DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to communications filed on 05/03/2026. Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 12-16, & 18. Claims 19-20 have been withdrawn. Presently, Claims 1-20 remain pending and are hereinafter examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Previous objections to the Drawings are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 05/03/2026.
Previous rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 05/03/2026.
Previous claim objections are withdrawn in view of the amendments filed on 05/03/2026.
The Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections under 35 USC § 102 have been fully, considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the Angelsen does not disclose the claimed first imaging mode because Angelsen first method utilizes a dual-band pulse complex containing both high-frequency and low-frequency components, whereas claim 1 recites transmitting with transducer elements having a first center frequency. However, the rejection does not rely on Angelsen merely disclosing the presence of a dual-ban pulse complex. Rather the rejection relies on Angelsen’s disclosure that high-frequency array elements are driven with high-frequency components of the transmitted signal while array elements receive resulting echoes for image reconstruction. This was explained in the previous office action. As discussed in the rejection, Angelsen expressively taught operation of high-frequency transducer elements as transmitting elements and operation of array elements as receiving elements for generation of an ultrasound image, ¶¶Abstract, ¶0019, ¶0190, ¶0191-0192. The claim does not require that transducer elements having the second center frequency be disabled, turned-off or inactive. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments improperly reads additional limitations into the claim that are not required or recited.
Applicant further argues the Angelsen’s first and second method differ only in the number and parameters of transmitted pulse complexes and therefore do not correspond to the claimed first and second imaging modes. This is not persuasive because the rejection identifies distinct operating modes disclosed by Angelsen. The first method utilizes a first transmission approach employing multiple pulse complexes with varying frequency characteristics. The claim broadly recites operations in a first imaging mode or second imaging mode and does not require any particular purpose, application, criteria beyond generic transmission and reception operations. Imaging modes with high and/or low frequencies are taught by the prior arts, this is not a novel concept. The claim 1 modes as their recited are not inventive. No criticality is placed in the claims.
Applicant’s reliance on MPEP 2112.02 is not persuasive because the rejection did not rely on inherence to establish these imaging modes. Rather, the rejection relies on the express disclosures of Angelsen regarding the operations of the transducer arrays, circuitry, and alternating modes.
Applicant additionally argues that the present application address a different technical problem (i.e., eliminating the need for different ultrasound probes for different tissues and body parts) and provides advantages such as reducing complexity, cost etc. These arguments are not commensurate within the scope of the claims. Claim 1 doesn’t require any of these advantages. These advantages merely amount to intended results or desired results.
Applicant also argues that Angelsen employs temporally overlapping high frequency and low-frequency pulses for nonlinear manipulation, suppressing and signal processing, whereas the present application allegedly provides a simple hardware solution. These arguments are not commensurate within the scope of the claims. The Applicant’s interpretation of the claims is narrower than what is actually recited and required in the claims.
The 35 USC § 102 rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-11, & 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Angelsen et al (US 2005/0277835 A1).
Claim 1: Angelsen discloses, An ultrasonic imaging apparatus, comprising: (¶Abstract, FIG. 1)
an ultrasonic probe comprising a transducer array having a plurality of transducer elements with a the first center frequency and a plurality of transducer elements with a the second center frequency;
-Angelsen discloses am ultrasound imaging probe with dual frequency transducer elements where a transducer array comprises both low and high frequency components. Specifically, a transducer array that has a high frequency and a low frequency section. These arrays are arranged as concentric rings or mounted side by side corresponding to the plurality of transducer arrays with a the first center frequency and a the second center frequency, respectively, Fig. 8, ¶0134-0137, ¶0189.
a transmission control circuit configured to control the transducer array to transmit ultrasonic waves;
-Angelsen discloses Fig. 12 of the imaging probe that includes the transmission control circuit (i.e., 1205, 1204), ¶0191, which feed pulses to the array elements, triggered by the controller 1206.
a reception control circuit configured to control the transducer array to receive echo signals from the transmitted ultrasonic waves; and
-Angelsen discloses a sub-aperture unit 1202 where signals are received to be delayed and summed, ¶0190-0193.
