DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 28, 2026 is considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed September 28, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-4, and 6-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed out on June 26, 2026.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed September 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Applicant argues that the Engh-Halstvedt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0061678 A1), hereinafter referred to as Engh-Halstvedt, has no teaching or suggestion that a “determination is made whether to perform a rasterization process for at least one of a first subset of primitives or a second subset of primitives, and then the rasterization process is refrained from being performed for the first subset of primitives, or performed for the second subset of primitives.” Examiner replies that Engh-Halstvedt does teach the amended limitation in claims 1, 19, and 20. Engh-Halstvedt teaches in Paragraph 149 that "the front-end processing stage 8 performs a number of processing operations prior to the primitives for generating the render output being rasterised". Part of the processing done in the front-end processing stage is the culling of triangles or primitives as taught in Engh-Halstvedt Paragraphs 192-202.
Paragraphs 192-202 teach that if the triangle is too small, it will be passed to the micro-culling unit. If the triangle is big enough, it is passed to the tiler. Being passed to the tiler teaches entering a rasterization process as supported by Paragraph 119.
Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 119 further supports this by teaching a primitive that is not culled and sent the tiler is then later rasterized and rendered. Sending a primitive to the tiler can be considered as part of the rasterization process. Thus, sending a primitive to the tiler and then rasterization after passing a culling stage teaches determining whether to perform a rasterization process for at least one of the first subset or second subset of primitives.
Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 126 also supports this teaching that " the graphics processing pipeline in an embodiment includes at least a rasteriser operable to rasterise graphics primitives that pass (or bypass) the facing direction culling operation to generate graphics fragments to be processed". This supports that only primitives that pass the culling operation can enter the rasterization process to be rasterized as taught in Paragraphs 192-202.
If a primitive is culled in the front-end processing stage, it is not able to be passed on to rasteriser 3 as disclosed in Figure 1. Thus, the culling stage teaches a determination that determines which primitives a rasterization process is to be performed for.
6. Conclusion: The rejections set in the previous Office Action are shown to have been proper, and the claims are rejected below. Therefore, the present Office Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1 and 6-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0360305 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hakura, in view of Engh-Halstvedt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0061678 A1), hereinafter referred to as Engh-Halstvedt.
10. Regarding claim 1, Hakura teaches an apparatus for graphics processing, comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and, based at least in part on information stored in the at least one memory (Paragraph 51 teaches the method for rendering an image or graphics processing can be performed by a processor, such as a graphics processing unit; Paragraph 65 and Figure 5 teach an apparatus for graphics processing comprising a memory and processor to execute "graphics and media operations". It also teaches the memory stores “data 522 and instructions 521”), the at least one processor is configured to:
obtain an indication of a set of primitives in a scene, wherein the set of primitives is associated with the graphics processing (Paragraph 52 teaches "the processing logic receives a plurality of graphics primitives associated with a frame" and that "the graphics primitives refer to at least one primitive in 3D space of a geometry of a 3D scene". This teaches obtaining an indication of a set of primitives in a scene that are associated with graphics processing);
determine that a size of each of a first subset of primitives in the set of primitives is less than a threshold size and that a size of each of a second subset of primitives in the set of primitives is greater than or equal to the threshold size (Paragraph 53 teaches determining "a size value based on one or more graphics primitives of the plurality of graphics primitives." The one or more graphics primitives teaches a subset of the graphics primitives and thus teaches determining the size of each of a first and second subset of primitives; Figure 4 and Paragraph 55 teach at block 430 checking the size value to a size threshold. Paragraph 57 then teaches determining the size value does not exceed the size threshold which teaches a first subset of primitives less than a threshold size; Paragraph 59 teaches that the method can be run on a second subset of primitives for the same frame and determining whether the size exceeds the threshold or not. Paragraph 56 teaches determining the size value exceeds the size threshold. This teaches being able to determine a second subset of primitives that is greater than the threshold size);
process the first subset of primitives via a first graphics pipeline based on the size of each of the first subset of primitives being less than the threshold size, and process the second subset of primitives via a second graphics pipeline based on the size of each of the second subset of primitives being greater than or equal to the threshold size (Paragraph 13 teaches "Tiled rendering for the graphics primitives may be enabled or disabled based on whether or not the size value meets the size threshold". This teaches rendering subsets of primitives under a first and second graphic pipeline based on if it is greater than or less than a threshold size; Paragraphs 56-57 and Figure 4 teach processing the first subset of primitives that do not exceed the size threshold through the block 450 method and processing the second subset of primitives that exceed the size threshold through the block 440 method. This teaches processing a first subset through a first graphics pipeline based on the size of each of the first subset of primitives being less than a threshold size, and processing a second subset through a second graphics pipeline based on the size of each of the second subset of primitives being greater than a threshold size; Paragraph 59 teaches "different primitives within the same frame may be rendered using different rendering techniques". This teaches different subsets of primitives for the same scene can be rendered differently depending on whether they exceed or do not exceed the size threshold);
However, Hakura fails to teach determining whether to perform a rasterization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives; refrain from performing the rasterization process for the first subset of primitives; and perform the rasterization process for the second subset of primitives.
