Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it merely consists of a single run-on sentence without regard to proper grammatical form. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “developing mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 16-20, the phrase “is calculated from the image data and the sheet print rate” is indefinite because it is unclear from the clause, in its entirety, to what subject/concept the verb phrase “is calculated” is referring back (i.e. the first cumulative print rate, the sheet print rate, the ratio, or the area of the toner image formed). As a result, it is unclear what is calculated from the image data and the sheet print rate.
In claim 1, lines 25-28, the phrase “executes, …, first processing of performing only the image quality adjusting processing in a first period, which is a period until the first cumulative print rate exceeds a predetermined first reference value and the first image quality adjusting processing is performed” is indefinite as it is unclear how the ‘image quality adjusting processing’ can be performed in the first period when it appears as though the performing of the processing defines the end point of the period.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), Embodiment 4, in view of Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), Embodiment 1.
Regarding claim 1, Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 4, teach an image forming device (fig.1) that forms an image on a sheet, the image forming device comprising: a toner container housing a toner inside (fig.1, #4Y-#4K); a developing mechanism that forms a toner image on a surface of an image carrier using the toner supplied from the toner container (fig.1, #44 forming on #22); a developing power supply that supplies the developing mechanism with a developing bias (fig.2, #101 to ‘OTHER UNITS’; ex.fig.20, #S34; para.0100,0156,0159&0194), which is a predetermined voltage; an image sensor that detects an image density of the toner image (fig.1&3, #60); and a controller (fig.2, #11) that can execute image forming processing of forming the toner image on the surface of the image carrier based on image data that is electronic data of the image formed on the sheet (para.0158&0167) and image quality adjusting processing of forming an image quality adjusting toner image, which is a predetermined toner image, on the surface of the image carrier and adjusting a value of the developing bias based on image density information detected by the image sensor (para.0155-0162&0274-0280), and a remaining amount determining processor that determines whether the toner remains in the toner container based on image density information of the image quality adjusting toner image detected by the image sensor when the image quality adjusting processing is performed (para.0285); and executes, at a first interval, which is a predetermined interval, first processing of performing only the image quality adjusting processing in a first period (fig.25; para.0274-0285).
Regarding claim 6, Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 4, teach an image forming device wherein the remaining amount determining processor determines that the toner is not in the toner container in a case where the image density detected by the image sensor of the image quality adjusting toner image that is formed does not reach a target density even by changing the value of the developing bias and forming the image quality adjusting toner image during the image quality adjusting processing (para.0282&0285).
Regarding claim 7, Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 4, teach an image forming device wherein the image forming device further includes a display, and the controller displays, on the display, a message indicating that the toner container is empty in a case where the remaining amount determining processor determines that the toner does not remain in the toner container (para.0280&0291).
Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 4, also allows for judging an abnormally low state prior to getting to that point by density alone, and that this would appropriately lead to the same result (para.0290).
However, Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 4, fail to teach what that alternate early judgement would be and thus does not teach a first cumulative print rate calculator that calculates a first cumulative print rate obtained by adding and cumulating a sheet print rate, which is a ratio between an area of the toner image formed during the image forming processing and an area of the sheet, is calculated from the image data and the sheet print rate obtained each time the image forming processing is performed.
