DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the reply dated 2/11/2026 are as follows:
Claim 8 is canceled,
Claim 13 is amended,
Claims 1-7 and 9-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Novek (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0325125, previously cited) in view of Gao (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0377942, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Novek discloses a process for installing a two phase fluid into a heat transfer loop comprising:
adding an at least partially insoluble fluid (“reagent”) into the heat transfer loop to displace at least a portion of a gas from the heat transfer loop (¶0185, “ a fluid employed for heat transfer to and/or from a thermal storage reservoir may comprise a liquid or gas or both which may be insoluble in one or more or all reagents in a thermal storage medium, wherein said liquid is directly contacted with at least a portion of said thermal storage medium, or heterogeneously mixed with at least a portion of said thermal storage medium, or a combination thereof during heat transfer or heat exchanger. For example, said fluid may comprise a gas-liquid phase transition fluid, which may cool a thermal storage reservoir by entering the heat transfer reservoir as a liquid and boiling to form a gas and exiting as a gas”);
adding a two phase fluid (“fluid employed for heat transfer”) into the heat transfer loop to displace at least a portion of the partially insoluble fluid from the heat transfer loop (¶0185); and
separating at least a portion of the displaced at least partially insoluble fluid from the two phase fluid (¶0185, via the thermal storage);
wherein the at least partially insoluble fluid is at least partially insoluble in the two phase fluid (¶0185); and
However, Novek does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat transfer loop comprises a direct to chip cooling system comprising a cold plate. Gao, however, discloses a heat transfer system (fig 3) wherein a heat transfer loop comprises a direct to chip cooling system comprising a cold plate (303). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Novek to provide the cold plate of Gao in order to allow for cooling of a chip.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the two phase fluid (“fluid employed for heat transfer”) comprises butane (¶0185).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the at least partially insoluble fluid (“reagent”, ¶0185) comprises water (¶0178).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the at least partially insoluble fluid (“reagent”) comprises a liquid (“water”, ¶0178).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the gas comprises an inert gas (¶0319).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the gas comprises air (¶0190).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein at least a portion of the two phase fluid comprises a liquid (¶0185).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses treating at least a portion of the at least partially insoluble fluid to prevent or reduce corrosion (¶0310).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the two phase fluid comprises ammonia (¶0247).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein at least a portion of the two phase fluid comprises a liquid phase when displacing at least a portion of the at least partially insoluble fluid (¶0185).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein said separating comprises employing a density- based liquid-liquid separation (¶0198).
Regarding claim 13, Novek discloses a process for installing a two phase fluid into a heat transfer loop comprising:
adding at least a portion of a fluid comprising an at least a partially insoluble fluid (“reagent”) into the heat transfer loop to displace a least a portion of a fluid comprising a two phase fluid from the heat transfer loop wherein at least a portion of the two phase fluid comprises a liquid phase or liquid state and at least a portion of the displaced fluid comprises a gas (¶0185, “ a fluid employed for heat transfer to and/or from a thermal storage reservoir may comprise a liquid or gas or both which may be insoluble in one or more or all reagents in a thermal storage medium, wherein said liquid is directly contacted with at least a portion of said thermal storage medium, or heterogeneously mixed with at least a portion of said thermal storage medium, or a combination thereof during heat transfer or heat exchanger. For example, said fluid may comprise a gas-liquid phase transition fluid, which may cool a thermal storage reservoir by entering the heat transfer reservoir as a liquid and boiling to form a gas and exiting as a gas”); and
separating at least a portion of the displaced two phase fluid from the at least partially insoluble fluid (¶0185);
wherein the at least partially insoluble fluid is at least partially insoluble in the two phase fluid (¶0185); and
However, Novek does not explicitly disclose wherein the heat transfer loop comprises a direct to chip cooling system comprising a cold plate. Gao, however, discloses a heat transfer system (fig 3) wherein a heat transfer loop comprises a direct to chip cooling system comprising a cold plate (303). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Novek to provide the cold plate of Gao in order to allow for cooling of a chip.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the two phase fluid (“fluid employed for heat transfer”) comprises butane (¶0185).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the at least partially insoluble fluid (“reagent”, ¶0185) comprises water (¶0178).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses adding at least a portion of an inert gas into the heat transfer loop to displace at least a portion of the at least partially insoluble fluid from the heat transfer loop (¶0319).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the inert gas comprises nitrogen (¶0319)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the inert gas comprises a gas with a concentration of diatomic oxygen of less than 5% by volume (as there is no diatomic oxygen).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses purging at least a portion of the at least partially insoluble fluid from the heat transfer loop with an inert gas (¶0185).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses pausing said purging when a concentration of at least partially insoluble fluid vapor within, or exiting the heat transfer loop is less than 1,000 PPM (in the case of liquid-liquid distillation, ¶0185).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Novek and Gao discloses all previous claim limitations. Novek further discloses wherein the concentration of the two phase fluid vapor in the inert gas within, or exiting the heat transfer loop in the fluid comprising the inert gas is less than about 100 PPM (in the case of liquid-liquid distillation, ¶0185).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pages 5-7) that in Novek, the embodiment shown in figure 14 only describes solids and liquid, and not gas as required by independent claims 1 and 13. However, figure 14 of Novek is no longer being relied upon in this rejection, rather only the description of paragraph [0185] is being relied upon to teach the limitations of the independent claims.
Conclusion
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763