Engh-Halstvedt teaches determining whether to perform a rasterization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives; refrain from performing the rasterization process for the first subset of primitives; and perform the rasterization process for the second subset of primitives (Paragraph 148-150 and Figure 1 teaches a front-end processing stage for the primitives before sending the primitives to the rasterization stage 3. It teaches that the front-end processing stage 8 determines “which primitives should be processed”. This teaches determining whether to perform a rasterization process; Paragraphs 192-202 and Figure 3 teach a size estimator 31 which detects a first subset of primitives which are below a size threshold and is passed on to a cull unit for testing. In this case, the first subset of primitives can be culled and the rasterization process will not be performed. It also detects a second subset of primitives which are greater than a size threshold and is sent on the path 33 directly to the tiler 23 which will then get passed on to the rasterizer as seen in Figure 1. This teaches refraining from performing the rasterization process for the first subset of primitives and performing it for the second subset of primitives).
Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 119 further supports this by teaching a primitive that is not culled and sent the tiler is then later rasterized and rendered. Sending a primitive to the tiler can be considered as part of the rasterization process. Thus, sending a primitive to the tiler and then rasterization after passing a culling stage teaches determining whether to perform a rasterization process for at least one of the first subset or second subset of primitives. Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 126 also supports this teaching that " the graphics processing pipeline in an embodiment includes at least a rasteriser operable to rasterise graphics primitives that pass (or bypass) the facing direction culling operation to generate graphics fragments to be processed". This supports that only primitives that pass the culling operation can enter the rasterization process to be rasterized as taught in Paragraphs 192-202. If a primitive is culled in the front-end processing stage, it is not able to be passed on to rasteriser 3 as disclosed in Figure 1. Thus, the culling stage teaches a determination that determines which primitives a rasterization process is to be performed for.
Hakura and Engh-Halstvedt are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering graphics based on the size of the primitives. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of processing the first and second subset of primitives taught by Hakura with refraining from performing the rasterization process for the first subset of primitives and performing the rasterization process for the second subset of primitives taught by Engh-Halstvedt in order to reduce the number of primitives that need to be processed which reduces the amount of graphics processing needed (Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 12).
11. Regarding claim 6, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Hakura is not relied upon for the below claim language: the apparatus wherein to refrain from performing the rasterization process for the first subset of primitives, the at least one processor is configured to: refrain from generating a sample coverage for the first subset of primitives.
Engh-Halstvedt teaches the apparatus wherein to refrain from performing the rasterization process for the first subset of primitives, the at least one processor is configured to: refrain from generating a sample coverage for the first subset of primitives (Paragraph 149-150 teaches that if a primitive passes the front-end processing stage 8, the "rasteriser 3 tests graphics primitives to be rendered against an array of sampling positions representing the render output to be generated to determine which sampling positions, if any, the primitive covers. It then generates graphics fragments having appropriate positions (representing appropriate sampling positions) for rendering the primitives". This teaches generating the sample coverage for only primitives that are larger than a threshold size; Paragraph 192-201 and Figure 3 teaches a series of culling tests that will cull the primitive if it is determined to be too small or below a size threshold. If the primitive is culled, the processor refrains from generating the sample coverage for the first set of primitives since it does not get sent to the rasterizer).