a processor configured to generate an ultrasonic image based on the received echo signals;
-Angelsen discloses processing units configured to process the received signals and generate images. The image construction and scan converter unit 1206 receives data (echo signals) and presents images on a display, ¶0197. This processor generated ultrasonic images based on echo signals, including structural images, doppler velocity signals, and strain rate images, ¶0020, ¶0197.
wherein the ultrasonic imaging apparatus operates in a first imaging mode or a second imaging mode; and wherein:
-Angelsen discloses a system that operates between different operating methods. The first method uses a single transmitted pulse complex to provide suppression of reverberation noise, ¶0022, ¶0201. The second method uses two or more transmitted pulse complexes to estimate nonlinear scattering and propagation parameters, ¶0024, ¶0202.
under the first imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with the the first center frequency to operate as transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to a first region, the reception control circuit controls part or all of transducer elements within the transducer array to operate as receiving elements to receive echo signals from the first region; and the processor generates an ultrasonic image for the first region based on the received echo signals; and
-Angelsen discloses, specifically, the first method, (i.e., first imaging mode) uses a single dual band pulse complex transmitted towards a region of interest, ¶Abstract, Claim 20. In this first imaging mode, the transmission control circuit (i.e., HF transmit beam former 1204) is configured to feed bulses to the HF-array elements (i.e., transducers with a the first center frequency), ¶0190. These HF array elements operate as transmitting elements to transmit the high-frequency component of the ultrasonic waves to the region to be imaged, ¶Abstract, ¶0019. The reception control circuit (i.e., sub-aperture unit and receive beamformer) is where the received signals from the array elements are summed and delayed, ¶0190, ¶0191-0192. In the receiving mode of the signals several neighboring array elements are delayed and summed, ¶0190. Hence, part or all the transducer element with the transducer array operate as receiving elements to receive echo signals from the first region. The processor generated an ultrasonic image based on these received echo signals. Specifically, “The high frequency pulse is used for the image reconstruction”-¶Abstract.
under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls both the transducer elements with the the first center frequency and the transducer elements with the the second center frequency to jointly operate as transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to a second region, the reception control circuit controls part or all of transducer elements within the transducer array to operate as receiving elements to receive echo signals from the second region, and the processor generates an ultrasonic image for the second region based on the received echo signals.
-Angelsen discloses a joint transmission control in the second imaging mode (i.e., the second method), the transmission control circuit controls both the transducer elements with the the first center frequency (i.e., high frequency) and the transducer elements with the the second center frequency (i.e., low frequency) to jointly operate as transmitting elements. Specifically, Angelsen states, “two or more dual band pulse complexes in sequence for each radial image line, where the high frequency pulse is found close to the peak or trough of the low frequency pulse, and where the frequency and/or phase and/or amplitude of the low frequency pulse vary for each transmission, to nonlinearly manipulate the acoustic scattering and forward propagation properties of the tissue for the high frequency components.”, ¶0024, “a second type of transmit pulses according to the invention containing both a low frequency pulse and a high frequency pulse”-FIG. 3, ¶0040. See also claim 37. The processor then generates an ultrasonic image for the second region based on the received echo signals. This second mode, the processor receives signals to estimate nonlinear propagation delays and generating various image signals, ¶0025, Claim 21. Unlike the first method, which uses signal pulse complex, the second method varies the frequency, phase, and/or amplitude of the low frequency pulse for each transmission, ¶0024. The second region is simply the targeted tissue being imaged while the apparatus is operating in the second mode. However, the depths of each method are indeed different. The first method enables deep imaging of dense objects, ¶0067, whereas the second method prevails or much larger depths, ¶0072, because the low frequency pulses are not heavily absorbed.
Claim 5: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelsen discloses, wherein, under the first imaging mode, the reception control circuit controls the transducer elements with the the first center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive the echo signals from the first region;
-Angelsen discloses, the high frequency part of the array “3000-10,000, and the number of receive and transmit channels are then typically reduced in a sub-aperture unit 1202 , where in receive mode the signals from several neighboring array elements are delayed and summed to sub-aperture signals 1203 for further processing.”, ¶0190. In the first method, the high frequency pulse is used for image reconstruction, ¶Abstract, ¶0019, ¶0057. The reception contrl path where the receive sub-aperture signals (i.e., from the high frequency range ) are fed to the sub-aperture unit 1202, where they are delayed for steering of receive beam direction and focusing, ¶0191-0193. The received high frequency signals are then processed to form the imaging signals of the first region, ¶0195.
and/or
under the second imaging mode, the reception control circuit controls the transducer elements with the the first center frequency and the transducer elements with the the second center frequency to jointly operate as the receiving elements to receive the echo signals from the second region.
