DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS has been provided or considered at the time of this Office Action.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 depends on claim 1, then claim 5 already depends on claim 1 through claim 4. Appropriate correction is required to change the language so that both limitations start with "the method of claim 4.
Specification Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested:
“METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR MANAGING ECALL TIMER DURING UE UNAVAILABILITY, MICO AND POWER SAVING MODES”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject
matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C.
112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, lines 5 and 6— “one or more eCall related timers”, it is unclear as to whether “one or more eCall related timers” is referring to the “one or more eCall related timers” of line 3 or is a different one or more eCall related timers. For examination purposes, one or more eCall related timers of lines 3, 5 and 6 will be interpreted to be the same. In order to overcome this rejection, line 3 may be amended to state – the one or more eCall related timers--, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, 11-12, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bakker (US-10880802-B1) , as field on Jun. 19, 2020, and published on Dec. 29, 2020.
Regarding claim 1, Bakker teaches a method, comprising: determining, by a processor of a user equipment (UE) an occurrence of one or more conditions related to an unavailability period, mobile-initiated-connection-only or power saving mode (Figs. 2-5 and Abstract provides a system and method in a user equipment (UE) for transferring an emergency session (eCall/emergency connection) from a first network to a second network, as described in lines 36-45 Col. 1 and claim 1, while Figs. 15-17 and lines 56-67 Col. 21 and lines 12-21 Col. 22 lines describe the processing unit in the wireless device/UE/BS/network node. Lines 1-8 Col. 21 states“ the UE, subject to one or more conditions and subsequent to receiving the registration reject message, performing a second registration procedure with the second core network and sending one of an emergency registration request message or another registration request message, wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises detecting the emergency connection among the one or more connections.” and further states in lines 34-35 “ the one or more conditions comprises detecting that a timer is running.” Figs. 11 A-B and 14 A-B, lines 23-28 Col. 16 provide the proposed changes (3GPP TS24.301 section 5.5.1.2.6 ) may enable the various embodiments of preserving emergency calls such as the scenario when the running timer T3410 is timeout (unavailability period), see lines 30-33 and 48-67 Col. 16. Also, Fig. 6 explicitly describe the PSM scenario and lines 30-45 illustrate that the UE shall not request use of power saving mode (PSM) or the use of cellular internet of things (CIoT) optimization when performing the attach procedure with the network including the EPC. The use of PSM or CIoT optimizations may have an adverse effect on the emergency call. That implies the occurrence of conditions related to an unavailability period, or power saving mode on handling the emergency session); and performing, by the processor, one or more actions responsive to the determining (lines 54-67 Col. 11 provides that the UE may send an emergency attach message indicating the emergency session to be transferred to the EPC. The EPC may send a response indicating attach acceptance, that means the UE perform an action regarding the detected condition. The UE may also indicate in the emergency registration message that an existing emergency session is to be transferred or that an emergency session exists, as described in lines 20-29 Col. 12. Fig. 5 depicts the UE 505 sends a registration message indicating the need to transfer the emergency session at step 530. 280 The 5GC 515 may then reply with a response indicating that the registration is acceptable for the emergency session at step 540. At step 550, in response to the registration acceptance for the emergency session, the UE 505 may transmit a PDU session establishment request to the 5GC 515 to transfer the emergency session, see lines 41-53 Col. 11).
Regarding claim 2, Bakker teaches the method of claim 1,
Bakker further teaches wherein the one or more conditions comprises one or more eCall related timers are running (lines 34-35 explicitly discloses “ the one or more conditions comprises detecting that a timer is running.” That means the treating of emergency procedure based on time running restrictions, see the examples in lines 18-20, lines 30-32 and 37-40 Col. 20).
Regarding claim 6, Bakker teaches the method of claim 1,
Bakker further teaches wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises the unavailability period being activated for one or more UE reasons other than a discontinuous coverage (Fig. 11A provides the access barring and the UE defers initial registration until the barring is alleviated. Fig. 12 describes network rejection/inability to serve the request, which can be a reason for unavailability period. Figs. 11B and 14A also illustrate other reasons such as problem with timer conditions and signaling failure, these reasons can be conditions of unavailability period).
