DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/23/2025 and 12/04/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The Abstract as filed is 266 words.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “monitor whether the posture of the electronic device changes from a first posture corresponding to a portrait mode to a second posture corresponding to a landscape mode or changes from the second posture to the first posture, based on data received from the posture sensor; monitor whether there is a visual change in an execution screen of the application in the activated display area; configure a second background image display area having a size reduced from a size of the first background image display area in the activated display area, based on recognizing a change in the posture of the electronic device or a visual change in the application execution screen as a result of the monitoring;” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Examiner notes Figs. 8-11 only show landscape mode.
The drawings are objected to because it is unclear how the step to “configure a second background image display area having a size reduced from a size of the first background image display area in the activated display area” can occur if the second alternative limitation is selected in the limitation “monitor whether the posture of the electronic device changes from a first posture corresponding to a portrait mode to a second posture corresponding to a landscape mode or changes from the second posture to the first posture, based on data received from the posture sensor; monitor whether there is a visual change in an execution screen of the application in the activated display area; configure a second background image display area having a size reduced from a size of the first background image display area in the activated display area, based on recognizing a change in the posture of the electronic device or a visual change in the application execution screen as a result of the monitoring;”. For the purpose of examination, the second alternative limitation is not given any patentable weight and is interpreted as follows:
“monitor whether the posture of the electronic device changes from a first posture corresponding to a portrait mode to a second posture corresponding to a landscape mode configure a second background image display area having a size reduced from a size of the first background image display area in the activated display area, based on recognizing a change in the posture of the electronic device or a visual change in the application execution screen as a result of the monitoring;”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 8, 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Nakanishi, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200409517 A1), [hereinafter Nakanishi].
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Nakanishi discloses an electronic device ([0003] terminal apparatus 10) comprising:
a housing of the electronic device ([0033] The display section 13, which is a single continuous flexible display, is mounted on one surface of the flat-plate-like enclosure composed of the first enclosure 21 and second enclosure 22.);
a display disposed in the housing ([0033] The display section 13, which is a single continuous flexible display, is mounted on one surface of the flat-plate-like enclosure composed of the first enclosure 21 and second enclosure 22.);
a posture sensor configured to generate data used to recognize a posture of the electronic device ([0027] The first sensor 14 is composed of at least one sensor that detects the orientation and rotation of the terminal apparatus 10. Specifically, the first sensor 14 is an acceleration sensor or gyro sensor.);
at least one processor ([0025] CPU 11a), comprising processing circuitry, operatively connected to the posture sensor and the display (Fig. 1); and
a memory operatively connected to at least one processor and configured to store an application, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to execute the instructions (Fig. 1 and [0025] In the control section 11, the processor, that is, the CPU 11a, controls the terminal apparatus 10 by using the RAM 11c as a work area to execute computation processing according to various programs stored in the ROM lib and other memories.) and to:
control the display to display a first background image in a first background image display area configured to display a background image in a display area activated to display visual information on the display ([0026] The display section 13 is a display including a first display area 13a and a second display area 13b.);
monitor whether the posture of the electronic device changes from a first posture corresponding to a portrait mode (Fig. 6B) to a second posture corresponding to a landscape mode (Fig. 6A) or changes from the second posture to the first posture, based on data received from the posture sensor ([0027] The first sensor 14 is composed of at least one sensor that detects the orientation and rotation of the terminal apparatus 10. Specifically, the first sensor 14 is an acceleration sensor or gyro sensor.);
monitor whether there is a visual change in an execution screen of the application in the activated display area (Fig. 4 and [0049] As described above, the deciding section 12a decides the orientation and state of the display section 13 according to outputs from the first sensor 14 and second sensor 15. Even when the orientation of the display section 13 is changed while the folded state is maintained, the deciding section 12a makes an affirmative decision in step S120 and returns to step S100. A change in the orientation of the display section 13 with the folded state maintained occurs when the orientation of the boundary is changed from landscape orientation to portrait orientation or from portrait orientation to landscape orientation while the folded state is maintained. [0050] In step S130, when there is a command for a page change, the display control section 12b makes an affirmative decision and returns to step S100. When there is no command to change a page, the display control section 12b makes a negative decision in step S130 and proceeds to step S140.);
