DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on May 21st, 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims filed on May 21st, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1-3, 6-9, 14, and 17 are currently amended and pending, claims 4, 10-13, 15, and 18-20 are original, unamended, and pending, and claims 5 and 16 have been canceled. The amendments to the Claims filed on May 21st, 2026, have overcome each and every objection set forth in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed April 16th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 9-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0411319 A1 ("Kamfors") in view of US 20110099180 A1 ("Arrasvuori").
Regarding claim 1, Kamfors teaches a control method of a garden tool, comprising (Kamfors: ¶ 0049, “FIG. 1A shows a perspective view of a robotic work tool 100, here exemplified by a robotic lawnmower 100, having a body 140 and a plurality of wheels 130 (only one side is shown).”):
obtaining a working area map of the garden tool (Kamfors: ¶ 0060, “As the robotic work tool operates utilizing or relying on satellite ( or other signal) navigation, that is, when utilizing or relying on the navigation sensor 185 (also referred to as a signal reception-based navigation sensor), the robotic work tool is considered to operate in a signal reception-based also referred to as a GPS mode for embodiments where the navigation sensor comprises a GPS, GNSS, RTK or similar sensor.”, ¶ 0061, “In embodiments, where the robotic lawnmower 100 is arranged with a navigation sensor 185, the magnetic sensors 170 as will be discussed below are optional. In embodiments relying (at least partially) on a navigation sensor, the work area may be specified as a virtual work area in a map application stored in the memory 120 of the robotic lawnmower 100. The virtual work area may be defined by a virtual boundary. Even in embodiments where the map is stored remotely, at least parts of the map may be stored locally in the memory during operation. Alternatively any comparisons made with the map remotely may be seen as being made by the controller in configuration with the memory as tit is caused by the controller and performed on data stored in the memory, such as an indicator of the map and the location of the robotic work tool, which both are at least temporarily stored in the memory.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to use a map of the working area of the robot.),
the working area map including a satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F shadowed area S, ¶ 0081, “FIG. 2B shows a simplified, schematic view of the robotic work tool system 200 as disclosed in relation to FIG. 2A. In FIG. 2B areas are indicated as shadows S, where signal reception for GPS/RTK may not be reliable and wherein the navigation may thus suffer or be inaccurate.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R).”, ¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0088, “In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that the shadowed area is encountered by determining that a current signal reception is below a threshold, i.e. to determine that (satellite) signal reception is no longer reliably received. In other words, that the robotic work tool has entered a shadowed area.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the map of the working area clearly includes a satellite navigation shadowed area.),
and a target marker arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area and provided with marker feature information identifiable by an identification scanning module (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F objects T, ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0090, “If it is determined that the shadowed area is encountered (possibly having been entered and exited), and if it is determined that the shadowed area is not sufficiently mapped, the robotic work tool detects objects in the shadowed area utilizing the radar sensor so that the shadowed area becomes sufficiently mapped.”, ¶ 0091, “In some embodiments, the determination whether the shadowed area is sufficiently mapped is made by determining that there are recorded objects that will be detectable by the robotic work tool as the robotic work tool traverses a planned path.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that there are target markers (referred to as simply objects) within the shadowed area. Additionally cited passage teaches performing visual classification on the detected objects contained within the shadowed area. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that visual classification involves, at least in part, matching features of the detected object to those stored in a database or learned by an algorithm.);
positioning of the garden tool based on a satellite navigation signal and the working area map when the garden tool is in an area with reliable satellite signals outside the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0059, “The robotic lawnmower 100 may further comprise at least one navigation sensor, such as a beacon navigation sensor and/or a satellite navigation sensor 185. The optical navigation sensor may be a camera-based sensor and/or a laser-based sensor. The beacon navigation sensor may be a Radio Frequency receiver, such as an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) receiver or sensor, configured to receive signals from a Radio Frequency beacon, such as a UWB beacon. Alternatively or additionally, the beacon navigation sensor may be an optical receiver configured to receive signals from an optical beacon. The satellite navigation sensor may be a GPS (Global Positioning System) device (or other Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) device) or a RTK device. For the purpose of the teachings herein, the navigation device is considered to provide a reliable reception if a sufficient number of signals are received at a signal quality level enabling an accurate determination of a location.”, ¶ 0060, “As the robotic work tool operates utilizing or relying on satellite ( or other signal) navigation, that is, when utilizing or relying on the navigation sensor 185 (also referred to as a signal reception-based navigation sensor), the robotic work tool is considered to operate in a signal reception-based also referred to as a GPS mode for embodiments where the navigation sensor comprises a GPS, GNSS, RTK or similar sensor.”, ¶ 0083, “In FIG. 2B it is indicated how a robotic work tool 100 operates in a GPS mode (as indicated in FIG. 2B) where signal reception is reliable and location determination is very accurate. For example, utilizing RTK, the error margin/accuracy is under 0.1 m. Also indicated in FIG. 2B is how the robotic work tool 100 determines a distance and a direction or possibly a distance in a direction to one or more objects utilizing the radar sensor 195, as indicated by the dotted arrows referenced R. As the robotic work tool knows its own location at a very high accuracy, and as radar reception is highly accurate, the robotic work tool is thus configured to determine the absolute position of the object(s) based on the own position, the distance and the direction to the object(s), at a similarly high accuracy.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the robot is configured to operate in a GPS based mode when the signal reception is reliable, i.e., when the system is not in a shadowed area.); and
shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool is in the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0088, “In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that the shadowed area is encountered by determining that a current signal reception is below a threshold, i.e. to determine that (satellite) signal reception is no longer reliably received. In other words, that the robotic work tool has entered a shadowed area.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the robot is configured to operate in a radar based mode when the signal reception is not reliable, i.e., when the system is in a shadowed area. That is, the system is configured to determine the position and location of the robot within the shadowed area based on the position and distance of detected object using a radar system. Additionally, the cited passage teaches performing visual classification on the detected objects contained within the shadowed area. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that visual classification involves, at least in part, matching features of the detected object to those stored in a database or learned by an algorithm.).
Kamfors does not teach a marker matching area,
wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area;
shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area.
