CTNF 19/034,620 CTNF 79383 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-2, 9-12, 16-20 are rejected under 35 USC 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kanamarlapudi et al. (hereinafter “Kan”, US Patent Publication US 20250202625 A1) . As per claim 1, Kan discloses A method, comprising: Obtaining, by a processor of a transmitting apparatus, one or more packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) service data units (SDUs) from an upper layer (paragraphs [0028, 0030, 101-102]); Detecting, by the processor, that the one or more PDCP SDUs, each associated with a PDCP sequence number (SN), are discarded before successfully transmitted to a receiving apparatus (paragraphs [0030, 0033]) Transmitting, by the processor, a PDCP control protocol data unit (PDU) to the receiving apparatus, wherein the PDCP control PDU indicates a PDCP SN gap report associated with the discarded PDCP SDUs (paragraphs [0033, 0111]). As per claims 2, 12, Kan discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the PDCP control PDU comprises a PDU type with a value for the PDCP SN gap report (paragraph [0033]). As per claims 9, 19, Kan discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the PDCP SDUs are processed by a PDCP entity associated with two radio link control (RLC) entities (paragraphs [0003, 0028]). As per claims 10, 20, Kan discloses The method of Claim 1, wherein the transmitting apparatus and the receiving apparatus comprise a network node and a user equipment (UE) (paragraph [0027]). As per claim 11, Kan discloses A method, comprising: Receiving, by a processor of a receiving apparatus, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) control protocol data unit (PDU) from a transmitting apparatus, wherein the PDCP control PDU indicates a PDCP SN gap report associated with one or more PDCP service data units (SDUs) (paragraphs [0028, 0030, 101-102]); Determining, by the processor, the PDCP SDUs as discarded (paragraphs [0030, 0033]); Delivering, by the processor, all stored PDCP SDUs and the PDCP SDUs which are determined as discarded to an upper layer paragraphs ([0033, 0111]). As per claim 16, Kan disclose The method of Claim 11, further comprising: updating, by the processor, PDCP state variables; and stopping and resetting, by the processor, a reordering time (paragraph [0031]). As per claim 17, Kan discloses The method of Claim 11, wherein one or more PDCP data PDUs corresponding to the PDCP SDUs belong to a PDU set and comprise a payload of one unit of information generated at an application level (paragraph [106]). As per claim 18, Kan discloses The method of Claim 17, wherein the information comprises one or more frames or video slices for an extended reality (XR) service (paragraphs [0027-28, 0035]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 3-8, 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BARBARA BURGESS ANYAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3996. The examiner can normally be reached IFP M-F 8am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ario Etienne can be reached at 571-272-4001. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. June 11, 2026 /BARBARA B Anyan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2457 Application/Control Number: 19/034,620 Page 2 Art Unit: 2457 Application/Control Number: 19/034,620 Page 3 Art Unit: 2457