DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 01/09/2026. Claims 19-20 have been withdrawn. Presently, Claims 1-20 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 01/09/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 remain pending. Claims 19-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-18 are rejected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the annotated element 30 directed to the processor in FIG. 1 should recite 40, not 30, to be consistent with ¶0075 of the instant application’s specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 12:
Firstly, line 7, “where M is an integer greater than or equal to 3, [...] wherein M is an odd number [...] positioned in the (M+2)/2-th row”. The highlighted recitations render the claim indefinite. The claim defines M as an “odd number”; however, it subsequently describes elements “positioned in the (M+2)/2-th row. If M is an odd integer, then M+2 is also an odd integer, and dividing it by 2 results in a non-integer (i.e., a fractional number). Consequently, the “(M+2/2-th row” describes a row index that does not exist within the array of rows. Secondly, the symmetry defined with respect to the other claimed features in lines 4-9, “for each column of transducer elements: transducer element positioned in the (M+1)/2-th row is individually wired to a channel to receive excitation signals, while transducer elements that are symmetrically positioned around the element positioned in the (M+2)/2-th row of that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to receive excitation signals from the same channel”. The claim limitations are ambiguous. The claim conflicts the reference points for the array’s organization. It first defines the “(M+1)/2-th row”-line 5 (i.e., an odd integer) as the row containing the element “individually wired to a channel”-line 5. However, the claim then subsequently defines the pairing of elements as those “symmetrically positioned around the element positioned in the (M+2)/2-th row” -lines 6-7. This shifts the reference point for the symmetry to a mathematically invalid non-integer row, creating ambiguity regarding which row serves as the actual center of the array. Subsequently, the claim does not specify the axis or point of the symmetry, it is unclear what the elements are symmetrically positioned around. The instant application’s specification at ¶0025 does not rectify the ambiguity present in the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes symmetrically positioned around the element positioned in the (M+1)/2-th row, such that, the center row is (M+1)/2-th row, the symmetrical axis is (M+1)/2-th row, independently wiring is the center row only, the paired wiring refers to the symmetric rows around the center row while the frequency differentiation refers to the center row versus the outermost rows. Appropriate correction is required.
Thirdly:
line 4, “for each column”. It is unclear if the term refers to or is separate from the N columns. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes for each of the N columns. Appropriate correction is required.
line 4, “of transducers elements”. It is unclear if the term refers to or is separate from “the array of transducer elements. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the array of transducer elements. Appropriate correction is required.
line 5, “the (M+1)/2-th row”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a (M+1)/2-th row. Appropriate correction is required.
line 7, “the element”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the transducer element. Appropriate correction is required.
line 7, “the (M+2)/2-th row”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the (M+1)/2-th row. Appropriate correction is required.
line 8-9, “the same channel”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. Furthermore, it is unclear if the term refers to the channel or another channel. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the channel. Appropriate correction is required.
line 9, “for this MxN array”. It is unclear what this MxN array refers to in the context of the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the term MxN array refers to the structural arrangement of the transducer array corresponding to the M rows and N columns. Appropriate correction is required.
line 10-11, “the 1st and M-th rows”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a “first and M-th rows”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13: the phrase, “wherein transducer elements from the 1st to the m-th rows and from the (M+1-m)-th to the M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency, and transducer elements from the (m+1)-th to the (M-m)-th rows are the transducer elements with first center frequency, where m is a positive integer and less than (M+1)/2.”, renders the claim indefinite. Firstly, to begin, claim 12 defines the distribution of frequencies of exclusivity, by stating “the transducer elements in the 1st and M-th rows are the transducers elements with second center frequency”-lines 10-11, of claim 12. Note; the phrase “are the” implies the second frequency is assigned to the first and last rows (i.e., the 1st and M-th). However, Claim 13 attempts to expand this definition by stating that the “transducer elements from the 1st to the m-th rows [...] and [...] from the (M+1-m)-th to the M-th rows [...] are the transducer elements with the second frequency”. The variable m defines a positive integer and to be less than (M + 1)/2, as defined by the claim 13. Indefiniteness arises here because the apparatus configuration of the transducer array cannot satisfy claim 12’s recitation of ‘1st and M-th row have the second center frequency) while claim 13 has rows 1 through m. There is inconsistent claim language. Because claim 12 is also indefinite, this leaves the frequency of the intermediate row between the 1st and center undefined. Claim 13’s attempt to define them using variable m creates an apparatus that violates the first condition that is “1st and M-th”. It is indeed unclear whether the specific 1st and M-th limitation of claim 12 overrides the range of “1st to m-th” in claim 13, vice versa, rendering the scope of claim indefinite. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes at least two or more rows (i.e., outer rows) on the top and bottom of the center row.
