DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2018/0032163 A1 Published February 1, 2018) in view of Choi (US 2020/0264753 A1, Published August 20, 2020).
As to claim 1, Park discloses an electronic device comprising: a housing (Park at Fig. 3B, in particular, housing 310 or electronic device 300),
a groove disposed in the housing, wherein the groove comprises: a hollow portion configured to accommodate a digital pen, and an enclosure portion comprising an enclosure surface at least partially defining the hollow portion (Park at Fig. 3B, 5 in particular, pen placing space 311, 511 in housing 310) ,
a printed circuit board (PCB) (Park at Fig. 5, substrate 530 and FPCB 542; ¶ [0114]) configured to recognize… disposed in the housing to face the hollow portion (Park at Fig. 5, detecting member 540; Fig. 6, detecting member 610; Abstract; ¶ [0008], [0114])
a magnetic body comprising a magnetic material disposed on the enclosure surface (Park at Fig. 6, second shielding member 6102; ¶ [0123] discloses “According to one exemplary embodiment, the first shielding member 6101 and the second shielding member 6102 may be made of a soft magnetic material. The first shielding member 6101 and the second shielding member 6102 may be made of the same soft magnetic material or be made of soft magnetic materials having different properties”).1
Park does not disclose and/or charge the digital pen.
However, Choi does disclose charge the digital pen (Choi at Fig. 3-4; ¶ [0099] discloses “Referring to FIG. 4, according to certain embodiments, the accessory device 200 (e.g., the control module 322 in FIGS. 3A and 3B) may receive power from a first external device (e.g., the electronic device 101) in operation 410. According to an embodiment, the control module receives power using NFC communication in the state in which the accessory device 200 is engaged with the first external device 101. For example, an induced current is generated in the antenna 332 of the accessory device 200 by the power signal received from the first external device 101, and the control module 322 may operate based on the induced current.”).
Park discloses a base electronic device with stylus insertion upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Choi discloses a comparable electronic device with stylus insertion which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Park the teachings of Choi for the predictable result of providing handwriting input (Choi at ¶ [0008]-[0009]).
As to claim 2, the combination of Park and Choi the discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the magnetic body comprises a sheet (Park at Fig. 6, detecting member 610 is ostensibly a sheet).
As to claim 3, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the magnetic body comprises particles having permeability (Park at ¶ [0123]).
As to claim 4, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the magnetic body is disposed to not overlap the PCB (Park at Fig. 5-6. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious).
As to claim 5, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the enclosure surface comprises: a first enclosure surface that is substantially planar, and a second enclosure surface that is curved and connected to the first enclosure surface (Choi at Fig. 2B), and
wherein the magnetic body is disposed on the first enclosure surface (Park at Figs. 5-6).2
Park discloses a base electronic device with stylus insertion upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Choi discloses a comparable electronic device with stylus insertion which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Park the teachings of Choi for the predictable result of providing handwriting input (Choi at ¶ [0008]-[0009]).
As to claim 6, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the magnetic body comprises ferrite (Choi at Fig. 6, detecting member 610; ¶ [0123]. Examiner takes an official notice that soft ferrite magnetic materials are well-known in the art, and hence, obvious to a person of ordinary skill to provide for the well-known purpose providing low resistance to demagnetization and absorbing high frequency noise).
As to claim 7, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a protector comprising a material resistant to damage from external stimuli and surrounding the magnetic body (Examiner takes an official notice that resin coating a magnetic sheet is well-known in the art, and hence, obvious to a person of ordinary skill to provide for well-known purpose of providing corrosion protection or preventing chipping).3
As to claim 10, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the enclosure portion comprises a metal material (Park at Fig. 4; ¶ [0108]).
As to claim 11, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the enclosure portion comprises a slot open in a direction facing the PCB (Park at Fig. 5, in particular. MPEP 2144.04(IV)).
As to claim 12, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the digital pen comprises a coil (Park at Fig. 6, coil 623).
As to claim 13, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 12, wherein the magnetic body has a length substantially equal to or greater than a length of the coil (Park at Figs. 5-6. MPEP 2144.04(IV)).
As to claim 14, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the digital pen is configured to be removably accommodated in the hollow portion (Park at Figs. 3B, 5, 6, in particular).
As to claim 15, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the digital pen comprises a magnetic body comprising a magnetic material (Park at ¶ [0123]).