configure a second background image display area having a size reduced from a size of the first background image display area in the activated display area, based on recognizing a change in the posture of the electronic device (Fig. 5 and [0057] When the display control section 12b decides, in step S210, that the display section 13 is in horizontal orientation, the display control section 12b makes an affirmative result and proceeds to step S220. When the display section 13 is not in horizontal orientation, that is, in vertical orientation, the display control section 12b makes a negative result and proceeds to step S230. [0058] In step S220, the display control section 12b decides whether an image to be displayed on the display section 13 is in portrait orientation or in landscape orientation. An image that is in portrait orientation is in a state in which the longitudinal direction of the image is oriented vertically. An image that is in landscape orientation is in a state in which the longitudinal direction of the image is oriented horizontally. When the image is in portrait orientation, the display control section 12b makes an affirmative result in step S220 and proceeds to step S240. When the image is in landscape orientation, the display control section 12b makes a negative result in step S220 and proceeds to step S250. The image to be displayed on the display section 13 refers to the page image with page number i, a page image with page number i+1, or both. In step S220, the display control section 12b makes a decision for the page image with page number i or the page image with page number i+1 as to whether the page image is in portrait orientation or landscape orientation, and branches the processing accordingly.) or a visual change in the application execution screen as a result of the monitoring ([0068] FIG. 6A illustrates the first case, that is, a case in which, in step S240, the page image with page number i and the page image with page number i+1 are displayed on the display section 13 so that the page images are arranged horizontally. According to FIG. 6A, in step S240, the page image with page number i, which is in portrait orientation, is displayed in the first display area 13a of the display section 13 in horizontal orientation and the page image with page number i+1, which is also in portrait orientation, is displayed in the second display area 13b of the display section 13 in horizontal orientation. In the example in FIG. 6A, the fourth edge 27 of the terminal apparatus 10 faces downward. Of course, however, the third edge 26 may face downward depending on how the user holds the terminal apparatus 10. When the third edge 26 of the terminal apparatus 10 faces downward, the display in step S240 changes so that the page image with page number i, which is in portrait orientation, is displayed in the second display area 13b of the display section 13 in horizontal orientation and the page image with page number i+1, which is also in portrait orientation, is displayed in the first display area 13a of the display section 13 in horizontal orientation. [0069] FIG. 6B illustrates the second case, that is, a case in which, in step S250 to which the process proceeds from step S230, the page image with page number i is displayed on the display section 13. According to FIG. 6B, in step S250 to which the process proceeds from step S230, the page image with page number i, which is in portrait orientation, is displayed across the first display area 13a and second display area 13b of the display section 13 in vertical orientation. As seen from a comparison between FIGS. 6A and 6B, when the page image with page number i is displayed across the first display area 13a and second display area 13b, the size of the page image is larger than when the page image is displayed only in the first display area 13a.]);
reconstruct the first background image into a second background image to be displayed in the second background image display area (Fig. 6B to 6A); and
control the display to display the second background image in the second background image display area (Fig. 6A page i).
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Klein discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Klein also discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to recognize occurrence of a call event to call the application execution screen to the activated display area (Fig. 4), a display end event to terminate display of the application execution screen in the activated display area Fig. 4, S140), or a position change event to change a position of the application execution screen in the activated display area, which is an event indicating a visual change in the application execution screen (Figs. 4-6).
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Nakanishi discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Nakanishi also discloses wherein the housing includes a foldable housing ([0028] The terminal apparatus 10 can take two states, a folded state and an unfolded state.) comprising a first housing, a second housing, and a hinge assembly comprising a hinge configured to connect the first housing and the second housing to be rotatable ([0032] The first enclosure 21 and second enclosure 22 are mutually coupled so as to be rotatable around a hinge 23.), wherein the display includes a flexible display extending from the first housing across the hinge assembly to the second housing (Fig. 2), wherein the electronic device further comprises a state sensor configured to generate data corresponding to an angle between the first housing and the second housing ([0046] the second sensor 15 may be structured so as to output, to the control section 11, a detection signal indicating an angle formed by the first enclosure 21 and second enclosure 22 with the hinge 23 being a boundary between them.), and wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: recognize, based on angle data received from the state sensor, that the state of the electronic device changes from a folded state to an unfolded state or from the unfolded state to the folded state ([0028] The second sensor 15 is composed of at least one sensor that detects the state and rotation of the terminal apparatus 10. The terminal apparatus 10 can take two states, a folded state and an unfolded state. In the folded state, the display section 13 is folded along a boundary between the first display area 13a and the second display area 13b so that first display area 13a and second display area 13b face in opposing directions. In the unfolded state, the first display area 13a and second display area 13b face in the same direction without the display section 13 being folded along the boundary.); and configure the second background image display area in the activated display area, based on recognizing a change in the posture of the electronic device, a visual change in the application execution screen, or a change in the state of the electronic device (Fig. 5).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Nakanishi discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Nakanishi also discloses wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to reconstruct the first background image into the second background image, based on not recognizing an additional posture change for a specified time from the time at which a posture change of the electronic device is recognized (Fig. 4 step S130 to S140).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Nakanishi discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, in method form rather than device form. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 applies equally as well to claim 14.