Hakura and Engh-Halstvedt are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering graphics based on the size of the primitives. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of processing the first and second subset of primitives taught by Hakura with the configuration to refrain from performing the rasterization process and sample coverage generation for the primitives taught by Engh-Halstvedt in order to reduce the number of primitives that need to be processed which reduces the amount of graphics processing needed (Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 12).
12. Regarding claim 7, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Hakura is not relied upon for the below claim language: the apparatus wherein to perform the rasterization process for the second subset of primitives, the at least one processor is configured to:
perform the rasterization process for the second subset of primitives to generate a sample coverage for the second subset of primitives.
Engh-Halstvedt teaches the apparatus wherein to perform the rasterization process for the second subset of primitives, the at least one processor is configured to: perform the rasterization process for the second subset of primitives to generate a sample coverage for the second subset of primitives (Paragraph 149-150 and Figure 1 teaches that if a primitive passes the front-end processing stage 8, the "rasteriser 3 tests graphics primitives to be rendered against an array of sampling positions representing the render output to be generated to determine which sampling positions, if any, the primitive covers. It then generates graphics fragments having appropriate positions (representing appropriate sampling positions) for rendering the primitives". This teaches generating sample coverage for primitives; Paragraph 202 and Figure 3 teaches that if a primitive is bigger than the threshold size, which teaches the second subset of primitives, it will be sent directly to the tiler which would then be output to the rasterizer in Figure 1 for generating a sample coverage as taught in Paragraph 149-150. This teaches generating the sample coverage for the second subset of primitives).
Hakura and Engh-Halstvedt are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering graphics based on the size of the primitives. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of processing the first and second subset of primitives taught by Hakura with the generating of sample coverage for the second subset of primitives taught by Engh-Halstvedt in order to generate graphics fragments with the appropriate positions for rendering the primitives (Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 150).
13. Regarding claim 8, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: perform, based on the performance of the rasterization process, a pixel shading process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives (Figure 2 and Paragraph 41 teaches the primitives are passed into the pixel shader after going through the rasterization process in the tiler 205 and raster engine 220; Paragraph 43 teaches the pixel shader receives and executes a pixel shading process for the first and second subset of primitives after the rasterization process from the tiler 205 and raster engine 220. Paragraph 44 teaches the tiled rendering occurs depending on the sizes of primitives. Thus, the pixel shading process is performed for the first and second subset of primitives output from the performance of the rasterization process in the tiler and raster engine).
14. Regarding claim 9, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine whether each of the set of primitives is included in one of a set of bins for the scene (Paragraph 28 teaches determining whether to enable tiled rendering on a frame-by-frame basis or bin-by-bin basis based on the set of graphics primitives. It also teaches “each tiler 115A-C has its own bin or memory, and makes its own decision as to how to render those primitives in that respective tiler's bin or memory”. This teaches determining what set of primitives are in a bin during a bin-by-bin basis; Paragraph 42 teaches the tiler "stores the primitives in 2D image space to bin 210" and that the bin is a memory that "receives all the primitives in 2D image space associated with the frame or a portion of the primitives in 2D image space associated with the frame". Storing the primitives in a bin teaches determining that a set of primitives is included in a set of bins for a scene. Thus, this teaches the primitives are determined to be included in one of a set of bins);
store metadata for each of the set of primitives based on a per-draw basis for each of the set of primitives or a per-primitive basis for each of the set of primitives (Paragraph 44 teaches the "size information for a primitive may be included in metadata associated with the primitive". This teaches storing metadata for each of the set of primitives based on a per-primitive basis. Since the Applicant uses ‘or’, teaching the per-primitive basis teaches the limitation);
and perform a rendering pass based on the metadata for each of the set of primitives (Paragraph 13 teaches the rendering pass is dependent on the size of the primitive. Since the size of each of the set of primitives is in the metadata, the rendering pass is based on the metadata for each of the set of primitives).
