DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “wherein the seat bases are devoid of connectors enabling assembly of the first side of any one of the seat bases with the first arm, and are devoid of connectors enabling assembly of the second side of any one of the seat bases with the second arm.” It is unclear how the seat bases may be “devoid of connectors” allowing the first side of the seat base to be assembled with the first arm and the second side of the seat base with the second arm when claim 1 states “a first arm having a first inboard side including a further pair of the female connectors interlockable with the pair of male connectors of the first side of any first one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the first arm to the first seat base.” Claim 1 expressly states the first side of the seat base attaches to the first arm and same for the second side of the seat base and the second arm, so claim 2 is in direct contradiction to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over England (US 5314234) in view of Longnecker (US 20060033368). England teaches a knock-down furniture assembly comprising: a) a seating assembly including a plurality of seat sections releasably securable to one another in a laterally side-by-side arrangement (fig. 2A: 28), each seat section including: (i) a seat base having a front, a rear opposite the front, and first and second opposed sides each extending between the front and the rear (as shown in fig. 3), the first side of each seat base having a male connector attached thereto (fig. 3, 4B: 40) and the second side of each seat base having a female connector (fig. 4A: 32; Col. 3, lines 12-15) attached thereto, wherein the male connectors of the first side of any one seat base are releasably interlockable with the female connectors of the second side of any other seat base for releasably securing together the respective first and second sides of two adjacent seat bases (Col. 3, lines 40-46); and (ii) a seat back having a top, a bottom vertically opposite the top (fig. 3: 26), b) a first arm (fig. 2: 30) having a first inboard side including a female connector (fig. 4A: 32) interlockable with the male connector of the first side of any first one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the first arm to the first seat base; and c) a second arm (fig. 4A: other end arm 30) having a second inboard side including a male connector interlockable with the female connector of the second side of any second one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the second arm to the second seat base (as discussed in Col. 3, lines 40-46); wherein the seat bases are devoid of connectors enabling assembly of the first side of one seat base with the first side of another seat base, and are devoid of connectors enabling assembly of the second side of one seat base with the second side of another seat base, and the seat bases are identical to one another (the bases of 12 and 14 are identical and may be used alone without wedge 16 to form a sofa), thereby facilitating error-free assembly of the first arm, the plurality of seat bases, and the second arm.
England does not teach a plurality of rear connectors adjacent the rear of the seat base and a plurality of bottom connectors adjacent the bottom and alignable with the rear connectors of the seat base for releasably attaching the seat back to the seat base to form the seat section or a pair of male and female connectors on each side of the seat base and respective arm face. However, Longnecker teaches a modular furniture assembly comprising a seat base having a pair of connectors on each side of the seat for each arm or adjoining seat base (as shown in fig. 2) as well as a removable seatback (fig. 7A: 12) connected by rear connectors adjacent the bottom of the seat back and rear of the seat base (fig. 7A: 40a, 40b). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a detachable seat back in order to allow easier transportation or replacement of the seat back and a pair of connectors on each side of the seat base in order to provide a more secure connection.
As concerns claim 3, England teaches a knock-down furniture assembly, comprising: a) a seating assembly including a plurality of seat sections (fig. 2A: 28) releasably securable to one another in a laterally side-by-side arrangement, each seat section including: (i) a seat base having a front, a rear opposite the front and first and second opposed sides each extending between the front and the rear (as shown in fig. 3), the first side of each seat base having a base first side connector (fig. 4B: 40) attached thereto and the second side of each seat base having a base second side connector attached thereto (fig. 4A: 32; as discussed in Col. 3, lines 12-15) wherein the base first side connector of the first side of any one seat base is releasably interlockable with the base second side connector of the second side of any other seat base for releasably securing together the respective first and second sides of two adjacent seat bases; and (ii) a seat back having a top, a bottom vertically opposite the top, first and second opposed sides each extending between the top and bottom (fig. 3: 26); b) a first arm (fig. 2: 30) having a first inboard side including a second base side connector (fig. 4A: 32) interlockable with the first base side connector of the first side of any first one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the first arm to the first seat base; and c) a second arm (fig. 4A: other end of the furniture assembly armrest 30) having a second inboard side including a first base side connector (fig. 4B: 40) interlockable with the second base side connector (fig. 4A: 32) of the second side of any second one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the second arm to the second seat base (Col. 3, lines 40-46);
England does not teach a plurality of rear connectors adjacent the rear of the seat base and a plurality of bottom connectors adjacent the bottom and alignable with the rear connectors of the seat base for releasably attaching the seat back to the seat base to form the seat section wherein the first and second sides of the seat backs of the plurality of seat sections are configured to facilitate said attaching the seat backs in any order relative to one another after the seat bases of the plurality of seat sections are assembled together, thereby facilitating order-neutral assembly of the seat backs with the seat bases after the seat bases are secured together. However, Longnecker teaches a modular furniture assembly comprising a seat base comprising a removable seatback (fig. 7A: 12) connected by rear connectors adjacent the bottom of the seat back and rear of the seat base (fig. 7A: 40a, 40b) which allows attaching the seat backs in any order relative to one another after the seat bases of the plurality of seat sections are assembled together. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a detachable seat back in order to allow easier transportation or replacement of the seat back.
