DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed to date have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fougnies (US 20190049219) herein after referred to as D1.
With regard to claim 1, D1 teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); comprising: a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (32); a laser rangefinder (36); an orientation sensor (38); a display (44); a memory (50); and a processor (30) coupled to the GNSS receiver (32), the laser rangefinder (36), the orientation sensor (38), the display (44), and the memory (50), wherein the processor (30) is configured to: show a visual scene (4A-4C) viewed through the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]); mark ([0120] and [0133]) a target location ([0120]) in the visual scene (4A-4C) using the laser rangefinder (36) in response to receiving a mark ([0120] and [0133]) command from a user ([0133]; user) to mark ([0120] and [0133]) the target location ([0120]); create a waypoint ([0021];communicates location) of the target location ([0120]) based on data ([0021];communicates location data) from the GNSS receiver (32), the laser rangefinder (36), and the orientation sensor (38); store the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) in the memory (50); load the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) in response to receiving a load command ([0133];select a target of interest through the use of selector buttons) to load the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) from the user ([0133]; user); and show an augmented reality ([0124]) overlayed by the display (44) on a different visual scene (4A-4C) viewed through the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]), wherein the augmented reality ([0124]) includes an indicator (4A and 4C) to guide the user ([0133]; user) to the waypoint ([0021];communicates location).
With regard to claim 2, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the processor (30) is configured to access map data ([0021]; communicates location data) to create the waypoint ([0021];communicates location).
With regard to claim 3, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the data ([0021];communicates location data) from the laser rangefinder (36) comprises a distance ([0002]) between the laser rangefinder (36) and the target location ([0120]).
With regard to claim 4, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the data ([0021];communicates location data) from the laser rangefinder (36) comprises an indication that a distance ([0002]) between the laser rangefinder (36) and the target location ([0120]) is beyond a maximum range ([0038]) of the laser rangefinder (36); wherein the processor (30) is configured to access map data ([0021];communicates location data) and interface the data ([0021];communicates location data) from the GNSS receiver (32), the laser rangefinder (36), and the orientation sensor (38) with the map data ([0021];communicates location data) to draw a line that intersects with earth to mark ([0120] and [0133]) the target location ([0120]) that is out of range of the laser rangefinder (36).
With regard to claim 5, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the augmented reality ([0124]) includes a direction indicator (4A and 4C) to direct the user ([0133]; user) in which direction to turn the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) to view the waypoint ([0021];communicates location), which dynamically changes (4A-4C) as the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) is turned.
With regard to claim 6, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the augmented reality ([0124]) includes a vertical angle ([0035]) indicator (4A and 4C) to direct the user ([0133]; user) in which direction to adjust an angle ([0035]) of the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) to view the waypoint ([0021];communicates location), which dynamically changes (4A-4C) as the angle ([0035]) is adjusted.
With regard to claim 7, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 1, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the augmented reality ([0124]) includes a stop indicator (4A and 4C) to direct the user ([0133]; user) to stop moving in response to the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) being within the different visual scene (4A-4C) viewed through the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) on the display (44).
With regard to claim 8, D1 teaches an optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) comprising: a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (32); a laser rangefinder (36); an orientation sensor (38); a display (44); a memory (50); and a processor (30) coupled to the GNSS receiver (32), the laser rangefinder (36), the orientation sensor (38), the display (44), and the memory (50), wherein the processor (30) is configured to: show a visual scene (4A-4C) viewed through the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]); mark ([0120] and [0133]) a target location ([0120]) in the visual scene (4A-4C) using the laser rangefinder (36) in response to receiving a mark ([0120] and [0133]) command from a user ([0133]; user) to mark ([0120] and [0133]) the target location ([0120]); create a waypoint ([0021];communicates location) of the target location ([0120]) based on data ([0021];communicates location data) from the GNSS receiver (32), the laser rangefinder (36), and the orientation sensor (38); store the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) in the memory (50); load the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) in response to receiving a load command ([0133];select a target of interest through the use of selector buttons) to load the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) from the user ([0133]; user); and show an augmented reality ([0124]) overlayed by the display (44) on a different visual scene (4A-4C) viewed through the optical, wherein the augmented reality ([0124]) includes: a direction indicator (4A and 4C), to direct the user ([0133]; user) in which direction to turn the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) to view the waypoint ([0021];communicates location), which dynamically changes (4A-4C) as the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) is turned; and a vertical angle ([0035]) indicator (4A and 4C), to direct the user ([0133]; user) in which direction to adjust an angle ([0035]) of the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) to view the waypoint ([0021];communicates location), which dynamically changes (4A-4C) as the angle ([0035]) is adjusted.
