DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite the terms "module plate," "fastening member," "washer member," "nut member," "insertion portion," "boss," and "flow guide." The word "member" is a generic placeholder that may invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f), and each of these terms has therefore been evaluated under the three-prong analysis of MPEP § 2181(I).
None of these limitations is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f). Although "fastening member," "washer member," and "nut member" each use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language ("configured to couple," "supported between," "to which the connecting portion is fastened"), the third prong is not satisfied because each placeholder is modified by sufficient structure to perform the recited function: the fastening member is recited as "having a head portion and a connecting portion having a diameter smaller than the head portion" (claim 1); the washer member is recited as having a "washer through-hole," an "insertion portion," and a "boss" (claims 2, 4, 5); and the nut member is recited as having a "nut through-hole," an "insertion portion," a "boss," and a "nut, having screw threads formed on an inner circumferential surface" (claims 9-12). "Washer," "nut," "plate," "boss," and "guide" are further recognized in the art as names of structure. Accordingly, all claim limitations are given their broadest reasonable interpretation as ordinary structural limitations, consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites "a first heat sink to be provided on one side of the module plate," "a second heat sink to be provided on another side of the module plate," and "a thermoelectric element to be disposed in the opening so that while the thermoelectric element is disposed in the opening, one surface of the thermoelectric element contacts the first heat sink and another surface of the thermoelectric element, opposite the one surface, contacts the second heat sink." Claim 1 further recites "a fastening member, configured to couple the first heat sink and the second heat sink to the module plate by being passed through" those elements. It is unclear whether these recitations positively recite the assembled relationship as a structural limitation of the claimed refrigerator, or whether they instead recite only a capability or an intended future arrangement, such that the claim is satisfied by a refrigerator whose heat sinks and thermoelectric element are merely capable of being so arranged. The conditional construction "so that while the thermoelectric element is disposed in the opening" compounds the ambiguity, because it appears to condition the contact limitations on an assembly state that the claim does not itself require. Because the metes and bounds of the claim differ materially under the two readings, the claim is indefinite. Clarification by amendment (for example, "a first heat sink provided on one side of the module plate") is required.
Claim 1 recites "a fastening member, configured to couple the first heat sink and the second heat sink to the module plate by being passed through the first heat sink, the module plate, and the second heat sink, having a head portion and a connecting portion having a diameter smaller than the head portion" renders the claim indefinite because the recitation "having a head portion and a connecting portion having a diameter smaller than the head portion" is separated from the recitation it is intended to modify. It is therefore unclear whether the head portion and the connecting portion are elements of the fastening member or elements of the second heat sink. Although ¶ [0191] of the specification indicates that the fastening member S1 has a head portion H and a connecting portion C having a diameter smaller than the head portion H, the claim must be clear on its face, and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims.
Claim 3 recites that "the washer member is formed of a material having lower thermal conductivity than a metal to reduce heat transfer between the fastening member and the first heat sink." Claim 10 recites "a nut body formed of a material having lower thermal conductivity than a metal to reduce heat transfer between the fastening member and the second heat sink" renders the claims indefinite because the comparative reference "a metal" is an unspecified member of a class whose members differ in thermal conductivity by more than an order of magnitude, from approximately 8 W/m-K for bismuth to approximately 400 W/m-K for copper. A given candidate material may therefore satisfy the limitation when compared against one metal and fail it when compared against another, and the claim does not identify which comparison controls. The specification does not resolve the question: ¶ [0194] repeats the same phrase and then states in the alternative that the washer member 510 "may also be constituted by a metal material having lower thermal conductivity than a metal constituting the heat dissipation sink 520 and the cooling sink 570," and ¶ [0207] states the corresponding alternative for the nut body 591. The existence of the narrower, identified comparison in the specification alongside the unqualified comparison in the claims confirms that the claimed threshold is not ascertainable.
Claim 7 recites "a plurality of first channels between the plurality of first fins, and the plurality of first channels include first basic channels and at least one first wide channel having a greater width than the first basic channels," and claim 8 recites that "the washer member is disposed in the at least one first wide channel." Claim 14 recites the corresponding "second basic channels" and "second wide channel" limitations, and claim 15 recites that "the nut member is disposed in the at least one second wide channel." The term "basic," as applied to a channel, is a relative term of degree. The specification uses the term only by contrast with the wide channel and does not supply a dimension, a ratio, or any other standard for ascertaining which channels are "basic" (¶¶ [0184], [0188]; figs. 11, 12, 18). Where a fin array presents three or more distinct channel widths, one of ordinary skill would not be reasonably apprised of which of them are "basic channels" and therefore of the width that the "wide channel" must exceed. The claims are accordingly indefinite.