Regarding claim 7, Bakker teaches a method comprising: determining, by a processor of a user equipment (UE), an occurrence of a one or more conditions other than an unavailability period (Figs. 2-5 and Abstract provides a system and method in a user equipment (UE) for transferring an emergency session (eCall/emergency connection) from a first network to a second network, as described in lines 36-45 Col. 1 and claim 1, while Figs. 15-17 and lines 56-67 Col. 21 and lines 12-21 Col. 22 lines describe the processing unit in the wireless device/UE/BS/network node. Lines 1-8 Col. 21 states“ the UE, subject to one or more conditions and subsequent to receiving the registration reject message, performing a second registration procedure with the second core network and sending one of an emergency registration request message or another registration request message, wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises detecting the emergency connection among the one or more connections.” and further states in lines 34-35 “ the one or more conditions comprises detecting that a timer is running.” Figs. 11 A-B and 14 A-B, lines 23-28 Col. 16 provide the proposed changes (3GPP TS24.301 section 5.5.1.2.6 ) may enable the various embodiments of preserving emergency calls such as the scenario when the running timer T3410 is timeout (unavailability period), see lines 30-33 and 48-67 Col. 16. Also, Fig. 6 explicitly describe the PSM scenario and lines 30-45 illustrate that the UE shall not request use of power saving mode (PSM) or the use of cellular internet of things (CIoT) optimization when performing the attach procedure with the network including the EPC. The use of PSM or CIoT optimizations may have an adverse effect on the emergency call. That implies the occurrence of conditions related to an unavailability period, or power saving mode on handling the emergency session; and
performing, by the processor, an action responsive to the determining (lines 54-67 Col. 11 provides that the UE may send an emergency attach message indicating the emergency session to be transferred to the EPC. The EPC may send a response indicating attach acceptance, that means the UE perform an action regarding the detected condition. The UE may also indicate in the emergency registration message that an existing emergency session is to be transferred or that an emergency session exists, as described in lines 20-29 Col. 12. Fig. 5 depicts the UE 505 sends a registration message indicating the need to transfer the emergency session at step 530. 280 The 5GC 515 may then reply with a response indicating that the registration is acceptable for the emergency session at step 540. At step 550, in response to the registration acceptance for the emergency session, the UE 505 may transmit a PDU session establishment request to the 5GC 515 to transfer the emergency session, see lines 41-53 Col. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Bakker teaches the method of claim 7,
Bakker further teaches wherein the one or more conditions comprises a power-saving mode (PSM) being activated (Fig. 6 explicitly describe the PSM scenario and lines 30-45 illustrate that the UE shall not request use of power saving mode (PSM) or the use of cellular internet of things (CIoT) optimization when performing the attach procedure with the network including the EPC. The use of PSM or CIoT optimizations may have an adverse effect on the emergency call. That implies the occurrence of conditions related to power saving mode on handling the emergency session).
Regarding claim 12, Bakker teaches the method of claim 7,
Bakker further teaches wherein the one or more conditions comprises one or more eCall related timers being running (lines 34-35 explicitly discloses “ the one or more conditions comprises detecting that a timer is running.” That means the treating of emergency procedure based on time running restrictions, see the examples in lines 18-20, lines 30-32 and 37-40 Col. 20).
Regarding claim 14, Bakker teaches an apparatus implementable in a user equipment (UE), comprising (Figs. 2-5 and Abstract provides a system and method in a user equipment (UE) for transferring an emergency session (eCall/emergency connection) from a first network to a second network, as described in lines 36-45 Col. 1 and claim 1, while Figs. 15-17 and lines 56-67 Col. 21 and lines 12-21 Col. 22 lines describe the processing unit in the wireless device/UE/BS/network node): a transceiver configured to communicate wirelessly (Fig. 17 and lines 12-32 Col. 25 illustrates the network connectivity devices 3320, it can includes radio transceiver devices and one or more transceiver components 3325 capable of transmitting and/or receiving data wirelessly); and a processor coupled to the transceiver and configured to perform operations comprising (Figs. 15-17 also shows the processing unit coupled to the transceiver and the network connectivity devices 3320, in the Fig. 17, ( the hardware structure of generic device, which can be UE or network node) may enable the processor 3310 to communicate with the internet or one or more telecommunications networks or other networks from which the processor 3310 might receive information or to which the processor 3310 might output information. The network connectivity devices 3320 might also include one or more transceiver components 3325 capable of transmitting and/or receiving data wirelessly to perform the method steps): determining an occurrence of a one or more conditions related to an unavailability period, mobile-initiated-connection-only or power saving mode . Lines 1-8 Col. 21 states“ the UE, subject to one or more conditions and subsequent to receiving the registration reject message, performing a second registration procedure with the second core network and sending one of an emergency registration request message or another registration request message, wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises detecting the emergency connection among the one or more connections.” and further states in lines 34-35 “ the one or more conditions comprises detecting that a timer is running.” Figs. 11 A-B and 14 A-B, lines 23-28 Col. 16 provide the proposed changes (3GPP TS24.301 section 5.5.1.2.6 ) may enable the various embodiments of preserving emergency calls such as the scenario when the running timer T3410 is timeout (unavailability period), see lines 30-33 and 48-67 Col. 16. Also, Fig. 6 explicitly describe the PSM scenario and lines 30-45 illustrate that the UE shall not request use of power saving mode (PSM) or the