Secondly:
line 1, ‘the transducer elements’. It is unclear if the term refers to or is separate from the previously defined transducer elements of the second center frequency. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes it refers to the same transducer elements of the second center frequency (i.e., the transducer elements). Consistent claim language is required when referring to the same term. Appropriate correction is required.
line 2, “the m-th row”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes “the M-th row. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 2, “the (M+1-m)-th”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes “a (M+1-m)-th”. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 3, “the (m+1)-th”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e).. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes “(m+1)-th”. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
line 3, “the (M+m)-th”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e).. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes “(M+m)-th”. Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required.
The above rejections to claim 13 apply to claim 15 for substantially
identical claim limitations recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14:
lines 1-4, “where M is an integer greater than or equal to 3 [...] wherein M is an even number”, is indefinite because if M is an integer of three, while satisfying the requirement that M is even, would be logically inconsistent (i.e., ambiguous). For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes M is an integer great than 3, not equal to 3. Appropriate correction is required.
lines 5-6, “transducer elements symmetrically positioned in that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to receive excitation signals from a same channel”, renders the claim indefinite. The claim does not specify the axis or point of the symmetry, it is unclear what the elements are symmetrically positioned around. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes are symmetrically positioned around the two central rows. Appropriate correction is required.
line 4, “for each column”. It is unclear if the term refers to or is separate from the N columns. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes for each of the N columns. Appropriate correction is required.
line 4, “of transducers elements”. It is unclear if the term refers to or is separate from “the array of transducer elements. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the array of transducer elements. Appropriate correction is required.
line 7, “for this MxN array”. It is unclear what this MxN array refers to in the context of the claim. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes the term MxN array refers to the structural arrangement of the transducer array corresponding to the M rows and N columns. Appropriate correction is required.
line 7, “the M/2-th row and the (M/2+1)-th row”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a “M/2-th row and (M/2+1)-th row”. Appropriate correction is required.
line 8-9, “the 1st and M-th rows”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as required by MPEP 2173.05(e). Accordingly, proper antecedent basis is required. For examination purposes, the Examiner assumes a “first and M-th rows”. Appropriate correction is required.
The dependent claims of the above rejected claims are rejected due to their dependency.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities and should recite:
Claim 1:
Line 3-4, “with a first center frequency and a plurality of transducer elements with a second center frequency;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Line 8, “to receive echo signals from the transmitted ultrasonic waves”.
Line 9, “the received echo signals;”.
Line 13, “with the first center frequency”.
Line 18-20, “under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls both the transducer elements with the first center frequency and the transducer elements with the second center frequency”.
In Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, & 18:
Each recitation of “first center frequency” should recite, “the first center frequency”.
In Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, & 18:
Each recitation of “second center frequency” should recite, “the second center frequency”.
Claim 18:
lines 2-3, “wherein, the first center frequency is greater than 7 megahertz (MHz) and less than 15 MHz; and/or the second center frequency is greater than 2 MHz and less than 4 MHz.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Angelson et al (US 2005/0277835 A1).
