DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kataoka et al. (US 2022/0130270 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 17 and 18, Kataoka discloses
a method (as per claim 1) and corresponding system (as per claim 9) and computer readable medium (as per claim 17) for artificial intelligence-based grading and feedback of digitally entered handwritten characters into a device, the method comprising:
converting, using a first device, a computer-readable document comprising questions into a digital worksheet comprising teacher layers (base of the answer/entry field – Par’s. 54-55) and student layers (answers), wherein the teacher layers and the student layers each comprise the questions (Par. 53 – handwriting input is superimposed on an image of the question, forming the teacher layer and student layer);
detecting, using a first machine learning model trained to categorize input questions and generate answer zones for the input questions, answer zones whose sizes in the student layers are based on the categorization of the questions of the digital worksheet (Par. 48 – performing machine learning of a relationship between an answer to a question and grading to the answer);
generating first updated student layers comprising the questions and the answer zones; and
receiving second updated student layers comprising the first updated student layers and respective answers digitally handwritten into the answer zones (Par. 67 – extract information of an answer and update examination identification information);
generating, using a second machine learning model, clusters of the respective answers based on hand stroke similarities in the respective answers and based on content similarities in the respective answers; and
presenting, using the first device and the teacher layers, the respective answers based on the clusters (Par’s. 53, 89-92 – generate and display grading data based in part on handwriting similarities) (as per claims 1, 9 and 17), and
receiving, at the first device, digitally handwritten annotations to the answers presented using the teacher layers; generating third updated student layers comprising the second updated student layers and the annotations; and sending the third updated student layers for presentation (Par. 70) (as per claims 2, 10 and 18).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 3, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. (US 2022/0130270 A1) in view of Panuganty et al. (US 2021/0383711 A1).
Regarding claims 3, 11 and 19, to the extent that Kataoka does not explicitly disclose the first machine learning model categorizes the questions in the digital worksheet as true or false questions, multiple choice questions, free-form answer questions, and fill-in-the-blank questions, wherein respective sizes of the answer zones are the same when respective answer zones correspond to a same category of questions, and wherein respective sizes of the answer zones differ when respective answer zones correspond to a different category of questions, Panuganty discloses identifying and categorizing question types based on size areas from scanned worksheets (Par’s. 39, 117), including multiple choice, free-form and fill-in-the-blank (see e.g. Par’s. 92, 107). Panuganty does not appear to explicitly disclose detecting true or false questions, however such a modification would be obvious to try because it would involve choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Kataoka by categorizing questions types as suggested by Panuganty, to obtain predictable results of automatically generating new testing content based on analysis of previous contents.
7. Claims 4-7, 12-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. (US 2022/0130270 A1) in view of Ward (US Patent No. 8,187,005 B1).
Regarding claims 4, 12 and 20, to the extent that Kataoka does not explicitly disclose one or more first student layers of the student layers is for a first student and is not viewable by any other students, Ward discloses a student response system for multiple students with a private mode where student responses (layers written over the teacher layer) are not viewable by other students (column 2, lines 20-45). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Kataoka by including this feature of Ward, in order to provide privacy and prevent cheating.
Regarding claims 5-7, 13-15 and 20, Kataoka in view of Ward further discloses
presenting the respective answers based on the clusters comprises presenting first respective answers, from the student layers, to a first respective questions in sequential order with second respective answers, from the student layers, to a second respective question (Par. 95) (as per claims 5 and 13),
presenting the respective answers based on the clusters comprises presenting a first cluster of the first respective answers prior to a second cluster of the first respective answers (Par. 95) (as per claims 6 and 14), and
the first cluster consist of correct answers, and wherein the second cluster consist of incorrect answers (Par. 95) (as per claims 7 and 15).
8. Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka et al. (US 2022/0130270 A1) in view of Rath et al. (US 2017/0025033 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, to the extent that Kataoka does not explicitly disclose the hand stroke similarities comprise at least one of text direction, curvature, and pressure used to digitally enter the respective answers, Rath discloses grading hand stroke similarities based on pressure applied while retracing an object (Par’s. 61, 63). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teachings of Kataoka by basing similarities on pressure, to obtain predictable results of judging the user’s technique while performing the hand stroke.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Gedlinske et al. (US Patent No. 8,385,811 B1) discloses a system for processing forms using color, including recognizing answer areas and extracting handwritten responses. Lin et al. (US Patent No. 12,548,459 B1) discloses preparing practice tests using machine learning models.
/Peter R Egloff/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715