15. Regarding claim 10, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output, to a rasterizer in a graphics processing unit (GPU), an indication of an order of the set of primitives prior to the processing of the first subset of primitives via the first graphics pipeline (Paragraph 35 teaches for the first subset of primitives that has a size that "does not exceed the size threshold", the tiler passes the primitives "to a next component in the graphics pipeline 100 according to some order". Figures 1 and 2 teaches the next component in the graphics pipeline is the raster engine which is a rasterizer in the graphics processing unit. This teaches outputting to the rasterizer an indication of an order of the set of primitives prior to processing the first subset of primitives. The processing of the first subset of primitives can be the rasterization process in the raster engine which is through a first graphics pipeline that does not organize the primitives into tiles)
and the processing the second subset of primitives via the second graphics pipeline (Paragraph 32 teaches for the second subset of primitives, tiling is enabled when the size exceeds the size threshold. Then, the primitives are "processed and sent to a next component". Figures 1 and 2 teaches the next component in the graphics pipeline is the raster engine which is a rasterizer in the graphics processing unit. This is in the second graphics pipeline because the primitives are ordered by tiles and sent to the rasterizer for processing in that way. This teaches outputting to the rasterizer an indication of an order of the set of primitives prior to processing the first subset of primitives; Paragraph 36 teaches the next component includes a "raster engine"; Paragraph 36 teaches the next component includes a "raster engine". Paragraph 37 teaches the raster engine performs rasterization).
16. Regarding claim 11, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches the apparatus wherein to process the first subset of primitives via the first graphics pipeline, and to process the second subset of primitives via the second graphics pipeline, the at least one processor is configured to: process, in a parallel manner, the first subset of primitives via the first graphics pipeline and the second subset of primitives via the second graphics pipeline (Figure 1 and Paragraph 18 teaches pipelines 110A-C that are run in parallel. Paragraph 23 teaches the primitives are distributed across the pipelines. The distribution of primitives teaches creating a first and second subset of primitives. Thus, this teaches processing the first and second subset of primitives in a parallel manner via a first and second graphics pipeline; Paragraph 78 teaches the graphics core array can execute "multiple simultaneous execution threads associated with multiple shaders" which teaches processing primitives in a parallel manner).
17. Regarding claim 12, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches the apparatus wherein to process the first subset of primitives via the first graphics pipeline, the at least one processor is configured to: process the first subset of primitives via the first graphics pipeline (Paragraphs 56-57 and Figure 4 teach processing the first subset of primitives that do not exceed the size threshold through the block 450 method. This teaches processing a first subset through a first graphics pipeline) ;
and wherein to process the second subset of primitives via the second graphics pipeline (Paragraphs 56-57 and Figure 4 teach processing the second subset of primitives that exceed the size threshold through the block 440 method. This teaches processing a second subset through a second graphics pipeline based on the size of each of the second subset of primitives being greater than a threshold size.), the at least one processor is configured to: process the second subset of primitives via the second graphics pipeline in the rasterizer (Paragraph 32 teaches for the second subset of primitives, tiling is enabled when the size exceeds the size threshold. Then, the primitives are "processed and sent to a next component". Figures 1 and 2 teaches the next component in the graphics pipeline is the raster engine which is a rasterizer in the graphics processing unit. This is in the second graphics pipeline because the primitives are ordered by tiles and sent to the rasterizer for processing in that way. Paragraph 36 teaches the next component includes a "raster engine").
However, Hakura is not relied upon for the below claim language: refrain from processing the first subset of primitives in a rasterizer.
Engh-Halstvedt teaches refraining from processing the first subset of primitives in a rasterizer. (Paragraph 148-150 and Figure 1 teaches a front-end processing stage for the primitives before sending the primitives to the rasterization stage 3. It teaches that the front-end processing stage 8 determines “which primitives should be processed”. This teaches determining whether to perform a rasterization process; Paragraphs 192-202 and Figure 3 teach a size estimator 31 which detects a first subset of primitives which are below a size threshold and is passed on to a cull unit for testing. In this case, the first subset of primitives can be culled meaning it will not be sent to the rasterizer. This teaches refraining from rasterizing the first subset of primitives in a rasterizer).
