DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setton (US 2012/0206558) in view of AHN et al (US 2021/0336998), Choi et al (US 2012/0136933), Song et al (US 2016/0037124) OR Hwang et al (US 2012/0081556).
Claim 1, Setton teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and a processor electrically connectable to the memory and the transceiver, wherein while the processor is electrically connected to the memory and the transceiver, the processor is configured to:
transmit a first image obtained through a camera to another electronic device through the transceiver, and provide a user interface screen in association with a video call application on a display, the user interface screen including the first image, a second image received from the transceiver, (Fig. 2) and a selectable option associated with transmission of system information to determine whether to display the transmitted first image in the other electronic device, (enlarging or diminishing option, [0027]), and wherein the system information is determined based on configuration information associated with a preview screen of the video call application. (Clearly, Setton provides an ability for user to determine the configuration whether to display images in an enlarging or diminishing choice. Setton does not detail “a preview screen”, it is however having “a preview screen” feature is notoriously well known in the art as examiner wishes to provide several secondary art to support the practice.
AHN teaches, “the processor of the electronic device 120 may display a preview screen 1101 about content the sender desires to share on the video call screen 1110 based on the received metadata of the VoIP call packet. Instead of displaying the preview screen 1101, the processor may display a notice about a content share request of the sender, or may simultaneously, or contemporaneously, display the preview screen 1101 and the notice on the video call screen 1110, [0093-0094]”.
Choi teaches, “Referring to FIG. 4A, the portable terminal enters a camera mode when sharing captured data. Here, the camera mode is a mode for capturing a subject of data capturing and includes a preview area 406 for receiving an input of the subject to be captured, a capture button 402 for activating of the capturing of the subject which is input on the preview screen, and a button for selecting an image or video capture mode as shown in an upper portion of the capture button. According to the present invention, the camera mode also includes a button 404 for searching for a neighboring device that exists nearby, [0069].
SONG teaches, “a touch screen configured to display a camera preview screen and to display a preview sharing screen restructured from the camera preview image; and a control unit configured to detect an input for selecting one or more sharers for a video call from the camera preview screen, to execute a messenger application for initiating the video call service, to transmit a connection request to the selected sharers through the messenger application, and to perform the messenger-based video call with the selected sharers in response to the connection request, [0011]”.
Hwang teaches, “11A to 11D are diagrams of screen configurations for displaying an image transmission status on a preview screen. Similar analysis to 11A to 11D.
Claim 15. An electronic device, comprising: a memory; a transceiver; and a processor electrically coupleable to the memory and the transceiver, wherein while the processor is electrically connected to the memory and the transceiver, the processor is configured to: provide a first user interface screen in association with a video call application on a display, the first user interface screen including a first image received from a camera, a second image received from the transceiver, and a selectable option associated with network transmission of the first image; and based on detecting a preset triggering condition, initiate the network transmission and provide a second user interface screen in association with the video call application to the display, wherein the second user interface screen includes the first image and the second image. (While claim 15 is rejected in the same manner as claim 1 with additional feature of triggering condition where examiner will map the “triggering condition” to:
AHN’s user input, [0059, 0082, 0083] wherein “ an input device may include a device, such as a keyboard, a mouse, a microphone, a camera, etc., and an output device may include a device, such as a display, a speaker, a haptic feedback device, etc., [0046]”,
Choi’s Fig. 4B for selecting a neighboring device for sharing captured data in a portable terminal, [0072].
Song teaches detecting an input for selecting one or more sharers for a video call from the camera preview screen, see Abstract” OR
Hwang teaches, “a mobile terminal according to the present invention includes a user input unit configured to receive an input of a user action to set an image transmission condition, a camera configured to photograph an image in a camera photograph mode, a controller setting the image transmission condition corresponding to the inputted user action, [0015].
It would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to incorporate the teaching of AHN, Choi, Song or Hwang into the teaching of Setton for the purpose of providing a preview feature of an image or content before the transmission to ensure the appropriate or desirable image/content/appearance prior to the communication and also to check image condition under the control of the controller to ensure the appropriate of content.
Claim 2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to: detect an input to transmit a video call participation request through the video call application; and identify the configuration information associated with the preview screen based on detecting the input. (See Hwang’s Figs. 10A-10E or 11A-11D for screen configurations for displaying an image transmission status on a preview screen).
Claim 3. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the user interface screen is a first user interface screen and the processor is configured to switch the first user interface screen to a second user interface screen without the selectable option based on detecting a preset triggering condition. (AHN: In response to receiving metadata of a VoIP call packet for content sharing from a sender during the VoIP call with the sender, the processor of the electronic device 120 may display a preview screen 1101 about content the sender desires to share on the video call screen 1110 based on the received metadata of the VoIP call packet. Instead of displaying the preview screen 1101, the processor may display a notice about a content share request of the sender, or may simultaneously, or contemporaneously, display the preview screen 1101 and the notice on the video call screen 1110, [0093])
Claim 4. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to transmit the video call participation request to a server based on detecting the input, (Hwang: “a mobile terminal according to the present invention includes a user input unit configured to receive an input of a user action to set an image transmission condition, a camera configured to photograph an image in a camera photograph mode, a controller setting the image transmission condition corresponding to the inputted user action, [0015]) and the video call participation request includes participant information to distinguish the electronic device from another electronic device accessing the server.(Hwang: The identity module is the chip for storing various kinds of information for authenticating a use authority of the mobile terminal 100 and can include User Identify Module (UIM), Subscriber Identify Module (SIM), Universal Subscriber Identity Module (USIM) and/or the like. A device having the identity module (hereinafter called `identity device`) can be manufactured as a smart card, [0081]).
