Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/14/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 1: “wherein further” should read “further”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saha (US 20220237831 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saha teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
extracting, from a vector artwork displayed within a graphical user interface of a client device, a color palette that includes a set of color values (par. 0034: “The dominant color editing system 106 includes palette extraction engine 202. In some embodiments, the color update engine 612 uses the palette extraction engine 202 to extract a proportional dominant color palette from the input vector graphic 200. A palette-extraction process involves identifying unique colors of the input vector graphic 200, grouping the colors, and identifying a dominant color for each group. Examples of identifying unique colors include identifying pixel values of a graphic as rendered, identifying fill colors of a vector graphic, identifying discrete colors used to define a gradient in a vector graphic, or some combination thereof. A palette-extraction process also involves identifying respective weights of the dominant colors in the palette.”);
receiving, via the client device, user input for reducing the color palette of the vector artwork (par. 0087: “The dominant color editing system 106 includes a user input manager 702 that allows users to provide input to the editing system. For example, the user input manager 702 allows users to select one or more vector graphics-based images to be analyzed and/or edited. In some embodiments, the user input manager 702 enables a user to select one or more vector graphics files stored or accessible by storage manager 708. Additionally, the user input manager 701 allows users to request the dominant color editing system to identify a proportional dominant color palette for the selected vector graphics. Further, the user input manager 702 allows users to edit the proportional dominant color palette (e.g., change color values, change the proportions of the dominant colors in the palette, etc.) such that the vector graphic is recolored accordingly.”);
determining, in response to the user input, a subset of color values that includes one or more color values from the set of color values (par. 0107: “As illustrated in FIG. 9, the method 900 includes an act 908 of determining, by the palette extraction manager, a plurality of dominant colors corresponding to the plurality of groups based on a subset of the plurality of colors associated with each group.”); and
modifying the vector artwork within the graphical user interface of the client device by reducing the set of color values within the vector artwork to the subset of color values (par. 0111: “In some embodiments, recoloring, by a recolor manager, the vector graphic based on the change to the proportional dominant color palette to generate a recolored vector graphic image, further comprises updating, by the recolor manager, the first color value associated with the first dominant color to the second color value, and updating, by the recolor manager, color values associated with a first set of colors from a first group associated the first dominant color based on relative color property data associated with the first group. In some embodiments, the relative color property data includes tint or shade values associated with each color from the set of colors relative to the first dominant color.”).
Regarding claim 2, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein extracting the color palette of the vector artwork comprises:
extracting a set of vector paths from the vector artwork (par. 0035: “As shown, palette extraction engine 202 include color extractor 203 to extract a set of colors 204 from the input vector graphic 200. The color extractor 203 references various color parameters (e.g., stroke color, fill color, etc.) to identify or derive color information for the path objects in a given vector graphic.”; and
determining the set of color values of the color palette by determining a color value associated with each vector path from the set of vector paths (par. 0035, as above.).
Regarding claim 3, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining that two or more vector paths from the set of vector paths are associated with a first color value from the set of color values (par. 0035, as above in claim 2 rejection); and
generating, from the set of color values, a color value map that maps the first color value to a total area of the vector artwork corresponding to the two or more vector paths (par. 0060: “For instance, the color update engine 612 performs one or more operations that generate a mapping between a source proportional dominant color palette of the input vector graphic 600 and an updated dominant color palette distribution 610 that has been modified by user input 604, as discussed above. Such a mapping indicates, for example, that a first color from the input vector graphic 600 is mapped to a second color from the output vector graphic 614. The color update engine 612 uses the mapping to modify color information (e.g., pixel data, “fill” color, etc.) for an object from the output vector graphic 614. For instance, if an object in the output vector graphic 614 has the second color, and the second color is mapped to the first color from the input vector graphic 600, the color update engine 612 generates a recolored output vector graphic 614 by updating the object in the output vector graphic 614 to have the second color.”),
wherein determining the subset of color values comprises determining the subset of color values using the color value map (par. 0060, as above).
Regarding claim 4, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining a measure of similarity between a first color value and a second color value from the set of color values (par. 0022: “Unlike past systems, embodiments automatically extract dominant colors and determine their proportions in an input vector graphics content. In some embodiments, dominant colors are determined by grouping similar colors together based on input parameters from the designer (e.g., tone, hue, brightness, saturation, temperature etc.).”); and
clustering, based on determining that the measure of similarity is within a threshold measure of similarity, the first color value and the second color value by selecting the first color value as a representative color value (par. 0037: “Once the colors present in the input vector graphic 200 have been identified, the set of colors 204 is provided to color bucketization manager 206. Color bucketization manager 206 groups the set of colors 204 based on similarity of color characteristics. In some embodiments, the color characteristics include hue, tone, brightness, saturation, temperature, etc. For example, when bucketized by tone, the color bucketization manager groups the set of colors 204 into a plurality of buckets 208.”).
