DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1, 3-21 are pending in the application. Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration. Claims 1, and 3-9 are rejected under 35 USC 103.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 recites “[support found in at least paragraph 26]” in line 2. This should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “computing device” in claims 1 and 11.
The limitations will be interpreted as follows:
“a computing device” will be interpreted as a processor running software, or equivalents thereof, consistent with [0035] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 7-8, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern-Cohen et al. (WO 2017/168421 A2) in view of Sliwa (U.S Patent 6,039,701), Davey et al. (WO 2017/083588 A1), and Hon (U.S Patent 4,476,871).
Regarding Claim 1, Stern-Cohen discloses a system (Abstract), comprising:
a cup (Fig. 4C, 431) (Pg. 30, lines 1-7), configured to contact a vaginal wall of a patient (Pg. 26-27, lines 28-2)+(Pg. 30, lines 1-7)+(Pg. 43, lines 16-23) and creating at least a partial seal between the cup and the vaginal wall (Pg. 29, lines 6-9)+(Pg. 43, lines 16-23),
comprising:
a first end (Fig. 4C, 431, bottom portion), and a second end opposing the first end (Fig. 4C, 431, top portion) (Pg. 30, lines 1-7); and
a first opening positioned at the first end (Fig. 4C, 431, bottom portion has an opening as it is “cup shaped”, and therefore would have an opening on the distal end), and a second opening positioned at the second end (Fig. 4C, 431, top portion, there is a cable coming out of the top part of the cup portion, which means there must be a second opening there which allows the cable to exit. The cup is also a “hollow lumen” which suggests there are 2 openings at both ends) (Pg. 30, lines 1-7); and
an imaging unit within the cup (Fig. 4, 451) (Pg. 30, lines 1-7), the imaging unit configured to capture visual data through the first opening to measure cervical dilation of the patient (Pg. 30, lines 1-7)+(Pg. 15, lines 12-21), wherein the at least partial seal between the cup and the vaginal wall results in the capturing of visual data is stabilized (Pg. 29, lines 6-9)+(Pg. 43, lines 16-23);
a computing device (Pg. 7, lines 3-10) communicably coupled to the imaging unit configured to process the data to measure cervical dilation of the patient (Pg. 2, lines 19-21)+(Pg. 4, lines 1-2).
Stern-Cohen is silent regarding generate suction, silicone, and wherein the at least partial seal between the cup and the vaginal wall results in immobilization of the cup, a wire communicatively coupling the endoscope and the computing device, and a wire casing, encasing a portion of the wire between the second end of the cup and the computing device.
Sliwa teaches an apparatus for measuring a cervical diameters (Abstract). This system attaches (i.e. immobilizes) the device to the cervix using suction (Col 8, lines 53-65). The elastic cup member (Col 3, lines 6-9) of this device can be made of silicone (Col 15, lines 28-51). The system contains a wire which communicatively couples the device and the computing device (Fig. 2A, 27 connects the device 23 to the computing device 25) (Col 12-13, lines 58-12). The system further contains a wire casing (Fig. 2A, 31), which encases a portion of the wire between the computing device and the cervical device (Col 13, lines 8-12).
It would have been obvious to substitute the cup of Stern-Cohen with a silicone cup immobilized using suction, as taught by Sliwa, as the as the substitution for one known method of securing a medical device with the cervix with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a silicone cup with suction are reasonably predictable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined system to use a wire, as taught by Sliwa, because as the substitution for one known electrical communication method with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a wire are reasonably predictable. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a wire casing, as taught by Sliwa, because it improves the reliability of the connection, as recognized by Sliwa (Col 13, lines 8-12).
Stern Cohen is silent regarding the imaging unit being an endoscope.
Davey teaches a method of imaging the cervix (Abstract). This system uses an endoscope attached to a cup (Fig. 6d, 604) to image the cervix [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the imager of Stern-Cohen with an endoscope, as taught by Davey, as the substitution for one known imager with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using an endoscope are reasonably predictable.
Stern-Cohen fails to explicitly teach a leg strap and a computing device attached to the leg strap.
Hon teaches a system for monitoring cervical dilatation (Abstract). This system contains a leg strap, and the computing device attached to the leg strap (Col 3, lines 57-66) (The terminal is a computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to include a leg strap with the computing device, as taught by Hon, because this allows the system to not move longitudinally relative to the maternal leg, thereby maintain the position of the device and allowing the dilation to be accurately measured as recognized by Hon (Col 3-4, lines 66-4).
Regarding Claim 3, Stern-Cohen teaches the invention as claimed. Stern-Cohen further teaches a light emitting diode (Pg. 20, lines 3-5)+(Pg. 26, lines 5-8) configured to direct light through the first opening (Pg. 20, lines 3-5) (as the imager and the illuminator are part of the same system, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the illuminator would direct the light in the same area as the images (i.e. through the opening)).
Regarding Claim 7, Stern-Cohen teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Stern-Cohen further teaches wherein the cup and imaging unit are part of an intravaginal monitoring device for measuring cervical dilation of a patient (Pg. 2, lines 17-25)+(Pg. 2, lines 1-2).
Stern Cohen is silent regarding the imaging unit being an endoscope.
Davey teaches a method of imaging the cervix (Abstract). This system uses an endoscope attached to a cup (Fig. 6d, 604) to image the cervix [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the imager of Stern-Cohen with an endoscope, as taught by Davey, as the substitution for one known imager with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using an endoscope are reasonably predictable.