Claim 5. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to receive the second image from a server based on the video call participation request. (Hwang: [0048] The mobile communication module 112 transmits/receives wireless signals to/from one or more network entities (e.g., base station, external terminal, server, etc.). Such wireless signals may represent audio, video, and data according to text/multimedia message transceivings, among others, [0048]).
Claim 6. The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the preset triggering condition is detected based on whether a preset time has elapsed. (Hwang: If the checked image transmission condition is a transmission by a predetermined time unit, the mobile terminal 100 transmits images photographed for the predetermined time at a time periodically. If the checked image transmission condition is a transmission in case of a transmission command input, the mobile terminal is able to transmit a photographed image only if a transmission command is inputted by a user, [0196]).
Claim 7. The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the system information includes first system information and second system information, wherein the selectable option is associated with transmission of any one of the first system information or the second system information, and wherein the preset triggering condition is detected based on a user input related to the selectable option. (Hwang: if the checked image transmission condition is a specific counterpart terminal, the mobile terminal 100 is able to transmit at least one photographed image to the specific counterpart terminal under the control of the controller 180, [0195]).
Claim 8. The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the first system information is identified based on configuration information configured not to display the preview screen, and wherein the second system information is identified based on configuration information configured to display the preview screen. (Hwang: the mobile terminal 100 sets the reception counterpart to the counterpart terminal matching the inputted identity information and is then able to transmit a photographed image to the counterpart terminal matching the inputted identity information, [0129]. Here examiner reads that if it does not match the identity, no image will be displayed). Likewise, if does not meet the preset image transmission condition, no image will be displayed, see Abstract).
Claim 9. The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the first system information includes one or more pieces of information for controlling the other electronic device not to display the first image. (Hwang: the mobile terminal 100 sets the reception counterpart to the counterpart terminal matching the inputted identity information and is then able to transmit a photographed image to the counterpart terminal matching the inputted identity information, [0129]. Here examiner reads that if it does not match the identity, no image will be displayed). Likewise, if does not meet the preset image transmission condition, no image will be displayed, see Abstract).
Claim 10. The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the first system information includes one or more pieces of information for controlling to display an icon indicating a display delay on the other electronic device. (Hwang: in order to indicate that the image transmission is in progress, an image, an icon, an audio, an alarm sound, an alarm vibration and/or the like is available as well as the text, [0216, 0219]).
Claim 11. The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the first system information includes one or more pieces of information for controlling the other electronic device to display a third user interface screen including an icon indicating a display delay instead of the first image. (Hwang: Please note first that Fig. 11C including at least 3 counterpart terminals of May, Bob and Brown which is one or more counterpart terminals. Thus one of which is mapped to third user interface… in order to indicate that the image transmission is in progress, an image, an icon, an audio, an alarm sound, an alarm vibration and/or the like is available as well as the text, [0216, 0219]).
Claim 12. The electronic device of claim 11, wherein the first system information includes one or more pieces of information for setting a window associated with the first image to be smaller than one or more windows associated with another image configuring the third user interface screen on the third user interface screen. (Setton: See Fig. 2; Song: captured image is reduced in size, [0092]; AHN: Fig. 11)
Claim 13. The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the second system information includes one or more pieces of information for controlling the other electronic device to display the first image. (Hwang: under the control of the controller 180, the mobile terminal 100 previously obtains access information of a counterpart terminal, stores the obtained access information in the memory 160, and is then able to transmit a photographed image to the counterpart terminal using the stored access information, [0234]).
Claim 14. The electronic device of claim 7, wherein the second system information includes one or more pieces of information for controlling the other electronic device to display a fourth user interface screen including the first image on a display. (Hwang: Please note first that Fig. 11C including at least 3 counterpart terminals of May, Bob and Brown which is one or more counterpart terminals. Thus one of which is mapped to third user interface… in order to indicate that the image transmission is in progress, an image, an icon, an audio, an alarm sound, an alarm vibration and/or the like is available as well as the text, [0216, 0219]).
Claim 16. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the preset triggering condition is detected based on whether a preset time has elapsed.(Hwang: Of course, the mobile terminal 100 is able to stop the display of the image transmission condition according to a user selection entirely or in part. Alternatively, if the mobile terminal 100 performs the display of the image transmission condition in a predetermined time cycle (e.g., performing a display for 1 minute once in 30 minutes) or a user selects a display of the image transmission condition, the mobile terminal 100 performs the display of the image transmission condition and is then able to automatically stop the display of the image transmission condition after elapse of a predetermined time, [0183]).
Claim 17. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the preset triggering condition is detected based on a user input related to the selectable option. (See Claim 15).
Claim 18. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the selectable option includes one or more pieces of information for controlling other electronic device not to display the first image. (Hwang: the mobile terminal 100 sets the reception counterpart to the counterpart terminal matching the inputted identity information and is then able to transmit a photographed image to the counterpart terminal matching the inputted identity information, [0129]. Here examiner reads that if it does not match the identity, no image will be displayed). Likewise, if does not meet the preset image transmission condition, no image will be displayed, see Abstract).
Claim 19. The electronic device of claim 15, wherein the selectable option includes one or more pieces of information for controlling to display an icon indicating a display delay on other electronic device. (Hwang: in order to indicate that the image transmission is in progress, an image, an icon, an audio, an alarm sound, an alarm vibration and/or the like is available as well as the text, [0216, 0219]).
Inquiry
/PHUNG-HOANG J NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691