Regarding claim 1, Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 1, teach an image forming device (fig.1) that forms an image on a sheet, the image forming device comprising: a toner container housing a toner inside (fig.1, #4Y-#4K); a developing mechanism that forms a toner image on a surface of an image carrier using the toner supplied from the toner container (fig.1, #44 forming on #22); a developing power supply that supplies the developing mechanism with a developing bias (fig.2, #101 to ‘OTHER UNITS’; ex.fig.20, #S34; para.0100,0156,0159&0194), which is a predetermined voltage; an image sensor that detects an image density of the toner image (fig.1&3, #60); and a controller (fig.2, #11) that can execute image forming processing of forming the toner image on the surface of the image carrier based on image data that is electronic data of the image formed on the sheet (para.0158&0167) and image quality adjusting processing of forming an image quality adjusting toner image, which is a predetermined toner image, on the surface of the image carrier and adjusting a value of the developing bias based on image density information detected by the image sensor (para.0155-0162&0194-0198), wherein the controller includes a first cumulative print rate calculator that calculates a first cumulative print rate obtained by adding and cumulating a sheet print rate, which is a ratio between an area of the toner image formed during the image forming processing and an area of the sheet, is calculated from the image data and the sheet print rate obtained each time the image forming processing is performed (para.0142) and a remaining amount determining processor that determines whether the toner remains in the toner container based on image density information of the image quality adjusting toner image detected by the image sensor when the image quality adjusting processing is performed (para.0155-0156), executes, at a first interval, which is a predetermined interval, which is a period until the first cumulative print rate exceeds a predetermined first reference value (para.0137-0142: level (1)) and the first image quality adjusting processing is performed (para.0155-0156), and performs the image quality adjusting processing at a second interval shorter than the first interval and executes second processing of performing determining processing by using the remaining amount determining processor in a second period, which is a period after a time point at which the image quality adjusting processing is executed first time after the first cumulative print rate exceeds the first reference value (para.0137-0142: level (2) or (3), since interval until (1) is most of the use-life of the cartridge, the interval to (2) or (3) will be shorter).
Regarding claim 6, Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 1, teach an image forming device wherein the remaining amount determining processor determines that the toner is not in the toner container in a case where the image density detected by the image sensor of the image quality adjusting toner image that is formed does not reach a target density even by changing the value of the developing bias and forming the image quality adjusting toner image during the image quality adjusting processing (para.0138-0139,0156,&0159-0162).
Regarding claim 7, Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 1, teach an image forming device wherein the image forming device further includes a display, and the controller displays, on the display, a message indicating that the toner container is empty in a case where the remaining amount determining processor determines that the toner does not remain in the toner container (para.0126,0137-0139&0176).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the near-end of toner evaluation of Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 4, by including the combined cumulative count and density detection evaluation as in Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), embodiment 1, because Embodiment 4 allows for judging an abnormally low state prior to getting to that point by density alone by combining with or using other methods because it would appropriately lead to the same result (para.0290) and because Embodiment 1 sets forth that a near-end warning gives a user more flexibility (para.0138) and combining the two evaluation methods allows for better control and stabilization of image density (para.0155-0156).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), Embodiment 4, in view of Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), Embodiment 1, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshizuka et al. (US Pub.2006/0008285).
Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), Embodiment 4, in view of Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), Embodiment 1, teach all of the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 3 depends.
Regarding claim 3, Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973), Embodiment 1, teach an image forming device wherein the controller further includes a second cumulative print rate calculator that calculates a second cumulative print rate obtained by adding and cumulating the sheet print rate of the image newly formed in the image forming processing after the image quality adjusting processing is performed in the second period each time the image forming processing is performed (para.0137-0142: level (2)).
However, while Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973) does have some allowance for determining if another print job exists and either prohibiting image formation or allowing for single page formation (para.0139); Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973) does not explicitly teach determining whether to perform the second processing based on results of the second cumulative print rate calculator when in a state where image data is not present.
Regarding claim 3, Yoshizuka et al. (US Pub.2006/0008285) teach an image forming device that is substantially similar to that of Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973) (see fig.1) which includes a continuation determiner that determines whether a state is a first state where next image data that is the image data to perform next image forming processing is present (fig.4, #S10->YES) or a second state where the next image data is not present during the image forming processing in the second period (fig.4, #S10->NO) and determines whether to perform the second processing based on results of the second cumulative count and the continuation determiner in the second period (fig.4, #S32->YES/NO ->#S34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the patch adjustment performing period of Hama et al. (US Pub.2005/0185973) to incorporate only performing the patch adjustment when no image is present as in Yoshizuka et al. (US Pub.2006/0008285) in order to perform calibration by means of a pattern of patches without reducing apparatus throughput (para.0002).
Allowable Subject Matter
Though no art rejection has been presented for claims 2 and 4-5, the office cannot positively identify possible allowable subject matter because the necessary amendments to claim 1 to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C.112(b) may significantly change the scope or intent of claims 2 and 4-5.
Contact Information
/LKR/
3/3/2026
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852