DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 8/7/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 10, 13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi US 2024/0117920 (hereinafter Choi).
Re. Cl. 1, Choi discloses: An angle-adjustable fixing (100, Fig. 1) structure, comprising: a body (51a-b, Fig. 1-3) comprising a first pivot portion (see Fig. 1-5, top of 51a-b which engages 11 opposite of 52); a base (30, Fig. 4) being on a side of the body (see Fig. 1-5); a pushing member (52,54 Fig. 4) being on the base (see Fig. 4-5), the pushing member comprising a second pivot portion (525, Fig. 6) and movable relative to the base between a first position in contact with the base (see Fig. 7, when 54 engages 35 thus holding them parts together overcoming the force of the spring) and a second position separated from the base (see Fig. 5, when the spring spaces 54 and 35 apart); an adjustment member (10, Fig. 4) comprising an arc-shaped body (11, Fig. 4), the arc-shaped body being between the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion (see Fig. 5); and a locking member (53, 55, Fig. 4) passing through the body (see Fig. 5).
Re. Cl. 10, Choi discloses: An angle-adjustable fixing structure (100, Fig. 1), comprising: a body (51a-b, Fig. 4) comprising a first pivot portion (see Fig. 1-5, top of 51a-b which engages 11 opposite of 52); a base (30, Fig. 3) comprising a first surface (35), the base being on a side of the body (see Fig. 2); a pushing member (52, 54 Fig. 3) comprising a second pivot portion (525, Fig. 6) and a second surface (lower surface of 54 which contacts 35, Fig. 5-6) opposing the first surface (see Fig. 5), and the pushing member being on the base (see Fig. 2-5) and movable relative to the base between a first position in contact with the base (see Fig. 7, when 54 engages 35 thus holding them parts together overcoming the force of the spring) and a second position separated from the base (see Fig. 5, when the spring spaces 54 and 35 apart); an adjustment member (10, Fig. 4) comprising an arc-shaped body (11, Fig. 4) being between the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion (see Fig. 4-7); and a locking member (55, 53, Fig. 4) comprising an end (see 532, Fig. 6-7), the locking member passing through the body (see Fig. 5), and the end being between the first surface and the second surface and being in the body (see Fig. 5).
Re. Cl. 15, Choi discloses: An angle-adjustable fixing structure (100, Fig. 1), comprising: a body (51a-b, Fig. 4) comprising a first pivot portion (see Fig. 1-5, top of 51a-b which engages 11 opposite of 52) and a slot (see Fig. 4, so 11 is able to rotate about Rx, Fig. 2); a base (30, Fig. 4) being on a side of the body (see Fig. 2); a pushing member (52, 54 Fig. 4) being on the base (see Fig. 4-5), the pushing member comprising a second pivot portion (see 525, Fig. 6) and movable relative to the base between a first position in contact with the base (see Fig. 7, when 54 engages 35 thus holding them parts together overcoming the force of the spring) and a second position separated from the base (see Fig. 5, when the spring spaces 54 and 35 apart); an adjustment member (10, Fig. 4) being in the slot (see Fig. 2, so as to enable movement about Rx), the adjustment member comprising an arc-shaped body (11, Fig. 4), and the arc-shaped body being between the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion (see Fig. 5); and a locking member (53, 55, Fig. 4) passing through the body (see Fig. 5).
Re. Cls. 5,13 and 19 Choi discloses: the base comprises a protruding portion (33, Fig. 4), the body further comprises a protrusion (see annotated figure 4), and the protruding portion is on the protrusion (see Fig. 5); while the locking member pushes against the base and/or the pushing member, the protruding portion presses the protrusion (see Fig. 5); while the locking member is away from the base and the pushing member (see Fig. 5-6), the base is rotatable relative to the body (Paragraph 0068).
Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Spurr US 569436 (hereinafter Spurr).
Re. Cl. 1, Spurr discloses: An angle-adjustable fixing (Fig. 2) structure, comprising: a body (c,b’s Fig. 2) comprising a first pivot portion (curved inner portion of b which engages a’ Fig. 2); a base (right d, Fig. 2) being on a side of the body (see Fig. 2); a pushing member (left d, Fig. 2) being on the base (see Fig. 2), the pushing member comprising a second pivot portion (curved surface of d which engages with 1’, Fig. 2) and movable relative to the base between a first position in contact with the base (see Fig. 2) and a second position separated from the base (see Fig. 2, by having e’ driven in between); an adjustment member (see Fig. 2 when driven apart using e) comprising an arc-shaped body (see Fig. 2), the arc-shaped body being between the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion (see Fig. 2); and a locking member (e Fig. 2) passing through the body (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 2, Spurr discloses: while the locking member pushes against the base and/or the pushing member (see Fig. 2 as being threaded further into c), the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion clamp the arc-shaped body (see Fig. 2); while the locking member is away from the base and the pushing member (see Fig. 2 when loosened), the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion relax the arc-shaped body (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 3, Spurr discloses: the base has a first surface (see Fig. 2), the pushing member has a second surface (see Fig. 2, the flat surfaces of d’s), the locking member comprises an end (e’, Fig. 2), and the end is between the first surface and the second surface and is in the body (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 4, Spurr discloses: while the locking member pushes against the base and/or the pushing member, and the base, the pushing member and the adjustment member are fixed to the body (see Fig. 2 by advancing the screw end e’ further between d’s).