Arrasvuori, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a marker matching area (Arrasvuori: ¶ 0019, “In one scenario, the user may be presented a GUI that allows the user to enter criteria about the geo-tagged information item that the user wishes to gather information about. The criteria can include categories (e.g., restaurant, music store, sports store, park, park photographs etc.), names (e.g., The Compact Disc Shop, Central Park, Theme Park photographs, etc.), or other keyword search terms. Moreover, the user is able to enter parameters to determine a search region. In some embodiments, a search region can be a two dimensional bounded area or a three dimensional bounded space on a map image. The map image may also be two dimensional or three dimensional. The search region may be selected by the user by specifying a center of the search region and then specifying a radius of the search region. In certain embodiments, the center can be predetermined to be the location of the UE 101, or a POI (e.g., a subway station, a bus stop, or a store).”, ¶ 0020, “Moreover, in a three dimensional search region, the user may specify a height to the search region. The height may be used to determine an altitude range to search. The altitude may be significant to determine whether a user needs to climb a steep hill or cliff to arrive at a search result location. The user can avoid these difficulties by setting the altitude range. For example, a height in an upwards direction on a UE 101 may be considered an altitude range from the center of the of the search region. Moreover, a height in a downwards direction on a UE 101 may be considered an depth from the center of the search region. The radius of the search region may be used to determine the size of the shape (e.g., a polygon, a circle, a square, a rectangle, a triangle, etc.) corresponding to the search region. A radius for a square or regular polygon may be determined by the distance from the center to any of the polygon's vertices. Moreover, the radius of a rectangle, triangle, or irregular polygon may correspond to the distance from the center to the closest point on the perimeter (minimum radius) or the farthest point on the perimeter (maximum radius). In certain embodiments, the input is provided via a touch screen device; and the user is able to select a center point, and then drag the user's finger to assign a radius to the region. Then, the user can lock the image by removing the user's finger form the screen. Further, the user may determine a height by once again touching and dragging the user's finger on the screen.”, ¶ 0033, “FIG. 2B is a diagram of user interfaces 220, 240 utilized by the user equipment 101, according to various embodiments. The user may input a search term using one of the inputs of the user interface 220, 240 of the UE 101. The search term may be input as free text (e.g., via a keyboard-like interface) or selected from a predefined (e.g., hierarchical, categorical, etc.) list of search terms (e.g., higher level categories to lower level categories of POIs). The user may also be provided an opportunity to select a search region. The search region may be formed in any variety of shapes and sizes, depending on such factors as display size, cursor control capability, etc. In one embodiment, the user may select the shape from a predetermined set of shapes (e.g., a circle, a sector of a circle, a square, a rectangle, an oval, another polygon, etc.), including irregular shapes. In certain scenarios, the user is able to select a center point 221 or other starting point (not shown) for the search region and then specify a distance 223 (e.g., a radius from a center point 221 or a length from a starting point) of how far the search region covers. The selection can be made via one or more types of user input, including a touch screen interface and a pointing device (e.g., a mouse). If the shape is predetermined, the runtime module 205 may store the selected shape, center point 221, 241 information (e.g., longitude, latitude, and altitude), and the distance as parameters to be transferred to the map searching platform 103, which may then be used as the search region during a search. Moreover, the search region can be displayed to the user while the user is selecting the search region. For example, the search region shape may be a pentagram with a center point 221 and a radius distance 223.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the system is configured to set a search area on a map.),
wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area (Arrasvuori: ¶ 0019, “In one scenario, the user may be presented a GUI that allows the user to enter criteria about the geo-tagged information item that the user wishes to gather information about. The criteria can include categories (e.g., restaurant, music store, sports store, park, park photographs etc.), names (e.g., The Compact Disc Shop, Central Park, Theme Park photographs, etc.), or other keyword search terms. Moreover, the user is able to enter parameters to determine a search region. In some embodiments, a search region can be a two dimensional bounded area or a three dimensional bounded space on a map image. The map image may also be two dimensional or three dimensional. The search region may be selected by the user by specifying a center of the search region and then specifying a radius of the search region. In certain embodiments, the center can be predetermined to be the location of the UE 101, or a POI (e.g., a subway station, a bus stop, or a store).”, ¶ 0020, “Moreover, in a three dimensional search region, the user may specify a height to the search region. The height may be used to determine an altitude range to search. The altitude may be significant to determine whether a user needs to climb a steep hill or cliff to arrive at a search result location. The user can avoid these difficulties by setting the altitude range. For example, a height in an upwards direction on a UE 101 may be considered an altitude range from the center of the of the search region. Moreover, a height in a downwards direction on a UE 101 may be considered an depth from the center of the search region. The radius of the search region may be used to determine the size of the shape (e.g., a polygon, a circle, a square, a rectangle, a triangle, etc.) corresponding to the search region. A radius for a square or regular polygon may be determined by the distance from the center to any of the polygon's vertices. Moreover, the radius of a rectangle, triangle, or irregular polygon may correspond to the distance from the center to the closest point on the perimeter (minimum radius) or the farthest point on the perimeter (maximum radius). In certain embodiments, the input is provided via a touch screen device; and the user is able to select a center point, and then drag the user's finger to assign a radius to the region. Then, the user can lock the image by removing the user's finger form the screen. Further, the user may determine a height by once again touching and dragging the user's finger on the screen.”, ¶ 0033, “FIG. 2B is a diagram of user interfaces 220, 240 utilized by the user equipment 101, according to various embodiments. The user may input a search term using one of the inputs of the user interface 220, 240 of the UE 101. The search term may be input as free text (e.g., via a keyboard-like interface) or selected from a predefined (e.g., hierarchical, categorical, etc.) list of search terms (e.g., higher level categories to lower level categories of POIs). The user may also be provided an opportunity to select a search region. The search region may be formed in any variety of shapes and sizes, depending on such factors as display size, cursor control capability, etc. In one embodiment, the user may select the shape from a predetermined set of shapes (e.g., a circle, a sector of a circle, a square, a rectangle, an oval, another polygon, etc.), including irregular shapes. In certain scenarios, the user is able to select a center point 221 or other starting point (not shown) for the search region and then specify a distance 223 (e.g., a radius from a center point 221 or a length from a starting point) of how far the search region covers. The selection can be made via one or more types of user input, including a touch screen interface and a pointing device (e.g., a mouse). If the shape is predetermined, the runtime module 205 may store the selected shape, center point 221, 241 information (e.g., longitude, latitude, and altitude), and the distance as parameters to be transferred to the map searching platform 103, which may then be used as the search region during a search. Moreover, the search region can be displayed to the user while the user is selecting the search region. For example, the search region shape may be a pentagram with a center point 221 and a radius distance 223.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the system is configured to set a search area on a map. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, because these search regions can be set anywhere on the map, they can be set around a satellite shadowed navigation area.);
shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area (Arrasvuori: ¶ 0019, “In one scenario, the user may be presented a GUI that allows the user to enter criteria about the geo-tagged information item that the user wishes to gather information about. The criteria can include categories (e.g., restaurant, music store, sports store, park, park photographs etc.), names (e.g., The Compact Disc Shop, Central Park, Theme Park photographs, etc.), or other keyword search terms. Moreover, the user is able to enter parameters to determine a search region. In some embodiments, a search region can be a two dimensional bounded area or a three dimensional bounded space on a map image. The map image may also be two dimensional or three dimensional. The search region may be selected by the user by specifying a center of the search region and then specifying a radius of the search region. In certain embodiments, the center can be predetermined to be the location of the UE 101, or a POI (e.g., a subway station, a bus stop, or a store).”, ¶ 0020, “Moreover, in a three dimensional search region, the user may specify a height to the search region. The height may be used to determine an altitude range to search. The altitude may be significant to determine whether a user needs to climb a steep hill or cliff to arrive at a search result location. The user can avoid these difficulties by setting the altitude range. For example, a height in an upwards direction on a UE 101 may be considered an altitude range from the center of the of the search region. Moreover, a height in a downwards direction on a UE 101 may be considered an depth from the center of the search region. The radius of the search region may be used to determine the size of the shape (e.g., a polygon, a circle, a square, a rectangle, a triangle, etc.) corresponding to the search region. A radius for a square or regular polygon may be determined by the distance from the center to any of the polygon's vertices. Moreover, the radius of a rectangle, triangle, or irregular polygon may correspond to the distance from the center to the closest point on the perimeter (minimum radius) or the farthest point on the perimeter (maximum radius). In certain embodiments, the input is provided via a touch screen device; and the user is able to select a center point, and then drag the user's finger to assign a radius to the region. Then, the user can lock the image by removing the user's finger form the screen. Further, the user may determine a height by once again touching and dragging the user's finger on the screen.”, ¶ 0033, “FIG. 2B is a diagram of user interfaces 220, 240 utilized by the user equipment 101, according to various embodiments. The user may input a search term using one of the inputs of the user interface 220, 240 of the UE 101. The search term may be input as free text (e.g., via a keyboard-like interface) or selected from a predefined (e.g., hierarchical, categorical, etc.) list of search terms (e.g., higher level categories to lower level categories of POIs). The user may also be provided an opportunity to select a search region. The search region may be formed in any variety of shapes and sizes, depending on such factors as display size, cursor control capability, etc. In one embodiment, the user may select the shape from a predetermined set of shapes (e.g., a circle, a sector of a circle, a square, a rectangle, an oval, another polygon, etc.), including irregular shapes. In certain scenarios, the user is able to select a center point 221 or other starting point (not shown) for the search region and then specify a distance 223 (e.g., a radius from a center point 221 or a length from a starting point) of how far the search region covers. The selection can be made via one or more types of user input, including a touch screen interface and a pointing device (e.g., a mouse). If the shape is predetermined, the runtime module 205 may store the selected shape, center point 221, 241 information (e.g., longitude, latitude, and altitude), and the distance as parameters to be transferred to the map searching platform 103, which may then be used as the search region during a search. Moreover, the search region can be displayed to the user while the user is selecting the search region. For example, the search region shape may be a pentagram with a center point 221 and a radius distance 223.”).
Kamfors teaches a method of controlling a robotic lawnmower to continue to operate when the robotic lawnmower encounters satellite navigation shadowed areas. The method is configured to identify objects within the shadowed area, perform visual classification of said objects, and control the robot to operate in the shadowed area based on the said detected objects. Arrasvuori teaches a method of defining a search area on a map. As such, because the method taught in Kamfors is already configured to perform the identification and visual classification of objects only when it enters a shadowed area, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Kamfors such that it perform the identification and visual classification of objects when it enters the matching area as taught in Arrasvuori according to methods known in the art. Therefore, the combination of Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches the limitation “shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area”.