Claims 2, 4-6, 9, 11 and 12 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US 2019/0285355 A1) in view of BEITNER (US 4,107,934).
In regard to claim 1, LEE teaches a refrigerator (refrigerator 1) comprising:
a storage compartment (storage chamber 111 defined in inner casing 110 of cabinet 10) (¶¶ [0030]-[0031]; figs. 1, 2, 4); and
a thermoelectric module (thermoelectric module 500 of cooling device 50) to cool the storage compartment (¶¶ [0077]-[0079], [0115]-[0116], [0119]; figs. 4, 8-11),
wherein the thermoelectric module includes:
a module plate having an opening (thermal-insulating member 570 provided with element mounting hole 571 opened in the front-rear direction) (¶¶ [0126]-[0128]; figs. 10, 11);
a first heat sink to be provided on one side of the module plate (heat sink 550, whose heat dissipation plate 553 is received in plate receiving groove 572 formed in the rear-facing side of 570) (¶¶ [0130], [0176], [0178], [0215]; figs. 10, 11, 13);
a second heat sink to be provided on another side of the module plate (cooling sink 530, whose cooling plate 531 is disposed against the opposite, front-facing side of 570) (¶¶ [0135]-[0137]; figs. 10, 11);
a thermoelectric element to be disposed in the opening so that while the thermoelectric element is disposed in the opening, one surface of the thermoelectric element contacts the first heat sink and another surface of the thermoelectric element, opposite the one surface, contacts the second heat sink (thermoelectric element 520 located within element mounting hole 571, the high-temperature portion contacting element contacting plate 554 of heat sink 550 positioned within hole 571, and the low-temperature portion contacting protrusion 531a of cooling plate 531 inserted into hole 571) (¶¶ [0118]-[0119], [0127], [0135], [0137]-[0138], [0180]-[0181]; figs. 10, 11);
a fastening member configured to couple the first heat sink and the second heat sink to the module plate by being passed through the first heat sink, the module plate, and the second heat sink (fastener 5519 sequentially penetrating heat dissipation plate 553, thermal-insulating member 570, and cooling plate 531, and engaging engagement hole 5534 of the heat dissipation plate) (¶¶ [0134], [0220]-[0221], [0260]-[0262]; figs. 13, 14); and
a nut member to which the connecting portion is fastened and that is supported by the second heat sink (nut engaged with fastener 5519 at cooling plate 531, the nut bearing against the cooling plate to develop the clamping load) (¶ [0261]; figs. 13, 14).
LEE does not explicitly teach that the fastening member has a head portion and a connecting portion having a diameter smaller than the head portion, or a washer member supported between the head portion and the first heat sink.
However, BEITNER teaches a thermoelectric cooling unit in which a Peltier-type thermoelectric element (34) is held in compression between an internal thermal sink (26) and an external thermal sink (52) by bolts (58), each bolt having a head (56) recessed in a well (54) of the internal thermal sink, a threaded end secured by a nut (64) at the external thermal sink, and a mid-portion of reduced thickness as compared with the head portion and the threaded portion so as to further reduce heat transfer, and in which a heat insulating washer (68) is provided between the head (56) and the internal thermal sink to minimize heat transfer along the bolt (58), the aperture (60) through the sink being made larger than the bolt and the washer being constructed to center the bolt in that aperture (col. 2, ll. 12-24; col. 3, l. 44 - col. 4, l. 10; figs. 2-4; claims 1, 3-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE to include a fastening bolt having an enlarged head and a mid-portion of reduced thickness as compared with the head and the threaded portion, together with a heat insulating washer interposed between that head and the sink beneath it, as taught by BEITNER, in order to minimize heat transfer along the fastener between the two thermal sinks while still placing the thermoelectric element in compression between them. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because LEE clamps its heat sink 550 and cooling sink 530 directly to one another through the thermal-insulating member 570 by means of the fastener 5519, so that the fastener spans and thermally short-circuits the very insulating member LEE provides in order to prevent heat conducted from the heat sink from reaching the cooling sink and degrading the efficiency of the thermoelectric element (LEE, ¶¶ [0126], [0129], [0146], [0261]). See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
In regard to claim 3, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the washer member is formed of a material having lower thermal conductivity than a metal to reduce heat transfer between the fastening member and the first heat sink.
