DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 23, 2025 and February 10, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is: “holding element” in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malinowski (U.S. Patent No. 8137362).
Regarding claim 1, Carroll discloses a fixation device (Fig. 2) for fastening a therapy device in an opening arranged in a bone, comprising a sleeve element (annotated Fig. 2 below) which is configured to be received in the opening (col. 6, ll. 1-16), wherein the sleeve element comprises a first sleeve element portion (combination of shell (100) and collet (200); annotated Fig. 2) and a second sleeve element portion (300’), wherein the first sleeve element portion surrounds the second sleeve element portion in an installed state (col. 6, ll. 11-16), wherein the first sleeve element portion is configured as a cylindrical hollow body (100’; Fig. 2) with a longitudinal axis,
wherein the first sleeve element portion has a first end and a second end (annotated Figs. 4A-4B below), wherein the first end of the first sleeve element portion includes a grip element (160), wherein the second end of the first sleeve element portion includes an extension (annotated Fig. 4B),
wherein the second sleeve element portion is configured as a cylindrical hollow body (300’; Fig. 2) having a longitudinal axis, wherein the second sleeve element portion contains a projection arrangement (annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the first sleeve element portion and the second sleeve element portion are rotatable about one another in such a way that the projection arrangement is arranged in a first position adjacent to the extension (e.g., when clamp (300’) is tightened onto shell (100’); col. 4, ln. 65 – col. 5, ll. 3) and the projection arrangement is arranged at a distance from the extension in a second position (e.g., when clamp (300’) is separated from shell (100’) or when projections (330) first enter slots (120) of the shell; Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Malinowski discloses wherein the first sleeve element portion includes a first flange and a second flange (annotated Figs. 4A-4B above).
Regarding claim 3, Malinowski discloses wherein the extension projects beyond the second flange in a direction of the longitudinal axis of the cylindrical hollow body of the first sleeve element portion (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 4, Malinowski discloses wherein the extension extends over a part of a circumference of the first sleeve element portion (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 5, Malinowski discloses wherein the extension has a segment length which is in a range of from 10% to 40% inclusive of a circumference of the cylindrical hollow body of the first sleeve element portion (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 7, Malinowski discloses wherein the extension has a profiling (outer surface profile) on the outside (Fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 8, Malinowski discloses wherein the second sleeve element portion has an outside which includes at least one recess (340; Fig. 12; col. 4, ll. 63-65).
Regarding claim 9, Malinowski discloses wherein the second sleeve element portion includes a holding element (annotated Fig. 4A above; the labelled “holding element” meets or is an equivalent of the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function).
Regarding claim 10, Malinowski discloses wherein the projection arrangement includes a first projection and a second projection (annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the projection arrangement can include a profiling (outer surface profile of each projection).
Regarding claim 12, Malinowski discloses wherein the first sleeve element portion contains a longitudinal slot (central lumen of sleeve (100’) receiving collet (200’); alternatively, collet (200’) includes a slot (270; Fig. 6)).
Regarding claim 13, Malinowski discloses wherein the longitudinal slot extends from the first end of the first sleeve element portion to the second end of the first sleeve element portion (Figs. 4A-4B; Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Malinowski discloses wherein the second sleeve element portion contains a longitudinal slot (annotated Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 15, Malinowski discloses wherein the longitudinal slot extends from a first end of the second sleeve element portion to a second end of the second sleeve element portion (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 16, Carroll discloses a navigation system (including medical device and associated placement instrumentation (col. 6, ll. 1-7), insertion tool (900; Fig. 10; col. 5, ll. 40-59) and the fixation device (Fig. 2)) comprising a fixation device (Fig. 2) for fastening a therapy device in an opening arranged in a bone, wherein the fixation device comprises a sleeve element (annotated Fig. 2 below) which is configured to be received in the opening (col. 6, ll. 1-16), wherein the sleeve element comprises a first sleeve element portion (combination of shell (100) and collet (200); annotated Fig. 2) and a second sleeve element portion (300’), wherein the first sleeve element portion surrounds the second sleeve element portion in an installed state (col. 6, ll. 11-16), wherein the first sleeve element portion is configured as a cylindrical hollow body (100’; Fig. 2) with a longitudinal axis,
wherein the first sleeve element portion has a first end and a second end (annotated Figs. 4A-4B below), wherein the first end of the first sleeve element portion includes a grip element (160), wherein the second end of the first sleeve element portion includes an extension (annotated Fig. 4B),
wherein the second sleeve element portion is configured as a cylindrical hollow body (300’; Fig. 2) having a longitudinal axis, wherein the second sleeve element portion contains a projection arrangement (annotated Fig. 2 above), wherein the first sleeve element portion and the second sleeve element portion are rotatable about one another in such a way that the projection arrangement is arranged in a first position adjacent to the extension (e.g., when clamp (300’) is tightened onto shell (100’); col. 4, ln. 65 – col. 5, ll. 3) and the projection arrangement is arranged at a distance from the extension in a second position (e.g., when clamp (300’) is separated from shell (100’) or when projections (330) first enter slots (120) of the shell; Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malinowski.
Regarding claim 6, Malinowski discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for the extension has an axial length that is in a range of from 5% to 50% inclusive of the distance measured between the first end and the second end in a direction of the longitudinal axis of the first sleeve element portion. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust an axial length of the extension to be within the claimed range, since applicant has not disclosed that such dimension solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the device of Malinowski. Further, Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range.
Regarding claim 11, Malinowski discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except for the second sleeve element portion having an inside diameter of at least 3 mm. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to adjust an inside diameter of the second sleeve element portion of at least 3 mm, since applicant has not disclosed that such range of diameter value solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the device of Malinowski. Further, Applicant appears to have placed no criticality on the claimed range.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manikowski in view of Simon et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20080081982; hereinafter “Simon”).
Regarding claim 17, Manikowski discloses wherein the fixation device is configured to fasten a first tracker in the opening arranged in the bone (the fixation device is structured to be capable of being fastened to a first tracker, such as at balls (160; Fig. 4A) and lacks structure that would prevent such fastening).
The system of Malinowski is not explicitly disclosed with the system including a therapy device which includes a second tracker, a tracking system, a computing unit, and a display unit.
Simon, a reference in the surgical navigation field of endeavor, teaches providing a navigation system with a therapy device (52;Fig. 2) which includes a second tracker (“tracking device;” para. [0100]), a tracking system (10), a computing unit (31; para. [0052]) and a display unit (34), wherein the tracking system is configured to determine a position of the therapy device relative to at least one of the first tracker or the second tracker (para. [0100]), wherein the computing unit is configured to calculate the position of the therapy device in an anatomical coordinate frame (paras. [0100]-[0101]), wherein the display unit is configured to display a virtual position of the therapy device with respect to registered preoperative images or 3D models (Figs. 7-8; para. [0079]) to facilitate precise positioning of an instrument to assist treating a patient (para. [0101]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the navigation system with a therapy device which includes a second tracker, a tracking system, a computing unit and a display unit, wherein the tracking system is configured to determine a position of the therapy device relative to at least one of the first tracker or the second tracker, wherein the computing unit is configured to calculate the position of the therapy device in an anatomical coordinate frame, wherein the display unit is configured to display a virtual position of the therapy device with respect to registered preoperative images or 3D models, in view of Simon, in order to facilitate accurate placement of a stimulation therapy device to treat a patient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Wilson et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20050251144) disclosing a cranial anchor bolt (Figs. 2-6); and
Cantor et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20240008896) disclosing an expandable surgical access port (Figs. 13-15C).
/JONATHAN A HOLLM/Examiner, Art Unit 3771