Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2025 and 11/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura(CN211670701) in view of Suzuki (JP6430762).
As to independent claim 1, Nakamura teaches a vehicle drive system including a motor (see paragraph [0038]), a temperature sensor (see paragraph [0033]) configured to detect a temperature state of the motor (1), and a resolver (20) configured to detect a rotational state of the motor (1), further comprising: a motor housing (13) accommodating the motor (1), the temperature sensor (see paragraph [0033]), and the resolver (20), and being open at one side in an axial direction of a motor rotation shaft (10); a cover member (15) covering the opening of the motor housing (13) from the one side; a temperature sensor harness (23) connected at a first end part thereof to the temperature sensor (see paragraph [0033]); and a resolver harness (21) connected at a first end part thereof to the resolver (20), wherein the cover member (15) has a window (16) through which the temperature sensor harness (23) passes, and a temperature sensor connector (41, 40) connectable to a first external harness is attached to the cover member (15) to penetrate a part of the cover member (15) separated from the window, wherein the temperature sensor connector (41, 40) is connected to a second end part of the temperature sensor harness (23), wherein a resolver connector (40) connectable to a second external harness is attached to the cover member (15), and wherein the resolver connector (40) is connected to a second end part of the resolver harness (21) as shown in figures 1-2, see paragraph [0014-0039].
However Nakamura teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except drive system in that a resolver connector connectable to a second external harness is attached to the motor housing to penetrate the motor.
Suzuki teaches drive system in that a resolver connector (44) connectable to a second external harness (41, 42) is attached to the motor housing (13) to penetrate the motor as shown in figures 1, 2 and see paragraph [0027], for the advantageous benefit of ensuring that biting of the wire harness in the edge part of a cooling pipe can be prevented since the cooling pipe is elastically supported by rotary electric machine case, thus suppressing vibration and noise generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Nakamura by using the drive system in that a resolver connector connectable to a second external harness is attached to the motor housing to penetrate the motor, as taught by Suzuki, to ensure that biting of the wire harness in the edge part of a cooling pipe can be prevented since the cooling pipe is elastically supported by rotary electric machine case, thus suppressing vibration and noise generation.
As to claim 2/1, Nakamura teaches wherein the cover member (15) includes a cover-side vertical wall part extending in a radial direction of the motor rotation shaft to cover the opening of the motor housing (13), and a cover-side circumferential wall part (15A) projecting in the axial direction of the motor rotation shaft from a circumferential edge portion of the cover-side vertical wall part to extend annularly, wherein the window is formed in the cover-side vertical wall part (15A), and wherein the temperature sensor (41, 40) connector is attached to the cover-side circumferential wall part to penetrate the cover-side circumferential wall part (15A) as shown in figured 1-2.
As to claim 3/2, Nakamura teaches wherein the temperature sensor (see paragraph [0033]) and the resolver (20) are disposed away from each other in the axial direction of the motor rotation shaft (10) as shown in figure 1.
As to claim 4/3, Nakamura teaches wherein the temperature sensor (see paragraph [0033]) is accommodated inside the motor housing (13) on a side closer to the cover-side vertical wall part (15A) as shown in figures 1-2.
As to claim 5/4, Nakamura teaches wherein the resolver (20) is accommodated inside the motor housing (13) on an opposite side from the cover-side vertical wall part (15A) as shown in figures 1-2.
As to claim 6/5, Nakamura teaches wherein the motor housing (13) has a housing-side vertical wall part (13B) extending in the radial direction of the motor rotation shaft (10), and a housing-side circumferential wall part (13C) projecting in the axial direction of the motor rotation shaft (10) from a circumferential edge portion of the housing-side vertical wall part (13B) to extend annularly, and coupled to the cover member (15) as shown in figure 1-2
However Nakamura in view of Suzuki teaches the claimed limitation as dissed above except wherein the resolver connector is attached to the housing-side circumferential wall part to penetrate the housing-side circumferential wall part.
Suzuki teaches the resolver connector (44) is attached to the housing-side circumferential wall part (13) to penetrate the housing-side circumferential wall part (13) as shown in figures 1-2, for the advantageous benefit of ensuring that biting of the wire harness in the edge part of a cooling pipe can be prevented since the cooling pipe is elastically supported by rotary electric machine case, thus suppressing vibration and noise generation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Nakamura in view of Suzuki by using the resolver connector is attached to the housing-side circumferential wall part to penetrate the housing-side circumferential wall part, as taught by Suzuki, to ensure that biting of the wire harness in the edge part of a cooling pipe can be prevented since the cooling pipe is elastically supported by rotary electric machine case, thus suppressing vibration and noise generation.
As to claim 8/1, Nakamura teaches wherein the temperature sensor (see paragraph [0033]) and the resolver (20) are disposed away from each other in the axial direction of the motor rotation shaft (10) as shown in figures 1-2.
As to claim 9/8, Nakamura teaches wherein the temperature sensor (see paragraph [0033]) is accommodated inside the motor housing (10) on a side closer to the cover-side vertical wall part (15A) as shown in figures 1-2.
As to claim 10/9, Nakamura teaches wherein the resolver (20) is accommodated inside the motor housing (10) on an opposite side from the cover-side vertical wall part (15A) as shown in figures 1-2.
As to claim 11/10, Nakamura teaches wherein the motor housing (13) has a housing-side vertical wall part (13B) extending in the radial direction of the motor rotation shaft (10), and a housing-side circumferential wall part (13B) projecting in the axial direction of the motor rotation shaft (10) from a circumferential edge portion of the housing-side vertical wall part (1B) to extend annularly, and coupled to the cover member (15), and wherein the resolver connector (40) is attached to the housing-side circumferential wall part (13C) to penetrate the housing-side circumferential wall part (13B) as shown in figures 1-2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 July 24, 2026