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Nakanishi discloses all the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above, in method form rather than device form. Therefore, the rejection of claim 2 applies equally as well to claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi as applied to claim 1-2 above, and further in view of Klein, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220005387 A1), [hereinafter Klein].
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Nakanishi discloses all the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above. However, Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose configure, based on the recognition of the occurrence of the call event, the second background image display area in the activated display area so as not to overlap the application execution screen; configure, based on the recognition of the occurrence of the position change event, the second background image display area in the activated display area so as not to overlap the application execution screen whose position has changed; and configure, based on the recognition of the occurrence of the display end event, the area for displaying the background image from the second background image display area to the first background image display area.
In a similar field of endeavor, Klein suggests wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
configure, based on the recognition of the occurrence of the call event, the second background image display area in the activated display area so as not to overlap the application execution screen (Fig. 4A);
configure, based on the recognition of the occurrence of the position change event, the second background image display area in the activated display area so as not to overlap the application execution screen whose position has changed (Fig. 4B); and
configure, based on the recognition of the occurrence of the display end event, the area for displaying the background image from the second background image display area to the first background image display area (Fig. 9A to 9B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display device of Nakanishi with the application and background display suggested by Klein. The motivation would be to have a display that updates depending on orientation, and does not have the background block the application.
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Nakanishi discloses all the limitations of claim 2, as discussed above. Nakanishi also discloses reconstruct, based on the display end event not occurring for a specified time from the time at which the call event occurs, the first background image into the second background image ([0043] When the orientation and state of the display section 13 remain unchanged, the deciding section 12a makes a negative decision in step S120 and proceeds to step S130. [I.e., inherently a time]); and reconstruct, based on a ratio of a blank area to the activated display area after the position change event occurs being greater than a ratio of a blank area to the entire display area before the position change event occurs by a specified value or more, the first background image into the second background image ([0078] Assuming that the page image with page number i and the page image with page number i+1 have, for example, different sizes or different length-to-width ratios, it may not be possible to make a complete match between the position of the page image with page number i and the position of the page image with page number i+1 on the front surface and rear surface of the display section 13. In step S290, therefore, the display control section 12b displays the page image with page number i and the page image with page number i+1 so that the position of the page image with page number i and the position of the page image with page number i+1 coincide with each other on the front surface and rear surface of the display section 13.).
However, Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose reconstruct, based on the display end event not occurring for a specified time from the time at which the call event occurs, the first background image into the second background image; reconstruct, based on the call event not occurring for a specified time from the time at which the display end event occurs, the first background image into the second background image ; reconstruct, based on an additional event not occurring for a specified time from the time at which the position change event occurs and a ratio of a blank area not occupied by the application execution screen to the activated display area being greater than or equal to a specified value, the first background image into the second background image.
Klein suggests wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to:
reconstruct, based on the display end event not occurring for a specified time from the time at which the call event occurs, the first background image into the second background image ([0114] In some configurations, the computer 1600 supports a tap and hold gesture in which a user taps and maintains contact for at least a pre-defined time. The tap and hold gesture can be used for various reasons including, but not limited to, opening a context-specific menu.);
reconstruct, based on the call event not occurring for a specified time from the time at which the display end event occurs, the first background image into the second background image ([0013] The foldable computing device can also detect that it is in an orientation such that the first side of the device is facing a user of the foldable device. In response thereto, the device can present a user interface for use in taking a still image or video in the first display area. If the foldable device detects that it is in an orientation such that the first side of the foldable device is facing away from the user of the foldable device, it can present a UI for taking a still image or video in the second display area. The orientation of the device can be based upon measurements received from an inertial measurement unit (“IMU”), capacitive signals received from one or more display screens, signals received from the camera, signals received from one or more proximity sensors, signals received from one or more ambient light sensors, or other types of signals);
reconstruct, based on an additional event not occurring for a specified time from the time at which the position change event occurs and a ratio of a blank area not occupied by the application execution screen to the activated display area being greater than or equal to a specified value, the first background image into the second background image ([0015] When the foldable computing device receives a request to perform biometric authentication of a user of the device, it can determine whether it is in an orientation such that the first side of the foldable device is facing away from the user of the foldable device (i.e. the biometric sensor is not facing the user). In response thereto, the foldable computing device can present a UI in the second display area (i.e. the display area facing the user) instructing the user to reorient the device such that the first side of the foldable device is facing toward the user. Additional details regarding the foldable computing device described briefly above are provided below with regard to FIGS. 9A-15.).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Nakanishi discloses all the limitations of claim 5, as discussed above. Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to reconstruct the first background image into the second background image, based on not recognizing an additional state change for a specified time from the time at which a state change of the electronic device is recognized.