Hakura and Engh-Halstvedt are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering graphics based on the size of the primitives. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of processing the first and second subset of primitives taught by Hakura with not processing the first subset of primitives in a rasterizer taught by Engh-Halstvedt in order to reduce the number of primitives that need to be processed which reduces the amount of graphics processing needed (Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 12).
18. Regarding claim 13, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches wherein to process the first subset of primitives via the first graphics pipeline, the at least one processor is configured to: process the first subset of primitives via a first type of shader in the first graphics pipeline (Paragraph 35-36 and Figure 1 teaches that the first subset of primitives which do not exceed the size threshold are passed "to a next component in the graphics pipeline" which includes "providing the primitives to the raster engine 130A-C and pixel shader 140A-C". The pixel shader teaches processing the first subset of primitives via a first type of shader in the first graphics pipeline; Paragraph 78 teaches the graphics pipeline can also execute other shader programs for the primitives in the 3D pipeline 712 such as a vertex shader or geometry shader. This teaches a first type of shader).
19. Regarding claim 14, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 13. Hakura further teaches wherein the first type of shader is at least one of: a hybrid shader, a rasterization compute shader, or a per-primitive shader that executes one primitive per thread (Paragraph 78 teaches the graphics pipeline can also execute other shader programs for the primitives in the 3D pipeline 712 such as a compute shader. This teaches a rasterization compute shader. Since the Applicant uses “or”, teaching the rasterization compute shader teaches the claim 14 limitation).
20. Regarding claim 15, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 13. However, Hakura is not relied upon for the below claim language: the apparatus wherein to process the first subset of primitives via the first type of shader in the first graphics pipeline, the at least one processor is configured to: perform, for the first subset of primitives, at least one of a vertex shading process, a viewport transformation process, or a rasterization process to generate a sample coverage for the first subset of primitives.
Engh-Halstvedt teaches the apparatus wherein to process the first subset of primitives via the first type of shader in the first graphics pipeline, the at least one processor is configured to: perform, for the first subset of primitives, at least one of a vertex shading process, a viewport transformation process, or a rasterization process to generate a sample coverage for the first subset of primitives (Paragraph 149-150 and Figure 1 teaches that if a primitive passes the front-end processing stage 8, the "rasteriser 3 tests graphics primitives to be rendered against an array of sampling positions representing the render output to be generated to determine which sampling positions, if any, the primitive covers. It then generates graphics fragments having appropriate positions (representing appropriate sampling positions) for rendering the primitives". This teaches a rasterization process to generate a sample coverage for the first subset of primitives. The Applicant uses “or” so teaching the rasterization process to generate a sample coverage teaches the entire limitation; Paragraph 192-201 and Figure 3 teaches a series of culling tests that will cull the primitive if it is determined to be too small or below a size threshold. If the primitive is small and below a size threshold, which teaches a first subset of primitives, but passes the culling tests, it will be sent to the next step in the graphics pipeline seen in Figure 1 which is the rasterizer).
Hakura and Engh-Halstvedt are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rendering graphics based on the size of the primitives. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of processing the first and second subset of primitives taught by Hakura with the generating of sample coverage for the first subset of primitives taught by Engh-Halstvedt in order to generate graphics fragments with the appropriate positions for rendering the primitives (Engh-Halstvedt Paragraph 150).
21. Regarding claim 16, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches the apparatus wherein to process the second subset of primitives via the second graphics pipeline, the at least one processor is configured to: perform, for the second subset of primitives, at least one of: a vertex shading process, a hull shading process, a tessellation process, a domain shading process, or a geometry shading process (Paragraph 43 and Figure 2 teaches the subset of primitives, including the second, after being passed through the tiled rendering and raster engine go through a pixel shader 230; Paragraph 78 teaches the graphics pipeline can also execute other shader programs for the primitives in the 3D pipeline 712, including the second subset of primitives, such as a vertex shader or geometry shader. This teaches performing at least one of a vertex shading process or geometry shading process.).
22. Regarding claim 17, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches the apparatus wherein to obtain the indication of the set of primitives in the scene, the at least one processor is configured to: receive, from a component at a graphics processing unit (GPU), the indication of the set of primitives in the scene (Paragraph 18-19, Paragraph 23, and Figure 1 teach receiving the indication of the set of primitives in the scene from a primitive distributor which is a component in the graphics pipeline or graphics processing unit).
