DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 14, 19 and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 9 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,130,516. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in the present claims, “first display modules,” “frame area,” “light-emitting module,” and “transparent” are obvious depictions of “hybrid display devices,” “border area,” “second display module,” and “light-transmissive,” respectively, in the patent.
Claims 6-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,235,534. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are merely broader than the patent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 6 and 14 recite the limitation “the first display module”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 2-5, 7-13 and 15-20 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 14-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2022/0171228) in view of Li (US 2014/0198251).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura discloses a spliced display panel (DSP, Figs. 1-8), comprising:
at least two first display modules (PNL1, PNL2) being spliced, the first display module having a display area (DA) and a frame area (NDA), two adjacent frame areas forming a spliced region (Figs. 1, 3, 8), the spliced region being transparent (Fig. 4; para. [0047]), and the first display module having a display surface (10A) and a non-display surface (20B) disposed oppositely (Fig. 2);
a second module (CM1), the second display module being disposed on one side of the non-display surface away from the display surface (Fig. 3), and a projection of the second display module on the non-display surface corresponding to the spliced region (Fig. 3); and
an optically clear adhesive (FL; para. [0047]), wherein a seam is present between adjacent two of the first display modules (Figs. 1, 3, 8), and the optically clear adhesive is disposed in the seam and does not exceed the display surface (Fig. 3).
Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose the second module is a second display module.
However, Li discloses a spliced display panel (Figs. 1-2), comprising a second display module (2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second module being a second display module, as in Li, into the spliced display panel of Nakamura to display an image in the spliced frame to reduce viewing of the frame (Li, paras. [0002, 0020, 0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Nakamura discloses a spliced display device (DSP, Figs. 1-8), wherein the spliced display device comprises a spliced display panel (PNL) and a backlight module (CM1), the spliced display panel comprises at least two spliced first display modules (PNL1, PNL2) and a second module (CM2, Figs. 5-7), the spliced display panel further comprise an optically clear adhesive (FL; para. [0047]);
the first display module has a display area (DA) and a frame area (NDA), two adjacent frame areas forms a spliced region (Figs. 1, 5-8), the spliced region is transparent (Fig. 4; para. [0047]); the first display module has a display surface (10A) and a non-display surface (20B) disposed oppositely (Fig. 2);
the backlight module (CM1) is used to provide a backlight for the first display module (paras. [0041, 0045, 0049]);
wherein a seam is present between adjacent two of the first display modules (Figs. 1, 5-8), and the optically clear adhesive (FL) is disposed in the seam and does not exceed the display surface (Figs. 5-7).
Nakamura fails to explicitly disclose the second module is a second display module; the second display module is disposed on one side of the non-display surface away from the display surface, and a projection of the second display module on the non-display surface corresponds to the spliced region.
However, Li discloses a spliced display device (Figs. 1-2), comprising a second display module (2); the second display module is disposed on one side of the non-display surface away from the display surface (para. [0030]), and a projection of the second display module on the non-display surface corresponds to the spliced region (Figs. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second module being a second display module; the second display module disposed on one side of the non-display surface away from the display surface, and a projection of the second display module on the non-display surface corresponding to the spliced region, as in Li, into the spliced display panel of Nakamura to display an image in the spliced frame to reduce viewing of the frame (Li, paras. [0002, 0020, 0030]).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Nakamura discloses wherein the first display module (PNL) comprises an array substrate (10), a liquid crystal layer (LC), an opposite substrate (20), and a sealant (SL); the array substrate and the opposite substrate are disposed opposite to each other (Figs. 2-7); the sealant is connected between the array substrate and the opposite substrate (Figs. 2-7); the sealant is disposed corresponding to the frame area (Figs. 1-8); the liquid crystal layer is disposed between the array substrate and the opposite substrate (Figs. 2-7); and the liquid crystal layer is disposed corresponding to the display area (Figs. 1-7).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Nakamura discloses wherein the optically clear adhesive (FL) further extends to the non-display surface (20B) of the first display module (PNL) in the seam, and is disposed between the second module (CM1/CM2) and the non-display surface (Figs. 3-7).