Kamfors teaches a control method of a garden tool, comprising: obtaining a working area map of the garden tool, the working area map including a satellite navigation shadowed area, and a target marker arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area and provided with marker feature information identifiable by an identification scanning module; positioning of the garden tool based on a satellite navigation signal and the working area map when the garden tool is in an area with reliable satellite signals outside the satellite navigation shadowed area; and shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool is in the satellite navigation shadowed area. Kamfors does not teach a marker matching area, wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area; shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area. Arrasvuori teaches a marker matching area, wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area; shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Kamfors with a marker matching area, wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area; shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area taught in Arrasvuori. Furthermore, the method taught in Kamfors is already configured to identify objects within the shadowed area and perform visual classification of said objects when the robot enters the shadowed area, and controls the robot to operate in the shadowed area based on the said detected objects. As such, because the method taught in Kamfors is already configured to perform the identification and visual classification of objects only when it enters a shadowed area, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Kamfors such that it perform the identification and visual classification of objects when it enters the matching area as taught in Arrasvuori according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control method for a garden tool, comprising: a marker matching area, wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area; shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Kamfors with a marker matching area, wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area; shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area taught in Arrasvuori with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, positioning the garden tool in the satellite navigation shadowed area based on the identified target marker comprising: obtaining a second position and second distance data of the identified target marker relative to the garden tool through the identification scanning module (Kamfors: Figure 2F, ¶ 0099, “The second position is, in some embodiments assumed by the robotic work tool circumnavigating at least partially, the shadowed area, as shown in in FIG. 2F. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating an assumed shadowed area. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating a detected object. In either case, multiple positions will be assumed which all gives a different view into the shadowed area, enabling more objects to be detected and recorded.”); and
estimating a position of the garden tool in the satellite navigation shadowed area based on the second position and second distance data of the identified target marker relative to the garden tool and based on position information of the identified target marker to achieve a positioning of the garden tool in the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0099, “The second position is, in some embodiments assumed by the robotic work tool circumnavigating at least partially, the shadowed area, as shown in in FIG. 2F. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating an assumed shadowed area. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating a detected object. In either case, multiple positions will be assumed which all gives a different view into the shadowed area, enabling more objects to be detected and recorded.”).
Regarding claim 7, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, the marker matching area is a rectangular marker matching area or a circular marker matching area (Arrasvuori: ¶ 0020, “Moreover, in a three dimensional search region, the user may specify a height to the search region. The height may be used to determine an altitude range to search. The altitude may be significant to determine whether a user needs to climb a steep hill or cliff to arrive at a search result location. The user can avoid these difficulties by setting the altitude range. For example, a height in an upwards direction on a UE 101 may be considered an altitude range from the center of the of the search region. Moreover, a height in a downwards direction on a UE 101 may be considered an depth from the center of the search region. The radius of the search region may be used to determine the size of the shape (e.g., a polygon, a circle, a square, a rectangle, a triangle, etc.) corresponding to the search region. A radius for a square or regular polygon may be determined by the distance from the center to any of the polygon's vertices. Moreover, the radius of a rectangle, triangle, or irregular polygon may correspond to the distance from the center to the closest point on the perimeter (minimum radius) or the farthest point on the perimeter (maximum radius). In certain embodiments, the input is provided via a touch screen device; and the user is able to select a center point, and then drag the user's finger to assign a radius to the region. Then, the user can lock the image by removing the user's finger form the screen. Further, the user may determine a height by once again touching and dragging the user's finger on the screen.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kamfors teaches further comprising: based on the working area map, controlling the garden tool to walk around an edge of a satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: Figure 2F, ¶ 0099, “The second position is, in some embodiments assumed by the robotic work tool circumnavigating at least partially, the shadowed area, as shown in in FIG. 2F. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating an assumed shadowed area. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating a detected object. In either case, multiple positions will be assumed which all gives a different view into the shadowed area, enabling more objects to be detected and recorded.”),
collecting and saving position information of the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0091, “In some embodiments, the determination whether the shadowed area is sufficiently mapped is made by determining that there are recorded objects that will be detectable by the robotic work tool as the robotic work tool traverses a planned path.”, ¶ 0099, “The second position is, in some embodiments assumed by the robotic work tool circumnavigating at least partially, the shadowed area, as shown in in FIG. 2F. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating an assumed shadowed area. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating a detected object. In either case, multiple positions will be assumed which all gives a different view into the shadowed area, enabling more objects to be detected and recorded.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system records the detected obstacles in the map data.),
and identifying the satellite navigation shadowed area in the working area map (Kamfors: ¶ 0088, “In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that the shadowed area is encountered by determining that a current signal reception is below a threshold, i.e. to determine that (satellite) signal reception is no longer reliably received. In other words, that the robotic work tool has entered a shadowed area.”, ¶ 0089, “In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that the shadowed area is encountered by determining that a current signal reception is falling. This may be determined based on comparing a received signal quality with a previously received signal. Alternatively this may be determined by monitoring or determining a derivate of the signal reception.”).
Regarding claim 10, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, in the area with reliable satellite signals outside the satellite navigation shadowed area, positioning the garden tool based on the satellite navigation signal and the working area map comprising: in the area with reliable satellite signals outside the satellite navigation shadowed area, controlling a movement of the garden tool based on a real-time kinematic differential positioning signal and the working area map (Kamfors: ¶ 0002, “ Such precise navigation is usually dependent on satellite navigation, for example GNSS (Global Navigation Satellite System), GPS (Global Positioning System) or beacon supplemented satellite navigation such as RTK (Real Time Kinematic).”, ¶ 0059, “The robotic lawnmower 100 may further comprise at least one navigation sensor, such as a beacon navigation sensor and/or a satellite navigation sensor 185. The optical navigation sensor may be a camera-based sensor and/or a laser-based sensor. The beacon navigation sensor may be a Radio Frequency receiver, such as an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) receiver or sensor, configured to receive signals from a Radio Frequency beacon, such as a UWB beacon. Alternatively or additionally, the beacon navigation sensor may be an optical receiver configured to receive signals from an optical beacon. The satellite navigation sensor may be a GPS (Global Positioning System) device (or other Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) device) or a RTK device. For the purpose of the teachings herein, the navigation device is considered to provide a reliable reception if a sufficient number of signals are received at a signal quality level enabling an accurate determination of a location.”, ¶ 0060, “As the robotic work tool operates utilizing or relying on satellite ( or other signal) navigation, that is, when utilizing or relying on the navigation sensor 185 (also referred to as a signal reception-based navigation sensor), the robotic work tool is considered to operate in a signal reception-based also referred to as a GPS mode for embodiments where the navigation sensor comprises a GPS, GNSS, RTK or similar sensor.”, ¶ 0061, “In embodiments, where the robotic lawnmower 100 is arranged with a navigation sensor 185, the magnetic sensors 170 as will be discussed below are optional. In embodiments relying (at least partially) on a navigation sensor, the work area may be specified as a virtual work area in a map application stored in the memory 120 of the robotic lawnmower 100. The virtual work area may be defined by a virtual boundary. Even in embodiments where the map is stored remotely, at least parts of the map may be stored locally in the memory during operation. Alternatively any comparisons made with the map remotely may be seen as being made by the controller in configuration with the memory as tit is caused by the controller and performed on data stored in the memory, such as an indicator of the map and the location of the robotic work tool, which both are at least temporarily stored in the memory.”, ¶ 0083, “In FIG. 2B it is indicated how a robotic work tool 100 operates in a GPS mode (as indicated in FIG. 2B) where signal reception is reliable and location determination is very accurate. For example, utilizing RTK, the error margin/accuracy is under 0.1 m.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is controlled using the RTK method and a map in areas with reliable signal reception.).
Regarding claim 11, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches further comprising: in the area with reliable satellite signals outside the satellite navigation shadowed area, identifying the target marker through the identification scanning module to obtain a third position and third distance data of the target marker relative to the garden tool; and calculating position information of the target marker according to the third position and the third distance data of the target marker relative to the garden tool and according to position information of the garden tool (¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0091, “In some embodiments, the determination whether the shadowed area is sufficiently mapped is made by determining that there are recorded objects that will be detectable by the robotic work tool as the robotic work tool traverses a planned path.”, ¶ 0099, “The second position is, in some embodiments assumed by the robotic work tool circumnavigating at least partially, the shadowed area, as shown in in FIG. 2F. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating an assumed shadowed area. In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to circumnavigate the shadowed area, by circumnavigating a detected object. In either case, multiple positions will be assumed which all gives a different view into the shadowed area, enabling more objects to be detected and recorded.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”. The cited passages teach that the robot is configured to at least partially circumnavigate the shadowed area while using the radar to detect the position and distance of the objects within the shadowed area. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the robot is clearly outside of the shadowed area and is therefore in an area of reliable signal reception.).
