DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claim terms “means for transmitting”, “means for determining” and “means for receiving” in claims 17-20 are interpreted as transceiver, receiver [0023], radar antenna [0083], processor and memory containing instructions [0085-0087].
Double Patenting
Claims (1, 9, 17), (3-5, 11-13, 19-20) and (7, 15) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7, 9-13, 16, 18-21, 24, and 26-30 of U.S. Patent No.12298381. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the current application are broader than the patent’s claims.
The following is comparison of the limitations of the current application with the Patent.
For claim 1:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No.12298381
transmitting, during a first pulse interval, a first pulse having a first duration, wherein the first pulse interval comprises the transmission of the first pulse followed by a first reception window; and
Claim 1: transmitting, by a device, a first signal for a first duration corresponding to a first transmission window; receiving, by the device, a first reflection of the first signal from a first object during a second duration following the first duration, wherein the second duration defines a first detection range for the first signal and corresponds to a first reception window;
transmitting, during a second pulse interval following the first pulse interval, a second pulse having a second duration, wherein the second pulse interval comprises the transmission of the second pulse followed by a second reception window; and
Claim 1: transmitting, by the device, a second signal for a third duration, wherein: the third duration is longer than the first duration, follows the second duration, and corresponds to a second transmission window, and
receiving, by the device, a second reflection of the second signal from a second object during a fourth duration following the third duration, wherein the fourth duration defines a second detection range for the second signal different from the first detection range and corresponds to a second reception window,
the second duration is longer than the first duration, a duration of the second reception window is longer than a duration of the first reception window, and
Claim 1: the third duration is longer than the first duration, follows the second duration, and corresponds to a second transmission window
the second duration is determined based at least in part on a transmission range determined from a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of the first pulse.
Claim 1: the third duration is determined based at least in part on a transmission range determined from a signal to noise ratio of the first signal;
For claim 3:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No.12298381
wherein the first duration is determined based at least in part on a minimum distance from the user equipment that an object is detectable by the user equipment.
Claim 3: wherein the first duration is determined based at least in part on a minimum distance from the device that an object is detectable.
For Claim 4:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No.12298381
further comprising, prior to transmitting the second pulse, determining a time for transmitting the second pulse based at least in part on a length of the first duration.
Claim 9: further comprising, prior to transmitting the second signal by the device, determining a time for transmitting the second signal based at least in part on a length of the first duration.
For Claim 5:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No.12298381
receiving a reflection of the first pulse during the first reception window, wherein the reflection of the first pulse is from an object within a detection range from the user equipment for the first pulse, and the detection range is defined by a duration of the first reception window.
Claim 1: receiving, by the device, a first reflection of the first signal from a first object during a second duration following the first duration, wherein the second duration defines a first detection range for the first signal and corresponds to a first reception window;
Claim 7:
Current Application
U.S. Patent No.12298381
wherein the user equipment comprises a half- duplex device
Claim 7: wherein the device comprises a half-duplex device.
Claims (2, 10, 18), (6, 14) and (8, 16) rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12298381 in view of US 20190170868 A1, D0 US 20130235366 A1 and US 20180348353 A1. Please, see the 103 rejections bellow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20190170868 A1 in view of D0 US 20130235366 A1.
Regarding claim 1 D1 teaches
1, 9, 17. A method for radar detection performed by a user equipment in a cellular network, the method comprising:
transmitting, during a first pulse interval(fig. 1), a first pulse having a first duration, wherein the first pulse interval comprises the transmission of the first pulse followed by a first reception window; and (short pulse +Sample time short )
transmitting, during a second pulse interval(fig. 1) following the first pulse interval, a second pulse(medium pulse + sample time medium) having a second duration(medium pulse + sample time medium), wherein the second pulse interval comprises the transmission of the second pulse followed by a second reception window; (medium pulse + sample time medium in fig. 1) and
wherein:
the second duration is longer than the first duration, a duration of the second reception window is longer than a duration of the first reception window, and (fig. 1)
but does not teach while D0 teaches
the second duration is determined based at least in part on a transmission range determined from a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of the first pulse. [0058][0013-0014]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D0 in order reliably identify long distance objects.
Regarding claim 2 D1 teaches
2, 10, 18. The method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, during a third pulse interval following the second pulse interval, a third pulse having a third duration,(fig. 1 long pulse) wherein the third pulse interval comprises the transmission of the third pulse followed by a third reception window;(fig. 1) and wherein: the third duration is longer than the second duration, a duration of the third reception window is longer than a duration of the second reception window(fig. 1 ),
But does not teach while D0 teaches
the third duration is determined based at least in part on a transmission range determined from a SNR of the second pulse. [0058][0013-0014]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D0 in order reliably identify long distance objects.
3, 11. The method of claim 1, wherein the first duration is determined based at least in part on a minimum distance from the user equipment that an object is detectable by the user equipment. (D1: [0113]/[0026])
4, 12, 19. The method of claim 1, further comprising, prior to transmitting the second pulse, determining a time for transmitting the second pulse based at least in part on a length of the first duration. (D1: fig. 1 / or fig. 7 the second pulse transmitted right after the first duration)
5, 13, 20. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a reflection of the first pulse during the first reception window, wherein the reflection of the first pulse is from an object within a detection range from the user equipment for the first pulse, and the detection range is defined by a duration of the first reception window. (D1: fig. 1 implicit if the target is at short range the reflection will be received at short time period)
Claim(s) 6-8 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 and D0 further in view of D2 US 20180348353 A1.
Regarding claim 6 D1 and D0 do no teach
6, 14. The method of claim 1, wherein the user equipment comprises a full- duplex device operating in a half-duplex mode for all of the first pulse interval and all of the second pulse interval.
7, 15. The method of claim 1, wherein the user equipment comprises a half- duplex device.
8, 16. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first pulse comprises transmitting the first pulse with a wireless communication interface of the user equipment.
D2 teaches
radar operating in Full duplex mode or Half Duplex mode[0061]
the user equipment comprises a full- duplex device operating in a half-duplex mode for all of the first pulse interval and all of the second pulse interval. [0061]
8, 16. The method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the first pulse comprises transmitting the first pulse with a wireless communication interface of the user equipment. [0061]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the
filing to modify invention by D1 with full-duplex device by D2 in
order to enable close-range radar sensing [0061] using pda or cell phone.
Conclusion
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648