As concerns claim 4, England, as modified, teaches wherein the first and second inboard sides of the first and second armrests, respectively, are devoid of connectors for securing each respective armrest to an adjacent seat back (as shown in Longnecker, fig. 2)
As concerns claim 5, England, as modified, teaches wherein the first and second sides of each seat back are devoid of connectors (as shown in Longnecker, fig. 2).
As concerns claim 12, England teaches a knock-down furniture assembly, comprising: a) a seating assembly including a plurality of seat sections (fig. 2A: 28) releasably securable to one another in a laterally side-by-side arrangement, each seat section including: (i) a seat base having a front, a rear opposite the front and first and second opposed sides each extending between the front and the rear (as shown in fig. 3), the first side of each seat base having a base first side connector (fig. 4B: 40) attached thereto and the second side of each seat base having a base second side connector attached thereto (fig. 4A: 32; as discussed in Col. 3, lines 12-15) wherein the base first side connector of the first side of any one seat base is releasably interlockable with the base second side connector of the second side of any other seat base for releasably securing together the respective first and second sides of two adjacent seat bases; and (ii) a seat back having a top, a bottom vertically opposite the top, first and second opposed sides each extending between the top and bottom (fig. 3: 26); b) a first arm (fig. 2: 30) having a first inboard side including a second base side connector (fig. 4A: 32) interlockable with the first base side connector of the first side of any first one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the first arm to the first seat base; and c) a second arm (fig. 4A: other end of the furniture assembly armrest 30) having a second inboard side including a first base side connector (fig. 4B: 40) interlockable with the second base side connector (fig. 4A: 32) of the second side of any second one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the second arm to the second seat base (Col. 3, lines 40-46);
England does not teach a plurality of rear connectors adjacent the rear of the seat base and a plurality of bottom connectors adjacent the bottom and alignable with the rear connectors of the seat base for releasably attaching the seat back to the seat base to form the seat section wherein the first and second sides of the seat backs of the plurality of seat sections are configured to facilitate said attaching the seat backs in any order relative to one another after the seat bases of the plurality of seat sections are assembled together, thereby facilitating removal of the seat backs in any order relative to one another when the seat backs, seat bases and first and second arms are assembled together. However, Longnecker teaches a modular furniture assembly comprising a seat base comprising a removable seatback (fig. 7A: 12) connected by rear connectors adjacent the bottom of the seat back and rear of the seat base (fig. 7A: 40a, 40b) which allows attaching the seat backs in any order relative to one another after the seat bases of the plurality of seat sections and arms are assembled together. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a detachable seat back in order to allow easier transportation or replacement of the seat back.
As concerns claim 13, England, as modified, teaches wherein the first and second inboard sides of the first and second armrests, respectively, are devoid of connectors for securing each respective armrest to an adjacent seat back (as shown in Longnecker, fig. 2)
As concerns claim 14, England, as modified, teaches wherein the first and second sides of each seat back are devoid of connectors (as shown in Longnecker, fig. 2).
Claim(s) 3, 6, 12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogan (US 3973800) in view of Longnecker (US 20060033368). Kogan teaches a knock-down furniture assembly, comprising: a) a seating assembly including a plurality of seat sections (fig. 3:26) releasably securable to one another in a laterally side-by-side arrangement, each seat section including: (i) a seat base having a front, a rear opposite the front and first and second opposed sides each extending between the front and the rear (as shown in fig. 3), the first side of each seat base having a base first side connector (fig. 2: 30) attached thereto and the second side of each seat base having a base second side connector attached thereto (fig. 2: 30) wherein the base first side connector of the first side of any one seat base is releasably interlockable with the base second side connector of the second side of any other seat base for releasably securing together the respective first and second sides of two adjacent seat bases; and (ii) a seat back having a top, a bottom vertically opposite the top, first and second opposed sides each extending between the top and bottom (fig. 2: 28); b) a first arm (fig. 2: 22) having a first inboard side including a second base side connector (fig. 2: 30) interlockable with the first base side connector of the first side of any first one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the first arm to the first seat base; and c) a second arm (fig. 2: 24) having a second inboard side including a first base side connector (fig. 2: 30) interlockable with the second base side connector (fig. 2: 30) of the second side of any second one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the second arm to the second seat base (as shown in figs. 2 and 3); wherein the first and second sides of the seat backs of the plurality of seat sections are configured to facilitate said attaching the seat backs in any order relative to one another after the seat bases of the plurality of seat sections are assembled together, thereby facilitating order-neutral assembly of the seat backs with the seat bases after the seat bases are secured together.
