DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “an acquisition processing portion”, “a first display processing portion” and “a login processing portion”, “a determination processing portion” , “an execution processing portion”, have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use a generic placeholder “portion” coupled with functional language “configured to … ” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims has been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
“an acquisition processing portion”, “a first display processing portion” and “a login processing portion”, “a determination processing portion”, “an execution processing portion” appear to be hardware including a processor and memory (par [0064] of the specification).
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1 and 6 are directed an idea for acquiring and display print jobs, which is an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements beyond the abstract idea of acquiring and display print jobs. Therefore, the claim does not amount to more than the abstract idea itself. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 2-5 when analyzed as a whole with claim 1 are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitations fail to establish meaningful claims significantly more than the abstract idea itself in view of the Alice case.
Any amendment to the claim(s) should be commensurate with its corresponding disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue (US 20190369934) in view of Nakatsuka et al. (US 20150002895).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue teaches an image forming apparatus comprising:
an acquisition processing portion configured to start an acquisition process of sequentially acquiring job information of print jobs held in a print server from the print server when a predetermined acquisition timing arrives (abstract: that receives print data from a printing service using Internet Printing Protocol and executes printing of the print data); and a first display processing portion configured to cause, in response to a predetermined specific operation received after the acquisition timing, a display portion to display a list of the print jobs based on the job information acquired by the acquisition process before the specific operation is received (abstract: displaying, a list of print jobs held in the printing service).
Inoue does not teach acquiring job information from the print server when a predetermined acquisition timing arrives.
Nakatsuka teaches acquiring job information from the print server when a predetermined acquisition timing arrives (p0016: the print job download portion 103 may send the request data 64 to the intermediate server 4 to try to download the print data 61).
Inoue and Nakatsuka are combinable because they both deal with management servers with a printing apparatus. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Inoue with the teaching of Nakatsuka for purpose of resolve an issue, and an object thereof is to, even if there is a problem with an upstream device of a printing device, enable the printing device to execute a print job (p0011).
Regarding claim 6, The structural elements of apparatus claim 1 perform all of the steps of method claim 6. Thus, claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Inoue in view of Nakatsuka teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a login processing portion configured to cause a registered user who is registered in advance to log in (fig. 13 A: login scree),wherein the acquisition timing includes a timing after the login of the registered user, and the acquisition process includes a process of sequentially acquiring the job information of the print jobs corresponding to the logged-in registered user (p0049:Only a print job having user-attribute values matching with the values of these attributes among print jobs saved in the printing service 101 is transmitted from the printing service 101 to the printing apparatus 100).
Regarding claim 3, Inoue teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 2, further comprising: a second display processing portion configured to cause the display portion to display a function selection screen used to select a function to be used when the registered user logs in (fig. 13A, A and B: copy scan, mail function),
wherein functions selectable on the function selection screen include a specific function for executing a print job held in the print server (fig. 13A: C: cloud print job list), and the acquisition timing includes a timing when the specific function is selected as the function to be used on the function selection screen (Fig. 13A, D: date).
Regarding claim 4, Inoue teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, wherein in response to a predetermined update operation received after the display of the list, the first display processing portion updates the list based on the job information acquired by the acquisition process before the update operation is received (fig. 13A: D,E F).
Regarding claim 5, Inoue teaches the image forming apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a determination processing portion configured to, in response to a designation operation of designating any of the print jobs included in the list displayed by the first display processing portion (p0003:When a job list of the user is displayed on an operation panel of the printing apparatus, based on a response from the printing service, the user selects a job that the user wants to print, and then selects a “print” button), determine whether or not the print job designated by the designation operation is held in the print server; and an execution processing portion configured to execute the print job designated by the designation operation when the determination processing portion determines that the print job designated by the designation operation is held in the print server (p0003:The printing apparatus then acquires the corresponding job from the printing service, and performs printing for the job.) .
Conclusion
HELEN ZONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2683
/HELEN ZONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683