NON-FINAL REJECTION
Drawings Objection
(1) The drawings are objected to because the figures 4A-7 of PGPub and the originally filed drawings are blurred and not readable. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning (See MPEP 1.84 (l)).
(2) The drawings are objected to because of the font size of fig.4A-7 being too small. Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height (see MPEP 1.84(p)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakata et al. (US 2013/0160552 Al, “Nakata”).
Regarding Claim 1, Nakata teaches a method for controlling a polycrystalline ceramic ([0028]: ceramic substrate) thick-film transducer array ([0014]; [0027]-[0029]; Fig.1-10) comprising: exciting a single array element or a plurality of array elements [0028] to actively or passively generate interference patterns in the generated ultrasonic wavefield within the substrate ([0029]: “A probe beam 12 emitted from the interferometric displacement sensor 100 irradiates the excitation area where the ultrasonic wave vibration 205 is generated, and a phase change accompanying the ultrasonic wave vibration occurs on its reflected beam. This phase change is detected by the interferometric displacement sensor 100 as an amplitude change of an interference beam, …”); reflecting one or more wavefield components by surfaces, anomalies, and other reflectors within the substrate ([0028]: “… reflected by a defect 401 having arisen inside the sample …”); receiving the one or more reflected wavefield components by a single array element or a plurality of array elements as one or more received signals ([0029]: “… a phase change accompanying the ultrasonic wave vibration occurs on its reflected beam. This phase change is detected by the interferometric displacement sensor 100 as an amplitude change of an interference beam, and outputted as an ultrasonic wave signal 51.”); and processing the received wavefield signals on a computer to generate one or more representative images of portions of the insonified substrate volume ([0027]: “a signal controller-processor 300 that executes control of airborne ultrasonic wave emission, analysis and processing of the amplitude and phase of the detected ultrasonic wave, and control of the ultrasonic wave image configuration, a threedimensional image constructing unit 500 that constructs from detected ultrasonic wave signals a three-dimensional ultrasonic wave image regarding the positions of the sample in the x direction, y direction and z direction, and a display with defect determining unit 600 that displays the three-dimensional ultrasonic wave image and executes defect determination”).
Regarding Claim 3, the method of claim 1 is taught by Nakata.
Nakata further teaches the method further teaches further comprising: exciting a single array element; receiving and recording the excited and reflected wavefield by a portion or all of the array elements; sequentially repeating the excitation-reception process until a portion or all of the array elements have been excited to generate a matrix of received signals; and processing the matrix of received signals to passively simulate the effect of a steered and/or focused wavefield to generate one or more representative images of portions of the insonified substrate volume ([0030] and fig.1 implicitly teach the limitations as the method of a three-dimensional ultrasonic wave imaging is disclosed).
Regarding Claim 4, the method of claim 3 is taught by Nakata.
Nakata further teaches wherein the matrix of received signals is processed using the Total Focusing Method, Synthetic Aperture Focusing, Inverse Wave Extrapolation, Sectorial Total Focusing, Common Source Method, or other similar or derivative algorithms (the Total Focusing Method is disclosed in [0035]).
Regarding Claim 5, the method of claim 3 is taught by Nakata.
Nakata further teaches wherein multiple adjacent array elements are simultaneously excited ([0037]; Fig.1).
Regarding Claim 6, the method of claim 1 is taught by Nakata.
Nakata further teaches the method further comprising: exciting a plurality or array elements with a predetermined set of excitation time delays ([0050]: a time series) designed to actively steer the excited wavefield in a specific direction and/or to focus it at a specific point; receiving and recording the excited and reflected wavefield by a portion or all of the array elements; combining the individually received signals from each element into a single signal associated with a specific steering direction and/or focal point; sequentially repeating the excitation-reception process until the excited wavefield has been steered in and/or focused at all desired directions/locations within the insonified substrate volume; and processing the received signals to generate one or more representative images of portions of the insonified substrate volume ([0030] and fig.1 implicitly teach the limitations as the method of a three-dimensional ultrasonic wave imaging is disclosed. Further, [0050] discloses – “a plurality of ultrasonic wave transmitting units 200a, 200b, 200c and 200d arrayed in the x direction, and they emit a plurality of airborne ultrasonic waves 204a, 204b, 204c and 204d either simultaneously or in a time series.”).
Regarding Claim 7, the method of claim 1 is taught by Nakata.
Nakata further teaches the method further comprising: exciting a plurality or all of the array elements with a predetermined set of excitation time delays ([0050]: a time series) designed to actively steer the excited wavefield in a specific direction within the insonified substrate volume [0030]; receiving and recording the excited and reflected wavefield by a plurality or all of the array elements (Fig.1); sequentially repeating the excitation-reception process until the excited wavefield has been steered in all desired directions within the insonified substrate volume to generate a matrix of received signals; processing the matrix of received signals to passively simulate the effect of focusing the wavefield at discrete points along the wave propagation axis in each of the steering directions to generate one or more representative images of portions of the insonified substrate volume ([0030] and fig.1 implicitly teach the limitations as the method of a three-dimensional ultrasonic wave imaging is disclosed. Further, [0050] discloses – “a plurality of ultrasonic wave transmitting units 200a, 200b, 200c and 200d arrayed in the x direction, and they emit a plurality of airborne ultrasonic waves 204a, 204b, 204c and 204d either simultaneously or in a time series.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakata in view of Takahashi (4,361,042, “Takahashi”).
Regarding Claim 2, the method of claim 1 is taught by Nakata.
Nakata does not teach wherein the excitation pulse consists of a unipolar or bipolar square wave, spike pulse, or windowed sine wave.
However, Takahashi teaches a digital type ultrasonic holography apparatus includes a clock generator for generating a clock pulse signal having a fixed period, a transducer for transmitting spike-like ultrasonic pulses toward an object ([Abstract]; col.3; lines 1-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakata’s method with the teaching of Takahashi since such excitation technique is well-known in the art.
Conclusion
The following prior arts made of record and not relied upon, are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tancrell (US 4,228,686 A) teaches an imaging system, particularly useful for acoustic medical diagnosis of a human subject, utilizes an array of radiating elements or sonic transducers located side-by-side and positioned along the subject. Signals received by the transducer are applied to a pair of pattern generation circuits which weight the individual signals by factors of +1, -1 or 0. Graphs of the weighting factors as a function of transducer location have the likeness of cosinusoidal and sinusoidal Fresnel patterns, these patterns being produced by the two circuits. Upon reception of signals, the weighted signals of each pattern are summed together, multiplied by cosinusoidal and sinusoidal reference signals and then summed together to provide a radiation pattern which converges from the array to a focal point in front of the array while eliminating a diverging pattern from a virtual focus behind the array. For transmission, sinusoidal and cosinusoidal signals are weighted by the Fresnel factors, summed together and applied to the transducers [Abstract].
Contact Information
/SUMAN K NATH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855