Claim 6: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelsen discloses, wherein, under the first imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a first frequency range to activate the transducer elements with the the first center frequency;
-Angelsen discloses, imaging range related to the high frequency ultrasound with a center frequency of 10 MHz, ¶0062.
and/or,
under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a second frequency range to activate the transducer elements with the the first center frequency and the transducer elements with the the second center frequency;
or,
under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a first frequency range to activate the transducer elements with the the first center frequency, and generates excitation signals in a second frequency range to activate transducer elements with the the second center frequency.
Claim 10: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelsen discloses, wherein the processor automatically sets a current imaging mode.
-Angelsen discloses, “The invention devices an instrument that can operate according to at least two of the methods, with the ability to select the best method for the needs, where the selection can be done under direct control of the operator, or the operator can set constraints, where the instrument automatically selects methods for best performance according to the constraints under different operating conditions.”-¶0205.
Claim 11: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 10, Angelsen discloses, wherein, the processor obtains a current scanning mode and automatically sets the current imaging mode based on the current scanning mode;
-Angelsen discloses, “The invention devices an instrument that can operate according to at least two of the methods, with the ability to select the best method for the needs, where the selection can be done under direct control of the operator, or the operator can set constraints, where the instrument automatically selects methods for best performance according to the constraints under different operating conditions.”-¶0205, see also, ¶0021, “The invention therefore further devices an instrument for operation of more than two of the methods and procedures for optimal selection of the methods for best performance of the instrument under given constraints, Such as frame rate, image quality, a combination of frame rate and image quality, etc.’.
and/or,
the processor obtains current imaging parameters and automatically sets the current imaging mode based on the current imaging parameters, the imaging parameters at least comprising an imaging depth;
and/or,
the processor automatically identifies scanned region based on a current ultrasonic image and automatically switches the current imaging mode based on the identified scanned region.
Claim 16: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelsen discloses, wherein the transducer elements with the the first center frequency and the transducer elements with the the second center frequency are spaced apart and aligned in a row. (FIG. 8a, see also, ¶0134)
Claim 17: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelsen discloses, wherein the the first center frequency (¶0062, -regarding the center frequency of 10 MHz of the high frequency) is higher than the the second center frequency (¶0025 – regarding the center frequency of 0.1-1 MHz of the low frequency).
Claim 18: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 17, Angelsen discloses, wherein, the the first center frequency is greater than 7 megahertz (MHz) and less than 15 MHz (¶0062, -regarding the center frequency of 10 MHz of the high frequency. A 10 MHz center frequency is greater than 7 MHz and less than 15 MHz); and/or the the second center frequency is greater than 2 MHz and less than 4 MHz.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelsen et al (US 2005/0277835 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Rothberg et al (US 20170360413 A1).
Claim 2: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelsen fails to disclose: wherein, the second region comprises a first sub-region proximal to the transducer array and a second sub- region distal to the transducer array; and under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with the the first center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to the first sub-region, and controls the transducer elements with the second center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to the second sub-region.
However, Rothberg in the context of “universal” [emphasis added] ultrasound transducer operating a first mode associated with a first frequency range and a second mode associated with a second frequency range discloses, wherein, the second region comprises a first sub-region proximal to the transducer array and a second sub- region distal to the transducer array; and under the second imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with the the first center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to the first sub-region, and controls the transducer elements with the second center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to the second sub-region.
-Rothberg teaches high frequency ultrasonic waves (i.e., a first frequency), its associated term in Rothberg is (the second frequency range-second mode (e.g., 6-8 MHz)), used for shallow (proximal regions. Rothberg teaches, that the universal ultrasound probe can operate in a mode associated with high-frequency (e.g., 5-12 MHz or 6-8 MHz) to image a subject at shallow target depths such as 1-10 cm or 1-5 cm, ¶0020, ¶0028.