However, BEITNER teaches that a heat insulating washer (68) is interposed between the bolt head (56) and the thermal sink specifically to minimize heat transfer along the bolt (58), and that the fastening means as a whole is selected to have a low coefficient of heat transfer from one thermal sink to the other (col. 2, ll. 18-24; col. 3, ll. 58-66; fig. 3; claims 4-6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE to include a heat insulating washer formed of a material of lower thermal conductivity than a metal and seated beneath the head of the fastening bolt, as taught by BEITNER, in order to minimize the heat transfer that would otherwise occur along the fastener between the two thermal sink.
In regard to claim 4, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the washer member includes a washer through-hole through which the fastening member passes.
However, BEITNER teaches that the heat insulating washer (68) is received on the shank of the bolt (58) between the bolt head (56) and the spring washers (66), the bolt passing through the washer, and that the washer is constructed to center the bolt within the enlarged aperture (60) of the thermal sink (col. 3, ll. 58-66; fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE to include an annular heat insulating washer received on the shank of the fastening bolt between the bolt head and the sink, as taught by BEITNER, in order to seat the insulating washer on the bolt so that it both centers the bolt in the enlarged aperture and interrupts conduction from the bolt head into the sink.
In regard to claim 11, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein LEE further teaches the nut member includes a nut through-hole into which the fastening member is insertable (the nut engaged with fastener 5519 at cooling plate 531, the threaded bore of which necessarily receives the fastener in order for the two to be engaged) (¶ [0261]; figs. 13, 14).
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of BEITNER and further in view of KAUFMAN (US 4,907,124).
In regard to claim 2, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein LEE further teaches the first heat sink includes a through-hole through which the fastening member passes (engagement hole 5534 defined in heat dissipation plate 553 of heat sink 550, through which fastener 5519 passes) (¶¶ [0220]-[0221]; figs. 13, 14).
LEE does not explicitly teach that the washer member includes an insertion portion protruding toward the through-hole and insertable into the through-hole.
However, KAUFMAN teaches an electrically insulating washer (24) seated beneath the enlarged head (32) of a mounting bolt (28) in a bolted heat sink stack-up, the washer having a lower annular portion (26) that protrudes from the washer body toward, and is received and located within, the enlarged upper bore (38) of the countersunk hole (14) of the heat sink (4), the axial height of the annular portion being substantially equal to the combined axial heights of the bores it enters, and the bolt shank (30) extending axially within that annular portion so as to be held out of contact with the surrounding hole peripheries (col. 1, l. 56 - col. 2, l. 32; fig. 2; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE to include an insulating washer having a lower annular portion that protrudes from the washer body and seats within the enlarged upper bore of the fastener hole in the sink, as taught by KAUFMAN, in order to locate the washer in the fastener hole and to cause the washer to annularly surround the fastener shank within the hole so that the shank is kept out of contact with the hole periphery (KAUFMAN, col. 2, ll. 20-30; claim 1). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification because BEITNER already enlarges the fastener aperture (60) relative to the bolt and assigns to the insulating washer (68) the function of centering the bolt within that enlarged aperture, an insertion portion entering the aperture being the direct structural means of performing that centering function (BEITNER, col. 3, ll. 58-66; fig. 3). See MPEP § 2143(I)(C).
In regard to claim 5, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 4, but does not explicitly teach that the washer member includes a boss protruding around the washer through-hole.
However, KAUFMAN teaches that the insulating washer (24) includes an upper shoulder flange (27) that extends integrally and radially outwardly around the washer bore from the remainder of the washer, the flange being interposed between the enlarged head (32) of the bolt (28) and the member beneath so that the underside of the head bears against it, and extending radially outwardly beyond the head (col. 1, l. 56 - col. 2, l. 32; fig. 2; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE as modified to include an insulating washer having an upper shoulder flange that extends integrally and radially outwardly around the washer bore and against which the underside of the fastener head bears, as taught by KAUFMAN, in order to present a bearing surface that receives the underside of the fastener head and transmits the clamping load to the stack while keeping the head spaced from the heat sink.
Claims 6, 7, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of BEITNER and further in view of LAU et al. (US 10,178,797 B1).
In regard to claim 6, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the washer member includes a flow guide protruding to control a flow of air.
