DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant's claim for domestic priority benefit of Provisional Application no 61/420245, filed 12/6/10, is acknowledged.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application no 13/312847, filed 12/6/11, prior application no 16/014794, filed 6/21/18, prior application no 16/909174, filed 6/23/20, prior application no 17/844276, filed 6/20/22, prior application no 18/382151, filed 10/20/23, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application constitutes a continuation.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10022623, claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 10722787, and claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11826640 and U.S. Patent No. 12226688. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of the present application are merely broader in scope than that of U.S. Patent No. 10022623, U.S. Patent No. 10722787, and U.S. Patent No. 11826640. Therefore, U.S. Patent No. 10022623, U.S. Patent No. 10722787, and U.S. Patent No. 11826640 and U.S. Patent No. 12226688 “invention” meets the limitations of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Cruz (5531443).
Re Claim 1,
Cruz discloses a hand-operated game controller for controlling a game comprising: a game controller surface extending horizontally between a left edge and a right edge and vertically between a top edge and a bottom edge, wherein the game controller surface does not include a joystick thereon or protruding therefrom; a first plurality of buttons; and a second plurality of buttons of at least four buttons associated with directional functions when controlling the game, wherein an up directional button of the second plurality of buttons is located closest to the bottom edge of the game controller surface relative to a distance between the other buttons of the second plurality of buttons and the bottom edge of the game controller surface (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68, col 7, ln 1-24; the directional switches are considered as a second plurality of buttons, wherein the switches consist of the north switch, south switch, east switch, and west switch, for lack of any clear distinction, the switch near the bottom of the controller is considered as an up directional button, further, action switches 92 are considered as a first plurality of buttons).
Re Claim 2,
Cruz discloses the first plurality of buttons provide functional inputs when controlling the game (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68).
Re Claim 3,
Cruz discloses the buttons of the first plurality of buttons are round (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68).
Re Claim 4,
Cruz discloses the buttons of the second plurality of buttons are round (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68).
Re Claim 5,
Cruz discloses a left directional button of the second plurality of buttons is located closest to the left edge of the game controller surface relative to a distance between the other buttons of the second plurality of buttons and the left edge of the game controller surface (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68, col 7, ln 1-24).
Re Claim 6,
Cruz discloses the left directional button is located closest to the top edge of the game controller surface relative to a distance between the other buttons of the second plurality of buttons and the top edge of the game controller surface (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68, col 7, ln 1-24).
Re Claim 7,
Cruz discloses a down directional button is located to the right of the left directional button relative to the edges of the game controller surface (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68, col 7, ln 1-24).
Re Claim 8,
Cruz discloses a right directional button is located to the right of the down directional button relative to the edges of the game controller surface (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68, col 7, ln 1-24).
Re Claim 9,
Cruz discloses the down directional button is located lower than the left button relative to the edges of the game controller surface (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68, col 7, ln 1-24).
Re Claim 10,
Cruz discloses the right directional button is located lower than the left button relative to the edges of the game controller surface (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68, col 7, ln 1-24).
Re Claim 11,
Cruz discloses at least part of the of each of the buttons of the second plurality of buttons is located closer to the left edge of the game controller surface relative to a distance between an entirety of the first plurality of buttons and the left edge (Fig 7-8, col 6, ln 44-68, col 7, ln 1-24).
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715