Regarding Claim 8, Stern-Cohen teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Stern-Cohen further teaches the device is further configured for measuring effacement of the patient (Pg. 4, lines 1-2).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern-Cohen in view of Sliwa, Davey, and Hon as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mansour et al. (U.S PGPub 2005/0049509 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Stern-Cohen teaches the invention substantially as claimed. While Stern-Cohen teaches the imager determines a distance between the imager and the cervix (Pg. 37, lines 16-19), Stern Cohen fails to explicitly teach a proximity sensor within the cup, wherein the sensor is configured to capture a distance between the imaging unit and a cervix of the patient.
Mansour teaches a probe for monitoring the cervix (Abstract). This probe contains a camera (Fig. 12, 506) and a proximity sensor (Fig. 12, 602) which is configured to capture a distance between the imaging unit and a cervix of the patient [0131]-[0132].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Stern-Cohen to include a proximity sensor, as taught by Mansour, because this allows for greater accuracy in the measurement of the cervix, as recognized by Mansour [0131]. One of ordinary skill would recognize that, as the imager of Stern-Cohen is within the cup, and the rangefinder of Mansour is on the imager [0131]-[0132], the combined system would result in the proximity sensor being with the cup.
Stern-Cohen is silent regarding the imaging unit being an endoscope.
Davey teaches a method of imaging the cervix (Abstract). This system uses an endoscope attached to a cup (Fig. 6d, 604) to image the cervix [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the imager of Stern-Cohen with an endoscope, as taught by Davey, as the substitution for one known imager with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using an endoscope are reasonably predictable.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination teaches the invention as claimed. Stern-Cohen further teaches a light emitting diode (Pg. 20, lines 3-5)+(Pg. 26, lines 5-8) configured to direct light through the first opening (Pg. 20, lines 3-5) (as the imager and the illuminator are part of the same system, one of ordinary skill would recognize that the illuminator would direct the light in the same area as the images (i.e. through the opening)), such that the cervix is illuminated by the light emitting diode (Pg. 26, lines 5-8)+(Pg. 20, lines 3-10 & lines 20-29) (As the illuminator is on the imager, it would illuminate what the imager is imaging (e.g. the cervix)).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Stern-Cohen further teaches wherein the cup, the imaging unit (Pg. 30, lines 1-7), are configured to be inserted together into a vaginal canal of a patient (Fig. 1A, 103) (Pg. 14, lines 24-26) and oriented such that the imaging unit captures visual data of the cervix (Fig. 1A, 107) (Pg. 15, lines 12-21).
Stern-Cohen fails to explicitly teach the proximity sensor.
Mansour teaches a probe for monitoring the cervix (Abstract). This probe contains a camera (Fig. 12A, 506) and a proximity sensor (Fig. 12A, 602) which is configured to capture a distance between the imaging unit and a cervix of the patient [0131]-[0132].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Stern-Cohen to include a proximity sensor, as taught by Mansour, because this allows for greater accuracy in the measurement of the cervix, as recognized by Mansour [0131]. One of ordinary skill would recognize that, as the imager of Stern-Cohen is within the cup, and the rangefinder of Mansour is on the imager [0131]-[0132], the combined system would result in the proximity sensor being with the cup and inserted along with the cup and imager.
Stern-Cohen is silent regarding the imaging unit being an endoscope.
Davey teaches a method of imaging the cervix (Abstract). This system uses an endoscope attached to a cup (Fig. 6d, 604) to image the cervix [0051].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the imager of Stern-Cohen with an endoscope, as taught by Davey, as the substitution for one known imager with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using an endoscope are reasonably predictable.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stern-Cohen in view of Sliwa, Davey, and Hon as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Eltorai (U.S PGPub 2023/0363696 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Stern-Cohen teaches the invention substantially as claimed. While Stern Cohen teaches identifying the fetal head (Pg. 21, lines 14-19) and the position of the fetal membrane (Pg. 22, lines 5-19) Stern-Cohen fails to explicitly teach wherein the device is further configured for measuring fetal position within the patient.
Eltorai teaches a system for monitoring labor progression (Abstract). This system determines the position of the fetus [0003]+[0032] using an optical sensor (Fig. 1, 120) [0015].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Stern-Cohen to measure fetal position within the patient, as taught by Eltorai, because this provides a safer, more precise, method of labor monitoring, thereby increasing the quality of care of the patient, as recognized by Eltorai [0002].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 allowed.
Claim 21 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 11 recites “wherein a part of the wire casing is integrated with the leg strap”. This, in combination with the other limitations, is not taught by the prior art without the benefit of improper hindsight.
Neither Stern-Cohen nor Davey teach a leg strap. Sliwa teaches that a portion of the device can be attached to the patient’s leg, but does not teach a leg strap. Hon teaches attaching a portion of the device to the patient’s leg using a leg strap. However, the wires of the Hon are attached directly to a computing device, and no portion of the wires go through the leg strap, and nothing suggests adding a wire casing to the leg strap. Nahabet (U.S PGPub 2021/0169371 A1) teaches attaching the wire to a leg using a holder [0052]. However, there is nothing to suggest that the holder is a leg strap with an integrated wire casing without the benefit of improper hindsight reasoning.
The prior art does not teach all the features of claim 11, and it is allowable. Claims 12-20 depend on claim 11, and are allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 21 contain similar features to claim 11, and would be allowable if rewritten in independent form for similar reasons.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections. Applicant asserts that the cited art does not teach the features of claims 4, 5, or 6. However, as detailed above, at least the Stern-Cohen and Mansour references teach those features.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nahabet (U.S PGPub 2021/0169371 A1), which teaches a cervical dilation measurement system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN D MATTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798