-Rothberg teaches low frequency ultrasonic waves (i.e., a second frequency), its associated term in Rothberg is (the first frequency range-first mode (e.g., 1-3 MHz), used for deep (distal) regions. The universal probe of Rothberg can operated in another mode associated with a low frequency range (e.g., 1-5 MHz or 1-3 MHz) to image a subject at deeper target depths such as 10-25 cm or 15-20 cm, ¶0016, ¶0028, ¶0019.
Note; these modes can be operated singly or jointly Claim 12, ¶0054.
-Rothberg teaches the control circuitry 108 (transmission control circuit) is configured to control the ultrasonic transducers to generate ultrasound signals in specific frequency ranges in response to an indication to operated in the corresponding mode, ¶Abstract, ¶0015. Rothberg operates at a center frequency appropriate for the mode, as described in ¶0024, ¶0031. FIG. 1A illustrates a point at a shallow depth (P1, D1) using the higher frequency range and another point at a deeper depth (P2, D2) using a lower frequency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify controls of the second imaging mode of Angelsen in view of the teachings as taught by Rothberg for the advantage enabling the use of a single ultrasound device to generate medically relevant images of a subject at different depths thereby providing a universal ultrasound device to be used by medical professionals to perform different imaging tasks that require use of multiple convention ultrasound probes, as suggested by Rothberg, ¶0014.
Claim 3: Modified Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 2, Angelsen fails to disclose: wherein, under the second imaging mode, the reception control circuit controls the transducer elements with the the first center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the first sub-region, and controls the transducer elements with the second center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the second sub-region.
However, Rothberg is relied upon above discloses: wherein, under the second imaging mode, the reception control circuit controls the transducer elements with the the first center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the first sub-region, and controls the transducer elements with the second center frequency to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the second sub-region.
-Rothberg teaches that the receive circuitry is configured to receive and process the electronic signals generated by the individual elements when the acoustic signals impinge upon such elements, ¶0046. The ADC within the receive circuity has its timing adjust to run at sampling rates corresponding to the mode based needs of the application frequencies, ¶0059. In addition, to the receive beamforming to focus at multiple depths ranges, ¶0037-0038.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify controls of the second imaging mode of modified Angelsen in view of the teachings as taught by Rothberg for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus being able to enable the use of a single ultrasound device to generate medically relevant images of a subject at different depths thereby providing a universal ultrasound device to be used by medical professionals to perform different imaging tasks that require use of multiple convention ultrasound probes, as suggested by Rothberg, ¶0014.
Claim 4: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Although Angleson discloses, how high frequency are naturally shallower than that of lower frequency pulses due to physical absorption, ¶0062, ¶0059, ¶0072.
Angelsen fails to explicitly disclose, wherein, an imaging depth of the first region is shallower than that of the second region, and the imaging depth is either an average depth or a maximum depth.
However, Rothberg in the context of “universal” [emphasis added] ultrasound transducer operating a first mode associated with a first frequency range and a second mode associated with a second frequency range discloses, wherein, an imaging depth of the first region is shallower than that of the second region, and the imaging depth is either an average depth or a maximum depth.
-Rothberg teaches high frequency ultrasound signals attenuate faster in tissue than lower signals, ¶0016. High frequency is ¶0020-“within a range of 5-12 MHz (e.g., within a range of 5-10 MHz, 7-12 MHz, 5-7 MHz, 5-9 MHz, 6-8 MHz, 7-10 MHz, and/or 6-91 MHz)”. In this high frequenciy the depth is smaller than the depth of low frequency, ¶0127, “wherein: when the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are controlled to detect ultrasound signals having frequencies in the first frequency range, ultrasound signals detected by the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are used to form an image of a subject up to a first depth within the subject; and when the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are controlled to detect ultrasound signals having frequencies in the second frequency range, ultrasound signals detected by the plurality of ultrasonic transducers are used to form an image of a subject up to a second depth within the subject, wherein the second depth is smaller than the first depth.”. Transducers operating in the low frequency range are used to image a subject at greater target depths, such as 10-25 cm or 15-20 cm, ¶0016, ¶0028, ¶0019. FIG. 1A illustrates a point at a shallow depth (P1, D1) using the higher frequency range and another point at a deeper depth (P2, D2) using a lower frequency. The imaging depth is up to a maximum depth, ¶0019-0020, ¶0028.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify imaging depth of Angelsen in view of the teachings as taught by Rothberg for the advantage of providing an improved apparatus being able to enable to operate across multiple different frequency ranges to obtain high resolution images of a subject at different depths, as suggested by Rothberg, ¶0001.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelsen et al (US 2005/0277835 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Onishi et al (US 20130324852 A1).
