DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,877,056. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences between the claims are grammatical in nature.
In regards to claim 1, the ‘056 patent uses different grammatical structure as opposed the instant application. For example, the final clause of claim 1 of the instant application (claim 1 lines 11-14) starts with a recitation “give a notification … measurements are different from each other.” This is then followed by explicitly reciting that the measurements are “based on the first distance measurement result and the second distance measurement result.” The ‘056 patent starts the clause in the equivalent position of the claim by reciting “in a case in which a first distance measurement result obtained by performing the first distance measurement and a second distance measurement result obtained by performing the second distance measurement are different from each other” and then follows this clause with the notification clause. However, the grammatical difference of claiming the “case” of the results being different is not patentably distinct from claiming that the difference is “based on” the measurement results. And the change in location of giving a “notification” does not have an effect on the invention. Therefore, claim 1 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from claim 1 of the ‘056 patent. (See table below).
In regards to claims 4-5, the claims are nearly identical to that of claim 1 except written in method and article format. Therefore, the rejection of these claims is similar to that of claim 1 above.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,877,056 in view of Nehmadi et al. US 11,668,830.
In regards to claim 2, Nehmadi Figure 4 teaches passive distance measurement (S450) and active distance measurement (S460). (See table below). It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the ‘056 patent in view of Nehmadi to have included the features of “wherein the processor is configured to perform the second distance measurement based on a distance measurement method different from the distance measurement method used in the first distance measurement” because It would therefore be advantageous to provide a solution for generating 3D-maps that would overcome the deficiencies of the prior art (Nehmadi column 2 lines 25-27).
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,877,056 in view of Nagai US 2017/0227643.
In regards to claim 3, Nagai teaches in paragraph [0090] In the case of the first and second embodiments, the above differential value is a value obtained from two adjacent sampling values, which is a value itself calculated in the third embodiment. When the time-of-flight distance measurement device 1 determines that the difference between the values exceeds the threshold (yes in S12), the time-of-flight distance measurement device 1 determines that the waveform has not been sufficiently settled (S13), outputs an alarm to notify the user of the possibility of malfunction (S14). It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified the ‘056 patent in view of Nagai to have included the features of “and give a notification indicating that [distance measurements] are different from each other, based on [distance measurements]” because values that affect errors such as a duty or a rising time can be detected (Nagai [0013]).
Claim No.
Instant Application 19/035,212
US Patent 11,877,056
1
An information processing apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory connected to or built in the processor, wherein the processor is configured to:
perform first distance measurement of measuring a distance to an imaging region based on an irradiation timing at which a light irradiator emits light to the imaging region and a light-receiving timing at which a light receiver receives reflected light of the light from the imaging region;
perform second distance measurement of measuring the distance to the imaging region;
and give a notification indicating that a first distance measurement result obtained by performing the first distance measurement and a second distance measurement result obtained by performing the second distance measurement are different from each other,
based on the first distance measurement result and the second distance measurement result.
Claim 1 lines 1-4
Claim 1 lines 5-10
Claim 1 lines 11-12
Claim 1 lines 19-23
Claim 1 lines 15-19
2
wherein the processor is configured to perform the second distance measurement based on a distance measurement method different from the distance measurement method used in the first distance measurement.
Nehmadi Figure 4 teaches passive distance measurement (S450) and active distance measurement (S460).
3
wherein the processor is configured to give the notification based on the information regarding the difference or relationship between the first distance measurement result and the second distance measurement result.
Nagai teaches in paragraph [0090] In the case of the first and second embodiments, the above differential value is a value obtained from two adjacent sampling values, which is a value itself calculated in the third embodiment. When the time-of-flight distance measurement device 1 determines that the difference between the values exceeds the threshold (yes in S12), the time-of-flight distance measurement device 1 determines that the waveform has not been sufficiently settled (S13), outputs an alarm to notify the user of the possibility of malfunction (S14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nehmadi et al. US 11,668,830 hereinafter referred to as Nehmadi in view of Nagai US 2017/0227643 hereinafter referred to as Nagai.