use of cellular internet of things (CIoT) optimization when performing the attach procedure with the network including the EPC. The use of PSM or CIoT optimizations may have an adverse effect on the emergency call. That implies the occurrence of conditions related to an unavailability period, or power saving mode on handling the emergency session); and performing one or more actions responsive to the determining (lines 54-67 Col. 11 provides that the UE may send an emergency attach message indicating the emergency session to be transferred to the EPC. The EPC may send a response indicating attach acceptance, that means the UE perform an action regarding the detected condition. The UE may also indicate in the emergency registration message that an existing emergency session is to be transferred or that an emergency session exists, as described in lines 20-29 Col. 12. Fig. 5 depicts the UE 505 sends a registration message indicating the need to transfer the emergency session at step 530. 280 The 5GC 515 may then reply with a response indicating that the registration is acceptable for the emergency session at step 540. At step 550, in response to the registration acceptance for the emergency session, the UE 505 may transmit a PDU session establishment request to the 5GC 515 to transfer the emergency session, see lines 41-53 Col. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakker (US-10880802-B1) , as field on Jun. 19, 2020, and published on Dec. 29, 2020, in view of Kumar et al. (US-20240340837-A1).
Regarding claim 3, Bakker teaches the method of claim 1,
Bakker does not explicitly teach wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises the UE activating the unavailability period.
However, Kumar teaches wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises the UE activating the unavailability period (Abstract states the method includes detecting a 5G mobile management (5GMM) signaling congestion to perform a NAS level congestion control. The method includes receiving unavailability information due to discontinuous coverage, when the UE is allowed to initiate a 5GMM procedure.” [0183] discloses that the UE needs to report unavailability period duration(unavailability information) due to discontinuous coverage, or to indicate unavailability due to discontinuous coverage then the UE is allowed to initiate 5GMM procedures, while a network has started NAS level congestion control and the UE can update/indicate the start time and unavailability period at the AMF entity/network, as described in [0184], see also [0166]. That confirms the UE can determine and initiate the report regarding the unavailability period duration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding the conditions comprises the UE activating the unavailability period for managing a context associated with a UE during a discontinuous coverage scenario in a telecommunication network by a network apparatus (Kumar, Abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Bakker teaches the method of claim 1,
Bakker does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more actions comprises keeping one or more eCall related timers running.
However, Kumar teaches wherein the one or more actions comprises keeping one or more eCall related timers running ([0165] states “While the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for example, timer T3346) is running, the UE may perform one or more of the below methods/procedures in any order or combinations” and [0169] states “The UE may stop the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for e.g., timer T3346), if running, before/after initiating the AS/NAS signaling message for discontinuous coverage support/period indication/negotiation. In yet another embodiment, the UE may continue to run the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for e.g., timer T3346), if running, before/after initiating the AS/NAS signaling message for discontinuous coverage support/ period indication/negotiation.” That means the back off timer may/may not stopped until expiry , as also described in [0199] that states “When the UE (100) receives the back-off time, the UE (100) does not initiate any NAS signaling with regards to the applied congestion control until the back-off timer expires or the UE (100) receives a mobile terminated request from the network, or the UE (100) initiates signaling for emergency services or high priority access … the back-off timer continues to run.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding the conditions comprises the UE activating the unavailability period for managing a context associated with a UE during a discontinuous coverage scenario in a telecommunication network by a network apparatus (Kumar, Abstract).
Regarding claim 8, Bakker teaches the method of claim 7,
wherein the action comprises keeping one or more eCall related timers running.
Bakker does not explicitly teach wherein the action comprises keeping one or more eCall related timers running.
However, Kumar teaches wherein the action comprises keeping one or more eCall related timers running ([0165] states “While the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for example, timer T3346) is running, the UE may perform one or more of the below methods/procedures in any order or combinations” and [0169] states “The UE may stop the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for e.g., timer T3346), if running, before/after initiating the AS/NAS signaling message for discontinuous coverage support/period indication/negotiation. In yet another embodiment, the UE may continue to run the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for e.g., timer T3346), if running, before/after initiating the AS/NAS signaling message for discontinuous coverage support/ period indication/negotiation.” That means the back off timer may/may not stopped until expiry , as also described in [0199] that states “When the UE (100) receives the back-off time, the UE (100) does not initiate any NAS signaling with regards to the applied congestion control until the back-off timer expires or the UE (100) receives a mobile terminated request from the network, or the UE (100) initiates signaling for emergency services or high priority access … the back-off timer continues to run.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding the conditions comprises the UE activating the unavailability period for managing a context associated with a UE during a discontinuous coverage scenario in a telecommunication network by a network apparatus (Kumar, Abstract).