Kogan does not teach a plurality of rear connectors adjacent the rear of the seat base and a plurality of bottom connectors adjacent the bottom and alignable with the rear connectors of the seat base for releasably attaching the seat back to the seat base to form the seat section. However, Longnecker teaches a modular furniture assembly comprising a seat base comprising a removable seatback (fig. 7A: 12) connected by rear connectors adjacent the bottom of the seat back and rear of the seat base (fig. 7A: 40a, 40b). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a more stable connection of the seat back to the seat section.
As concerns claim 6, Kogan, as modified, teaches wherein a) the first side of each seat back has a seat back first side connector (fig. 2: 30) and the second side of each seat back has a seat back second side connector (fig. 2: 30), wherein the seat back first side connector of the first side of any one seat back is interlockable with the seatback second side connector of the second side of any other seat back for releasably securing together the respective first and second sides of two adjacent seat backs against relative forward and backward movement between the two adjacent seat backs; b) the first inboard side of the first arm includes a seat back second side connector (fig. 2: 30) interlockable with the seat back first side connector of the first side of a first one of the seat backs for releasably securing together the first arm and the first seat back against relative forward and backward movement between the first arm and the first seat back; and c) the second inboard side of the second arm includes a seat back first side connector (fig. 2: 30) interlockable with the seat back second side connector of the second side of any second one of the seat backs for releasably securing together the second arm and the second seat back against relative forward and backward movement between the second arm and the second seat back.
As concerns claim 12, Kogan teaches a knock-down furniture assembly, comprising: a) a seating assembly including a plurality of seat sections (fig. 3:26) releasably securable to one another in a laterally side-by-side arrangement, each seat section including: (i) a seat base having a front, a rear opposite the front and first and second opposed sides each extending between the front and the rear (as shown in fig. 3), the first side of each seat base having a base first side connector (fig. 2: 30) attached thereto and the second side of each seat base having a base second side connector attached thereto (fig. 2: 30) wherein the base first side connector of the first side of any one seat base is releasably interlockable with the base second side connector of the second side of any other seat base for releasably securing together the respective first and second sides of two adjacent seat bases; and (ii) a seat back having a top, a bottom vertically opposite the top, first and second opposed sides each extending between the top and bottom (fig. 2: 28); b) a first arm (fig. 2: 22) having a first inboard side including a second base side connector (fig. 2: 30) interlockable with the first base side connector of the first side of any first one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the first arm to the first seat base; and c) a second arm (fig. 2: 24) having a second inboard side including a first base side connector (fig. 2: 30) interlockable with the second base side connector (fig. 2: 30) of the second side of any second one of the seat bases for releasably attaching the second arm to the second seat base (as shown in figs. 2 and 3); wherein the first and second sides of the seat backs of the plurality of seat sections are configured to facilitate said attaching the seat backs in any order relative to one another after the seat bases of the plurality of seat sections are assembled together, thereby facilitating removal of the seat backs in any order relative to one another when the seat backs, seat bases and first and second arms are assembled together.
Kogan does not teach a plurality of rear connectors adjacent the rear of the seat base and a plurality of bottom connectors adjacent the bottom and alignable with the rear connectors of the seat base for releasably attaching the seat back to the seat base to form the seat section. However, Longnecker teaches a modular furniture assembly comprising a seat base comprising a removable seatback (fig. 7A: 12) connected by rear connectors adjacent the bottom of the seat back and rear of the seat base (fig. 7A: 40a, 40b). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a more stable connection of the seat back to the seat section.
As concerns claim 15, Kogan, as modified, teaches wherein a) the first side of each seat back has a seat back first side connector (fig. 2: 30) and the second side of each seat back has a seat back second side connector (fig. 2: 30), wherein the seat back first side connector of the first side of any one seat back is interlockable with the seatback second side connector of the second side of any other seat back for releasably securing together the respective first and second sides of two adjacent seat backs against relative forward and backward movement between the two adjacent seat backs; b) the first inboard side of the first arm includes a seat back second side connector (fig. 2: 30) interlockable with the seat back first side connector of the first side of a first one of the seat backs for releasably securing together the first arm and the first seat back against relative forward and backward movement between the first arm and the first seat back; and c) the second inboard side of the second arm includes a seat back first side connector (fig. 2: 30) interlockable with the seat back second side connector of the second side of any second one of the seat backs for releasably securing together the second arm and the second seat back against relative forward and backward movement between the second arm and the second seat back.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-11 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art references of England, Longnecker and Kogan fail to teach
wherein the seat back first side connectors and the seat back second side connectors, when interlocked with one another, form a plurality of respective pass-through connector assemblies each having a pass-through axis oriented generally vertically when the seat back is upright, and wherein for each pass-through connector assembly, the respective seat back first side connector is disengageable from the respective seat back second side connector by relative sliding in either direction along the respective pass-through axis.
Further, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify the prior art absent hindsight.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636