Claim 1: Angelsen discloses, An ultrasonic imaging apparatus, comprising: (¶Abstract, FIG. 1)
an ultrasonic probe comprising a transducer array having a plurality of transducer elements with first center frequency and a plurality of transducer elements with second center frequency;
-Angelsen discloses am ultrasound imaging probe with dual frequency transducer elements where a transducer array comprises both low and high frequency components. Specifically, a transducer array that has a high frequency and a low frequency section. These arrays are arranged as concentric rings or mounted side by side corresponding to the plurality of transducer arrays with a first center frequency and a second center frequency, respectively, Fig. 8, ¶0134-0137, ¶0189.
a transmission control circuit configured to control the transducer array to transmit ultrasonic waves;
-Angelsen discloses Fig. 12 of the imaging probe that includes the transmission control circuit (i.e., 1205, 1204), ¶0191, which feed pulses to the array elements, triggered by the controller 1206.
a reception control circuit configured to control the transducer array to receive echo signals from ultrasonic waves; and
-Angelsen discloses a sub-aperture unit 1202 where signals are received to be delayed and summed, ¶0190-0193.
a processor configured to generate an ultrasonic image based on the echo signals;
-Angelsen discloses processing units configured to process the received signals and generate images. The image construction and scan converter unit 1206 receives data (echo signals) and presents images on a display, ¶0197. This processor generated ultrasonic images based on echo signals, including structural images, doppler velocity signals, and strain rate images, ¶0020, ¶0197.
wherein the ultrasonic imaging apparatus operates in a first imaging mode or a second imaging mode; wherein:
-Angelsen discloses a system that operates between different operating methods. The first method uses a single transmitted pulse complex to provide suppression of reverberation noise, ¶0022, ¶0201. The second method uses two or more transmitted pulse complexes to estimate nonlinear scattering and propagation parameters, ¶0024, ¶0202.
under the first imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with first center frequency to operate as transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to a first region, the reception control circuit controls part or all of transducer elements within the transducer array to operate as receiving elements to receive echo signals from the first region; and the processor generates an ultrasonic image for the first region based on the received echo signals; and
-Angelsen discloses, specifically, the first method, (i.e., first imaging mode) uses a single dual band pulse complex transmitted towards a region of interest, ¶Abstract, Claim 20. In this first imaging mode, the transmission control circuit (i.e., HF transmit beam former 1204) is configured to feed bulses to the HF-array elements (i.e., transducers with a first center frequency), ¶0190. These HF array elements operate as transmitting elements to transmit the high-frequency component of the ultrasonic waves to the region to be imaged, ¶Abstract, ¶0019. The reception control circuit (i.e., sub-aperture unit and receive beamformer) is where the received signals from the array elements are summed and delayed, ¶0190, ¶0191-0192. In the receiving mode of the signals several neighboring array elements are delayed and summed, ¶0190. Hence, part or all the transducer element with the transducer array operate as receiving elements to receive echo signals from the first region. The processor generated an ultrasonic image based on these received echo signals. Specifically, “The high frequency pulse is used for the image reconstruction”-¶Abstract.
under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls both the transducer elements with first center frequency and the transducer elements with second center frequency to jointly operate as transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to a second region, the reception control circuit controls part or all of transducer elements within the transducer array to operate as receiving elements to receive echo signals from the second region, and the processor generates an ultrasonic image for the second region based on the received echo signals.
-Angelsen discloses a joint transmission control in the second imaging mode (i.e., the second method), the transmission control circuit controls both the transducer elements with the first center frequency (i.e., high frequency) and the transducer elements with the second center frequency (i.e., low frequency) to jointly operate as transmitting elements. Specifically, Angelson states, “two or more dual band pulse complexes in sequence for each radial image line, where the high frequency pulse is found close to the peak or trough of the low frequency pulse, and where the frequency and/or phase and/or amplitude of the low frequency pulse vary for each transmission, to nonlinearly manipulate the acoustic scattering and forward propagation properties of the tissue for the high frequency components.”, ¶0024, “a second type of transmit pulses according to the invention containing both a low frequency pulse and a high frequency pulse”-FIG. 3, ¶0040. See also claim 37. The processor then generates an ultrasonic image for the second region based on the received echo signals. This second mode, the processor receives signals to estimate nonlinear propagation delays and generating various image signals, ¶0025, Claim 21. Unlike the first method, which uses signal pulse complex, the second method varies the frequency, phase, and/or amplitude of the low frequency pulse for each transmission, ¶0024. The second region is simply the targeted tissue being imaged while the apparatus is operating in the second mode. However, the depths of each method are indeed different. The first method enables deep imaging of dense objects, ¶0067, whereas the second method prevails or much larger depths, ¶0072, because the low frequency pulses are not heavily absorbed.