Regarding claim 12, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, the identification scanning module comprises a visual recognition module or a radar recognition module (Kamfors: ¶ 0066, “ The robotic working tool 100 may also comprise additional sensors 190 for enabling operation of the robotic working tool 100, such as visual sensors (for example a camera), ranging sensors for enabling SLAM-based navigation (Simultaneous Localization and Mapping), moisture sensors, collision sensors, wheel load sensors to mention a few sensors. In particular, in some embodiments, the robotic work tool 100 comprises at least one visual sensor for receiving visual indications that may be interpreted to correspond to movement information.”, ¶ 0067, “ The robotic work tool 100 also comprises one or more radar sensors 195 enabling the robotic work tool to detect an object and to determine a distance (and a direction or a distance in a direction) to the object by emitting and receiving reflected radar signals.”),
and the radar recognition module comprises a laser radar recognition module or a millimeter wave radar module (Kamfors: ¶ 0068, “ It should be noted that radar sensors provide a more or less exact distance and direction to an object without any scaling, such as when utilizing visual determination of distance and direction. The functioning of a radar can vary greatly between different models, but is considered to be known to a skilled person, even if the usage of radar as discussed herein is not previously known.”. As is clearly stated, even though the functionality can differ between the models of radar can vary, the use of radar in determining the distance and direction to an object is considered to be known. As such, one of ordinary skill would have been able to use one model of radar for another, and such a choice is simply a design choice.).
Regarding claim 13, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, the garden tool comprises mowers or snow throwers (Kamfors: ¶ 0049, “ FIG. 1A shows a perspective view of a robotic work tool 100, here exemplified by a robotic lawnmower 100, having a body 140 and a plurality of wheels 130 (only one side is shown).”).
Regarding claim 14, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches a control system of a garden tool, comprising (Kamfors: ¶ 0049, “FIG. lA shows a perspective view of a robotic work tool 100, here exemplified by a robotic lawnmower 100, having a body 140 and a plurality of wheels 130 (only one side is shown).”):
a map acquisition module (Kamfors: ¶ 0060, “As the robotic work tool operates utilizing or relying on satellite ( or other signal) navigation, that is, when utilizing or relying on the navigation sensor 185 (also referred to as a signal reception-based navigation sensor), the robotic work tool is considered to operate in a signal reception-based also referred to as a GPS mode for embodiments where the navigation sensor comprises a GPS, GNSS, RTK or similar sensor.”, ¶ 0061, “In embodiments, where the robotic lawnmower 100 is arranged with a navigation sensor 185, the magnetic sensors 170 as will be discussed below are optional. In embodiments relying (at least partially) on a navigation sensor, the work area may be specified as a virtual work area in a map application stored in the memory 120 of the robotic lawnmower 100. The virtual work area may be defined by a virtual boundary. Even in embodiments where the map is stored remotely, at least parts of the map may be stored locally in the memory during operation. Alternatively any comparisons made with the map remotely may be seen as being made by the controller in configuration with the memory as tit is caused by the controller and performed on data stored in the memory, such as an indicator of the map and the location of the robotic work tool, which both are at least temporarily stored in the memory.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to use a map of the working area of the robot.),
a satellite positioning module (Kamfors: ¶ 0059, “The robotic lawnmower 100 may further comprise at least one navigation sensor, such as a beacon navigation sensor and/or a satellite navigation sensor 185. The optical navigation sensor may be a camera-based sensor and/or a laser-based sensor. The beacon navigation sensor may be a Radio Frequency receiver, such as an Ultra Wide Band (UWB) receiver or sensor, configured to receive signals from a Radio Frequency beacon, such as a UWB beacon. Alternatively or additionally, the beacon navigation sensor may be an optical receiver configured to receive signals from an optical beacon. The satellite navigation sensor may be a GPS (Global Positioning System) device (or other Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) device) or a RTK device. For the purpose of the teachings herein, the navigation device is considered to provide a reliable reception if a sufficient number of signals are received at a signal quality level enabling an accurate determination of a location.”, ¶ 0060, “As the robotic work tool operates utilizing or relying on satellite ( or other signal) navigation, that is, when utilizing or relying on the navigation sensor 185 (also referred to as a signal reception-based navigation sensor), the robotic work tool is considered to operate in a signal reception-based also referred to as a GPS mode for embodiments where the navigation sensor comprises a GPS, GNSS, RTK or similar sensor.”, ¶ 0083, “In FIG. 2B it is indicated how a robotic work tool 100 operates in a GPS mode (as indicated in FIG. 2B) where signal reception is reliable and location determination is very accurate. For example, utilizing RTK, the error margin/accuracy is under 0.1 m. Also indicated in FIG. 2B is how the robotic work tool 100 determines a distance and a direction or possibly a distance in a direction to one or more objects utilizing the radar sensor 195, as indicated by the dotted arrows referenced R. As the robotic work tool knows its own location at a very high accuracy, and as radar reception is highly accurate, the robotic work tool is thus configured to determine the absolute position of the object(s) based on the own position, the distance and the direction to the object(s), at a similarly high accuracy.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the robot is configured to operate in a GPS based mode when the signal reception is reliable, i.e., when the system is not in a shadowed area.); and
a shadowed area positioning module (Kamfors: ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0088, “In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that the shadowed area is encountered by determining that a current signal reception is below a threshold, i.e. to determine that (satellite) signal reception is no longer reliably received. In other words, that the robotic work tool has entered a shadowed area.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the robot is configured to operate in a radar based mode when the signal reception is not reliable, i.e., when the system is in a shadowed area. That is, the system is configured to determine the position and location of the robot within the shadowed area based on the position and distance of detected object using a radar system.),
wherein the control system is configured to execute the control method according to claim 1 (Kamfors: ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0088, “In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that the shadowed area is encountered by determining that a current signal reception is below a threshold, i.e. to determine that (satellite) signal reception is no longer reliably received. In other words, that the robotic work tool has entered a shadowed area.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”).
