DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants’ Preliminary Amendments and Remarks, filed 23 January 2025, in the matter of Application N° 19/034,970. Said documents have been entered on the record. The Examiner further acknowledges the following:
Claims 1-66 have been canceled. Claims 67-76 have been added and are supported by the originally-filed disclosure. None of the newly added claims have been amended.
No new matter has been added.
Thus, claims 67-76 now represent all claims currently under consideration.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 17/057,624, filed on 29 April 2019.
Should Applicants desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
No Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) have been filed for consideration.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP §609.04(a) states, “the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper.” Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the Examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicants are required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP §608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 67 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the claim uses a traditional symbol of mathematical division “
”, to symbolize a recited range. See lines 11-12 and line 23 of claim 67;
the limitation reciting “wherein an electric current is applied to said release-active form of the drug” (lines 14-15) appears to be a duplicated step to that which is recited in line 10 of the claim; and
the phrase “used either individually;” (line 9) is duplicative and can be removed.
Claim 70 is objected because the language “…bioelectric potentials are taken reading by using …” is grammatically incorrect.
Claim 73 is objected because the language “…bioelectric potentials are taken reading by…” is grammatically incorrect.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
Claims 67-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 67 recites the limitations “the medicament” in line of the claim and “the drug substance stock (matrix) solution” in lines 3-4 of the claim.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Additionally, regarding claim 67, the phrase “such disorders” (line 2) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP §2173.05(d). The limitation reciting “for treating disorders of functions of organs or tissues or diseases accompanied by such disorders” renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear exactly what disorder is intended to be treated. [emphasis added]
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claim, which depends directly from independent claim 67, recites “wherein the external treatment – mechanical shaking of every dilution”.
This limitation is already presented in claim 67 (see lines 12-13), and therefore fails to further limit the recited invention.
Applicants may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 67-76 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Epshtein (US Pre-Grant Publication Nº 2017/0333560 A1; herein referred to as “Epshtein (2017)”) in view of Epshtein (US Pre-Grant Publication Nº 2013/0058982 A1; herein referred to as “Epshtein (2013)”).
With respect to independent claim 67, Epshtein (2017) discloses a medicament, wherein the medicament comprises a release-active form of a drug substance obtained by successive multiple (serial) dilutions of a drug substance stock (matrix) solution, combined with external treatment of each serial dilution, in particular by mechanical shaking. The release active form of the drug substance is also taught as being treated by passing an electric current wherein the electric current is applied to at least two electrodes immersed in the release-active form of the drug substance and wherein the electric current is proportional to bioelectric potentials measurements obtained.
The reference also discloses that the potential difference applied to the electrodes immersed in the release active form of drug substance is proportional in amplitude to the amplified resultant signal produced by the summing of the bioelectric potential measurements obtained by the electrophysiological method on the normal functioning organs or tissues. See ¶[0006] and ¶[0104]. Bioelectric potentials are also taught as being measured from tissues of healthy donors. See e.g., ¶[0036].
Epshtein (2017) also discloses the bioelectric potentials are input to channel amplifier where the peak amplitude of the output signal being between 0.5 +/- volts the amplified bioelectric potentials are based through a low-pass filter with a bandwidth of 0.5 to 35 Hz, thus meeting the limitations of claim 67 and 69. See ¶[0078]-¶[0080] and claims 88-91.
Epshtein (2017) is deficient with respect to claim 67 on two points. First, the reference does not expressly disclose the recited drug substance (matrix) stock solution concentration of 0.5-10 mg/mL.
Secondly, the reference does not expressly disclose the instantly recited drug substances.
Regarding the former, the Examiner advances that Epshtein (2017) need not necessarily disclose the starting concentration for the drug substance stock (matrix) solution(s), notably as the reference does expressly disclose subjecting the matrix solution to serial dilution.
Stated another way, the instantly claimed method does not recite what the concentration of the prepared (diluted and shaken) drug solution will ultimately be; it only recites what the starting point might be. As such, the initial stock solution concentration is not considered to be definitive of the claimed method, since the recited method departs from the starting concentration.
However, regarding both deficiencies, Epshtein (2013) discloses activated-potentiated forms of antibodies to brain-specific protein S-100 and activated-potentiated forms of antibodies to endothelial NO synthase. See e.g., Abstract; ¶[0012]. Paragraph [0021] further defines “activated-potentiated form” as being prepared from a stock solution having a starting concentration ranging from about 0.5 to about 5.0 mg/mL and preferably being diluted in a water or water-ethyl alcohol mixture. The procedure for the drug substance also includes vertical (mechanical) shaking following the dilution steps.
The preferred activated-potentiated form of the prepared drug substance will be an antibody to protein S-100 as a monoclonal, polyclonal, or a natural antibody. See e.g., ¶[0016].
Based on the combined guidance provided the references, the Examiner submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art, would have had a reasonable expectation of success in devising the instantly claimed preparation method by modifying the method of Epshtein (2017) to prepare a drug substance disclosed by Epshtein (2013).
The key similarity shared by the two references is that they employ the same method of preparing their respective drug solutions. The key distinction between the two teachings is that Epshtein (2017) simply does not specifically identify the substances prepared, referring to said substance as the “AP drug”. Modifying Epshtein (2017) to incorporate specific actives as disclosed by Epshtein (2013) would present the skilled artisan with the expectation of meeting the limitations of instant claims 67 and 69.
Further motivation is taken from Epshtein (2017) at ¶[0025] where disorders to be treated are discussed as including cerebrovascular diseases/chronic vascular disorders of the brain, dementia in Alzheimer’s disease, and dementia in other diseases. Epshtein (2013) is directed to methods for treating Alzheimer’s disease, thereby lending guidance to the drug substances relied upon by the reference.
With respect to claim 68, Epshtein (2017) discloses the treated release active form of the drug substance is subjected to successive multiple dilutions in a solvent selected from the group comprising water and a mixture of water and ethanol, complemented by external treatment, thus meeting the limitations of claim 68. See e.g., Abstract; ¶[0006].
The reference also discloses that bioelectric potentials (or biopotentials) are obtained by electroencephalography (EEG), thereby meeting the limitations recited by instant claims 70, 72, and 73 (see e.g., Abstract; ¶[0006]).
Lastly, regarding the limitations recited by each of claims 71 and 74-76, ¶[0078] discloses that “[p]referably, the differences of biopotential are initially recorded in referential derivations by recording electrodes that contribute to separate channels from different locations on the scalp and are referenced to a zero potential point (underlying the reference electrode) on the ear-lobe, following which they are amplified separately in each channel, the amplified outputs being then digitized and the resulting digitized and digitally filed signals are transferred into the memory of a programmable digital signal summing unit—a signal summer, where the digital signals are added up to produce a summed digital signal representing the overall (summed) potential difference of the referential derivations employed, which is thereafter inputted to a digital-to-analog converter of an arbitrary waveform generator, where it is converted back to a summed analog signal to generate output signals in the form of voltages (potential difference) which approximate the waveform of the summed difference of bioelectric potentials recorded, and are fed onto at least two current electrodes immersed in the container with the initial neutral carrier.”
Based on the combined teachings of the references, the Examiner submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success at devising the instantly claimed method of treatment. Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and absent a clear showing of evidence to the contrary.
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Robert A. Wax can be reached on (571) 272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Jeffrey T. Palenik/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1615