refill of the liquid and/or dry good product using the vending machine of claim 1 (figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 6, Thomas as modified by Klein and 257A1 teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Thomas further teaches wherein obtaining a refill of the liquid and/or dry good product including using the vessel to store the refill (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Thomas as modified by Klein and 257A1 teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Thomas further teaches wherein obtaining a refill of the liquid and/or dry good product includes using different vessel to store the refill (fig. 1).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-7 under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Thomas, Klein and 257A1.
Conclusion
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876