Claim 5: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelson discloses, wherein, under the first imaging mode, the reception control circuit controls the transducer elements with first center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive the echo signals from the first region;
-Angelson discloses, the high frequency part of the array “3000-10,000, and the number of receive and transmit channels are then typically reduced in a sub-aperture unit 1202 , where in receive mode the signals from several neighboring array elements are delayed and summed to sub-aperture signals 1203 for further processing.”, ¶0190. In the first method, the high frequency pulse is used for image reconstruction, ¶Abstract, ¶0019, ¶0057. The reception contrl path where the receive sub-aperture signals (i.e., from the high frequency range ) are fed to the sub-aperture unit 1202, where they are delayed for steering of receive beam direction and focusing, ¶0191-0193. The received high frequency signals are then processed to form the imaging signals of the first region, ¶0195.
and/or
under the second imaging mode, the reception control circuit controls the transducer elements with first center frequency and the transducer elements with second center frequency to jointly operate as the receiving elements to receive the echo signals from the second region.
Claim 6: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelson discloses, wherein, under the first imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a first frequency range to activate the transducer elements with first center frequency;
-Angelson discloses, imaging range related to the high frequency ultrasound with a center frequency of 10 MHz, ¶0062.
and/or,
under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a second frequency range to activate the transducer elements with first center frequency and the transducer elements with second center frequency;
or,
under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a first frequency range to activate the transducer elements with first center frequency, and generates excitation signals in a second frequency range to activate transducer elements with second center frequency.
Claim 10: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelson discloses, wherein the processor automatically sets a current imaging mode.
-Angelson discloses, “The invention devices an instrument that can operate according to at least two of the methods, with the ability to select the best method for the needs, where the selection can be done under direct control of the operator, or the operator can set constraints, where the instrument automatically selects methods for best performance according to the constraints under different operating conditions.”-¶0205.
Claim 11: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 10, Angelson discloses, wherein, the processor obtains a current scanning mode and automatically sets the current imaging mode based on the current scanning mode;
-Angelson discloses, “The invention devices an instrument that can operate according to at least two of the methods, with the ability to select the best method for the needs, where the selection can be done under direct control of the operator, or the operator can set constraints, where the instrument automatically selects methods for best performance according to the constraints under different operating conditions.”-¶0205, see also, ¶0021, “The invention therefore further devices an instrument for operation of more than two of the methods and procedures for optimal selection of the methods for best performance of the instrument under given constraints, Such as frame rate, image quality, a combination of frame rate and image quality, etc.’.
and/or,
the processor obtains current imaging parameters and automatically sets the current imaging mode based on the current imaging parameters, the imaging parameters at least comprising an imaging depth;
and/or,
the processor automatically identifies scanned region based on a current ultrasonic image and automatically switches the current imaging mode based on the identified scanned region.
Claim 16: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelson discloses, wherein the transducer elements with first center frequency and the transducer elements with second center frequency are spaced apart and aligned in a row. (FIG. 8a, see also, ¶0134)
Claim 17: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelson discloses, wherein the first center frequency (¶0062, -regarding the center frequency of 10 MHz of the high frequency) is higher than the second center frequency (¶0025 – regarding the center frequency of 0.1-1 MHz of the low frequency).
Claim 18: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 17, Angelson discloses, wherein, the first center frequency is greater than 7MHz and less than 15MHz (¶0062, -regarding the center frequency of 10 MHz of the high frequency. A 10 MHz center frequency is greater than 7 MHz and less than 15 MHz); and/or the second center frequency is greater than 2MHz and less than 4MHz.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelson et al (US 2005/0277835 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Rothberg et al (US 20170360413 A1).
