DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species X, Figs. 33-35 in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7, 15 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to the nonelected species VII (Figs. 10-23), VIII (Figs. 24-28) and IX (Figs 29-30), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/24/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 5. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wainwright et al. (6,918,142) in view of Vinal (9,9907,443).
Regarding claim 1, Wainwright et al. disclose a toilet seat 20 comprising: a rim of a bowl 26; a handle 14 configured to be attached to the rim as a touch point for a user to open or close the toilet seat; and a frame 28 in a shape corresponding to the rim, wherein the frame 28 comprises a groove 40 configured to receive the handle.
Wainwright et al. do not teach the handle 14 being a tab made from an antibacterial material. Attention is directed to Vinal which teaches a toilet seat lifting device comprising a handle 30 being a tab (flat rectangular shape, col. 4, lines 11-12) made from an antibacterial material (col. 3, lines 65+). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Wainwright et al. handle to be a tab made of an antibacterial material in view of the teaching of Vinal for easy handling and sanitary purposes
Regarding claim 2, the toilet seat 20 comprises: a lower surface 18, wherein the frame 28 is disposed on the lower surface 18 of the toilet seat 20.
Regarding claim 3, the tab of Vinal would comprise an insert portion 35 configured to be inserted into the groove and comprises a grip portion 30 connected to the insert portion 35 and configured to be the touch point for the user.
Regarding claim 5, the tab is made from an antibacterial material taught by Vinal (col. 4, lines 11-12, col. 3, lines 65+).
Regarding claim 16, Wainwright et al. in views Vinal teach a method for assembling a toilet comprising installing a first frame 28 on a lower surface 18 of a toilet seat 20 so as to seal a first gap between a toilet bowl 26 and the toilet seat 20 when the toilet seat 20 is in a closed position with respect to the toilet bowl 20; and attaching a first tab to the toilet seat 20 via the first frame 28 by inserting an insert portion of the first tab into a first groove 40 of the first frame 28.
Claims 8-12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wainwright et al. (6,918,142) in views of Vinal (9,9907,443) and Gianelli et al. (6,704,967)
Regarding claim 8, Wainwright et al disclose a toilet comprising: a toilet bowl 26; a toilet seat 20 comprising a rim and pivotably attached to the toilet bowl; a first handle 14 configured to be attached to the toilet seat as a first touch point for a user to open or close the toilet seat; and a first frame 28 in a shape corresponding to the rim of the toilet seat 20, wherein the first frame comprises a first groove 40 configured to receive the first handle.
Wainwright et al. do not teach the handle 14 being a tab made from an antibacterial material. Attention is directed to Vinal which teaches a toilet seat lifting device comprising a handle 30 being a tab (flat rectangular shape, col. 4, lines 11-12) made from an antibacterial material (col. 3, lines 65+). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify Wainwright et al. handle to be a tab made of an antibacterial material in view of the teaching of Vinal for easy handling and sanitary purposes
Wainwright et al. do not teach a toilet lid pivotably attached to the toilet bowl or the toilet seat. Attention is directed to Gianelli et al. which teach a toilet comprising a toilet lid 25 pivotally attached to a toilet seat 23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to employ a toilet lid with Wainwright et al. toilet in view of teaching of Gianelli et al. to cover the toilet bowl after use.
Regarding claim 9, Wainwright et al. do not teach a second tab configured to be attached to the toilet lid as a second touch point for the user to open or close the toilet lid. Attention is directed to Gianelli et al. which teach a toilet comprising a first tab 20 attached to a toilet seat 23 as a first toilet point for raising and lowering the toilet seat 23 and a second tab 20 attached to a toilet lid 25 for opening or closing the toilet lid 25. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to modify and employ a tab on a toilet lid of Wainwright et al. in view of the teaching Gianelli et al. for opening and closing the toilet lid.
Regarding claim 10, Wainwright et al. teach a first frame 28 in a shape corresponding to the rim of the toilet seat, the first frame 28 including a groove 40 but do not teach a second frame in a shape corresponding to the rim of the toilet lid. Attention is directed to Gianelli et al. which teach a toilet comprising a first frame 21 in a shape corresponding to the rim of a toilet seat 23 and a second frame 21 (same as the first frame) in a shape corresponding to the rim of a toilet lid 25. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to employ a second frame similar to the first frame on the toilet lid of Wainwright et al. in view of the teaching of Gianelli et al. for attaching the handle (tab) to the toilet lid.
Regarding claim 11, Wainwright et al. teach at least one protrusion 22 disposed at a lower surface of the toilet seat and configured to form a first gap between the toilet bowl 26 and the toilet seat 20, wherein the first frame 28 is disposed between the toilet bowl 26 and the toilet seat 20 and configured to seal the first gap when the toilet seat 20 is in a closed position with respect to the toilet bowl 26.
Wainwright et al. do not teach at least one protrusion disposed at a lower surface of a toilet lid and configured to form a second gap between the toilet seat and the toilet lid. Attention is directed to Gianelli et al. which teach a toilet comprising at least one protrusion (shown in Fig. 1) attached at the lower surface of a toilet lid 25 and configured to form a second gap between the toilet lid and the toilet seat 23. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to employ at least one protrusion on a lower surface of Wainwright et al. toilet lid in view of the teaching of Gianelli et al. to form a gap between the toilet seat and the toilet lid, wherein a second frame as described above would be disposed between the toilet seat and the toilet lid to seal the second gap.
Regarding claim 12, Wainwright et al. do not teach a first tab and a second tab. Vinal teaches the first tab comprises an insert portion configured to be inserted into the first groove of the first frame and comprises a grip portion connected to the insert portion and configured to be the first touch point for the user. Gianelli et al. teach a first tab 33 comprises an insert portion 31 configured to be inserted into the first groove of the first frame 21 and comprises a grip portion 35 connected to the insert portion 31 and configured to be the first touch point for the user, and wherein a second tab comprises an insert portion 31 configured to be inserted into the second groove of a second frame 21 (same as the first frame) and comprises a grip portion 35 connected to the insert portion 31 and configured to be the second touch point for the user. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to employ a second frame similar to the first frame on the toilet lid of Wainwright et al. in view of the teaching of Gianelli et al. for attaching the handle (tab) to the toilet lid.
Regarding claim 17, Wainwright et al. in views of Vinal and Gianelli et al teach a method for assembling at toilet comprising installing a second frame 28 on a lower surface of a toilet lid so as to seal a second gap between the toilet seat and the toilet lid when the toilet lid is in a closed position with respect to the toilet seat 23; and attaching a second tab to the toilet lid via the second frame by inserting an insert portion of the second tab into a second groove of the second frame.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 13-14, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Janik, Jr. teaches a toilet seat 25 comprising a rim, a tab 13 made from an antibacterial, a frame 17 including a groove configured to receive the tab 13.
HUYEN D. LE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3754
/HUYEN D LE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754