DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Vellaikal et al (US Publication No. 20100297347).
Regarding claim 1, Vellaikal teaches an electrostatic chuck (i.e., ESC 26; fig. 1) comprising: a dielectric substrate (dielectric substrate 32) including a placement surface (placement surface 28) on which an object (object 24) to be attracted is placed (implicit, as seen in fig. 1); and a base plate (base plate 48) joined (i.e., joined via layer 38) to the dielectric substrate, wherein the dielectric substrate is provided with a flange section (flange section 40) that is a part protruding outward (part protruding outward from numeral 59 ends by numeral 40) along an entire periphery (entire periphery of numeral 40) of a part (boundary part between numeral 59 and 40) of a side surface (side surface of dielectric substrate 32 ends in numeral 40) of the dielectric substrate on a base plate side (base plate side 48), the base plate includes a flat surface (flat surface 39) which is closest to a dielectric substrate side (dielectric substrate side/bottom face of 32) and a part (boundary part 39) of which is joined to the dielectric substrate (implicit, as seen in fig. 1), and a part (boundary part between numeral 40 and numeral 42) of the flat surface, which is not joined to the dielectric substrate (implicit, as seen in fig. 1), surrounds the flange section along the entire periphery when viewed from a direction perpendicular (i.e., Y-axis/Top-view) to the placement surface (implicit, as seen in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Vellaikal teaches the electrostatic chuck of claim 1; wherein an outer shape (outer circle shape of diameter 39/40) of the flat surface (the bottom face of puck 32) matches (i.e., the same circle/ring boundary/diameter) an outer shape (the top face of baseplate 48) of the base plate when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface (implicit, as seen in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Vellaikal teaches the electrostatic chuck of claim 1; wherein a coolant flow path (coolant flow path 58) for allowing coolant to pass through is formed inside the base plate (implicit, as seen in fig. 1)., and a part (part within the boundary/diameter 39/40) of the coolant flow path is formed to overlap (inside the circle/ring) the flange section and extend along the flange section when viewed from the direction perpendicular to the placement surface (implicit, as seen in fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Vellaikal teaches the invention set forth above. However, Vellaikal does not particularly teach wherein a length of the flange section along a radial direction is shorter than a length of the part of the flat surface, which is not joined to the dielectric substrate, along the radial direction.
Hence claim 4 will be deemed allowable if rewritten in an independent form.
Conclusion
/MUAAMAR QAHTAN AL-TAWEEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838