Claim 7: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angleson fails disclose: wherein the ultrasonic imaging apparatus further operates in a third imaging mode; wherein, under the third imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with the second center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to a third region, the reception control circuit controls part or all of transducer elements within the transducer array to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the third region, and the processor generates an ultrasonic image for the third region based on the echo signals from the third region.
However, Onishi in the context of a three mode multiple-frequency ultrasound device wherein the first mode = high frequency, second mode = low frequency, and third mode = both the low and high frequency, discloses, wherein the ultrasonic imaging apparatus further operates in a third imaging mode; wherein, under the third imaging mode, the transmission control circuit controls the transducer elements with the second center frequency to operate as the transmitting elements to transmit ultrasonic waves to a third region, the reception control circuit controls part or all of transducer elements within the transducer array to operate as the receiving elements to receive echo signals from the third region, and the processor generates an ultrasonic image for the third region based on the echo signals from the third region.
-Onishi teaches selected in the second mode the low frequency ultrasonic elements lines and directs the signal only to them, ¶0070, ¶0075. The transmitter outputs a square wave driving signal, the square wave is of lower frequencies (e.g., 1.5 MHz) because it generates high ultrasonic intensity, which is advantageous for deep penetration, ¶Abstract, ¶0008, ¶0040-0041, ¶0064.
-Onishi teaches, Zhang teaches operating in multiple mode to generate different ultrasonic images by switching, specifically to a second mode (i.e., a third imaging mode), where the transmitter (transmission control circuit) is configured to output driving signals to the low frequency elements, ¶0008, ¶0064. The switch part and the receiver (reception control circuit) controls the reception of the echo signals from the specific parts of the transducer array, ¶0070, ¶0075. In the second mode (i.e., the third imaging mode), Zhang teaches selecting the low frequency element lines (i.e., a part of the array) to output receiving signals to the receiver, ¶0070, ¶0075. The image generation part generated image based on the echoes received, ¶0010, wherein the imaging data provides desired resolution for objects at farter distance (i.e., a third region), ¶0082-0083.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ultrasound imaging apparatus of Angelsen to further operate in a third imaging mode in view of the teachings taught by Onishi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as for the advantage to obtain the desired resolution of objects far between the distance of the ultrasonic image, as suggested by Onishi, ¶0043.
Claim 8: Modified Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Angleson fails disclose: wherein, an imaging depth of the first region is shallower than that of the third region, and the imaging depth is an average depth, a maximum depth or a minimum depth.
However, Onishi as relied upon above discloses, wherein, an imaging depth of the first region (¶0078, ¶0082-0083 – high frequency located at close distance as 1 to 5 cm (shorter than the second distance)) is shallower than that of the third region (¶0078, ¶0082-0083 – low frequency located as 10-15 cm (father than the range of the first distance)), and the imaging depth is an average depth, a maximum depth or a minimum depth (¶0082, ‘the range of the first distance is 1 to 5 cm, and the range of the second distance is 10 to 15 cm.’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ultrasound imaging apparatus of modified Angelsen to further operate in a third imaging mode in view of the teachings taught by Onishi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as to prevent reduction of resolution depending on the distance of the object being imaged, as suggested by Onishi, ¶0007.
Claim 9: Modified Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 7, Angleson fails disclose: wherein, under the third imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a second frequency range to activate the transducer elements with the second center frequency.
