Drawings
The drawings are objected to because poor quality and difficult to recognize the details.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the mill” should be changed to “the vertical roller mill”.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “Step C” should be changed to “the step C”.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase “the vertical grinding mill” should be changed to “the vertical roller mill”.
Regarding claims 3-7 and 12-17, the phrase “step” should be changed to “the step”.
Regarding claims 3-4, the phrase “the grinding mill” should be changed to “the vertical roller mill”.
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 15-16, the phrase “the mill” should be changed to “the vertical roller mill”.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase “steps” should be changed to “the steps”.
Regarding claims 3-7 and 12-17, the phrase “The method of claim 1 wherein,” should be changed to “The method of claim 1, wherein”.
Regarding claims 8-11, the phrase “The method of claim 1 wherein” should be changed to “The method of claim 1, wherein”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, in line 11 the phrase “the VRM” render the claim indefinite because it ius unclear what is meant by “the VRM”.
As best understood and for the purpose of the examination the Examiner interpreted “the VRM” as “the vertical roller mill”.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the corresponding finished cement" in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-17 are rejected because they depend from claim 1.
Claim 3 recites the limitation " the grinding aid composition" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” is the same as or different from “a predetermined humidity threshold level or range” that recited in claim 1 which claim 3 depends from.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” is the same as or different from “a predetermined humidity threshold level or range” that recited in claim 1 which claim 5 depends from.
Claim 6 recites the limitation " the types or amounts" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “at least one humidity sensor” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “at least one humidity sensor” is the same as or different from “at least one humidity sensor” that recited in claim 1 which claim 8 depends from.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase “at least one humidity sensor” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “at least one humidity sensor” is the same as or different from “at least one humidity sensor” that recited in claim 1 which claim 8 depends from.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase “at least one humidity sensor” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “at least one humidity sensor” is the same as or different from “at least one humidity sensor” that recited in claim 1 which claim 8 depends from.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase “at least one humidity sensor” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “at least one humidity sensor” is the same as or different from “at least one humidity sensor” that recited in claim 1 which claim 8 depends from.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” is the same as or different from “a predetermined humidity threshold level or range” that recited in claim 1 which claim 15 depends from.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase “HGG” render the claim indefinite because it ius unclear what is meant by “HGG”.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” is the same as or different from “a predetermined humidity threshold level or range” that recited in claim 1 which claim 16 depends from.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear if “a predetermined humidity threshold level or dataset” is the same as or different from “a predetermined humidity threshold level or range” that recited in claim 1 which claim 17 depends from.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshio (JPH01284344A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshio discloses a method for manufacturing cement (page 1), comprising:
(A) grinding particles that comprise clinker and a sulfate source chosen from gypsum, plaster, calcium anhydrite, or blend thereof, in a vertical roller mill (fig.1: (2)) that comprises a grinding table, at least one rotatable roller in rolling contact with the grinding table to grind the particles, a classifier for removing ground particles from the mill (fig.1: (4)), an air flow system (fig.1: fan (3)) to carry particles from the grinding table through the classifier, and at least one dispenser apparatus for introducing water, cement grinding aid, or both, onto the grinding table or onto the particles before or during grinding on the grinding table (fig.1: water sprayed onto the supply unit (1) and/or into the roller mill (2) );
(B) providing at least one humidity sensor (fig.1: (7)) that provides an output corresponding to moisture level of air inside the VRM or the air flow system;
(C) comparing output from the at least one humidity sensor with (i) a predetermined humidity threshold level or range; (ii) at least one data set or mathematical relationship that contains correlations between humidity sensor output and one or more physical or chemical properties of the corresponding finished cement, hydrated cement, or cementitious product made with the cement; or (iii) both (i) and (ii); and
(D) initiating, based on the comparison in Step C, at least one protocol chosen from: (i) providing a visual or auditory alarm that a humidity threshold value is met or exceeded; (ii) adjusting water, cement grinding aid, or both as dispensed onto the grinding table or particles being ground on the grinding table; (iii) adjusting air flow entering or exiting the mill or the air flow system; (iv) adjusting temperature of air inside the mill or the air flow system; (v) adjusting amount of materials introduced into the mill; or (vi) a combination thereof (pages 1-6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshio (JPH01284344A attached NPL, English Machine translation) in view of Sutton (US20140263772A1).
Regarding claims 4, Yoshio discloses a processor receives output from the at least one humidity sensor and initiates adjustments to water level and cement grinding aid amount dispensed into the grinding mill;
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Yoshio does not disclose a vibration sensor that senses vibration of the vertical grinding mill and provides an output indicative of vibration level, said adjustment being limited by a vibration level limit or pre-determined maximum value.
Sutton teaches a vibration sensor that senses vibration of a vertical roller mill (paragraphs 0015);
Both of the prior arts of Yoshio and Sutton are related to a vertical roller mill,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Yoshio to have a vibration sensor as taught by Sutton, since it has been held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results requires only routine skill in the art. [KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)]. Thereby having a vibration sensor that senses vibration of the vertical grinding mill and provides an output indicative of vibration level, said adjustment being limited by a vibration level limit or pre-determined maximum value.
Claims 3 and 5-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshio (JPH01284344A attached NPL, English Machine translation).
Regarding claims 3 and 5-17, Yoshio does not disclose the limitations of claims 3 and 5-17;
However, having the limitations of claims 3 and 5-17 would have resulted from routine engineering practices that depend on requirement of the process of the grinding in order to obtain the finished product with specific requirements as desired.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the limitations of claims 3 and 5-17 in order to meet a specific requirement of the process of the grinding as desired.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S. ALAWADI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725