Claims 5, 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakker (US-10880802-B1) , as field on Jun. 19, 2020, and published on Dec. 29, 2020, in view of Kumar et al. (US-20240340837-A1), and further in view of Choudhary et al. (US-20260269934-A1).
Regarding claim 5, Bakker and Kumar teach the method of claim 4,
Bakker does not explicitly teach wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises the unavailability period being activated for a discontinuous coverage.
However, Kumar teaches wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises the unavailability period being activated for a discontinuous coverage (Fig. 3, Abstract, [0011] , [0177]-[0178], [0233]-[0236] and [0276] provide how to manage a context associated with the UE during a discontinuous coverage scenario, when the network apparatus receives the unavailability information due to discontinuous coverage from the UE, the unavailability type is set to unavailability due to the discontinuous coverage).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding the conditions comprises the UE activating the unavailability period for managing a context associated with a UE during a discontinuous coverage scenario in a telecommunication network by a network apparatus (Kumar, Abstract).
Bakker and Kumar do not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243.
However, Choudhary teaches wherein the one or more eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243 (Table 5 Page 21-22 and 24, notes 11-12 that provide the direct eCall inactivity timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243, for example, “NOTE 11: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3242 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) running, the UE starts the timer with a value set to the time left on timer T3242. Otherwise, the UE starts the timer with a value set to 12 hours. NOTE 12: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3243 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) running, the UE starts the timer with a value set to the time left on timer T3243. “ That confirms eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker in view of Kumar to incorporate the teachings of Choudhary (in analogous art) by adding that the eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243 to help the UE to initiate an error recovery procedure due to the expiration of the timer(s) (Choudhary, [0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Bakker and Kumar teach the method of claim 8,
Bakker does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243.
However, Choudhary teaches wherein the one or more eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243 (Table 5 Page 21-22 and 24, notes 11-12 that provide the direct eCall inactivity timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243, for example, “NOTE 11: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3242 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) running, the UE starts the timer with a value set to the time left on timer T3242. Otherwise, the UE starts the timer with a value set to 12 hours. NOTE 12: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3243 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) running, the UE starts the timer with a value set to the time left on timer T3243. “ That confirms eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker in view of Kumar to incorporate the teachings of Choudhary (in analogous art) by adding that the eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243 to help the UE to initiate an error recovery procedure due to the expiration of the timer(s) (Choudhary, [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Bakker teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the one or more actions comprises one or more of:
Bakker teaches determining one or more eCall related timers running (lines 34-35 explicitly discloses “ the one or more conditions comprises detecting that a timer is running.” That means the treating of emergency procedure based on time running restrictions, see the examples in lines 18-20, lines 30-32 and 37-40 Col. 20); determining the occurrence of the one or more conditions (Figs. 2-5 and Abstract provides a system and method in a user equipment (UE) for transferring an emergency session (eCall/emergency connection) from a first network to a second network, as described in lines 36-45 Col. 1 and claim 1, while Figs. 15-17 and lines 56-67 Col. 21 and lines 12-21 Col. 22 lines describe the processing unit in the wireless device/UE/BS/network node. Lines 1-8 Col. 21 states“ the UE, subject to one or more conditions and subsequent to receiving the registration reject message, performing a second registration procedure with the second core network and sending one of an emergency registration request message or another registration request message, wherein one of the one or more conditions comprises detecting the emergency connection among the one or more connections.” and further states in lines 34-35 “ the one or more conditions comprises detecting that a timer is running.” Figs. 11 A-B and 14 A-B, lines 23-28 Col. 16 provide the proposed changes (3GPP TS24.301 section 5.5.1.2.6 ) may enable the various embodiments of preserving emergency calls such as the scenario when the running timer T3410 is timeout (unavailability period), see lines 30-33 and 48-67 Col. 16. Also, Fig. 6 explicitly describe the PSM scenario and lines 30-45 illustrate that the UE shall not request use of power saving mode (PSM) or the use of cellular internet of things (CIoT) optimization when performing the attach procedure with the network including the EPC. The use of PSM or CIoT optimizations may have an adverse effect on the emergency call. That implies the occurrence of conditions related to an unavailability period, or power saving mode on handling the emergency session);
Bakker does not explicitly teach keeping one or more eCall related timers running
However, Kumar teaches keeping one or more eCall related timers running ([0165] states “While the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for example, timer T3346) is running, the UE may perform one or more of the below methods/procedures in any order or combinations” and [0169] states “The UE may stop the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for e.g., timer T3346), if running, before/after initiating the AS/NAS signaling message for discontinuous coverage support/period indication/negotiation. In yet another embodiment, the UE may continue to run the mobility management back-off timer (MM BO timer) (for e.g., timer T3346), if running, before/after initiating the AS/NAS signaling message for discontinuous coverage support/ period indication/negotiation.” That means the back off timer may/may not stopped until expiry , as also described in [0199] that states “When the UE (100) receives the back-off time, the UE (100) does not initiate any NAS signaling with regards to the applied congestion control until the back-off timer expires or the UE (100) receives a mobile terminated request from the network, or the UE (100) initiates signaling for emergency services or high priority access … the back-off timer continues to run.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker to incorporate the teachings of Kumar (in analogous art) by adding the conditions comprises the UE activating the unavailability period for managing a context associated with a UE during a discontinuous coverage scenario in a telecommunication network by a network apparatus (Kumar, Abstract).