Regarding claim 5, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein determining the subset of color values comprises including the first color value within the subset of color values and omitting the second color value from the subset of color values based on clustering the first color value and the second color value (par. 0090: “The palette extraction manager 704 also includes a dominant color identifier 714. The dominant color identifier 714 receives the set of buckets from the color bucketization manager 712. The dominant color identifier 714 then determines a dominant color for each bucket based on the colors in each bucket. For example, in some embodiments, the dominant color of a given bucket is the color from that bucket covering the largest area of the input vector graphic. Alternatively, the median color value of the bucket is identified as the dominant color. For example, if the colors in a bucket are sorted by shade and tint values, then the median shade or tint value is used to obtain the dominant color.”).
Regarding claim 6, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
generating a sorted list of color values based on a total area of the vector artwork covered by each color value from the set of color values (par. 0090, as above in claim 5 rejection),
wherein determining the subset of color values comprises determining the subset of color values using the sorted list of color values (par. 0090, as above in claim 5 rejection).
Regarding claim 7, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein reducing the set of color values within the vector artwork to the subset of color values comprises replacing, within the vector artwork, a first color value omitted from the subset of color values with a second color value included in the subset of color values (par. 0051: “In some embodiments, the user maps a selected dominant color to a new color via a graphical user interface element, such as a color wheel, color selector, etc. This results in an updated dominant color palette 510 in which the selected color 506 has been replaced with new color 508. The updated proportional dominant color palette 510 is received by recolor manager 512 which then uses input color characteristic data 514 to generate recolored output image 516.”).
Regarding claim 8, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein replacing, within the vector artwork, the first color value omitted from the subset of color values with the second color value included in the subset of color values comprises:
determining a first Euclidean distance between the first color value and the second color value (par. 0064: “In some embodiments, a palette flow includes flows that are computed based on an amount of work required to transform a color distribution of the original proportional dominant color palette 602 into a source color distribution of the updated proportional dominant color palette 610. For instance, computing the palette flow could involve minimizing an earth-mover distance between a color distribution of the original proportional dominant color palette 602 and a color distribution of the updated proportional dominant color palette 610. Computing an earth-mover distance involves computing the amount of work required to change the input color distribution into the output color distribution. For instance, the work contributed to the earth-mover distance by an input color and an output color is modeled as a movement of a certain amount of mass along a distance between a first point in a color space, such as a first set of L*a*b* color space values defining an input color, and a second point in the color space, such as a second set of L*a*b* color space values defining an output color. In this scenario, the modeled “mass” is referred to as a “flow” between the input color, which is defined by the first set of L*a*b* color space values, and the output color, which is defined by the second set of L*a*b* color space values.”);
determining a second Euclidean distance between the first color value and a third color value included in the subset of color values (par. 0064, as above); and
replacing the first color value with the second color value based on determining that the first Euclidean distance is less than the second Euclidean distance (par. 0065: “A palette flow includes a set of these flows that are computed using the earthmover distance. Certain flows between a given input color and multiple output colors are used to compute a weighted combination of the output colors that are usable to replace the input color.”).
Regarding claim 9, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, via the client device, additional user input for returning the color palette of the vector artwork to an initial state (par. 0063: “In some embodiments, once the user input is received, the recolor manager 512 obtains the original proportional dominant color palette 602 and the updated dominant color palette 610 and provides them to color update engine 612 to compute a palette flow that maps colors of the original proportional dominant color palette 602 to colors of the updated dominant color palette 610. For instance, the color update engine 612 determines parameters of a transfer function that maps a distribution of colors in the output graphic to a distribution of colors in the input graphic.”); and
modifying the vector artwork within the graphical user interface of the client device by changing the subset of color values back to the set of color values within the vector artwork (par. 0064: “In some embodiments, a palette flow includes flows that are computed based on an amount of work required to transform a color distribution of the original proportional dominant color palette 602 into a source color distribution of the updated proportional dominant color palette 610. For instance, computing the palette flow could involve minimizing an earth-mover distance between a color distribution of the original proportional dominant color palette 602 and a color distribution of the updated proportional dominant color palette 610. Computing an earth-mover distance involves computing the amount of work required to change the input color distribution into the output color distribution. For instance, the work contributed to the earth-mover distance by an input color and an output color is modeled as a movement of a certain amount of mass along a distance between a first point in a color space, such as a first set of L*a*b* color space values defining an input color, and a second point in the color space, such as a second set of L*a*b* color space values defining an output color. In this scenario, the modeled “mass” is referred to as a “flow” between the input color, which is defined by the first set of L*a*b* color space values, and the output color, which is defined by the second set of L*a*b* color space values.”).