Claim 2: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelson fails to disclose: wherein, the second region comprises a first sub-region proximal to the transducer array and a second sub- region distal to the transducer array; and under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with first center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to the first sub-region, and controls the transducer elements with second center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to the second sub-region.
However, Rothberg in the context of “universal” [emphasis added] ultrasound transducer operating a first mode associated with a first frequency range and a second mode associated with a second frequency range discloses, wherein, the second region comprises a first sub-region proximal to the transducer array and a second sub- region distal to the transducer array; and under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with first center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to the first sub-region, and controls the transducer elements with second center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to the second sub-region.
-Rothberg teaches high frequency ultrasonic waves (i.e., a first frequency), its associated term in Rothberg is (the second frequency range-second mode (e.g., 6-8 MHz)), used for shallow (proximal regions. Rothberg teaches, that the universal ultrasound probe can operate in a mode associated with high-frequency (e.g., 5-12 MHz or 6-8 MHz) to image a subject at shallow target depths such as 1-10 cm or 1-5 cm, ¶0020, ¶0028.
-Rothberg teaches low frequency ultrasonic waves (i.e., a second frequency), its associated term in Rothberg is (the first frequency range-first mode (e.g., 1-3 MHz), used for deep (distal) regions. The universal probe of Rothberg can operated in another mode associated with a low frequency range (e.g., 1-5 MHz or 1-3 MHz) to image a subject at deeper target depths such as 10-25 cm or 15-20 cm, ¶0016, ¶0028, ¶0019.
Note; these modes can be operated singly or jointly Claim 12, ¶0054.
-Rothberg teaches the control circuitry 108 (transmission control circuit) is configured to control the ultrasonic transducers to generate ultrasound signals in specific frequency ranges in response to an indication to operated in the corresponding mode, ¶Abstract, ¶0015. Rothberg operates at a center frequency appropriate for the mode, as described in ¶0024, ¶0031. FIG. 1A illustrates a point at a shallow depth (P1, D1) using the higher frequency range and another point at a deeper depth (P2, D2) using a lower frequency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify controls of the second imaging mode of Angelson in view of the teachings as taught by Rothberg for the advantage enabling the use of a single ultrasound device to generate medically relevant images of a subject at different depths thereby providing a universal ultrasound device to be used by medical professionals to perform different imaging tasks that require use of multiple convention ultrasound probes, as suggested by Rothberg, ¶0014.
Claim 3: Modified Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Angelson fails to disclose: wherein, under the second imaging mode, the reception control circuit controls the transducer elements with first center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the first sub-region, and controls the transducer elements with second center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the second sub-region.
However, Rothberg is relied upon above discloses: wherein, under the second imaging mode, the reception control circuit controls the transducer elements with first center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the first sub-region, and controls the transducer elements with second center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the second sub-region.
-Rothberg teaches that the receive circuitry is configured to receive and process the electronic signals generated by the individual elements when the acoustic signals impinge upon such elements, ¶0046. The ADC within the receive circuity has its timing adjust to run at sampling rates corresponding to the mode based needs of the application frequencies, ¶0059. In addition, to the receive beamforming to focus at multiple depths ranges, ¶0037-0038.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify controls of the second imaging mode of modified Angelson in view of the teachings as taught by Rothberg for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus being able to enable the use of a single ultrasound device to generate medically relevant images of a subject at different depths thereby providing a universal ultrasound device to be used by medical professionals to perform different imaging tasks that require use of multiple convention ultrasound probes, as suggested by Rothberg, ¶0014.
Claim 4: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Although Angleson discloses, how high frequency are naturally shallower than that of lower frequency pulses due to physical absorption, ¶0062, ¶0059, ¶0072.
Angelson fails to explicitly disclose, wherein, an imaging depth of the first region is shallower than that of the second region, and the imaging depth is either an average depth or a maximum depth.
However, Rothberg in the context of “universal” [emphasis added] ultrasound transducer operating a first mode associated with a first frequency range and a second mode associated with a second frequency range discloses, wherein, an imaging depth of the first region is shallower than that of the second region, and the imaging depth is either an average depth or a maximum depth.