Regarding claim 17, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches a garden tool, comprising (Kamfors: ¶ 0049, “FIG. lA shows a perspective view of a robotic work tool 100, here exemplified by a robotic lawnmower 100, having a body 140 and a plurality of wheels 130 (only one side is shown).”):
a storage module, configured to store a working area map of the garden tool (Kamfors: ¶ 0055, “ The robotic lawnmower 100 also comprises a controller 110 and a computer readable storage medium or memory 120. The controller 110 may be implemented using instructions that enable hardware functionality, for example, by using executable computer program instructions in a general-purpose or special-purpose processor that may be stored on the memory 120 to be executed by such a processor. The controller 110 is configured to read instructions from the memory 120 and execute these instructions to control the operation of the robotic lawnmower 100 including, but not being limited to, the propulsion and navigation of the robotic lawnmower.”, ¶ 0061, “In embodiments, where the robotic lawnmower 100 is arranged with a navigation sensor 185, the magnetic sensors 170 as will be discussed below are optional. In embodiments relying (at least partially) on a navigation sensor, the work area may be specified as a virtual work area in a map application stored in the memory 120 of the robotic lawnmower 100. The virtual work area may be defined by a virtual boundary. Even in embodiments where the map is stored remotely, at least parts of the map may be stored locally in the memory during operation. Alternatively any comparisons made with the map remotely may be seen as being made by the controller in configuration with the memory as tit is caused by the controller and performed on data stored in the memory, such as an indicator of the map and the location of the robotic work tool, which both are at least temporarily stored in the memory.”);
a positioning module, configured to position the garden tool based on a satellite navigation signal (Kamfors: ¶ 0056, “ The controller 110 in combination with the electric motor 155 and the wheels 130 forms the base of a navigation system (possibly comprising further components) for the robotic lawnmower, enabling it to be self-propelled as discussed under FIG. 1A, The controller 110 may be implemented using any suitable, available processor or Programmable Logic Circuit (PLC). The memory 120 may be implemented using any commonly known technology for computer-readable memories such as ROM, FLASH, DDR, or some other memory technology.”);
an identification scanning module, configured to recognize a target marker and obtain a position and a distance of the target marker relative to the garden tool (Kamfors: ¶ 0067, “ The robotic work tool 100 also comprises one or more radar sensors 195 enabling the robotic work tool to detect an object and to determine a distance (and a direction or a distance in a direction) to the object by emitting and receiving reflected radar signals.”, ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0090, “If it is determined that the shadowed area is encountered (possibly having been entered and exited), and if it is determined that the shadowed area is not sufficiently mapped, the robotic work tool detects objects in the shadowed area utilizing the radar sensor so that the shadowed area becomes sufficiently mapped.”, ¶ 0091, “In some embodiments, the determination whether the shadowed area is sufficiently mapped is made by determining that there are recorded objects that will be detectable by the robotic work tool as the robotic work tool traverses a planned path.”); and
a control module configured to execute the control method according to claim 1(Kamfors: ¶ 0056, “ The controller 110 in combination with the electric motor 155 and the wheels 130 forms the base of a navigation system (possibly comprising further components) for the robotic lawnmower, enabling it to be self-propelled as discussed under FIG. 2A, The controller 110 may be implemented using any suitable, available processor or Programmable Logic Circuit (PLC). The memory 120 may be implemented using any commonly known technology for computer-readable memories such as ROM, FLASH, DDR, or some other memory technology.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0088, “In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that the shadowed area is encountered by determining that a current signal reception is below a threshold, i.e. to determine that (satellite) signal reception is no longer reliably received. In other words, that the robotic work tool has entered a shadowed area.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”),
Regarding claim 18, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, the identification scanning module comprises a visual recognition module or a radar recognition module (Kamfors: ¶ 0066, “ The robotic working tool 100 may also comprise additional sensors 190 for enabling operation of the robotic working tool 100, such as visual sensors (for example a camera), ranging sensors for enabling SLAM-based navigation (Simultaneous Localization and Mapping), moisture sensors, collision sensors, wheel load sensors to mention a few sensors. In particular, in some embodiments, the robotic work tool 100 comprises at least one visual sensor for receiving visual indications that may be interpreted to correspond to movement information.”, ¶ 0067, “ The robotic work tool 100 also comprises one or more radar sensors 195 enabling the robotic work tool to detect an object and to determine a distance (and a direction or a distance in a direction) to the object by emitting and receiving reflected radar signals.”),
and the radar recognition module comprises a laser radar recognition module or a millimeter wave radar module (Kamfors: ¶ 0068, “ It should be noted that radar sensors provide a more or less exact distance and direction to an object without any scaling, such as when utilizing visual determination of distance and direction. The functioning of a radar can vary greatly between different models, but is considered to be known to a skilled person, even if the usage of radar as discussed herein is not previously known.”. As is clearly stated, even though the functionality can differ between the models of radar can vary, the use of radar in determining the distance and direction to an object is considered to be known. As such, one of ordinary skill would have been able to use one model of radar for another, and such a choice is simply a design choice.).
Regarding claim 19, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, the garden tool further comprises a path planning module, and the path planning module is configured to plan a path according to the working area map of the garden tool (Kamfors: ¶ 0085, “ A planned path of the robotic work tool 100 is indicated by a dotted arrow referenced P.”, ¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0088, “In such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to exit the shadowed area, by reversing out along the same path used to enter the shadowed area. The robotic work tool is thus also configured to store paths taken. Possibly storing only the last navigation actions taken for example during a time period of up to 1, 2 or 5 minutes. Possibly storing all navigation actions taken in a work session. Possibly storing only the last navigation actions taken for example during a travelled distance of up to 1, 2 or 5 meters. These possibilities may or may not be combined. A navigation action relating to a speed, a direction a turn and/or a time period for such an action.”, ¶ 0091, “In some embodiments, the determination whether the shadowed area is sufficiently mapped is made by determining that there are recorded objects that will be detectable by the robotic work tool as the robotic work tool traverses a planned path.”, ¶ 0093, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool 100 maps the shadowed area by detecting further objects in the shadowed area, or along a planned path.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the system is configured to plan a path and cause said robot to travel said planned path.).
Regarding claim 20, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, the garden tool comprises mowers or snow throwers (Kamfors: ¶ 0049, “ FIG. 1A shows a perspective view of a robotic work tool 100, here exemplified by a robotic lawnmower 100, having a body 140 and a plurality of wheels 130 (only one side is shown).”).
Claim(s) 2-4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0411319 A1 ("Kamfors") in view of US 20110099180 A1 ("Arrasvuori") in further view of US 20220137361 A1 ("Udagawa").
Regarding claim 2, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein a plurality of the target markers being identified by the identification scanning module area arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area, (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F object T, ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0090, “If it is determined that the shadowed area is encountered (possibly having been entered and exited), and if it is determined that the shadowed area is not sufficiently mapped, the robotic work tool detects objects in the shadowed area utilizing the radar sensor so that the shadowed area becomes sufficiently mapped.”, ¶ 0091, “In some embodiments, the determination whether the shadowed area is sufficiently mapped is made by determining that there are recorded objects that will be detectable by the robotic work tool as the robotic work tool traverses a planned path.”);
shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying each target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool is in the satellite navigation shadowed area comprising: when the garden tool enters the satellite navigation shadowed area, based on the preset position relationship, identifying each target marker by the identification scanning module to obtain a first position and first distance data of each target marker relative to the garden tool (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F object T, ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0109, “FIG. 3B shows a flowchart for a general method according to herein. The method is for use in a robotic work tool as in FIGS. 1A and 1B. The method is for use when mapping an area, such as a shadowed area, and the method comprises detecting 313 one (or more) object(s) and the distance(s) to the object(s) (including the direction or in a direction to the object(s)). This enables for all or most objects in an area, such as a shadowed area, to be detected and mapped.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the system uses a radar device to identify the objects in the shadowed area and determines their position and distance.); and
calculating position information of the garden tool according to the first position and the first distance data of each target marker relative to the garden tool and according to the position information of the target marker to position the garden tool in the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system uses the distances and positions of the detected objects to determine the robots position within the shadowed area.).
Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori does not teach the plurality of the target markers are arranged according to a preset position relationship.