Re. Cl. 6, Spurr discloses: while the locking member is away from the base and the pushing member (see Fig. 2, by backing screw e out), the arc-shaped body is rotatably pivots between the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion (see Fig. 2; when e is not wedged between d’s the balls a’ are able to pivot and rotate).
Re. Cl. 7, Spurr discloses: the body further comprises a slot (see Fig. 2, where a projects out of b), and the adjustment member is in the slot (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 8, Spurr discloses: a width of the slot is smaller than an outer diameter of the arc-shaped body (see Fig. 2, if the width of the slot were larger than a diameter of the body a’, the body would pass through the slot and the device would fail).
Re. Cl. 9, Spurr discloses: the base has a first rotation axis (see Fig. 2, horizontal axis extending through the center of the right d), and the adjustment member has a second rotation axis (see Fig. 2 horizontal line extending through the center of a and a’); while the adjustment member is in a first position, the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis are coaxial (see Fig. 2); while the adjustment member is in a second position (see Fig. 2, shown in the position with dashed lines), the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis intersect (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 10, Spurr discloses: An angle-adjustable fixing structure (Fig. 2), comprising: a body (c and b’s, Fig. 4) comprising a first pivot portion (see Fig. 2, inner surface of b which engages a’); a base (right d, Fig. 2) comprising a first surface (surface which engages e’), the base being on a side of the body (see Fig. 2); a pushing member (left d, Fig. 2) comprising a second pivot portion (curved surface which mates with a’ Fig. 2) and a second surface (surface which mates with e’ Fig. 2) opposing the first surface (see Fig. 2,) and movable relative to the base between a first position in contact with the base (see Fig. 2) and a second position separated from the base (see Fig. 2, by having e’ driven in between), and the pushing member being on the base (see Fig. 2); an adjustment member (a, a’, Fig. 2) comprising an arc-shaped body (a’ Fig. 2) being between the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion (see Fig. 2); and a locking member (e Fig. 2) comprising an end (e’, Fig. 2), the locking member passing through the body (see Fig. 2), and the end being between the first surface and the second surface and being in the body (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 11, Spurr discloses: while the locking member pushes against the base and/or the pushing member (see Fig. 2, by the degree in which e’ is driven), the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion clamp the arc-shaped body (see Fig. 2); while the locking member is away from the base and the pushing member (see Fig. 2, by withdrawing e’), the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion relax the arc-shaped body (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 12, Spurr discloses: the end has a tapered surface matching the first surface and the second surface (see e’ Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 14, Spurr discloses: the body further has a slot (see Fig. 2, where a projects out of b), and the adjustment member is in the slot (see Fig. 2,); while the locking member is away from the base and the pushing member, an angle between a first position and a second position of the slot is adjustable by the adjustment member (see Fig. 2, when e’ is withdrawn).
Re. Cl. 15, Spurr discloses: An angle-adjustable fixing structure (Fig. 2), comprising: a body (c and b’s Fig. 2) comprising a first pivot portion (see Fig. 2, curved inner surface of b which engages a’) and a slot (see Fig. 2, opening in b which enables a to penetrate); a base (right d, Fig. 2) being on a side of the body (see Fig. 2); a pushing member (left d, Fig. 2) being on the base (see Fig. 2), the pushing member comprising a second pivot portion (see curved surface of left d which mates with a’, Fig. 2) and movable relative to the base between a first position in contact with the base and a second position separated from the base; and movable relative to the base between a first position in contact with the base (see Fig. 2) and a second position separated from the base (see Fig. 2, by having e’ driven in between); an adjustment member (a, a’ Fig. 2) being in the slot (see Fig. 2), the adjustment member comprising an arc-shaped body (a’, Fig. 2), and the arc-shaped body being between the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion (see Fig. 2); and a locking member (e Fig. 2) passing through the body (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 16, Spurr discloses: while the locking member pushes against the base and/or the pushing member (see Fig. 2, by having e’ between d’s), the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion clamp the arc-shaped body (see Fig. 2, by wedging 3’ between the d’s); while the locking member is away from the base and the pushing member (see Fig. 2, by retracting e’), the first pivot portion and the second pivot portion relax the arc-shaped body (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 17, Spurr discloses: the locking member comprises an end (e’, Fig. 2), and the end is between the base and the pushing member and in the body (see Fig. 2).
Re. Cl. 18, Spurr discloses: while the locking member pushes against the base and/or the pushing member, the base, the pushing member and the adjustment member are fixed to the body (see Fig. 2 by wedging e’ between d’s)
Re. Cl. 20, Spurr discloses: the base has a first rotation axis (see Fig. 2, horizontal axis extending through the center of the right d), and the adjustment member has a second rotation axis (see Fig. 2 horizontal line extending through the center of a and a’); while the adjustment member is in a first position, the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis are coaxial (see Fig. 2); while the adjustment member is in a second position (see Fig. 2, shown in the position with dashed lines), the first rotation axis and the second rotation axis intersect (see Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the grounds of rejection have changed based on the Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 10 and 15. Therefore, the grounds of rejection challenged by the Applicant are not relied upon for the teaching of the matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Burgstaller US 2009/0065671, Carnevali US 2002/0166936, Hsu US 2025/0251016, Komine US 2011/0188925, Luecke US 5419522, Persson US 2009/0136290 and Zhang US 2024/0328573 disclose other known angle adjustable fixing structures presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632