Claim Interpretation
Note that the rejections below groups the apparatus claim with corresponding method claims, since the method claims are generic forming steps in which the apparatus structure would anticipate such steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 12-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yun et al. (US2017/0141756 A1).
In regards to claims 1, 2 and 17, Yun et al. teaches in Figs. 2A-2C an acoustic wave device comprising:
A substrate (206) having a first/top side and a second/bottom side opposite the first side;
A bulk acoustic wave resonator (layers 222, 220 and 208) over the first/top side of the substrate; and
An inductor (inductor portions 212, 214 and 233) formed with/on the substrate, at least a portion of the inductor (based on Fig. 2A: 212 and 214) disposed on the second side of the substrate.
In regards to claim 3, based on Figs. 2A and 2B the inductor is a spiral inductor having a portion (Fig. 2A: 212 and 214) formed on the second side of the substrate.
In regards to claims 5 and 18, based on Fig. 2A, an overcoat/insulating layer (202) is over a side of the inductor (portions 212 and 214) on the second side of the substrate.
In regards to claim 12, Yun et al. teaches in paragraph [0043], that the substrate is made from glass.
In regards to claim 13, based on Fig. 2A, the substrate includes a terminal (225) configured to electrically connect the acoustic wave device to an external device via external connection bump (269).
In regards to claim 14, based on Fig. 2A, a lid (top portion of capping layer 228) coupled to the substrate.
In regards to claim 15, based on Fig. 2A, a second inductor (inductor portions 213, 244 and 229) formed with the lid and an interconnect (225) that connects the substrate and the second inductor.
In regards to claim 16, based on Fig. 2A, the substrate and the lid are coupled by a seal ring (side wall of capping layer 228), the substrate, the lid, and the seal ring together define a sealed/hermetic cavity (227) in which the resonator is positioned.
In regards to claim 20, Yun et al. teaches in Figs. 2A-2C an acoustic wave device comprising: an inductor integrated substrate (204) including an inductor (inductor portions 212, 214 and 233), the inductor integrated substrate having a first/top side and a second/bottom side opposite the first side; and
A bulk acoustic wave resonator (layers 222, 220 and 208) over the first side of the inductor integrated substrate, at least a portion of the inductor (212 and 214) disposed on the second side of the inductor integrated substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US2017/0141756 A1) in view of Sridhar et al. (US2007/0035364 A1).
As discussed above, Yun et a. teaches the claim invention as recited in claim 5. Yun et al. teaches in paragraph [0034], that the overcoat/insulating layer (202) is made from a glass or polymer material. Yun et al. does not teach: in regards to claim 6, wherein the overcoat layer includes a low dielectric loss polymeric material that has a dielectric loss less than 0.01; and in regards to claim 7, wherein the low dielectric loss polymeric material is polyimide, fluoropolymer, polyphenylene sulfide, or benzocyclobutene.
Sridhar et al. teaches in Fig. 2 a bulk acoustic wave resonator having an insulating low acoustic impedance layer (48). Based on paragraph [0014], the insulating low acoustic impedance layer is made from a low-loss polymer such as polyimide (polyimide necessarily having a dielectric loss less than 0.01).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the generic polymer material of the overcoat/insulating layer with a low-loss insulating material made from polyimide as exemplary taught by Sridhar et al. (see paragraph [0014]) because such a modification would have been a well-known in the art substitution of art-recognized alternative/equivalent for an insulating material that able to perform the same function.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US2017/0141756 A1) in view of Cheon (US2018/0048291 A1).
As discussed above, Yun et a. teaches the claim invention as recited in claim 1. Yun et al. merely discloses that the inductor is formed from a metal (i.e. generic), therefore Yun et al. does not teach: in regards to claim 11, wherein the inductor includes copper, aluminum, gold, silver, tungsten, molybdenum, ruthenium, iridium, or platinum.
Cheon teaches in Fig. 1 an acoustic wave device comprising a bulk acoustic wave resonator (150) and an inductor (130). Cheon teaches in paragraph [0051], that the inductor (130) is made from copper.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the generic metal material of the inductor with copper as exemplary taught by Cheon (see paragraph [0051]) because such a modification would have been a well-known in the art substitution of art-recognized alternative/equivalent for a metal material that able to perform the same function.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-10 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jung et al. (US2011/0090651 A1) teaches in Fig. 2 a package structure comprising a bulk acoustic wave resonator (20) having a lid (40), in which the lid (40) contains an embedded inductor (50) within the lid.
Park et al. (US2019/0019939 A1) teaches in Fig. 1 a package structure comprising a bulk acoustic wave resonator (110) having a lid (300), in which the lid (300) contains an embedded inductor (320) within the lid.
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843