Klein suggests wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to reconstruct the first background image into the second background image, based on not recognizing an additional state change for a specified time from the time at which a state change of the electronic device is recognized ([0125] Clause 2. The computer-implemented method of clause 1, further comprising: detecting a selection of a display region-specific user interface (UI) control; and responsive to detecting the selection of the display region-specific (UI) control, determining if the application window is displayed in a non-active display region, and responsive to determining that the application window is displayed in the non-active display region, moving the application window to an active display region [i.e., a period of time is inherent while determining the display]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display device of Nakanishi with the application and background display suggested by Klein. The motivation would be to have a display that updates depending on orientation and does not have the background block the application.
Claim(s) 6, and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi as applied to claim 1-2 above, and further in view of Park, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190384438 A1), [hereinafter Park].
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Klein discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Klein also suggests configure, based on a change in the posture of the electronic device, a visual change in the application execution screen, or a change in the state of the electronic device, the second background image display area in the activated display area ([0091] In response to this transition between postures, the foldable device 902 has identified the focal point 1204 in the image 1202 and moved, resized, or otherwise modified the image 1202 in order to maintain the user's view of the focal point 1204 of the image; see also Figs. 2A-B elements 106C-E changing size when display is bent).
Klein does not explicitly disclose wherein the housing includes a slidable housing comprising a first housing and a second housing configured to slide into or extend out from the first housing, wherein the display includes a flexible display having a part that is configured to slide into the first housing as the second housing slides into the first housing, wherein the electronic device further comprises a state sensor configured to generate data used to recognize a slide-in state in which a slide-in part of the second housing is received inside the first housing and a slide-out state in which the slide-in part of the second housing slides out of the first housing.
Park suggests wherein the housing includes a slidable housing comprising a first housing and a second housing configured to slide into or extend out from the first housing ([0084] The second hinge plate 264 may support the third surface 212c of the display 212. The second hinge plate 264 may support the multi-bar 263, when the display 212 is expanded, such that the same maintains the shape of a planar plate. The second hinge plate 264 may be formed as a component separate from the second hinge plate fixing portion 264a. The second hinge plate 264 may, while being fixed to the second structure 220, guide the sliding movement of the first structure 210 with regard to the second structure 220 by using the second hinge plate fixing portion 264a.), wherein the display includes a flexible display having a part that is configured to slide into the first housing as the second housing slides into the first housing ([0116] Referring to FIG. 12, the electronic device 101 according to various embodiments may include a processor 1210, a display 1220 (for example, the display 112), a sensor 1230 (for example, the sensors 911a, 911b, and 911c), a memory 1240, and/or structures containing the same. The structures may include a second structure which forms at least a partial area of the lower portion of the electronic device 101 and at least a partial area of the side portion thereof, and a first structure coupled so as to move (for example, slide or roll) with regard to the second structure such that at least a part of the first structure overlaps the second structure. The display 1220 may include a flexible display, at least a part of which is mounted on the first structure, and which includes a bendable portion.), wherein the electronic device further comprises a state sensor configured to generate data used to recognize a slide-in state in which a slide-in part of the second housing is received inside the first housing and a slide-out state in which the slide-in part of the second housing slides out of the first housing ([0110] The operations illustrated in FIG. 9 to FIG. 11 may include an operation of detecting the closed state or open state of the first structure (for example, the first structure 210 of FIG. 2), for example, the display 912 (for example, the display 212 of FIG. 2) by using a detection element and a detection target. The detection element may include, for example, a hall sensor (for example, the hall sensors 911a, 911b, and 911c of FIG. 9 or FIG. 10), a mechanically operating switch element (for example, the switch elements 1113a and 1113b of FIG. 11), or a photodetector, and the detection target may vary depending on the kind of the detection element.), wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: recognize, based on data received from the state sensor, that the state of the electronic device changes from the slide-in state to a slide-out state or from the slide-out state to the slide-in state; and configure, based on a change in the posture of the electronic device, a visual change in the application execution screen, or a change in the state of the electronic device, the second background image display area in the activated display area ([0119] According to various embodiments, it may be determined that, when the first structure and the second structure are slide-moving with regard to each other, the size of the screen exposed in the first direction with regard to the first surface of the display 1220 is changed. The processor 