DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 are pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/22/2025 and 02/09/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 C.F.R. § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redeker et al. U.S. Patent Application 2003/0180459 (hereinafter “Redeker”) and further in view of Cho et al. U.S. Patent Application 2025/0226257 (hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding claim 1, Redeker teaches an electrostatic chuck (refer to fig.3) comprising: a dielectric substrate (i.e. electrostatic chuck 32)(fig.3)(refer also to [0004] and [0023]) including a placement surface (i.e. surface 70)(fig.3) on which an object to be attracted is placed (refer to [0031]); an RF electrode (i.e. RF electrode 64)(fig.3) provided inside the dielectric substrate (implicit)(refer to fig.3); and a base plate (i.e. pedestal 60)(fig.3) joined to the dielectric substrate (implicit)(refer to fig.3 and [0004]), wherein the dielectric substrate includes a protrusion section (i.e. protrusion section in the figure below)(fig.3) protruding outward beyond a joined surface of the base plate when viewed from a direction perpendicular to the placement surface (implicit)(refer to fig.3), and a part of the RF electrode is provided in the protrusion section (implicit)(refer to RF electrode 64 and protrusion section in the figure below)(fig.3); however, Redeker does not teach wherein the base plate is made of metal. However, Cho teaches wherein the base plate is made of metal (refer to [0046] and [0047]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrostatic chuck of Redeker to include the metal base plate of Cho to provide the advantage of using a common material for the base plate which increases the strength of the electrostatic chuck to be able to withstand large chucking forces without breaking/cracking.
Regarding claim 2, Redeker and Cho teach the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, further comprising an attraction electrode (i.e. Redeker chucking electrode 66)(fig.3)(i.e. Cho chuck electrode layer 114A)(fig.2) provided inside the dielectric substrate (implicit)(refer to Redeker fig.3 and Cho fig.2), wherein a part of the attraction electrode is provided in the protrusion section when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface (implicit)(refer to Redeker chucking electrode 66 and protrusion section in the figure above)(fig.3).
Regarding claim 3, Redeker and Cho teach the electrostatic chuck according to claim 2; however, Redeker does not teach wherein the RF electrode is provided in a range where an outer circumferential edge of the RF electrode is positioned on an outer circumferential side of an outer circumferential edge of the attraction electrode when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface. However, Cho teaches wherein the RF electrode is provided in a range where an outer circumferential edge of the RF electrode is positioned on an outer circumferential side of an outer circumferential edge of the attraction electrode when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface (refer to Cho chuck electrode layer 114A and RF electrode layer 114C). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrostatic chuck of Redeker to include the RF electrode position in relation to the attraction electrode of Cho to provide the advantage of providing even plasma generation over the entire surface of the electrostatic chuck.
Regarding claim 4, Redeker and Cho teach the electrostatic chuck according to claim 2, wherein the RF electrode is provided in a range where an outer circumferential edge of the RF electrode does not protrude beyond an outer circumferential edge of the attraction electrode when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface (implicit)(refer to Redeker fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, Redeker and Cho teach the electrostatic chuck according to claim 1, further comprising: an insulating film (i.e. Cho ceramic coating layer 126)(fig.2) on the joined surface (implicit)(refer to Cho fig.2) and a lateral surface of the base plate (implicit)(refer to Cho fig.2), the dielectric substrate being spaced from the base plate by a portion of the insulating film (implicit).
Conclusion
/KEVIN J COMBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838