However, LAU teaches a finned heat sink (214) disposed in a forced-air channel (213) downstream of a blower (204), in which an air-diverting structure (224) is positioned within a gap (222) at a location where the fins (216) are absent, the air-diverting structure comprising a wall that protrudes a partial depth into the gap and that is configured to redirect the air flowing in the gap, and which may extend into the gap from the distal surface of the heat sink, the shape and placement of the fins, the gap, and the air-diverting structure being selected according to the proportions of air to be directed along each path (col. 3, ll. 41-62; col. 4, ll. 9-30; figs. 3, 5; claims 1, 4, 5, 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE as modified to include a wall protruding into the fin-free space of the heat sink and redirecting the air flowing through that space, carried on the washer already located in that space, as taught by LAU, in order to apportion the forced air between the fin-free space and the finned surfaces according to the proportions desired for heat exchange.
In regard to claim 7, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 6, wherein LEE further teaches the first heat sink includes a first sink base (heat dissipation plate 553) and a plurality of first fins protruding along a direction perpendicular to one surface of the first sink base (heat dissipation fin 551 comprising a stack of a plurality of fins engaged with the fin-engagement portion 5530 formed on the second surface 5530b of the heat dissipation plate and extending away from that surface) (¶¶ [0176]-[0179], [0213]-[0219]; figs. 13, 15), a plurality of first channels between the plurality of first fins (the spacings maintained between vertically adjacent fins by the spacers 5511a and 5511b and by the sleeves 5511d, along which air blown by the heat dissipation fan 590 flows) (¶¶ [0198], [0229], [0235]-[0239]; figs. 13, 15-17), and the plurality of first channels include first basic channels and at least one first wide channel having a greater width than the first basic channels (the constant spacing maintained between adjacent fins by the spacers, as compared with the wider space provided between the horizontally spaced-apart stacks of fourth fins 5516, fifth fins 5517, and sixth fins 5518, in which space the fastener is received) (¶¶ [0258]-[0265]; figs. 13, 14).
In regard to claim 8, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 7, LEE teaches that the fastener 5519 for engaging the heat dissipation plate 553 with the thermal-insulating member 570 and the cooling plate 531 is positioned in the space between the stack of fourth fins 5516 and the stack of fifth fins 5517, those stacks being spaced apart from each other in a direction intersecting the stacking direction of the fins for that purpose (¶¶ [0260], [0264]-[0265]; figs. 13, 14). In the combination set forth above with respect to claim 1, the washer member is carried on the fastening member immediately beneath its head portion, and is accordingly disposed within that same wide channel.
In regard to claim 13, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the nut member includes a flow guide protruding to control a flow of air.
However, LAU teaches an air-diverting structure (224) positioned within a fin-free gap (222) of a forced-air-cooled finned heat sink (214), the air-diverting structure comprising a wall that protrudes a partial depth into the gap and that is configured to redirect the air flowing in the gap, the shape and placement of the structure being selected according to the proportions of air to be directed along each path (col. 3, ll. 41-62; col. 4, ll. 9-30; figs. 3, 5; claims 1, 4, 5, 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE to include a wall protruding into the space occupied by the fastening hardware among the cooling fins and redirecting the air flowing through that space, carried on the nut member already located there, as taught by LAU, in order to apportion the air between the space occupied by the fastening hardware and the finned surfaces according to the proportions desired for heat exchange.
Claims 9, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE and BEITNER as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of TONG (US 2002/0134575 A1).
In regard to claim 9, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the second heat sink includes a through-hole through which the fastening member passes (the aperture in cooling plate 531 of cooling sink 530 penetrated by fastener 5519 before the fastener is engaged by the nut) (¶¶ [0261]-[0262]; figs. 13, 14).
LEE in view of BEITNER does not explicitly teach that the nut member includes an insertion portion protruding toward the through-hole and insertable into the through-hole.
However, TONG teaches an insulating nut holder (20) for mounting a heat-generating component to a cooling plate (16), the nut holder comprising a body (22) defining a central bore (26), a nut (30) captured within the body coaxially with that bore, and a sleeve (28) extending from one side of the body concentrically with the bore and with the threaded bore of the nut, the sleeve having an external dimension adapted to be inserted and force fit into the bore (38, 42) of the mating member so as to retain the nut holder in place and to keep the fastener (34) out of contact with the surrounding structure (¶¶ [0008], [0019]-[0020], [0022]; figs. 2, 4B, 5B; claims 1, 3, 12).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE to include a nut holder having a sleeve that protrudes from the nut body concentrically with the nut bore and is force fit into the fastener bore of the adjacent member, as taught by TONG, in order to retain and align the nut member on the assembly and to keep the fastener from contacting the structure surrounding the hole.
