DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: rear end 7 in Paragraph 0026 line 7. Additionally, Paragraph 0028 also refers to air tank reservoirs 7.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "12" and "7" have both been used to designate a rear end of the frame in Paragraph 0026.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 7a and 7b in Figure 3.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the forklift in claims 5 and 14, the group of either a towing machine, a skid steer, a telehandler, or a compact trailer in claims 6 and 15, the parking brake in claims 10 and 16, the air supply in claims 11 and 17, and the portable compressor in claims 12 and 18 must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a mover attachment mechanism for attaching to a mover” in claims 1, 8, and 13, and “a trailer attachment mechanism […] for attaching to a trailer” in claims 1 and 8.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
The mover attachment mechanism is understood as described in Paragraph 0027 of the specification: “Mover attachment mechanism may be a universal quick attach or fork mount attachment mechanism” or the equivalent. The limitation is interpreted under 112f because it uses a generic placeholder: mechanism, coupled with functional language: attachment mechanism for attaching to a mover, but does not recite additional structure for performing the claimed structure.
The trailer attachment mechanism, for the purposes of examination for claims 1 and 8, is understood as described in Paragraph 0027 of the specification as well as dependent claims 2,3, and 4 as a fifth wheel coupler, a gooseneck ball coupler, or both a fifth wheel and gooseneck ball coupler or the equivalent. The limitation is interpreted under 112f because it uses a generic placeholder: mechanism, coupled with functional language: trailer attachment mechanism for attaching to a trailer, but does not recite additional structure for performing the claimed structure in claims 1 or 8.
Examiner notes that in claim, 2, 3, 4, and 13 the limitation “trailer attachment mechanism” is NOT interpreted under 112f as the claim recites sufficient structure to perform the function of attachment to a trailer.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 should read “is attached tothe trailer” as a trailer was previously introduced in claim 1. Line 2 should read “the mover the mover” as a mover was previously introduced in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9, 19, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 should read “a weight of the trailer” as a weight of the trailer has not been previously introduced in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: Line 2 should read “onthe trailer” as a trailer has been previously introduced in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Lines 1-2 should read “A trailer spotter and transport assembly for coupling with a mover and a trailer, such that when the trailer that the first side […]”. Correction of line 9 is not required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 16 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11, 12, and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 13 recite “an angled drop style frame” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what is required for a frame to be considered “drop style”. Paragraph 0025 of the specification describes the drop style frame as having a front end, a rear end, and a center. It is unclear if these three limitations are all that is required for the frame to be considered “drop style” or if some other structure or arrangement must be present in order for the frame to be considered “drop style”. Claims 14-20 depend from claim 13.
Claims 11 and 12 both depend from claim 9 and recite “the at least one air tank reservoir” which renders the claim indefinite because the claims from which 11 and 12 depend lack antecedent basis for “the air tank reservoir”. Claim 10 recites “at least one air tank reservoir”. It is unclear if claims 11 and 12 were meant to depend from claim 10 or were meant to newly recite “at least one air tank reservoir”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-8, 10, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dallaire (US 2007/0040353 A1).
In regards to claim 1: Dallaire teaches a trailer spotter and transport assembly for transporting trailers (10) comprising:
a first end (Right most end in Figure 1 containing wheels 24 and axle 14) comprising an axle (14), the axle comprising at least two wheels (24);
a second end (Left most end in Figure 1) comprising a mover attachment mechanism (54) for attaching to a mover (32; Paragraph 0027: “In the first embodiment, propulsion connecting means is drawbar 54 connectable to forklift 32”); and
a trailer attachment mechanism (36) located between the first and second ends for attaching to a trailer (22, Paragraph 0025: “Off-road dolly 10 is connected to trailer 22 using trailer connecting means. In the embodiment, trailer connecting means is a fifth wheel 36”, See Figures 1 and 2 where attachment mechanism 36 is located between the first and second ends).
In regards to claim 2: The system of claim 1 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches wherein the trailer attachment mechanism is a fifth wheel coupler (36, see quote above from Paragraph 0025).
In regards to claim 5: The system of claim 1 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches wherein the mover is a forklift (32).
In regards to claim 6: The system of claim 1 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches wherein the mover is one of a group including a towing machine, a skid steer, a telehandler, or a compact trailer. Dallaire teaches wherein the mover is a forklift. Examiner takes the position that a forklift can be considered a “towing machine” when it is performing the function of towing. Additionally, see Paragraph 0028 referencing the ability to use the dolly with other towing machines: “However, it will be apparent to one skilled in the art that other machines may be connected to off-road dolly 10 as propulsion means provided they are of appropriate size for use in off-road environment and are capable of displacing mass of trailer 22 and cargo therein.”.