23. Regarding claim 18, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. Hakura further teaches the apparatus wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: output an indication of all of the set of primitives including the processed first subset of primitives via the first graphics pipeline and the processed the second subset of primitives via the second graphics pipeline (Figure 4 and Paragraph 56-57 teach after performing the rendering of the pixels based on the first graphics pipeline 450 or second graphics pipeline 440, the pixels associated with the processed graphics primitives are output to a frame buffer. This teaches outputting an indication of all of the set of primitives being processed via the first and second graphics pipeline).
24. Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is the method claim of apparatus claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
25. Regarding claim 20, claim 20 is the non-transitory computer-readable medium (Hakura Paragraph 65 teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium that stores instructions and data”) claim of apparatus claim 1 and is accordingly rejected using substantially similar rationale as to that which is set for with respect to claim 1.
26. Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hakura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0360305 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hakura, in view of Engh-Halstvedt et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0061678 A1), hereinafter referred to as Engh-Halstvedt, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shao et al. (Chinese Patent Application Publication No. 117456070 A), hereinafter referred to as Shao.
27. Regarding claim 3, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 1. However, Hakura and Engh-Halstvedt are not relied upon for the below claim language: the apparatus wherein to determine whether to perform the rasterization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives, the at least one processor is configured to:
perform a synchronization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives.
Shao teaches the apparatus wherein to determine whether to perform the rasterization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives, the at least one processor is configured to: perform a synchronization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives (Paragraph n0034 teaches there are "multiple batches of primitives" which teach a first and second subset of primitives. It also teaches that "after processing each batch of primitives that the thread is responsible for processing, the thread first executes the thread synchronization operation within its own thread cluster." This teaches performing a synchronization process for a batch of primitives which teaches at least one of the first or second subset of primitives).
Hakura, Engh-Halstvedt, and Shao are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rasterizing primitives in a graphics pipeline. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of processing primitives taught by Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt with the synchronization process taught by Shao in order to increase the flexibility of graphics rendering and improve rasterization efficiency (Shao Paragraph n0008 and n0013).
28. Regarding claim 4, Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt teaches the limitations of claim 3. However, Hakura and Engh-Halstvedt are not relied upon for the below claim language: the apparatus wherein to perform the synchronization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives, the at least one processor is configured to: perform, after the processing of the first subset of primitives and the processing of the second subset of primitives, the synchronization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives.
Shao teaches the apparatus wherein to perform the synchronization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives, the at least one processor is configured to: perform, after the processing of the first subset of primitives and the processing of the second subset of primitives, the synchronization process for at least one of the first subset of primitives or the second subset of primitives (Paragraph n0034 teaches there are "multiple batches of primitives" which teach a first and second subset of primitives. It also teaches that "after processing each batch of primitives that the thread is responsible for processing in the shared memory of its own thread cluster, the thread first executes the thread synchronization operation within its own thread block" This teaches performing a synchronization process for the at least first and second subset of primitives after the processing of the first and second subset of primitives).
Hakura, Engh-Halstvedt, and Shao are considered analogous to the claimed invention as because both are in the same field of rasterizing primitives in a graphics pipeline. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person holding ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the apparatus of processing primitives taught by Hakura in view of Engh-Halstvedt with the synchronization process taught by Shao in order to increase the flexibility of graphics rendering and improve rasterization efficiency (Shao Paragraph n0008 and n0013).
Conclusion
29. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Boudier (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0084078 A1) teaches refraining from rasterizing and processing small primitives.
Tremblay et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230401070 A1) teaches rendering primitives based on a threshold parameter value which could be the size of the graphic primitive.
DeCell et al. (U.S. 2020/0342662 A1) teaches rendering primitives on a per tile or mesh order basis depending on the size of the graphics primitive.
30. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.31. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTINE Y AHN whose telephone number is (571)272-0672. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9-5pm.
/CHRISTINE YERA AHN/Examiner, Art Unit 2615
/ALICIA M HARRINGTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2615