In regard to claim 10, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the nut member includes a nut body formed of a material having lower thermal conductivity than a metal to reduce heat transfer between the fastening member and the second heat sink, and a nut having screw threads formed on an inner circumferential surface to fasten the fastening member, formed of a metal material, provided inside the nut body.
However, TONG teaches an insulating nut holder (20) comprising a body (22) made from plastic and a nut (30) made from a metal exhibiting low creep, such as steel, captured within the plastic body coaxially with the sleeve (28), the threaded bore of the metal nut receiving and being threadedly engaged by the bolt (34), the plastic body being adopted in place of an all-plastic bolt and nut so that the insulating properties of plastic are retained at the fastener without the loss of clamping pressure at the mating surfaces, and hence without the loss of heat transfer across those surfaces, that plastic creep would otherwise cause over time (¶¶ [0006]-[0008], [0019]-[0020]; figs. 2, 3A; claims 1, 4, 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE to include a nut holder comprising a plastic body and a low-creep metal nut captured within that body coaxially with the bore through which the fastener passes, as taught by TONG, in order to obtain the insulating properties of plastic at the fastener while retaining a low-creep metal thread so that the clamping pressure at the mating surfaces, and the heat transfer across them, is not lost over time.
In regard to claim 12, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the nut member includes a boss protruding around a nut through-hole.
However, TONG teaches that the insulating nut holder (20) includes a sleeve (28) extending from one side of the body (22) and protruding around the central bore (26), the bore of the sleeve being concentric with the bore in the body and with the threaded bore of the nut (30), and the sleeve guiding and surrounding the fastener (34) so that the fastener is prevented from touching the adjacent conductive structure (¶¶ [0008], [0019]-[0020]; fig. 2; claim 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE as modified to include a nut holder having a sleeve that protrudes around the bore of the nut body concentrically with the threaded bore of the metal nut and surrounds the fastener, as taught by TONG, in order to guide and support the fastener as it is threaded into the nut and to keep it from contacting the adjacent structure.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over LEE in view of BEITNER and LAU, and further in view of CHOI et al. (US 2018/0274825 A1).
In regard to claim 14, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 13, wherein the second heat sink includes a second sink base (cooling plate 531 of cooling sink 530) and a plurality of second fins protruding along a direction perpendicular to one surface of the second sink base (cooling fins 532 disposed in contact with and in front of the cooling plate 531, each extending in the vertical direction and arranged to be spaced apart from one another in the horizontal direction) (¶¶ [0136], [0140]-[0143]; figs. 10, 11), and a plurality of second channels are formed between the plurality of second fins (the horizontal spacings between adjacent cooling fins, along which the air of the cooling passage 180 flows and is heat-exchanged) (¶ [0143]; figs. 10, 11).
The modified LEE does not explicitly teach that the plurality of second channels include second basic channels and at least one second wide channel having a greater width than the second basic channels.
However, CHOI teaches a refrigerator thermoelectric module (3) having a cooling sink (32) and a heat sink (33) with the thermoelectric element (31) between them, in which the heat-dissipation fin structure (33c) comprises a plurality of fins and a groove (33d) is defined in each of the plurality of fins at the location of the fastening hardware, the grooves formed in the plurality of fins together forming a long space that receives and locates the head (53a) of the fixing pin (53), the head having a larger diameter than the pin body (53b) (¶¶ [0100], [0105], [0127]-[0129]; figs. 6-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE to include cooling fins having grooves that together form, at the location of the fastening hardware, a space wider than the spacing between the remaining fins, as taught by CHOI, in order to form among the fins a space that receives and locates the enlarged-diameter head of the fastening hardware.
In regard to claim 15, the modified LEE teaches the refrigerator of claim 14, but does not explicitly teach that the nut member is disposed in the at least one second wide channel.
However, CHOI teaches that the long space formed by the grooves (33d) in the plurality of heat-dissipation fins (33c) is located where the fastening hardware is positioned and receives the head (53a) of the fixing pin (53) within that space between the fins, the fixing pin being formed of a material of low thermal conductivity such as rubber or silicone (¶¶ [0127]-[0128]; figs. 9-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the thermoelectric module of LEE as modified to include the fastening hardware seated within the space formed among the fins for that purpose, as taught by CHOI, in order to seat the fastening hardware within the space formed among the fins for that purpose.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WEBESHET MENGESHA whose telephone number is (571)270-1793. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 7-4, alternate Fridays, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Frantz Jules can be reached at 571-272-6681. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/W.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763