However, Onishi as relied upon above discloses, wherein, under the third imaging mode, the transmission control circuit generates excitation signals in a second frequency range to activate the transducer elements with the second center frequency (¶0041, ‘in a case of the square wave input, the maximum amplitude becomes a peak at resonance frequency 1.5 MHz and its vicinity.’, ¶0054, ‘The first frequency is, for example, 5.5 MHz, and the second frequency is, for example, 1.5 MHz, but it can be other than those frequencies’).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify third imaging mode of modified Angelsen in view of the teachings taught by Onishi. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as for the advantage to obtain the desired resolution of objects far between the distance of the ultrasonic image, as suggested by Onishi, ¶0043.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelsen et al (US 2005/0277835 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Chiao (US5882309).
Claim 12: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelsen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the transducer array consists of an array of transducer elements arranged in M rows and N columns, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 3, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; wherein M is an odd number, and for each column of the N columns of the array of the transducer elements: a transducer element positioned in a (M+1)/2-th row of the M rows is individually wired to a channel to receive excitation signals, while transducer elements that are symmetrically positioned around the transducer element positioned in the (M+1)/2-th row in that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to commonly receive excitation signals from another channel; and for the transducer elements arranged in the M rows and the N columns, transducer elements in the (M+1)/2-throware the transducer elements with the first center frequency, and transducer elements in a 1st row and transducer elements in an M-th row of the M rows are the transducer elements with the second center frequency.
However, Chiao in the context of multi-row ultrasonic transducer array discloses, wherein the transducer array consists of an array of transducer elements arranged in M rows and N columns, where M is an integer greater than or equal to 3, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; wherein M is an odd number, and for each column of the N columns of the array of the transducer elements: a transducer element positioned in a (M+1)/2-th row of the M rows is individually wired to a channel to receive excitation signals, while transducer elements that are symmetrically positioned around the transducer element positioned in the (M+1)/2-th row in that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to commonly receive excitation signals from another channel; and for the transducer elements arranged in the M rows and the N columns, transducer elements in the (M+1)/2-throware the transducer elements with the first center frequency, and transducer elements in a 1st row and transducer elements in an M-th row of the M rows are the transducer elements with the second center frequency. (FIG. 5B, [Col 7 l.45-56], [Col 3 l.15-37], [Col 3 l.53-67 to Col 4 l.1-3], “In the very near field, only the central row of the array is active”-[col 5 l.45-46], “The portion of the lens which covers the central row of the array has a short focal length, for best near-field performance when only the central row is active. The outer portions of the lens have longer focal lengths for best far-field performance, since the outer rows of the array are only active in the far field of the image.”-[Col 6 l.5-11].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transducer array of Angelsen in view of the transducer array of Chaio. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the near-field resolution as suggested by Chaio, [Col 4 l.56-63].
Claim 13: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 12, Angelsen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein transducer elements in 2nd to m-th rows and transducer elements in (M+1-m)-th to (M-1)-th rows are the transducer elements with the second center frequency, and transducer elements in (m+1)-th to (M-m)-throws are the transducer elements with the first center frequency, where in is a positive integer less than (M+1)/2 and greater than or equal to two.
However, Chiao is relied upon above discloses, wherein transducer elements in 2nd to m-th rows and transducer elements in (M+1-m)-th to (M-1)-th rows are the transducer elements with the second center frequency, and transducer elements in (m+1)-th to (M-m)-throws are the transducer elements with the first center frequency, where in is a positive integer less than (M+1)/2 and greater than or equal to two. (FIG. 5B, [Col 7 l.45-56], [Col 3 l.15-37], [Col 3 l.53-67 to Col 4 l.1-3], “In the very near field, only the central row of the array is active”-[col 5 l.45-46], “The portion of the lens which covers the central row of the array has a short focal length, for best near-field performance when only the central row is active. The outer portions of the lens have longer focal lengths for best far-field performance, since the outer rows of the array are only active in the far field of the image.”-[Col 6 l.5-11].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transducer array of modified Angelsen in view of the transducer array of Chaio. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the near-field resolution as suggested by Chaio, [Col 4 l.56-63].
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angelsen et al (US 2005/0277835 A1), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Chiao (US5882309) in view of Zhao et al (US 2023/0148869 A1).