Li further discloses the second display module (2).
Regarding claim 4, Nakamura discloses wherein a light transmittance of the sealant (SL) is more than 70% (Fig. 4; para. [0051]).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Nakamura discloses wherein the second module (CM1/CM2) deviates from 0 μm to 300 μm inward or outward in at least one side of the spliced region (Figs. 1-8).
Li further discloses the second display module (2).
Claims 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2021/0066389), hereinafter “Chen ‘389”, in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0339570), hereinafter “Chen ‘570”.
Regarding claim 6, Chen ‘389 discloses a spliced display panel (10, Figs. 1-9), comprising:
at least two first display modules (201, 202) being spliced, the first display module having a display area and a frame area (Fig. 1), two adjacent frame areas forming a spliced region (Figs. 1-9), the spliced region being transparent (Fig. 8; para. [0066]), and the first display module having a display surface and a non-display surface disposed oppositely (Fig. 8; paras. [0028, 0031]);
a second display module (100), the second display module being disposed on one side of the non-display surface away from the display surface (Fig. 8), and a projection of the second display module on the non-display surface corresponding to the spliced region (Figs. 1, 8);
wherein the second display module (100) further comprises a light conversion layer (170), the light conversion layer is disposed close to one side of the first display module (Fig. 8).
Chen ‘389 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second display module further comprises a light-emitting structure, and the light-emitting structure is disposed on one side of the light conversion layer away from the first display module.
However, Chen ‘570 discloses a spliced display panel (Figs. 1-16), wherein the second display module (106) further comprises a light-emitting structure (122A), and the light-emitting structure is disposed on one side of the light conversion layer (42Q, 46Q) away from the first display module (104) (Figs. 14-16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the second display module further comprises a light-emitting structure, and the light-emitting structure is disposed on one side of the light conversion layer away from the first display module, as in Chen ‘570, into the spliced display panel of Chen ‘389 to provide a self-emissive quantum dot display as desired.
Regarding claim 7, Chen ‘389 discloses wherein the light conversion layer (170) has a first light conversion sublayer (172), a second light conversion sublayer (174), and a light-transmitting hole (140, 142, or 150) that are disposed in a same layer (Fig. 8); the first light conversion sublayer and the second light conversion sublayer are respectively excited to emit light with different colors (para. [0058]).
Regarding claim 8, Chen ‘389 discloses wherein, the light conversion layer further has a light guide layer (140, 142, or 150), the light guide layer is disposed in the light-transmitting hole (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 9, Chen ‘389 discloses wherein the first light conversion sublayer (172) emits a red light when excited by the blue light, the second light conversion sublayer (174) emits a green light when excited by the blue light (para. [0058]), and the light-transmitting hole (140, 142, or 150) is used to transmit the blue light (paras. [0059, 0072]).
Chen ‘389 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light-emitting structure emits a blue light.
However, Chen ‘570 discloses wherein the light-emitting structure (122A) emits a blue light (para. [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the light-emitting structure emits a blue light, as in Chen ‘570, into the spliced display panel of Chen ‘389 to use a common, self-emissive quantum dot display as desired.
Regarding claim 10, Chen ‘389 discloses wherein the light conversion layer (170) has a first light conversion sublayer (172) and a second light conversion sublayer (174) that are disposed in a same layer (Fig. 8); the first and second light conversion sublayers are respectively excited to emit light with different colors (para. [0058]).
Chen ‘389 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the light conversion layer has a third light conversion sublayer that is disposed in the same layer; the third light conversion sublayer is excited to emit light with a different color.
However, Chen ‘570 discloses wherein the light conversion layer (42Q) has a third light conversion sublayer that is disposed in the same layer (Fig. 14A); the third light conversion sublayer is excited to emit light with a different color (para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the light conversion layer has a third light conversion sublayer that is disposed in the same layer; the third light conversion sublayer is excited to emit light with a different color, as in Chen ‘570, into the spliced display panel of Chen ‘389 to use a common, self-emissive quantum dot display as desired.