In regards to claim 7: The assembly of claim 1 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches wherein the first end and the second end comprise an angled drop style frame (See Figures 1 and 2 where there is an angled drop in elevation of the frame between the first end and the second end).
In regards to claim 8: The assembly of claim 1 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches wherein when the trailer attachment mechanism is attached to a trailer and the movement attachment mechanism is attached to a mover the assembly enables the mover to reposition the trailer (Paragraph 0027: “ In the first embodiment, propulsion connecting means is drawbar 54 connectable to forklift 32 and around which forklift 32 may turn and rotate to provide maneuverability for off-road displacement of trailer 22.”).
In regards to claims 10 and 16 (duplicates): The assembly of claim 1 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches at least one air tank reservoir (74) comprised to release a parking brake (66) on the trailer (Paragraph 0034: “With more specific regard to parking brakes, second air pressure level generally never falls below the pressure level in first air tank 74, […]. Provided second air pressure level of parking brake flow in parking brake line 114 is above a minimum parking brake air pressure level, for example 60 pounds per square inch, dolly relay valve 112 will relay sufficient compressed air to dolly parking brakes to provide deactivation thereof. […]. Trailer parking brakes 66 work in exactly the same fashion as dolly parking brakes, using parking brake line 114 which also extends from air distributor block 82 for connection to trailer braking means 60 on trailer 22.”).
In regards to claim 17: The assembly of claim 16 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches an air supply (compressed air from compressor 70, Paragraph 0029: “Compressed air, dried by air dryer 72, is stored in first air tank 74 and second air tank 76.”) connected to the at least one air tank reservoir (74).
In regards to claim 18: The assembly of claim 16 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches a portable compressor (70) adapted to refill the at least one air tank reservoir (Paragraph 0035: “pneumatic system 100 are now explained in greater detail. When pneumatic system 100 is operatively engaged, air compressor 70 outputs compressed air through compressor output line 128 to air dryer 72. Compressed air is dried in air dryer 72 to remove moisture therefrom, as moisture may have a detrimental effect on the functioning of air brakes. Compressed air then circulates through first tank line 134 to first air tank 74.”). Examiner notes that Dallaire does not use the word “portable”. However, air compressor 70 is shown and described as being on the dolly and connected to a battery 80, as it is transported along with the dolly when the dolly is in use. See also Paragraph 0029: “A dolly power supply, i.e. at least one battery 80 for the embodiment, provides electrical power to off-road dolly 10 for, among other things, compressor 70.”, and paragraphs 0030, 0032, 0035-0037, as well as Paragraph 0044 for electrical connection of the compressor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallaire in view of Yrigoyen (US 6290248 B1).
In regards to claim 3: The system of claim 1 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire fails to teach wherein the trailer attachment mechanism is a gooseneck ball coupler. However, Yrigoyen teaches a trailer transport assembly with both a fifth wheel coupler (22) and a gooseneck ball coupler (27, Column 2 lines 65-67: “Also, if desired, an additional ball mount 27 may be located adjacent the fifth wheel 22 to permit connection of a towed vehicle having a gooseneck coupling.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide a gooseneck coupling as in Yrigoyen with the trailer transport assembly of Dallaire so as to allow the transport assembly to accommodate various types of towed vehicles with different types of hitch attachments thereby creating a more versatile transport mechanism capable of being adapted to different needs of the user.
In regards to claim 4: The system of claim 1 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire fails to teach wherein the trailer attachment mechanism is adapted to comprise both a fifth wheel coupler and a gooseneck ball coupler. However, Yrigoyen teaches a trailer transport assembly with both a fifth wheel coupler (22) and a gooseneck ball coupler (27, Column 2 lines 65-67: “Also, if desired, an additional ball mount 27 may be located adjacent the fifth wheel 22 to permit connection of a towed vehicle having a gooseneck coupling.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide a gooseneck coupling as in Yrigoyen with the trailer transport assembly of Dallaire so as to allow the transport assembly to accommodate various types of vehicles with different types of hitch attachments thereby creating a more versatile transport mechanism capable of being adapted to different needs of the user.