With regard to claim 9, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the direction indicator (4A and 4C) is green ([0097]: highlight a target in a particular color).
With regard to claim 10, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the direction indicator (4A and 4C) includes a direction of travel ([0077]).
With regard to claim 11, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the direction indicator (4A and 4C) includes indicator (4A and 4C)s of north, east, south, and west ([0003]).
With regard to claim 12, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 8, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the vertical angle ([0035]) indicator (4A and 4C) includes a numerical degree call out ([0077]).
With regard to claim 13, D1 teaches an optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) comprising: a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver (32); a laser rangefinder (36); a magnetometer ([0008]); a tilt sensor ([0008]); a display (44); a memory (50); and a processor (30) coupled to the GNSS receiver (32), the laser rangefinder (36), the magnetometer ([0008]), the tilt sensor ([0008]), the display (44), and the memory (50), wherein the processor (30) is configured to: show a visual scene (4A-4C) viewed through the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]); mark ([0120] and [0133]) a target location ([0120]) in the visual scene (4A-4C) using the laser rangefinder (36) in response to receiving a mark ([0120] and [0133]) command from a user ([0133]; user) to mark ([0120] and [0133]) the target location ([0120]); create a waypoint ([0021];communicates location) of the target location ([0120]) based on data ([0021];communicates location data) from the GNSS receiver (32), the laser rangefinder (36), the magnetometer ([0008]), and the tilt sensor ([0008]); store the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) in the memory (50); load the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) in response to receiving a load command ([0133];select a target of interest through the use of selector buttons) to load the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) from the user ([0133]; user); and show an augmented reality ([0124]) overlayed by the display (44) on a different visual scene (4A-4C) viewed through the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]) on the display (44), wherein the augmented reality ([0124]) includes a stop indicator (4A and 4C), to direct the user ([0133]; user) to stop moving, which is display (44)ed when the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) is in the different visual scene (4A-4C).
With regard to claim 14, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the stop indicator (4A and 4C) includes a green ([0097]: highlight a target in a particular color) circle.
With regard to claim 15, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the processor (30) is configured to determine a distance ([0002]) to the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) based on the data ([0021];communicates location data) from the GNSS receiver (32), the laser rangefinder (36), the magnetometer ([0008]), and the tilt sensor ([0008]).
With regard to claim 16, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 15, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the augmented reality ([0124]) includes the distance ([0002]) to the waypoint ([0021];communicates location).
With regard to claim 17, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the processor (30) is configured to transmit the waypoint ([0021];communicates location) to another device ([0051]).
With regard to claim 18, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the augmented reality ([0124]) includes map information ([0036]).
With regard to claim 19, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 13, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); further comprising an accelerometer ([0008]) in a monocular of the optical system (4A-4C; and [0002]).
With regard to claim 20, D1 teaches all of the limitations of the claimed invention as have been outlined above with respect to claim 19, wherein D1 further teaches an optical system, in at least one of (Figs. 2, 3, and 4A-4C); wherein the processor (30) is configured to: determine an angle ([0035]) of rotation based on a reading taken by the accelerometer ([0008]); and rotate information on the display (44) to the angle ([0035]) of rotation ([0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karcher (US 20120097741) weapon sight with gps, and marking functions
/GRANT A GAGNON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/BALRAM T PARBADIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872