Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: numerals “(102;900)” referencing items in figures should be removed from the final line of claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (US 20170237986).
With respect to claims 1 and 11 and 19, Choi discloses:
a communication module (figure 1: electronic device 101); a display (display 160); memory (memory 130) storing one or more computer programs; and one or more processors (processor 120) communicatively coupled to the communication module, the display, and the memory, wherein the one or more computer programs include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to:
obtain, from an external electronic device, through the communication module, information related to a first notification for a first application, (as shown in figures 20A-20C of the user interface displaying in 2001 a notification of an incoming call)
display, through the display, at least one object corresponding to at least one operation related to the first notification, (as shown in figures 20A-20C of the user interface displaying in 2001 a notification of an incoming call, and additional icons representing devices capable of performing a video call)
select an object of the displayed at least one object; (as shown in figure 20B of the user selecting and dragging the watch icon in order to connect the call through the watch device)
based on information including the first notification, determine, among the electronic device and the external electronic device, a device that is to perform an operation corresponding to the selected object, (as shown in figure 20B of the user selecting and dragging the watch icon in order to connect the call through the watch device)
and control the determined device to perform the operation corresponding to the selected object. (paragraph 0321 states that after selecting the watch icon, the video call connection signal is sent to the watch)
With respect to claims 2 and 12 and 20, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: display, through the display, objects corresponding to the electronic device and the external electronic device; in response to a user input for one of the displayed objects, determine, among the electronic device and the external electronic device, a device that is to perform the operation corresponding to the selected object; and control the determined device to perform the operation corresponding to the selected object. (as taught in figures 20A-20E the input for selecting a specified device to which to connect an incoming call)
With respect to claims 3 and 13, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: based on a state and an operation pattern of the electronic device, determine, among the electronic device and the external electronic device, a device that is to perform the operation corresponding to the selected object; and control the determined device to perform the operation corresponding to the selected object. (paragraph 0151 discloses using gestures and directions to make device selections, and paragraphs 0125 through 0127 teaching direction, duration, level of hovering, or pressure level. Direction and gestures are interpreted as patterns. Any of these teaching could be interpreted as “states”, especially pressure levels.)
With respect to claims 4 and 14, Choi discloses:
wherein the state of the electronic device comprises a remaining battery capacity of the electronic device and a connection state with the external electronic device, and wherein the operation pattern comprises a history of the operation corresponding to the selected object performed by the electronic device. (paragraph 0141: status information on the electronic device includes at least one of: a type of the electronic device, a size of the touchscreen, processing power of the processor, a maximum resolution of the touchscreen, a battery status or level, memory status or capacity, or presence/absence of a camera, and the status information on the communication includes a video call quality level for performing a video call.; and paragraph 0220 teaches The information regarding electronic devices may be obtained when the first or second electronic device discovers connectable devices or from a history of stored connection information.)
With respect to claims 5 and 15, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, in case that the first application is stored in the electronic device, obtain, by using the first application, the first notification for the first application. (paragraph 0177 teaches of monitoring the electronic device and determining whether the electronic device is possible to perform a video call, based on the status information regarding the electronic device, and then selecting a capable device)
With respect to claims 6 and 16, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: determine whether the electronic device is capable of performing the operation corresponding to the selected object; and in case that the electronic device is incapable of performing the operation corresponding to the selected object, request the external electronic device to perform the operation corresponding to the selected object. (figure 23A shows an example where a low battery would make the current device incapable, and gives the user option to select to which other device to switch the video call)
With respect to claims 7 and 17, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to execute a second application configured to provide a feature related to the selected object. (figure 23A shows an example where a low battery would make the current device incapable, and gives the user option to select to which other device to switch the video call)
With respect to claims 8 and 18, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to: in case that a plurality of second applications configured to provide a feature related to the selected object are identified, display, through the display, a plurality of objects corresponding to the plurality of second applications; and in response to a user input for one of the plurality of objects, perform, by using a second application corresponding to the selected object of the plurality of second applications, the operation corresponding to the selected object. (figure 23C teaches in step 2349 the step of switching the call to the other device)
With respect to claim 9, Choi discloses:
wherein, in case that the first application is a messaging application, the plurality of second applications comprise at least one of a phone application, a media streaming application, or a calendar application. (paragraphs 0053 and 0054 give examples of many devices such as phones, TVs, tablets, mp3 players, etc)
With respect to claim 10, Choi discloses:
wherein the one or more computer programs further include computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors individually or collectively, cause the electronic device to, in case that the first application is a media streaming application and the operation corresponding to the selected object is an operation of playing media content corresponding to the first notification, control the electronic device or the external electronic device to play the media content. (paragraphs 0053 and 0054 give examples of many devices such as phones, TVs, tablets, mp3 players, etc)
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D. ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646