-Rothberg teaches high frequency ultrasound signals attenuate faster in tissue than lower signals, ¶0016. High frequency is ¶0020-“within a range of 5-12 MHz (e.g., within a range of 5-10 MHz, 7-12 MHz, 5-7 MHz, 5-9 MHz, 6-8 MHz, 7-10 MHz, and/or 6-91 MHz)”. In this high frequenciy the depth is smaller than the depth of low frequency, ¶0127, “wherein: when the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are controlled to detect ultrasound signals having frequencies in the first frequency range, ultrasound signals detected by the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are used to form an image of a subject up to a first depth within the subject; and when the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are controlled to detect ultrasound signals having frequencies in the second frequency range, ultrasound signals detected by the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are used to form an image of a subject up to a second depth within the subject, wherein the second depth is smaller than the first depth.”. Transducers operating in the low frequency range are used to image a subject at greater target depths, such as 10-25 cm or 15-20 cm, ¶0016, ¶0028, ¶0019. FIG. 1A illustrates a point at a shallow depth (P1, D1) using the higher frequency range and another point at a deeper depth (P2, D2) using a lower frequency. The imaging depth is up to a maximum depth, ¶0019-0020, ¶0028.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify imaging depth of Angelson in view of the teachings as taught by Rothberg for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus being able to enable to operate across multiple different frequency ranges to obtain high resolution images of a subject at different depths, as suggested by Rothberg, ¶0001.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelson et al (US 2005/0277835 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Onishi et al (US 20130324852 A1).
Claim 7: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angleson fails disclose: wherein the ultrasonic imaging apparatus further operates in a third imaging mode; wherein, under the third imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with second center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to a third region, the reception control circuit controls part or all of transducer elements within the transducer array to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the third region, and the processor generates an ultrasonic image for the third region based on the echo signals from the third region.
However, Onishi in the context of a three mode multiple-frequency ultrasound device wherein the first mode = high frequency, second mode = low frequency, and third mode = both the low and high frequency, discloses, wherein the ultrasonic imaging apparatus further operates in a third imaging mode; wherein, under the third imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with second center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to a third region, the reception control circuit controls part or all of transducer elements within the transducer array to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the third region, and the processor generates an ultrasonic image for the third region based on the echo signals from the third region.
-Onishi teaches selected in the second mode the low frequency ultrasonic elements lines and directs the signal only to them, ¶0070, ¶0075. The transmitter outputs a square wave driving signal, the square wave is of lower frequencies (e.g., 1.5 MHz) because it generates high ultrasonic intensity, which is advantageous for deep penetration, ¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0040-0041, ¶0064.
-Onishi teaches, Zhang teaches operating in multiple mode to generate different ultrasonic images by switching, specifically to a second mode (i.e., a third imaging mode), where the transmitter (transmission control circuit) is configured to output driving signals to the low frequency elements, ¶0008, ¶0064. The switch part and the receiver (reception control circuit) controls the reception of the echo signals from the specific parts of the transducer array, ¶0070, ¶0075. In the second mode (i.e., the third imaging mode), Zhang teaches selecting the low frequency element lines (i.e., a part of the array) to output receiving signals to the receiver, ¶0070, ¶0075. The image generation part generated image based on the echoes received, ¶0010, wherein the imaging data provides desired resolution for objects at farter distance (i.e., a third region), ¶0082-0083.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ultrasound imaging apparatus of Angelson to further operate in a third imaging mode in view of the teachings taught by Onishi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as for the advantage to obtain the desired resolution of objects far between the distance of the ultrasonic image, as suggested by Onishi, ¶0043.
Claim 8: Modified Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Angleson fails disclose: wherein, an imaging depth of the first region is shallower than that of the third region, and the imaging depth is an average depth, a maximum depth or a minimum depth.
