DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a first surface and first & second preset distances (cl. 9); and a second surface & third & fourth preset distances (cl. 16) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, & 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (6474759) in view of Kang (KR20210065523).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a storage device (1-7), comprising: a support frame (2-4); and a first panel (1) and a second panel (5), which are respectively detachably mounted (cl. 7) on two opposite sides of the support frame (Fig. 6), wherein the first panel and the second panel are each provided with at least one set of first connection fitting pieces (14-15, 54), so that the two storage devices are connected with each other in a direction from the first panel to the second panel by the at least one set of first connection fitting pieces (Figs. 13-15). Hsu fail(s) to teach first & second connecting parts. However, Kang teaches first connection fitting pieces (70) each comprising at least one first connecting part (71) and at least one second connecting part (72); wherein, in two adjacent storage devices, the first connecting part of one storage device and the second connecting part of the other storage device are fitted with each other (par. 37-38 & Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute a first connection fitting piece, as taught by Kang, for each of the first connection fitting pieces of Hsu, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detachably connect two storage devices to each other (as suggested by par. 37-38 of Kang); and because such an outcome would have been a predictable result of such a substitution of one known connecting means for another.
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches a first connecting part (71) that is a first protrusion (71 - see Fig. 1), the second connecting part (72) is a first recess (72), and in two adjacent storage devices, the first recess of one storage device and the first protrusion of the other storage device are insertion-fitted with each other (par. 37-38).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu teaches a support frame (2-4) that is of a square structure (i.e., 2, 3, & 4, all of which are square-shaped).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu teaches a support frame (2-4) that is of a rectangular structure (i.e., 2, 3, & 4, all of which are rectangular), and a first panel (1) and a second panel (5) that are respectively arranged on the two opposite sides of the support frame in a length direction of the support frame (Figs. 6 & 8).
Regarding claim 18, Kang teaches a thickness of a first protrusion (71) that is consistent (Fig. 1) with a depth of a first recess (72).
Claims 4-5 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (6474759) & Kang (KR20210065523) in view of Chen (20220104616).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a support frame (2-4 of Hsu) having sides (2, 4 of Hsu); but fail(s) to teach first & second door panels. However, Chen teaches the inclusion, in a side, of a detachable door panel (40). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add detachable door panels, as taught by Chen, to the sides of Hsu as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate repair & replacement of the central portions of the sides.
Hence, Hsu as modified would teach a storage device further comprises: a first door panel (40 of Chen) and a second door panel (40 of Chen), which are respectively detachably mounted on two adjacent sides (2, 4 of Hsu) of the support frame (2-4 of Hsu & 40 of Chen) and are located between the first panel (1 of Hsu) and the second panel (5 of Hsu). Additionally, Kang broadly teaches the inclusion, on a panel (31), of second connection fitting pieces (70), and each set of the second connection fitting pieces comprises at least one third connecting part (71) and at least one fourth connecting part (72). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add second connection fitting pieces, as taught by Kang, to each of the first & second door panels of Hsu as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to detachably connect two storage devices to each other (as suggested by par. 37-38 of Kang). Hence, Hsu as modified would teach a first door panel (40 of Chen) and a second door panel (40 of Chen) that are each provided with at least one set of second connection fitting pieces (70), wherein, in the two adjacent storage devices, the third connecting part (71) of one storage device and the fourth connecting part (72) of the other storage device are fitted with each other (as in par. 37-38 of Kang), so that the two storage devices are connected with each other in a direction perpendicular to the direction from the first panel to the second panel by the at least one set of second connection fitting pieces (as in par. 37-38 of Kang).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches a third connecting part (71) that a second protrusion (71), and a fourth connecting part (72) that is a second recess (72), and in the two adjacent storage devices, the second protrusion of one storage device and the second recess of the other storage device are insertion-fitted with each other (par. 37-38).
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches a thickness of a second protrusion (71) that is consistent (Fig. 1) with a depth of a second recess (72).