and
Bakker and Kumar do not explicitly teach performing an eCall inactivity procedure at an expiry of at least one of the one or more eCall related timers.
However, Choudhary teaches performing an eCall inactivity procedure at an expiry of at least one of the one or more eCall related timers (Table 5 Page 21-22 and 24, notes 11-12 that provide the direct eCall inactivity timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243, for example, “T3444:NOTE 11: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3242 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) running, the UE starts the timer with a value set to the time left on timer T3242. Otherwise, the UE starts the timer with a value set to 12 hours. T3445: NOTE 12: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3243 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) running, the UE starts the timer with a value set to the time left on timer T3243. “ On expiry, the UE can perform the eCall inactivity procedure in EPS/5GS. See also note 11 and NOTE 12: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3243 (see 3GPP TS 24.008) in Page 24. That confirms performing eCall inactivity procedure upon the expiry of T3444 or T3445).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker in view of Kumar to incorporate the teachings of Choudhary (in analogous art) by adding that the eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243 to help the UE to initiate an error recovery procedure due to the expiration of the timer(s) (Choudhary, [0034]).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bakker (US-10880802-B1) , as field on Jun. 19, 2020, and published on Dec. 29, 2020, in view of Choudhary et al. (US-20260269934-A1).
Regarding claim 10, Bakker teaches the method of claim 7,
Bakker does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more conditions comprises a mobile-initiated-connection-only (MICO) mode being activated.
However, Choudhary teaches wherein the one or more conditions comprises a mobile-initiated-connection-only (MICO) mode being activated (Table 2 Page 11 provides active timer NOTE 10 All except Entering 5GMM- N1 NAS Activate MICO 5GMM- IDLE mode after signaling connection mode for the UE. DEREGISTERED indicating MICO established mode activation to the UE with an active timer value, that implies the MICO is activated, entering 5GMM-IDLE can trigger the deregistration timer if the monitoring timer is not running, as described in note 2, Table 2 Page 11, which confirms mobile-initiated-connection-only (MICO) mode being activated as a condition).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker to incorporate the teachings of Choudhary (in analogous art) by adding that the eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243 to help the UE to initiate an error recovery procedure due to the expiration of the timer(s) (Choudhary, [0034]).
Regarding claim 13, Bakker teaches the method of claim 12,
Bakker does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243.
However, Choudhary teaches wherein the one or more eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243 (Table 5 Page 21-22 and 24, notes 11-12 that provide the direct eCall inactivity timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243, for example, “NOTE 11: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3242 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) running, the UE starts the timer with a value set to the time left on timer T3242. Otherwise, the UE starts the timer with a value set to 12 hours. NOTE 12: If the timer is started due to a UE configured for eCall only mode moving from GERAN/UTRAN to E-UTRAN with timer T3243 (see 3GPP TS 24.008 [13]) running, the UE starts the timer with a value set to the time left on timer T3243. “ That confirms eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bakker to incorporate the teachings of Choudhary (in analogous art) by adding that the eCall related timers comprise one or more of timers T3444, T3445, T3242 and T3243 to help the UE to initiate an error recovery procedure due to the expiration of the timer(s) (Choudhary, [0034]).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Kim et al. (US-20230262818-A1), Liu et al. (US-20210037473-A1), Daoura et al. (US-11450196-B2), Shan et al. (US-20190174449-A1), and Hashmi et al. (WO-2025037916-A1) teach methods and systems for handling a user equipment and timers associated with the UE during an unavailability period in a wireless communication system.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463