1210 may determine that the screen size is changed, and may conduct a control such that designated image processing is performed with regard to the screen area which is exposed to the front surface in response to the screen size change; and [0122] According to various embodiments, if the sensor 1230 senses a screen change in response to a movement of the first structure (for example, the first structure 110), the screen change module 1311 may determine whether or not the screen is changed. The condition confirmation module 1312 may confirm conditions that are set with regard to respective areas or respective objects. For example, the condition confirmation module 1312 may confirm whether a setting has been made so as to apply real-time position compensation to a specific area or a specific object or not to apply the same. The image processing module 1313 may perform a function of processing or rendering the entire image on the basis of the confirmation made by the condition confirmation module 1312 regarding whether or not real-time position compensation is applied to each area or object.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display device of Klein with the sliding device suggested by Park, as it is a simple substitution of a folding display versus sliding display. The motivation would be to have similar display changes based on whether the design choice folds or slides.
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Nakanishi discloses all the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: extract feature information from the first background image; and reconstruct the first background image into the second background image, based on the feature information comprising information indicating that reconstruction is allowed.
Park suggests wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: extract feature information from the first background image; and reconstruct the first background image into the second background image, based on the feature information comprising information indicating that reconstruction is allowed ([0117] At least a part of the display area visually exposed to the outside may be retracted so as to be at least partially contained by the second structure when, for example, the first structure is moved (for example, slid-in or rolled-in). According to an embodiment, the size of the display area of the display 1220 may be changed, for example, in response to the user's direct touch input to the second structure, which is at least partially connected to the display 1220, or to an input to another feature (for example, the home button or another dedicated button) (not illustrated) arranged on the electronic device 101.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the display device of Nakanishi with the feature changes suggested by Park. The motivation would be to have a display that updates depending on orientation and size of display to optimize the display for the user.
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Nakanishi in view of Park, hereinafter Nakanishi-Park, suggest all the limitations and motivation of claim 9, as discussed above. Park also suggests wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to: identify a type of the first background image from the feature information; and based on the identified type, reconstruct the first background image into the second background image ([0117] At least a part of the display area visually exposed to the outside may be retracted so as to be at least partially contained by the second structure when, for example, the first structure is moved (for example, slid-in or rolled-in). According to an embodiment, the size of the display area of the display 1220 may be changed, for example, in response to the user's direct touch input to the second structure, which is at least partially connected to the display 1220, or to an input to another feature (for example, the home button or another dedicated button) (not illustrated) arranged on the electronic device 101. [i.e., tile, object] [0118] The memory 1240 may store instructions which, when executed, control the processor 1210 so as to perform various operations. For example, the processor 1210 may perform an operation of displaying at least one first object in the first area of the planar portion and displaying at least one second object in the second area of the planar portion in the closed state, and an operation of displaying the at least one first object in the first area and displaying the at least one second object in the third area of the bendable portion in the open state.).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Nakanishi-Park suggests all the limitations and motivation of claim 10, as discussed above. Park also suggests wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to generate the second background image, based on the identified type being a tile, by reducing the size of the first background image and increasing the number of the first background images so as to fill in the second background image display area (Figs. 22 and 26-27).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Nakanishi-Park suggests all the limitations and motivation of claim 10, as discussed above. Park also discloses 12. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to generate the second background image, based on the identified type being an object, by processing the first background image so that a primary object of the first background image is positioned at the center of the second background image display area (Fig. 22).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Nakanishi-Park suggests all the limitations and motivation of claim 10, as discussed above. Park also discloses 13. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein at least one processor, individually and/or collectively, is configured to generate the second background image, based on the identified type being a landscape, by reducing the first background image to conform to a width or height of the second background image display area while maintaining an aspect ratio of the first background image (Fig. 24).
Conclusion
/Alison Slater/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647