Claim 14: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 1, Angelsen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein the transducer array comprises an array of transducer elements arranged in M rows and N columns, where M is an integer greater than 3, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; wherein M is an even number, and for each column of the N columns of the array of the transducer elements: transducer elements symmetrically positioned about a center between M/2-th and (M/2+1)-th rows of the M rows in that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to receive excitation signals from a same channel; and for the transducer elements arranged in the M rows and the N columns, transducer elements in an M/2-th row and an (M/2-+1)-th row are the transducer elements with the first center frequency, and transducer elements in 1st and M-th rows are the transducer elements with the second center frequency.
However, Chiao in the context of multi-row ultrasonic transducer array discloses, wherein the transducer array comprises an array of transducer elements arranged in M rows and N columns, where M is an integer greater than 3, N is an integer greater than or equal to 2; wherein M is an even number, and for each column of the N columns of the array of the transducer elements: transducer elements symmetrically positioned about a center between M/2-th and (M/2+1)-th rows of the M rows in that column are paired, connected together, and then wired to receive excitation signals from a same channel; and for the transducer elements arranged in the M rows and the N columns, transducer elements in the (M+1)/2-th row are the transducer elements with the first center frequency, and transducer elements in 1st and M-th rows are the transducer elements with the second center frequency. (FIG. 5B, [Col 7 l.45-56], [Col 3 l.15-37], [Col 3 l.53-67 to Col 4 l.1-3], “In the very near field, only the central row of the array is active”-[col 5 l.45-46], “The portion of the lens which covers the central row of the array has a short focal length, for best near-field performance when only the central row is active. The outer portions of the lens have longer focal lengths for best far-field performance, since the outer rows of the array are only active in the far field of the image.”-[Col 6 l.5-11].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transducer array of Angelsen in view of the transducer array of Chaio. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the near-field resolution as suggested by Chaio, [Col 4 l.56-63].
Angelsen in view of Chiao fails to disclose, wherein M is an even number, such that for this MxN array, transducer elements in an M/2-th row and the (M/2+1)-th row are the transducer elements with the first center frequency,
However, Zhao in the context of mixed ultrasound transducer arrays discloses, wherein M is an even number, (Zhoe teaches the ultrasound array may include an even number of rows, ¶0006. FIG. 2 depicts the first type of transducer array 112. In an even number configuration, the array “may have two rows of the array elements of the first type 112 and two rows of elements of the second type”-¶0087.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the center row of modified Chaio to include one additional row (i.e., two central rows) as taught by Zhao, for the advantage of providing a better and more uniform image quality for images spanning from a near-field to a far-field images, as suggested by Zhao, ¶0050. The modified combination would disclose an MxN array of an even number of rows, wherein transducer elements in the M/2-th row and the (M/2+1)-th row are the transducer elements with the the first center frequency.
Claim 15: Angelsen discloses all the elements above in claim 14, Angelsen fails to explicitly disclose: wherein transducer elements innd to mn-th rows and transducer elements in (M+1-m)-th to M-th rows are the transducer elements with the second center frequency, and transducer elements in (m+1)-th to (M-in)-th rows are the transducer elements with the first center frequency, wherein is a positive integer less than (M+1)/2 and greater than or equal to two.
However, Chiao is relied upon above discloses, wherein transducer elements innd to mn-th rows and transducer elements in (M+1-m)-th to M-th rows are the transducer elements with the second center frequency, and transducer elements in (m+1)-th to (M-in)-th rows are the transducer elements with the first center frequency, wherein is a positive integer less than (M+1)/2 and greater than or equal to two. (FIG. 5B, [Col 7 l.45-56], [Col 3 l.15-37], [Col 3 l.53-67 to Col 4 l.1-3], “In the very near field, only the central row of the array is active”-[col 5 l.45-46], “The portion of the lens which covers the central row of the array has a short focal length, for best near-field performance when only the central row is active. The outer portions of the lens have longer focal lengths for best far-field performance, since the outer rows of the array are only active in the far field of the image.”-[Col 6 l.5-11].)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify transducer array of modified Angelsen in view of the transducer array of Chaio. The motivation to do this yield predictable results such as improving the near-field resolution as suggested by Chaio, [Col 4 l.56-63].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798