However, Onishi as relied upon above discloses, wherein, an imaging depth of the first region (¶0078, ¶0082-0083 – high frequency located at close distance as 1 to 5 cm (shorter than the second distance)) is shallower than that of the third region (¶0078, ¶0082-0083 – low frequency located as 10-15 cm (father than the range of the first distance)), and the imaging depth is an average depth, a maximum depth or a minimum depth (¶0082, ‘the range of the first distance is 1 to 5 cm, and the range of the second distance is 10 to 15 cm.’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ultrasound imaging apparatus of modified Angelson to further operate in a third imaging mode in view of the teachings taught by Onishi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to prevent reduction of resolution depending on the distance of the object being imaged, as suggested by Onishi, ¶0007.
Claim 9: Modified Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Angleson fails disclose: wherein, under the third imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a second frequency range to activate the transducer elements with second center frequency.
However, Onishi as relied upon above discloses, wherein, under the third imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a second frequency range to activate the transducer elements with second center frequency (¶0041, ‘in a case of the square wave input, the maximum amplitude becomes a peak at resonance frequency 1.5 MHz and its vicinity.’, ¶0054, ‘The first frequency is, for example, 5.5 MHz, and the second frequency is, for example, 1.5 MHz, but it can be other than those frequencies’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify third imaging mode of modified Angelson in view of the teachings taught by Onishi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as for the advantage to obtain the desired resolution of objects far between the distance of the ultrasonic image, as suggested by Onishi, ¶0043.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelson et al (US 2005/0277835 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Chiao (US5882309).
Claim 12: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelson fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the transducer array consists of an array of transducer elements arranged in M rows and N columns, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 3, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; wherein M is an odd number, and for each column of transducer elements:
transducer element positioned in the (M+1)/2-th row is individually wired to a channel to receive excitation signals, while transducer elements that are symmetrically positioned around the element positioned in the (M+2)/2-th row of that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to receive excitation signals from the same channel; and for this MxN array, transducer elements in the (M+1)/2-th row are the transducer elements with first center frequency, and transducer elements in the 1st and M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency.
However, Chiao in the context of multi-row ultrasonic transducer array discloses, wherein the transducer array consists of an array of transducer elements arranged in M rows and N columns, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 3, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; wherein M is an odd number, and for each column of transducer elements: transducer element positioned in the (M+1)/2-th row is individually wired to a channel to receive excitation signals, while transducer elements that are symmetrically positioned around the element positioned in the (M+2)/2-th row of that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to receive excitation signals from the same channel; and for this MxN array, transducer elements in the (M+1)/2-th row are the transducer elements with first center frequency, and transducer elements in the 1st and M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency. (FIG. 5B, [Col 7 l.45-56], [Col 3 l.15-37], [Col 3 l.53-67 to Col 4 l.1-3], “In the very near field, only the central row of the array is active”-[col 5 l.45-46], “The portion of the lens which covers the central row of the array has a short focal length, for best near-field performance when only the central row is active. The outer portions of the lens have longer focal lengths for best far-field performance, since the outer rows of the array are only active in the far field of the image.”-[Col 6 l.5-11].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transducer array of Angelson in view of the transducer array of Chaio. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the near-field resolution as suggested by Chaio, [Col 4 l.56-63].
Claim 13: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 12, Angelson fails to explicitly disclose: wherein transducer elements from the 1st to the m-th rows and from the (M+1-m)-th to the M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency, and transducer elements from the (m+1)-th to the (M-m)-th rows are the transducer elements with first center frequency, where m is a positive integer and less than (M+1)/2.
However, Chiao is relied upon above discloses, wherein transducer elements from the 1st to the m-th rows and from the (M+1-m)-th to the M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency, and transducer elements from the (m+1)-th to the (M-m)-th rows are the transducer elements with first center frequency, where m is a positive integer and less than (M+1)/2. (FIG. 5B, [Col 7 l.45-56], [Col 3 l.15-37], [Col 3 l.53-67 to Col 4 l.1-3], “In the very near field, only the central row of the array is active”-[col 5 l.45-46], “The portion of the lens which covers the central row of the array has a short focal length, for best near-field performance when only the central row is active. The outer portions of the lens have longer focal lengths for best far-field performance, since the outer rows of the array are only active in the far field of the image.”-[Col 6 l.5-11].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transducer array of modified Angelson in view of the transducer array of Chaio. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the near-field resolution as suggested by Chaio, [Col 4 l.56-63].