Udagawa teaches the plurality of the target markers are arranged according to a preset position relationship (Udagawa: Figure 4B, markers 451, ¶ 0073, “Here, FIG. 4B is an explanatory diagram of a method of determining an adjacent marker in a work area in which an equilateral triangular or square region is formed. Reference numeral 450 denotes a region (for example, the entire site owned by a user) including the work area (for example, a garden) where the work vehicle 10 performs work. Reference numerals 451a to 451p denote markers according to the present embodiment. An area surrounded by these markers 451a to 451p is a work area. The work vehicle 10 performs work so as not to deviate from the work area.”, ¶ 0074, “The markers 451a to 451p are arranged at predetermined distance (for example, 3 m) intervals. In this work area, an equilateral triangular region is formed by three markers of the marker 451b, the marker 451c, and the marker 451d. Similarly, a square region is formed by four markers of the marker 4511, the marker 451m, the marker 451n, and the marker 451o. If there are such regions, when the determination method 1 is used, the work vehicle 10 cannot move to a region behind the virtual line connecting the marker 451b and the marker 451c and the virtual line connecting the marker 4511 and the marker 451o, so that the work cannot be performed in these regions.”. As can clearly be seen, the cited passages teach that the markers are arranged in a predetermined positional relationship.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori with the plurality of the target markers are arranged according to a preset position relationship taught in Udagawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results. The method taught in Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori already teaches a plurality of objects disposed in an area. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to arrange these objects in a predetermined position relationship as taught in Udagawa. Placing the objects in the predetermined positional relationship would have required the simple modification of changing their positions. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Regarding claim 3, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori in further view of Udagawa teaches wherein, when the garden tool enters the satellite navigation shadowed area, based on the preset position relationship, identifying each target marker by the identification scanning module to obtain a first position and first distance data of each target marker relative to the garden tool comprising: obtaining first positions and first distance data of a plurality of obstacles comprising a respective target marker relative to the garden tool through the identification scanning module (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F object T, ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0109, “FIG. 3B shows a flowchart for a general method according to herein. The method is for use in a robotic work tool as in FIGS. 1A and 1B. The method is for use when mapping an area, such as a shadowed area, and the method comprises detecting 313 one (or more) object(s) and the distance(s) to the object(s) (including the direction or in a direction to the object(s)). This enables for all or most objects in an area, such as a shadowed area, to be detected and mapped.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the system uses a radar device to identify the objects in the shadowed area and determines their position and distance.);
calculating a position relationship between the obstacles according to the first positions and the first distance data of the plurality of the obstacles relative to the garden tool (Udagawa: ¶ 0066, “Whether two markers are adjacent markers can be determined based on the distance between the markers in the case where it is assumed that the markers are arranged at predetermined distance intervals. When the distance between the markers is within a predetermined distance range (for example, 2.5 m to 3.5 m), it may be determined that the markers are adjacent markers, and when the distance is out of the predetermined distance range, it may be determined that the markers are not adjacent markers. In FIG. 4A, since the length (for example, 4 m) of a line 414 is out of the predetermined distance range, the line is not set as a virtual line. As a result, it is possible to prevent the work from not being performed in the region of a triangle obtained by connecting the marker 401b, the marker 401c, and the marker 401d.”. The cited passage clearly teaches determining the distance between objects.); and
based on the position relationship between the obstacles, searching for several obstacles satisfying the preset position relationship from the plurality of the obstacles as the target markers (Udagawa: ¶ 0074, “The markers 451a to 451p are arranged at predetermined distance (for example, 3 m) intervals. In this work area, an equilateral triangular region is formed by three markers of the marker 451b, the marker 451c, and the marker 451d. Similarly, a square region is formed by four markers of the marker 4511, the marker 451m, the marker 451n, and the marker 451o. If there are such regions, when the determination method 1 is used, the work vehicle 10 cannot move to a region behind the virtual line connecting the marker 451b and the marker 451c and the virtual line connecting the marker 4511 and the marker 451o, so that the work cannot be performed in these regions.”, ¶ 0075, “Therefore, when another marker is detected behind the two markers, it may be determined that the two markers are not adjacent markers. In the illustrated example, two markers of the marker 451b and the marker 451d are detected, and the other marker 451c is further detected behind the two markers. Therefore, it is determined that the two markers 451b and 451d are not adjacent markers. Similarly, two markers of the marker 4511 and the marker 4510 are detected, and the other markers 451m and 451n are further detected behind the two markers. Therefore, it is determined that the two markers 4511 and 451o are not adjacent markers.”, ¶ 0077, “As described above, according to the determination method 3, when another marker is present in a region behind a line connecting two markers, it is specified that the two markers are not adjacent markers. However, when the determination method 3 is applied, in the case where another marker at a position far away from the two markers is detected, there is a possibility of erroneous entry to the back region. Therefore, a configuration in which movement to the back region is only possible when the distance to the other marker is calculated and the calculated distance is equal to or less than a predetermined distance (for example, 4 m), or when it is determined that the other marker is a marker adjacent to either one of the two markers on the front side. As a result, it is possible to suppress entry into a region that should not be originally entered.”. The cited passage clearly teaches searching for other objects that form the preset positional relationship, based in part, on the determined distance between objects.).
Regarding claim 4, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori in further view of teaches wherein, three target markers identified by the identification scanning module are arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0090, “If it is determined that the shadowed area is encountered (possibly having been entered and exited), and if it is determined that the shadowed area is not sufficiently mapped, the robotic work tool detects objects in the shadowed area utilizing the radar sensor so that the shadowed area becomes sufficiently mapped.”, ¶ 0091, “In some embodiments, the determination whether the shadowed area is sufficiently mapped is made by determining that there are recorded objects that will be detectable by the robotic work tool as the robotic work tool traverses a planned path.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that there are target markers (referred to as simply objects) within the shadowed area.),
the three target markers are arranged in a triangle (Udagawa: ¶ 0074, “The markers 451a to 451p are arranged at predetermined distance (for example, 3 m) intervals. In this work area, an equilateral triangular region is formed by three markers of the marker 451b, the marker 451c, and the marker 451d. Similarly, a square region is formed by four markers of the marker 4511, the marker 451m, the marker 451n, and the marker 451o. If there are such regions, when the determination method 1 is used, the work vehicle 10 cannot move to a region behind the virtual line connecting the marker 451b and the marker 451c and the virtual line connecting the marker 4511 and the marker 451o, so that the work cannot be performed in these regions.”),
and the preset position relationship refers to a distance between any two of the target markers (Udagawa: ¶ 0066, “Whether two markers are adjacent markers can be determined based on the distance between the markers in the case where it is assumed that the markers are arranged at predetermined distance intervals. When the distance between the markers is within a predetermined distance range (for example, 2.5 m to 3.5 m), it may be determined that the markers are adjacent markers, and when the distance is out of the predetermined distance range, it may be determined that the markers are not adjacent markers. In FIG. 4A, since the length (for example, 4 m) of a line 414 is out of the predetermined distance range, the line is not set as a virtual line. As a result, it is possible to prevent the work from not being performed in the region of a triangle obtained by connecting the marker 401b, the marker 401c, and the marker 401d.”, ¶ 0077, “As described above, according to the determination method 3, when another marker is present in a region behind a line connecting two markers, it is specified that the two markers are not adjacent markers. However, when the determination method 3 is applied, in the case where another marker at a position far away from the two markers is detected, there is a possibility of erroneous entry to the back region. Therefore, a configuration in which movement to the back region is only possible when the distance to the other marker is calculated and the calculated distance is equal to or less than a predetermined distance (for example, 4 m), or when it is determined that the other marker is a marker adjacent to either one of the two markers on the front side. As a result, it is possible to suppress entry into a region that should not be originally entered.”. The cited passages teach that the present positional relationship is the distance between the objects.).
Regarding claim 15, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches wherein, a plurality of the target markers identified by the identification scanning module are arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F object T, ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0090, “If it is determined that the shadowed area is encountered (possibly having been entered and exited), and if it is determined that the shadowed area is not sufficiently mapped, the robotic work tool detects objects in the shadowed area utilizing the radar sensor so that the shadowed area becomes sufficiently mapped.”, ¶ 0091, “In some embodiments, the determination whether the shadowed area is sufficiently mapped is made by determining that there are recorded objects that will be detectable by the robotic work tool as the robotic work tool traverses a planned path.”),
a first identification module, the first identification module configured to identify the target marker by the identification scanning module to obtain a first position and first distance data of the target marker relative to the garden tool based on the preset position relationship when the garden tool enters the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F object T, ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0109, “FIG. 3B shows a flowchart for a general method according to herein. The method is for use in a robotic work tool as in FIGS. 1A and 1B. The method is for use when mapping an area, such as a shadowed area, and the method comprises detecting 313 one (or more) object(s) and the distance(s) to the object(s) (including the direction or in a direction to the object(s)). This enables for all or most objects in an area, such as a shadowed area, to be detected and mapped.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the system uses a radar device to identify the objects in the shadowed area and determines their position and distance.); and
a first position calculation module, the first position calculation module configured to calculate position information of the garden tool according to the first position and the first distance data of the target marker relative to the garden tool and according to position information of the target marker to position the garden tool in the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system uses the distances and positions of the detected objects to determine the robots position within the shadowed area.).
Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori does not teach the plurality of the target markers are arranged according to a preset position relationship.
Udagawa teaches the plurality of the target markers is arranged according to a preset position relationship (Udagawa: Figure 4B, markers 451, ¶ 0073, “Here, FIG. 4B is an explanatory diagram of a method of determining an adjacent marker in a work area in which an equilateral triangular or square region is formed. Reference numeral 450 denotes a region (for example, the entire site owned by a user) including the work area (for example, a garden) where the work vehicle 10 performs work. Reference numerals 451a to 451p denote markers according to the present embodiment. An area surrounded by these markers 451a to 451p is a work area. The work vehicle 10 performs work so as not to deviate from the work area.”, ¶ 0074, “The markers 451a to 451p are arranged at predetermined distance (for example, 3 m) intervals. In this work area, an equilateral triangular region is formed by three markers of the marker 451b, the marker 451c, and the marker 451d. Similarly, a square region is formed by four markers of the marker 4511, the marker 451m, the marker 451n, and the marker 451o. If there are such regions, when the determination method 1 is used, the work vehicle 10 cannot move to a region behind the virtual line connecting the marker 451b and the marker 451c and the virtual line connecting the marker 4511 and the marker 451o, so that the work cannot be performed in these regions.”. As can clearly be seen, the cited passages teach that the markers are arranged in a predetermined positional relationship.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori with the plurality of the target markers is arranged according to a preset position relationship taught in Udagawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results. The system taught in Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori already teaches a plurality of objects disposed in an area. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to arrange these objects in a predetermined position relationship as taught in Udagawa. Placing the objects in the predetermined positional relationship would have required the simple modification of changing their positions. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0411319 A1 ("Kamfors") in view of US 20110099180 A1 ("Arrasvuori") in further view of JP 2013086234 A ("Tanigawa") in further view of US 11448775 B2 ("Yang").