In regards to claim 1, Nehmadi teaches:
“An information processing apparatus comprising: a processor; and a memory connected to or built in the processor, wherein the processor is configured to:”
Nehmadi Figure 2 teaches processing system 210 and storage 240.
“perform first distance measurement of measuring a distance to an imaging region based on an irradiation timing at which a light irradiator emits light to the imaging region and a light-receiving timing at which a light receiver receives reflected light of the light from the imaging region;
Nehmadi Figure 4 and column 13 lines 28-35 teaches S460 includes emitting a laser beam (or a light pulse) using a laser diode. The laser hits a target and a portion of the laser's energy is reflected back toward the active sensor. The returning signal is detected and the time elapsed between emission of the light pulse from the laser and the detection of the returned signal is determined. A distance measurement of the distance to the object may be determined based on the determined elapsed time.
“perform second distance measurement of measuring the distance to the imaging region”
Nehmadi Figure 4 and column 12 lines 41-44 teach At S450, passive measurements are performed based on the acquired image. The passive measurements include measuring at least a distance from at least one, some or all the classified objects.
“a first distance measurement result obtained by performing the first distance measurement and a second distance measurement result obtained by performing the second distance measurement” and “the first distance measurement result and the second distance measurement result.”
Figure 4 steps 450 and 460
“and give a notification indicating that [distance measurements] are different from each other, based on [distance measurements]”
The step of notifying a user that an error may have occurred or that a measurement is not reliable does not provide unexpected results because it merely results in notifying that measured results. It has been held that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results.” KSR., 127 S. Ct. at 1739, 82 USPQ2d at 1395 (2007) (Citing Graham, 383 U.S. at 12). For example, Nagai teaches in paragraph [0090] In the case of the first and second embodiments, the above differential value is a value obtained from two adjacent sampling values, which is a value itself calculated in the third embodiment. When the time-of-flight distance measurement device 1 determines that the difference between the values exceeds the threshold (yes in S12), the time-of-flight distance measurement device 1 determines that the waveform has not been sufficiently settled (S13), outputs an alarm to notify the user of the possibility of malfunction (S14). It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Nehmadi in view of Nagai to have included the features of “and give a notification indicating that [distance measurements] are different from each other, based on [distance measurements]” because values that affect errors such as a duty or a rising time can be detected (Nagai [0013]).
In regards to claim 2, Nehmadi/Nagai teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the processor is configured to perform the second distance measurement based on a distance measurement method different from the distance measurement method used in the first distance measurement”
Nehmadi Figure 4 teaches passive distance measurement (S450) and active distance measurement (S460).
In regards to claim 3, Nehmadi/Nagai teach all the limitations of claim 1 and further teach:
“wherein the processor is configured to give the notification based on the information regarding the difference or relationship between the first distance measurement result and the second distance measurement result”
Nagai teaches in paragraph [0090] In the case of the first and second embodiments, the above differential value is a value obtained from two adjacent sampling values, which is a value itself calculated in the third embodiment. When the time-of-flight distance measurement device 1 determines that the difference between the values exceeds the threshold (yes in S12), the time-of-flight distance measurement device 1 determines that the waveform has not been sufficiently settled (S13), outputs an alarm to notify the user of the possibility of malfunction (S14). It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have modified Nehmadi in view of Nagai to have included the features of “and give a notification indicating that [distance measurements] are different from each other, based on [distance measurements]” because values that affect errors such as a duty or a rising time can be detected (Nagai [0013]).
In regards to claim 4, Nehmadi/Nagai teach all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 4 contains similar limitations written in method format. Therefore, claim 4 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 1.
In regards to claim 5, Nehmadi/Nagai teach all the limitations of claim 1 and claim 5 contains similar limitations written in method format. Therefore, claim 5 is rejected for similar reasoning as applied to claim 1.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL E TEITELBAUM, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2422