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park and Choi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoon (US 2023/0156116 A1, Filed as PCT/KR20921/009895 on July 29, 2021).
As to claim 8, the combination of Park and Choi the electronic device of claim 1.
The combination does not disclose that the enclosure portion further comprises a recess formed on the enclosure surface, and wherein the magnetic body is disposed on the recess.
However, Yoon does disclose that the enclosure portion further comprises a recess formed on the enclosure surface, and wherein the magnetic body is disposed on the recess (Yoon at Fig. 3C, 3D, fixing device 291 is depicted as being in a recess; ¶ [0079] discloses “According to various embodiments, a fixing device 291 for fixing the external device 250 received in the receiving space 241 to the receiving space 241 may be disposed in the receiving space 241 as shown in FIG. 3C. For example, as shown in FIGS. 3C and 3D, the fixing device 291 may be a magnet or a magnetic material 291 coupled to a magnetic material or a magnet 251 included in the external device 250 through magnetic force.”).
The combination of Park and Choi discloses a base electronic device with stylus insertion upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Yoon discloses a comparable electronic device with stylus insertion which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Park and Choi the teachings of Yoon for the predictable result of a rollable or slidable display (Yoon at ¶ [0007]).
As to claim 9, the combination of Park, Choi, and Yoon discloses the electronic device of claim 8, wherein the enclosure portion further comprises a protrusion protruding from an outer surface opposite to the enclosure surface, and wherein the protrusion is disposed at a position corresponding to a position of the recess (Yoon at Figs. 2-3. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious).
The combination of Park and Choi discloses a base electronic device with stylus insertion upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Yoon discloses a comparable electronic device with stylus insertion which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Park and Choi the teachings of Yoon for the predictable result of a rollable or slidable display (Yoon at ¶ [0007]).
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 2020/0264753 A1, Published August 20, 2020) in view of Park (US 2018/0032163 A1 Published February 1, 2018).
As to claim 16, Choi discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a first housing, a second housing, a hinge structure comprising a hinge configured to connect the first housing and the second housing, wherein the hinge structure is configured to rotate the first housing and the second housing between a folded state in which the first housing and the second housing form a first angle, and an unfolded state in which the first housing and the second housing form a second angle greater than the first angle (Choi at Fig. 2B, device 200),
a groove disposed in the first housing or the second housing (Choi at Fig. 2B, device 200b), wherein the groove comprises: a hollow portion configured to accommodate a digital pen (Choi at Fig. 2B, pen receiving groove; ¶ [0058] discloses “. For example, as indicated by 200a in FIG. 2B, the second external device 270 may be detachably mounted in a pen-receiving groove provided in at least a portion of the third cover portion 230 of the accessory device 200. As another example, as indicated by 200b in FIG. 2B, the second external device 270 may be detachably mounted in a pen-receiving groove provided in at least a portion of the second cover portion 220 of the accessory device 200.”), and
an enclosure portion comprising an enclosure surface at least partially defining the hollow portion (Choi at Figs. 2B, 2D).
While Choi does disclose charge the digital pen (Choi at Fig. 3; ¶ [0099]), Choi does not disclose a printed circuit board (PCB) configured to recognize, wherein the PCB faces the hollow portion, and is disposed in the housing, and a magnetic body comprising a magnetic material disposed on the enclosure surface.
However, Park does disclose a printed circuit board (PCB) configured to recognize (Park at Fig. 5, detecting member 540; Fig. 6, detecting member 610; Abstract; ¶ [0008], [0114]),
wherein the PCB faces the hollow portion, and is disposed in the housing, and a magnetic body comprising a magnetic material disposed on the enclosure surface (Park at Fig. 6, second shielding member 6102; ¶ [0123] discloses “According to one exemplary embodiment, the first shielding member 6101 and the second shielding member 6102 may be made of a soft magnetic material. The first shielding member 6101 and the second shielding member 6102 may be made of the same soft magnetic material or be made of soft magnetic materials having different properties”).4
Choi discloses a base electronic device with stylus insertion upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Park discloses a comparable electronic device with stylus insertion which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Choi the teachings of Park for the predictable result of improving usage and efficiency by reducing power consumption (Park at ¶ [0012]) or providing a sensor for detecting insertion that is compact (Park at ¶ [0011]).