Regarding claim 11, Chen ‘389 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first light conversion sublayer emits a red light when excited by a light emitted by the light-emitting structure, the second light conversion sublayer emits a green light when excited by the light emitted by the light-emitting structure, and the third light conversion sublayer emits a blue light when excited by the light emitted by the light-emitting structure.
However, Chen ‘570 discloses wherein the first light conversion sublayer (42Q) emits a red light when excited by a light emitted by the light-emitting structure (122A), the second light conversion sublayer (42Q) emits a green light when excited by the light emitted by the light-emitting structure (122A), and the third light conversion sublayer (42Q) emits a blue light when excited by the light emitted by the light-emitting structure (para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the first light conversion sublayer emits a red light when excited by a light emitted by the light-emitting structure, the second light conversion sublayer emits a green light when excited by the light emitted by the light-emitting structure, and the third light conversion sublayer emits a blue light when excited by the light emitted by the light-emitting structure, as in Chen ‘570, into the spliced display panel of Chen ‘389 to use a common, self-emissive quantum dot display as desired.
Regarding claim 12, Chen ‘389 discloses wherein the light conversion layer further comprises a transparent photoresist layer (140; para. [0046]), the transparent photoresist layer at least partially fills the light-transmitting hole (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Chen ‘389 discloses wherein the spliced display panel (10) further comprises an optically clear adhesive (300; para. [0029]), a seam is present between adjacent two of the first display modules (201, 202), and the optically clear adhesive is disposed in the seam and does not exceed the display surface (Fig. 8).
Claims 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura et al. (US 2022/0171228) in view of Li (US 2014/0198251), as applied to claims 14 and 15 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 2019/0339570).
Regarding claim 17, Nakamura in view of Li fails to explicitly disclose wherein one side, away from the display surface, of the backlight module is flush with one side, away from the display surface, of the second display module.
However, Chen ‘570 discloses a spliced display device (Figs. 1-16), wherein one side, away from the display surface, of the backlight module (118) is flush with one side, away from the display surface, of the second display module (106 to bottom of 134) (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 7-9, 11-14, 16).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein one side, away from the display surface, of the backlight module is flush with one side, away from the display surface, of the second display module, as in Chen ‘570, into the spliced display panel of Nakamura and Li for even uniformity as desired.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Nakamura in view of Li fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second display module further comprises a light conversion layer and a light-emitting structure, the light conversion layer is disposed close to one side of the first display module, and the light-emitting structure is disposed on one side of the light conversion layer away from the first display module; and wherein the light conversion layer has a first light conversion sublayer, a second light conversion sublayer and a third light conversion sublayer that are disposed in a same layer; the first, second and third light conversion sublayers are respectively excited to emit light with different colors.
However, Chen ‘570 discloses a spliced display device (Figs. 1-16), wherein the second display module (106) further comprises a light conversion layer (42Q, 46Q) and a light-emitting structure (122A), the light conversion layer is disposed close to one side of the first display module (Figs. 14-16), and the light-emitting structure is disposed on one side of the light conversion layer (42Q, 46Q) away from the first display module (104) (Figs. 14-16); and wherein the light conversion layer (42Q) has a first light conversion sublayer, a second light conversion sublayer and a third light conversion sublayer that are disposed in a same layer (Fig. 14A); the first, second and third light conversion sublayers are respectively excited to emit light with different colors (para. [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate wherein the second display module further comprises a light conversion layer and a light-emitting structure, the light conversion layer is disposed close to one side of the first display module, and the light-emitting structure is disposed on one side of the light conversion layer away from the first display module; and wherein the light conversion layer has a first light conversion sublayer, a second light conversion sublayer and a third light conversion sublayer that are disposed in a same layer; the first, second and third light conversion sublayers are respectively excited to emit light with different colors, as in Chen ‘570, into the spliced display panel of Nakamura and Li to provide a self-emissive quantum dot display as desired.
Conclusion
/PAISLEY L WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871