Regarding claim 8, Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches further comprising: when the garden tool enters the marker matching area, the garden tool entering a ready state (Kamfors: ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”. The cited passage teaches that the robot transitions to a radar detection mode when entering the shadowed area.);
the garden tool obtaining a relative position of the target marker based on the position information of the target marker in the marker matching area and based on position information of the garden tool (Kamfors: ¶ 0069, “The robotic work tool according to the teachings herein is thus enabled to navigate utilizing the radar sensor(s) 195. In some embodiments, the robotic work tool is thus enabled to determine distances and directions to objects and determine its location with regards to these objects, and possibly also its absolute position based on the location of these object(s), possibly as stored in the map application.”, ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0109, “FIG. 3B shows a flowchart for a general method according to herein. The method is for use in a robotic work tool as in FIGS. 1A and 1B. The method is for use when mapping an area, such as a shadowed area, and the method comprises detecting 313 one (or more) object(s) and the distance(s) to the object(s) (including the direction or in a direction to the object(s)). This enables for all or most objects in an area, such as a shadowed area, to be detected and mapped.”, ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”);
matching the scanning information with marker feature information in the marker matching area to identify the target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0118, “FIG. 5 shows a general flowchart according to a method of the teachings herein, where a robotic work tool 100 is enabled to detect 510 an object, by 520 receiving a radar point cloud, determining a location of the object by determining a location 525 of the radar point cloud and determining 530 an extension of the radar point cloud, and thereby an extension of the object. Optionally the detection of the object, is supplemented 535 by a visual classification of the object. The robotic work tool is also configured to detecting a movement 540 of the point cloud and if so determine 545 that the object is a moving object which is not to be recorded for use a reference. If no movement is detected, the object is determined to be stationary and recorded 550 for future use as a reference. Optionally, an assumed shadow may be determined 560 for the detected object and the robotic work tool may then map 570 the assumed shadow in any manner as discussed herein.”); and
positioning the garden tool in the satellite navigation shadowed area based on the identified target marker (Kamfors: ¶ 0086, “FIG. 2C shows how the robotic work tool 100 enters a shadowed area, and determines that signal-reception based navigation using the navigation sensor 185 is no longer reliable, and then switches over to a radar based navigation and operates in a radar (navigation) mode (as indicated by R). In the radar (navigation) mode, the robotic work tool 100 navigates by determining distance and or in directions to surrounding objects and determines or updates its own location accordingly. As the location of the objects have been determined at a high accuracy, and as the radar is of high accuracy, the determined location is also of a high accuracy and the navigation can continue in the shadow S at a high accuracy.”, ¶ 0087, “In some embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that a shadow area is (possibly) being encountered or about to be entered, and in response thereto determine whether the shadowed area is mapped, i.e. if there are previously recorded objects in the shadowed area, or at least in the planned path of the robotic work tool 100.”, ¶ 0088, “In some such embodiments the robotic work tool is configured to determine that the shadowed area is encountered by determining that a current signal reception is below a threshold, i.e. to determine that (satellite) signal reception is no longer reliably received. In other words, that the robotic work tool has entered a shadowed area.”. The cited passages clearly teaches that the robot is configured to operate in a radar based mode when the signal reception is not reliable, i.e., when the system is in a shadowed area. That is, the system is configured to determine the position and location of the robot within the shadowed area based on the position and distance of detected object using a radar system.).
Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori does not teach when the garden tool moves further and enters the satellite navigation shadowed area in the marker matching area, obtaining a predicted position of the target marker based on the relative position of the target marker and based on a moving direction and a speed of the garden tool;
scanning a preset range on two sides of the predicted position through the identification scanning module to obtain the scanning information;
Tanigawa, in the same field of endeavor, teaches when the garden tool moves further and enters the satellite navigation shadowed area in the marker matching area, obtaining a predicted position of the target marker based on the relative position of the target marker and based on a moving direction and a speed of the garden tool (Tanigawa: Abstract, “…an obstacle position estimating means 102 for estimating a relative position of a fixed obstacle and the moving obstacle with respect to the robot;…”, ¶ 0028, “The obstacle position estimation means 102 estimates the relative position of the moving obstacle 301 with respect to the robot 201 based on the distance data acquired by the observation device 101. Specifically, based on the history (mutation) of the distance data, the obstacle position estimation means 102 determines by the determination unit 102a that determines whether the obstacle is a fixed obstacle or a moving obstacle, and the determination unit 102a And a position estimation unit 102 b for estimating the position and the direction of the moving obstacle 301. The estimated position is the relative position of the moving obstacle 301 to the robot 201. Information on the relative position of the moving obstacle 301 with respect to the robot 201 estimated by the obstacle position estimating means 102 is correlated with the time when the moving obstacle 301 is detected, and is recorded as moving obstacle information in the obstacle history database 108 Ru. Examples of the moving obstacle information include the time when the moving obstacle 301 is detected, the angle at which the moving obstacle 301 exists, and the distance. In addition, information of a stationary obstacle can also be recorded in the moving obstacle history database 108 (see FIG. 7 described later).”, ¶ 0042, “Next, in the process of step S502, the range measurement sensor 203 observes the surrounding environment every predetermined observation period (which will be described as 100 msec in the specific example of this embodiment), and the obstacle existing in the surroundings Get the distance information to the object. 6A and 6B show an example of distance data acquired by the range measurement sensor 203. FIG. FIG. 6A represents the distance data acquired at 10:20:45 on July 22, 2011, and FIG. 6B at 10:20:45 on 700, July 22, 2011. Represents the acquired distance data. The distance data in FIGS. 6A and 6B show the distance for each angle. The front direction of the robot 201 is 90 ° from the installation position of the range measurement sensor 203, and 91 ° and 92 ° are counterclockwise from there. For example, in the example of FIG. 6B, it can be seen that there is an obstacle at a distance of 100.53 cm in the direction of 0 °. Here, the reason that the distance in the direction of 90 ° (the front direction of the robot 201) is -1 cm is that the distance could not be measured because an obstacle did not exist within the detectable distance, etc. Represents that.”, ¶ 0043, “Next, in the process of step S 503, the obstacle position estimation means 102 refers to the obstacle history database 108 to determine the relative position of the moving obstacle 301 with respect to the robot 201 based on the distance data acquired by the range sensor 203. presume. This can be estimated by the obstacle position estimation means 102 based on the history of the distance data observed by the previous range measurement sensor 203 in the obstacle history database 108. For example, when distance data of a history of 100.00 cm in the direction of 90 ° of the robot 201 is acquired by the range measurement sensor 203 and recorded in the obstacle history database 108, it is assumed that the robot 201 is advancing at 100 cm per second. Then, the obstacle position estimation means 102 estimates that the distance data in the direction of 90 ° observed after 100 msec should be 90 cm. Usually, errors occur in the moving speed and moving angle of the robot 201 and the distance data obtained by observation by the range measurement sensor 203 (depending on the road surface condition or the accuracy of the range measurement sensor, but here in the range of N cm) Suppose that an error occurs). Therefore, when the distance data in the 90 ° direction is obtained in the range of 90 cm−N cm to 90 cm + N cm, the distance data in the 90 ° direction is data obtained by detecting the fixed obstacle 302 and the obstacle position estimation means 102 You may judge by. It is assumed that N is set by the obstacle position estimation means 102 in accordance with the condition of the road surface or the error characteristic (the tendency of the error) of the range measurement sensor. The road surface state indicates whether the tire of the robot 201 is likely to slip. For example, if the floor surface is in a state where slippage like carpeting is unlikely to occur, the value of N should be set small, and in places such as the road surface after raining, the value of N should be set large. deep. Further, it is desirable that the error characteristics of the range measuring sensor 203 be determined based on the specifications of the range measuring sensor 203 to be used and stored in the obstacle position estimating means 102. Similarly, in each direction other than 90 °, the obstacle position estimation unit 102 determines whether the fixed obstacle 302 is present or not. The above processing is performed on the distance data at all the acquired angles by the obstacle position estimation means 102, and movement is made to the position of the distance data of the fixed obstacle 302 and the angles not determined by the obstacle position estimation means 102. The obstacle position estimation means 102 estimates that the obstacle 301 is present. In addition, when there is no history of distance data for determining whether or not it is the moving obstacle 301, it is determined that it is the fixed obstacle 302 in the direction in which the distance data is obtained.”. The cited passages clearly teaches determining an estimated position of an object. Furthermore, the estimated position is clearly determined based on a previously measured position of the object and the movement direction and speed of the robot.).
Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches a control method comprising: further comprising: when the garden tool enters the marker matching area, the garden tool entering a ready state; the garden tool obtaining a relative position of the target marker based on the position information of the target marker in the marker matching area and based on position information of the garden tool; matching the scanning information with marker feature information in the marker matching area to identify the target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area; and positioning the garden tool in the satellite navigation shadowed area based on the identified target marker. Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori additionally teaches determining when the robot has entered a shadowed area and controlling the robot to enter a shadowed area. Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori does not teach when the garden tool moves further and enters the satellite navigation shadowed area in the marker matching area, obtaining a predicted position of the target marker based on the relative position of the target marker and based on a moving direction and a speed of the garden tool. Tanigawa teaches when the garden tool moves further and enters the satellite navigation shadowed area in the marker matching area, obtaining a predicted position of the target marker based on the relative position of the target marker and based on a moving direction and a speed of the garden tool. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the method taught in Kamfors with when the garden tool moves further and enters the satellite navigation shadowed area in the marker matching area, obtaining a predicted position of the target marker based on the relative position of the target marker and based on a moving direction and a speed of the garden tool taught in Tanigawa. Furthermore, the robot of Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori is already configured with sensor for determining the speed and movement direction of the robot and is also configured to determine the distance and relative positions of the objects. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method of Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori to estimate a position of the objects based on the relative position of the object and the speed and movement direction of the robot as taught in Tanigawa according to methods known in the art. Such a combination would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a control method comprising: when the garden tool moves further and enters the satellite navigation shadowed area in the marker matching area, obtaining a predicted position of the target marker based on the relative position of the target marker and based on a moving direction and a speed of the garden tool.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori with when the garden tool moves further and enters the satellite navigation shadowed area in the marker matching area, obtaining a predicted position of the target marker based on the relative position of the target marker and based on a moving direction and a speed of the garden tool taught in Tanigawa with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori in further view of Tanigawa does not teach scanning a preset range on two sides of the predicted position through the identification scanning module to obtain the scanning information.
Yang, in the same field of endeavor, teaches scanning a preset range on two sides of the predicted position through the identification scanning module to obtain the scanning information (Yang: Column 45 lines 2-13, “In a possible implementation, based on the laser data (for example, the measured distance data between the self-moving device and an object within a 360-degree range in the surrounding environment), point cloud data (a plurality of distance points/feature points) in the laser data may be extracted, and covers regions in the surrounding environment of the self-moving device as much as possible. A person skilled in the art should understand that a point cloud data extraction algorithm well known in the art may be used to extract point cloud data from the laser data. This is not limited in the present disclosure.”. The cited passages teaches using a sensor to scan a 360-dgree range around the robot at each point. This clearly teaches the limitation “scanning a preset range on two sides of the predicted position through the identification scanning module to obtain the scanning information”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori in further view of Tanigawa with scanning a preset range on two sides of the predicted position through the identification scanning module to obtain the scanning information taught in Yang with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have been obvious to try. The system taught in Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori in further view of Tanigawa is already configured with a radar scanner, however the scan range is not explicitly taught. Scanning more than one area relative to a robot is a common task in robotics control and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had knowledge of such a process. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the scanner taught in Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori in further view of Tanigawa to scan multiple sides of the robot as taught in Yang. Using a sensor to scan multiple sides of a robot would have been well within the technological capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced. No inventive effort would have been required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 21st, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 10-14 of Applicant’s Arguments, Applicant argues that the prior art on record fails to teach the limitations of the amended independent claim 1.
Specifically, on Pages 10-12, Applicant argues that the primary reference Kamfors fails to teach the limitations “a target marker arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area and provided with marker feature information identifiable by an identification scanning module” and “shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As was stated above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section and in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed April 16th, 2026, Kamfors teaches a control method of a garden tool, comprising (Kamfors: ¶ 0049): obtaining a working area map of the garden tool (Kamfors: ¶ 0060, ¶ 0061), the working area map including a satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F shadowed area S, ¶ 0081, ¶ 0086, ¶ 0087, ¶ 0088), a target marker arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area and provided with marker feature information identifiable by an identification scanning module (Kamfors: Figures 2B-F objects T, ¶ 0069, ¶ 0086, ¶ 0090, ¶ 0091, ¶ 0118), positioning of the garden tool based on a satellite navigation signal and the working area map when the garden tool is in an area with reliable satellite signals outside the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0059, ¶ 0060, ¶ 0083); and shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool is in the satellite navigation shadowed area (Kamfors: ¶ 0086, ¶ 0087, ¶ 0118). The cited passages of Kamfors clearly shows that the system is configured to detected and identify objects that are located within the satellite navigation shadowed area. Furthermore, the system is configured to detect the object using, in part, a visual classification algorithm. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a visual classification algorithm would use the feature information of the object. Additionally, the system is configured to travel in the shadowed area using the detected objects. Therefore, for the reasons stated above, the combination of Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches the limitations “a target marker arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area and provided with marker feature information identifiable by an identification scanning module” and “shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area”.
Specifically on Page 12, Applicant argues that Arrasvuori is nonanalogous prior art. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that Arrasvuori is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Arrasvuori is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned. Arrasvuori teaches a method of defining searches areas of differing sizes and shapes at any position on a map. This directly relates to the limitations “a marker matching area”, “a marker matching area”, “wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area”, as the limitations describe generating an area on a map around a specific location, wherein the robot is configured to begin searching in the defined area. As such, Arrasvuori is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, and is therefore analogous art.
Specifically, on Pages 12-14, Applicant argues that the secondary reference Arrasvuori fails to teach the limitations “a marker matching area” , “a target marker arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area and provided with marker feature information identifiable by an identification scanning module”, “wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area”, and “shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As was stated previously with regards to prior arguments, in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, and in the previous Non-Final Office Action mailed April 16th, 2026, Arrasvuori was not relied upon to teach the limitations “a target marker arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area and provided with marker feature information identifiable by an identification scanning module” and “shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area”. As was stated previously, Kamfors teaches a method of controlling a robotic lawnmower to operate within a satellite navigation shadowed area. The system is configured to accomplish this by identifying object in the shadowed area using, in part, a visual classification algorithm, determining the distances from the robot to the identified objects, and controlling the robot based on the prior map information and the position of the robot determined based on the distances to the detected objects. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that Kamfors clearly teaches the limitations “a target marker arranged in the satellite navigation shadowed area and provided with marker feature information identifiable by an identification scanning module” and “shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area”. Regarding the limitations “a marker matching area”, wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area”, and “shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area”, as was stated above in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section and in the Non-Final Office Action mailed April 16th, 2026, the secondary reference Arrasvuori teaches a marker matching area (Arrasvuori: ¶ 0019, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0033), wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area (Arrasvuori: ¶ 0019, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0033); shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area (Arrasvuori: ¶ 0019, ¶ 0020, ¶ 0033). Arrasvuori teaches a method of defining a search areas on anywhere on a map, wherein the search areas can be different sizes and shapes. As such, because the method taught in Kamfors is already configured to perform the identification and visual classification of objects only when it enters a shadowed area, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Kamfors such that it perform the identification and visual classification of objects when it enters the matching area as taught in Arrasvuori according to methods known in the art. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Kamfors such that the marker matching area is placed around the periphery of the marker matching area, as the search areas can be defined in any size, shape or position on the map as taught in Arrasvuori according to methods known in the art. Therefore, the combination of Kamfors in view of Arrasvuori teaches the limitations “a marker matching area”, wherein the marker matching area is arranged around a periphery of the satellite navigation shadowed area”, and “shadowed area positioning of the garden tool through identifying the marker feature information of target marker in the satellite navigation shadowed area through the identification scanning module when the garden tool enters the marker matching area”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.W.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658