Claims 7, 10, 17, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (6474759) & Kang (KR20210065523) in view of Brantley (20190168913).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including access means (7); but fail(s) to teach a third & fourth door panels. However, Brantley teaches third & fourth door panels (14) that are transparent panels (par. 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute third & fourth door panels, as taught by Brantley, for the access means of Hsu as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the contents of the storage device more accessible to users. Hence, Hsu as modified would teach a third door panel (14 of Brantley) and a fourth door panel (14 of Brantley), which are respectively arranged on two adjacent sides of the support frame and are located between the first panel and the second panel (as in Fig. 2 of Brantley), wherein the support frame is provided with an accommodating space for placing objects (i.e., space between 2-4 of Hsu), and the third door panel and the fourth door panel are both flippablely disposed, so as to open or close the accommodating space (as in Fig. 4 of Brantley).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu as modified teaches a structure wherein, an end of a side (i.e., side of 14 of Brantley), close to the accommodating space (i.e., space between 2-4 of Hsu), of the third door panel (14 of Brantley) that is in interference connection with a first magnetic component (16 of Brantley), the support frame (2-4 of Hsu) is in interference connection with a second magnetic component (16 of Brantley), and the first magnetic component and the second magnetic component are correspondingly magnetically connected (as in par. 23 & Fig. 4 of Brantley).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu as modified teaches a structure wherein, an end of a side (i.e., side of 14 of Brantley), close to the accommodating space (i.e., space between 2-4 of Hsu), of the fourth door panel (14 of Brantley) that is in interference connection with a third magnetic component (16 of Brantley), the support frame (2-4 of Hsu) is in interference connection with a fourth magnetic component (16 of Brantley), and the third magnetic component and the fourth magnetic component are correspondingly magnetically connected (as in par. 23 & Fig. 4 of Brantley).
Regarding claim 20, Hsu as modified teaches a side (i.e., bottom edge of 14 of Brantley, which is away from the accommodating space when the fourth door panel is open, away from the accommodating space (i.e., space between 2-4 of Hsu), of the fourth door panel (14 of Brantley) that is provided with a second gripping recess (17 of Brantley).
Claims 8-9 & 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (6474759), Kang (KR20210065523) & Brantley (20190168913) in view of Jung (KR20230036775).
Regarding claims 8 & 15, Hsu as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including third & fourth door panels (14 of Brantley) each having rotation means (15 of Brantley); but fail(s) to teach a rotation shaft with ends clamped to a support frame. However, Jung teaches rotation means (15) comprising a rotating shaft (15) that is rotatably provided to a door panel (21), and both ends of the rotating shaft are respectively clamped in a support frame, so that the door panel is flippablely disposed around an axis direction of the rotating shaft to open or close an accommodating space (Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute rotation means, as taught by Jung, for the rotation means of Hsu as modified, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate pivotal opening & closing of the door, and because such an outcome would have been a predictable result of such a substitution of one known rotation means for another. Hence, Hsu as modified would teach a third door panel (14 of Brantley) that is rotatably provided with a first rotating shaft (15 of Jung), and both ends of the first rotating shaft are respectively clamped in the support frame (2-4 of Hsu), so that the third door panel is flippablely disposed around an axis direction of the first rotating shaft to open or close the accommodating space (as in Fig. 2 of Jung & Fig. 4 of Brantley); and a fourth door panel (14 of Brantley) that is rotatably provided with a second rotating shaft (15 of Jung), and both ends of the second rotating shaft are respectively clamped in the support frame (2-4 of Hsu), so that the fourth door panel is flippablely disposed around an axis direction of the second rotating shaft to open or close the accommodating space (as in Fig. 2 of Jung & Fig. 4 of Brantley).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu as modified teaches a support frame (2-4 of Hsu) that provided with a first surface on a side where the third door panel is located, the first rotating shaft (15 of Jung) is located between the first surface and the third door panel (14 of Brantley), a first preset distance L1 is provided between the first rotating shaft and the third door panel, and a second preset distance L2 is provided between the first rotating shaft and the first surface, wherein, L1>L2 (as in Fig. 4 of Jung).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu as modified teaches a support frame (2-4 of Hsu) that is provided with a second surface on a side where the fourth door panel is located, the second rotating shaft (15 of Jung) is located between the second surface and the fourth door panel (14 of Brantley), a third preset distance L3 is provided between the second rotating shaft and the fourth door panel, and a fourth preset distance L4 is provided between the second rotating shaft and the second surface, wherein, L3>L4 (as in Fig. 4 of Jung).
Claims 11 & 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (6474759) & Kang (KR20210065523) in view of Adanur (20180127150). Hsu as modified teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including first (71 of Kang), second (72 of Kang), third (71 of Kang), & fourth (72 of Kang) connecting parts; but fail(s) to teach connecting parts that are magnetic pieces. However, Adanur teaches making first/third (60) and second/fourth (62) connecting parts first/second magnetic pieces (par. 49). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the first, second, third, & fourth connecting parts of Hsu as modified magnetic pieces, as taught by Adanur, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate the removable connection between storage devices (as suggested by par. 49 of Adanur). Hence, Hsu as modified would each a first connecting part (71 of Kang) and a second connecting part (72 of Kang) that are both first magnetic pieces (as in par. 49 of Adanur), so that the two storage devices are magnetically connected with each other by the first magnetic pieces of the two storage devices (as in par. 49 of Adanur); and a third connecting part (71 of Kang) and a fourth connecting part (72 of Kang) that are both second magnetic pieces (as in par. 49 of Adanur), so that the two storage devices are magnetically connected with each other by the second magnetic pieces of the two storage devices (as in par. 49 of Adanur).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 & 14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637