In regards to claim 13: Dallaire teaches a trailer spotter and transport assembly (10) for coupling with a mover (32) and a trailer (22), such that when the trailer and mover are attached to the assembly, the assembly enables the mover to reposition the trailer (Paragraph 0027: “ In the first embodiment, propulsion connecting means is drawbar 54 connectable to forklift 32 and around which forklift 32 may turn and rotate to provide maneuverability for off-road displacement of trailer 22.”), the assembly comprising:
a first end (Right most end in Figure 1 containing wheels 24 and axle 14) comprising an axle (14), the axle comprising two or more wheels (24);
a second end (Left most end in Figure 1) comprising a mover attachment mechanism (54) for attaching to a mover (32; Paragraph 0027: “In the first embodiment, propulsion connecting means is drawbar 54 connectable to forklift 32”);
a center portion (between axle 14 and mover attachment mechanism 54 in Figure 1) bearing a trailer attachment mechanism (36) located between the first and second ends for attaching to the trailer, the first end, the second end, and the center portion defining an angled drop style frame (See Figures 1 and 2 where there is a drop in elevation at the center portion between the first and second ends), and wherein the trailer attachment mechanism comprises a fifth wheel coupler (36).
Dallaire fails to teach wherein the trailer attachment has a first side and a second side such that the fifth wheel coupler is on the first side and the second side comprises a gooseneck ball coupler. However, Yrigoyen teaches a trailer transport assembly with both a fifth wheel coupler (22) and a gooseneck ball coupler (27, Column 2 lines 65-67: “Also, if desired, an additional ball mount 27 may be located adjacent the fifth wheel 22 to permit connection of a towed vehicle having a gooseneck coupling.” Shown in at least Figures 1-2) that are located adjacent to each other with the ball mount being on a more forward side of the trailer attachment and the fifth wheel coupler being on a more rear side of the trailer attachment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally provide a gooseneck coupling as in Yrigoyen adjacent the fifth wheel coupling of Dallaire as in Yrigoyen with the trailer transport assembly of Dallaire so as to allow the transport assembly to accommodate various types of towed vehicles with different types of hitch attachments thereby creating a more versatile transport mechanism capable of being adapted to different needs of the user.
In regards to claim 14: The system of claim 13 is taught by Dallaire in view of Yrigoyen. The combination further teaches wherein the mover is a forklift (32 of Dallaire).
In regards to claim 15: The system of claim 13 is taught by Dallaire in view of Yrigoyen. The combination further teaches wherein the mover is one of a group including a towing machine, a skid steer, a telehandler, or a compact trailer. Dallaire teaches wherein the mover is a forklift. Examiner takes the position that a forklift can be considered a “towing machine” when it is performing the function of towing. Additionally, see Paragraph 0028 referencing the ability to use the dolly with other towing machines: “However, it will be apparent to one skilled in the art that other machines may be connected to off-road dolly 10 as propulsion means provided they are of appropriate size for use in off-road environment and are capable of displacing mass of trailer 22 and cargo therein.”.
Claims 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallaire in view of Berends (US 3717363).
In regards to claim 9: The assembly of claim 8 is taught by Dallaire. Dallaire further teaches wherein the axle supports a mass of the trailer (Paragraph 0024) but fails to explicitly teach wherein the axle supports 50% of the weight of the trailer and the mover supports 50% of the weight of the trailer. However, Berends teaches a trailer transport assembly (10) with air springs for equalizing the weight of a trailer between a rear axle of the mover (tractor) and the axle (32) of the transport assembly (dolly 10)(Column 8 lines 12-16: “Once the dolly is locked to the tractor, air springs 40 are pressurized to a pressure which equalizes the weights on the rear axle of the tractor and the tandem axle 32 of the dolly.”). Examiner notes that when two things are equalized they are made equal. Therefore, if the weight between the mover and the dolly axle is equalized, they must both be carrying 50% of the weight. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally equalize the weight distribution of the transport assembly of Dallaire to be split evenly between the mover and the axle of the transport assembly as in Berends so as to provide better weight distribution between the transport assembly and mover thereby decreasing sway and damage to the mover from too much weight being applied and allowing for a safer and more durable trailer transport, especially when carrying loads that are too heavy for the moving vehicle to handle alone.
In regards to claim 11: The assembly of claim 9 is taught by Dallaire in view of Berends. The combination further teaches an air supply (compressed air from compressor 70 of Dallaire, Paragraph 0029 of Dallaire: “Compressed air, dried by air dryer 72, is stored in first air tank 74 and second air tank 76.”) connected to the at least one air tank reservoir (74 of Dallaire).