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelson et al (US 2005/0277835 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Chiao (US5882309) in view of Zhao et al (US 2023/0148869 A1).
Claim 14: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelson fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the transducer array comprises an array of elements arranged in M rows and N columns, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 3, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; wherein M is an odd number, and for each column of transducer elements: transducer elements symmetrically positioned in that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to receive excitation signals from a same channel; and for this MxN array, transducer elements in the (M+1)/2-th row are the transducer elements with first center frequency, and transducer elements in the 1st and M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency.
However, Chiao in the context of multi-row ultrasonic transducer array discloses, wherein the transducer array comprises an array of elements arranged in M rows and N columns, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 3, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; wherein M is an odd number, and for each column of transducer elements: transducer elements symmetrically positioned in that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to receive excitation signals from a same channel; and for this MxN array, transducer elements in the (M+1)/2-th row are the transducer elements with first center frequency, and transducer elements in the 1st and M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency. (FIG. 5B, [Col 7 l.45-56], [Col 3 l.15-37], [Col 3 l.53-67 to Col 4 l.1-3], “In the very near field, only the central row of the array is active”-[col 5 l.45-46], “The portion of the lens which covers the central row of the array has a short focal length, for best near-field performance when only the central row is active. The outer portions of the lens have longer focal lengths for best far-field performance, since the outer rows of the array are only active in the far field of the image.”-[Col 6 l.5-11].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transducer array of Angelson in view of the transducer array of Chaio. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the near-field resolution as suggested by Chaio, [Col 4 l.56-63].
Angelson in view of Chiao fails to disclose, wherein M is an even number, such that for this MxN array, transducer elements in the M/2-th row and the (M/2+1)-th row are the transducer elements with first center frequency,
However, Zhao in the context of mixed ultrasound transducer arrays discloses, wherein M is an even number, (Zhoe teaches the ultrasound array may include an even number of rows, ¶0006. FIG. 2 depicts the first type of transducer array 112. In an even number configuration, the array “may have two rows of the array elements of the first type 112 and two rows of elements of the second type”-¶0087.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the center row of modified Chaio to include one additional row (i.e., two central rows) as taught by Zhao, for the advantage of providing a better and more uniform image quality for images spanning from a near-field to a far-field images, as suggested by Zhao, ¶0050. The modified combination would disclose an MxN array of an even number of rows, wherein transducer elements in the M/2-th row and the (M/2+1)-th row are the transducer elements with first center frequency.
Claim 15: Angelson discloses all the elements above in claim 14, Angelson fails to explicitly disclose: wherein transducer elements from the 1st to the m-th rows and from the (M+1-m)-th to the M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency, and transducer elements from the (m+1)-th to the (M-m)-th rows are the transducer elements with first center frequency, where m is a positive integer and less than (M+1)/2.
However, Chiao is relied upon above discloses, wherein transducer elements from the 1st to the m-th rows and from the (M+1-m)-th to the M-th rows are the transducer elements with second center frequency, and transducer elements from the (m+1)-th to the (M-m)-th rows are the transducer elements with first center frequency, where m is a positive integer and less than (M+1)/2. (FIG. 5B, [Col 7 l.45-56], [Col 3 l.15-37], [Col 3 l.53-67 to Col 4 l.1-3], “In the very near field, only the central row of the array is active”-[col 5 l.45-46], “The portion of the lens which covers the central row of the array has a short focal length, for best near-field performance when only the central row is active. The outer portions of the lens have longer focal lengths for best far-field performance, since the outer rows of the array are only active in the far field of the image.”-[Col 6 l.5-11].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transducer array of modified Angelson in view of the transducer array of Chaio. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the near-field resolution as suggested by Chaio, [Col 4 l.56-63].
Conclusion
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798