As to claim 17, the combination of Choi and Park discloses the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the magnetic body is disposed such that the magnetic body does not overlap with the PCB (Park at Fig. 5-6. MPEP 2144.04(IV) establishes that changes in shape/configuration are obvious).
Choi discloses a base electronic device with stylus insertion upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Park discloses a comparable electronic device with stylus insertion which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Choi the teachings of Park for the predictable result of improving usage and efficiency by reducing power consumption (Park at ¶ [0012]) or providing a sensor for detecting insertion that is compact (Park at ¶ [0011]).
As to claim 18, the combination of Choi and Park discloses the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the enclosure surface comprises: a first enclosure surface that is substantially planar, and a second enclosure surface that is connected to the first enclosure surface and is curved (Choi at Fig. 2B), wherein the magnetic body is disposed on the first enclosure surface (Park at Figs. 5-6).5.
Choi discloses a base electronic device with stylus insertion upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Park discloses a comparable electronic device with stylus insertion which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to Choi the teachings of Park for the predictable result of improving usage and efficiency by reducing power consumption (Park at ¶ [0012]) or providing a sensor for detecting insertion that is compact (Park at ¶ [0011]).
As to claim 19, the combination of Choi and Park discloses the electronic device of claim 16, further comprising a protector comprising a material resistant to damage from external stimuli and surrounding the magnetic body (Examiner takes an official notice that resin coating a magnetic sheet is well-known in the art, and hence, obvious to a person of ordinary skill to provide for well-known purpose of providing corrosion protection or preventing chipping).6
Claims 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi and Park as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yoon (US 2023/0156116 A1, Filed as PCT/KR20921/009895 on July 29, 2021).
As to claim 20, the combination of Choi and Park discloses the electronic device of claim 16.
The combination does not disclose that the enclosure portion further comprises a recess formed on the enclosure surface, and wherein the magnetic body is disposed on the recess.
However, Yoon does disclose that the enclosure portion further comprises a recess formed on the enclosure surface, and wherein the magnetic body is disposed on the recess (Yoon at Fig. 3C, 3D, fixing device 291 is depicted as being in a recess; ¶ [0079] discloses “According to various embodiments, a fixing device 291 for fixing the external device 250 received in the receiving space 241 to the receiving space 241 may be disposed in the receiving space 241 as shown in FIG. 3C. For example, as shown in FIGS. 3C and 3D, the fixing device 291 may be a magnet or a magnetic material 291 coupled to a magnetic material or a magnet 251 included in the external device 250 through magnetic force.”).
The combination of Choi and Park discloses a base electronic device with stylus insertion upon which the claimed invention is an improvement. Yoon discloses a comparable electronic device with stylus insertion which has been improved in the same way as the claimed invention. Hence, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify or add to the combination of Choi and Park the teachings of Yoon for the predictable result of a rollable or slidable display (Yoon at ¶ [0007]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoon (US 2023/0156116 A1, Filed as PCT/KR 2021/009895 on July 29, 2021) is made of record for its relevance to claims 1, 5, and 16 by its disclosure of the following at Figs 3C-3D and ¶ [0079]:
“[0079] According to various embodiments, a fixing device 291 for fixing the external device 250 received in the receiving space 241 to the receiving space 241 may be disposed in the receiving space 241 as shown in FIG. 3C. For example, as shown in FIGS. 3C and 3D, the fixing device 291 may be a magnet or a magnetic material 291 coupled to a magnetic material or a magnet 251 included in the external device 250 through magnetic force.”
Hagedorn (US 2016/0224116 A1, Published August 4, 2016) is made or record for its relevance to claim 7 by its disclosure of the following at ¶ [0059]:
[0059] Preferably, the magnets are permanent rare earth magnets made from alloys of rare earth elements such as neodymium (Nd.sub.2Fe.sub.14B). Rare earth magnets are stable, compact and strong, enabling a small magnet to be used that has a strong enough magnetic field for a user to perceive on the work surface. A protective surface treatment such as gold, nickel, zinc, tin plating, and epoxy resin coating may be applied to the magnet to provide corrosion protection and prevent chipping.
/Sanjiv D. Patel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625
09/28/2026
1 See also Yoon in Conclusion Section below.
2 See also Yoon in Conclusion Section below
3 See Hagedorn in Conclusion Section below
4 See also Yoon in Conclusion Section below.
5 See also Yoon in Conclusion Section below
6 See Hagedorn in Conclusion Section below