In regards to claim 12: The assembly of claim 9 is taught by Dallaire in view of Berends. The combination further teaches a portable compressor (70 of Dallaire) adapted to refill the at least one air tank reservoir (Paragraph 0035 of Dallaire: “pneumatic system 100 are now explained in greater detail. When pneumatic system 100 is operatively engaged, air compressor 70 outputs compressed air through compressor output line 128 to air dryer 72. Compressed air is dried in air dryer 72 to remove moisture therefrom, as moisture may have a detrimental effect on the functioning of air brakes. Compressed air then circulates through first tank line 134 to first air tank 74.”). Examiner notes that Dallaire does not use the word “portable”. However, air compressor 70 is shown and described as being on the dolly and connected to a battery 80, as it is transported along with the dolly when the dolly is in use. See also Dallaire Paragraph 0029: “A dolly power supply, i.e. at least one battery 80 for the embodiment, provides electrical power to off-road dolly 10 for, among other things, compressor 70.”, and paragraphs 0030, 0032, 0035-0037, as well as Paragraph 0044 for electrical connection of the compressor.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dallaire in view of Yrigoyen as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Berends.
In regards to claim 19: The assembly of claim 13 is taught by Dallaire in view of Yrigoyen. The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the axle supports between 10% and 90% of the weight of the trailer and the mover supports between 90% and 10% of the weight of the trailer. However, Berends teaches a trailer transport assembly (10) with air springs for equalizing the weight of a trailer between a rear axle of the mover (tractor) and the axle (32) of the transport assembly (dolly 10)(Column 8 lines 12-16: “Once the dolly is locked to the tractor, air springs 40 are pressurized to a pressure which equalizes the weights on the rear axle of the tractor and the tandem axle 32 of the dolly.”). Examiner notes that when two things are equalized they are made equal. Therefore, if the weight between the mover and the dolly axle is equalized, they must both be carrying 50% of the weight. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally equalize the weight distribution of the transport assembly of Dallaire to be split evenly between the mover and the axle of the transport assembly as in Berends so as to provide better weight distribution between the transport assembly and mover thereby decreasing sway and damage to the mover from too much weight being applied and allowing for a safer and more durable trailer transport, especially when carrying loads that are too heavy for the moving vehicle to handle alone. Examiner notes that 50% is within the claimed ranges of 10% to 90% and 90% to 10%.
In regards to claim 20: The assembly of claim 13 is taught by Dallaire in view of Yrigoyen. The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the axle supports between 30% and 70% of the weight of the trailer and the mover supports between 70% and 30% of the weight of the trailer. However, Berends teaches a trailer transport assembly (10) with air springs for equalizing the weight of a trailer between a rear axle of the mover (tractor) and the axle (32) of the transport assembly (dolly 10)(Column 8 lines 12-16: “Once the dolly is locked to the tractor, air springs 40 are pressurized to a pressure which equalizes the weights on the rear axle of the tractor and the tandem axle 32 of the dolly.”). Examiner notes that when two things are equalized they are made equal. Therefore, if the weight between the mover and the dolly axle is equalized, they must both be carrying 50% of the weight. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally equalize the weight distribution of the transport assembly of Dallaire to be split evenly between the mover and the axle of the transport assembly as in Berends so as to provide better weight distribution between the transport assembly and mover thereby decreasing sway and damage to the mover from too much weight being applied and allowing for a safer and more durable trailer transport, especially when carrying loads that are too heavy for the moving vehicle to handle alone. Examiner notes that 50% is within the claimed ranges of 30% to 70% and 70% to 30%.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stout (US 2024/0149961 A1) and Stenbratt (US 2022/0144355 A1) teach self-propelled trailer dollies. Walton (US 2023/0294463 A1) teaches a trailer dolly for tandem towing. Kimener (US 2018/0178998 A1) teaches a trailer stabilizer. Stanifer (US 2017/0305218 A1), Hesse (US 7673895 B1), and Leech (US 2012/0031940 A1) teach hitch mount systems for selectively accommodating a fifth wheel or gooseneck hitch. Layfield (US 2015/0307142 A1), Cunha (US 3797863), Raidel (US 3482853), Geiger (US 2928684), Knox (US 2254532), and Newcomer (US 3829129) teach single axle trailer dollies. Hammonds (US 2006/0037787 A1) teaches an omni-directional vehicle for moving semi-trailers.
/ABIGAIL R HYMEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3611