Regarding claim 11, Saha teaches a system comprising:
one or more memory devices (par. 0086: “As shown, the client device 102 includes memory 700, including volatile memory, non-volatile memory, storage media, etc. as further described below with respect at least to FIG. 11.”); and
one or more processors (par. 0096: “When executed by the one or more processors, the computer-executable instructions of the dominant color editing system 106 cause a client device and/or a server device to perform the methods described herein.”) configured to cause the system to:
provide, for display within a graphical user interface of a client device, a vector artwork having a color palette and a slider element for modifying a number of color values from the color palette that are represented in the vector artwork (par. 0059: “Once the proportional dominant color palette 602 has been generated for the input vector graphic 600, the user is then able to edit the proportional dominant color palette 602 to make changes to the vector graphic 600. For example, the user provides user input 604 to change the proportions of the dominant colors in the proportional dominant color palette 602. In some embodiments, the user interacts with a graphical user interface element, such as a draggable element 606 associated with one of the dominant colors. In some embodiments, the draggable element (or other interactive GUI element) is displayed upon selection of the dominant color to be edited or as a result of the user hovering a cursor over a particular dominant color. Alternatively, the draggable element is always displayed for each dominant color. The user then drags the draggable element to a new position 608, resulting in an updated dominant color palette 610 in which the proportion of the selected dominant color has been increased and the other dominant colors have been decreased. The updated proportional dominant color palette 610 is received by recolor manager 512 which then uses color update engine 612 to generate recolored output image 614.” NOTE: a slider is a “draggable element,” such as that taught in Saha.);
detect a user interaction with the slider element selecting a number of color values that is less than an initial number of color values from the color palette (par. 0059, as above);
determine a reduced color palette for the vector artwork by determining a subset of color values having the number of color values selected via the user interaction (par. 0050: “In some embodiments, the input vector graphic 500 is a portion of the user's current canvas/workspace in a content design application. For example, the user selects a subset of objects in the canvas/workspace to be analyzed by the dominant color editing system. As discussed, the dominant color editing system then generates a proportional dominant color palette 502 for the input vector graphic 500 (or portions thereof).”); and
modify the vector artwork within the graphical user interface of the client device by changing the color palette to the reduced color palette within the vector artwork (par. 0051: “In some embodiments, the user maps a selected dominant color to a new color via a graphical user interface element, such as a color wheel, color selector, etc. This results in an updated dominant color palette 510 in which the selected color 506 has been replaced with new color 508. The updated proportional dominant color palette 510 is received by recolor manager 512 which then uses input color characteristic data 514 to generate recolored output image 516.”).
Regarding claim 12, Saha teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the system to:
generate a color value map that maps color values from the color palette to total areas of the vector artwork occupied by the color values (par. 0093: “Additionally, as discussed, the proportional dominant color palette is editable to change the proportions of the dominant colors in the proportional dominant color palette, as discussed above at least with respect to FIG. 6. For example, when the user adjusts the proportions of the proportional dominant color palette, they create an updated dominant color palette. The color update engine receives both the original proportional dominant color palette and the newly created updated dominant color palette and determines mappings between the two palettes. These mappings are then used by the color update engine to recolor the input vector graphic to create the recolored output vector graphic which now has a dominant color palette that matches the updated dominant color palette defined by the user.”);
modify the color value map by clustering two or more color values from the color palette based on measures of similarity between the color values from the color palette (par. 0093, as above); and
determine the reduced color palette for the vector artwork by determining the reduced color palette using the modified color value map (par. 0093, as above).
Regarding claim 13, Saha teaches the system of claim 12, wherein:
the one or more processors are further configured to cause the system to generate a sorted list of color values that sorts a set of color values in the modified color value map based on a total area of the vector artwork corresponding to each color value from the set of color values (par. 0022: “Unlike past systems, embodiments automatically extract dominant colors and determine their proportions in an input vector graphics content. In some embodiments, dominant colors are determined by grouping similar colors together based on input parameters from the designer (e.g., tone, hue, brightness, saturation, temperature etc.). In some embodiments, colors in a vector graphics content are grouped based on hue. If a color is determined to be a shade or tint of a color that has already been processed, then it is grouped with that color. If not, then a new group is created. Once the colors have been grouped, the dominant color of each group is identified (e.g., a median color, weighted mean color, color occupying the largest area of the content, etc.). Once the dominant colors of the vector graphics content are identified, a proportional color palette is determined by weighting each dominant color based on its prevalence in the content. For example, in some embodiments, the weight is determined by rasterizing the vector graphics content and incrementing the weight of each dominant color based on the number of pixels corresponding to each dominant color.”); and
determining the subset of color values having the number of color values selected via the user interaction comprises selecting, from the sorted list of color values, a top number of color values that is equal to the number of color values selected via the user interaction (par. 0022, as above).
Regarding claim 14, Saha teaches the system of claim 12, wherein clustering the two or more color values from the color palette comprises:
selecting a color value from the two or more color values to be a representative color value within the modified color value map based on a total area of the vector artwork occupied by the color value (par. 0081: “In examples involving paths with constant colors, the particular color and the corresponding color within the proportional dominant color palette could be the same. In examples involving a palette color determined from a clustering process, the color update engine 612 identifies which color within the proportional dominant color palette was determined from the cluster to which the particular color was assigned.”); and
combining, within the modified color value map, the total area occupied by the color value and an additional total area occupied by each additional color value from the two or more color values (par. 0081: “In some embodiments, the input color information included in the input graphic color information is mapped to the updated dominant color palette using a palette flow. For instance, the color update engine 612 maps a color from the proportional dominant color palette 602 to a color of the updated dominant color palette 610.”).
Regarding claim 15, Saha teaches the system of claim 11, wherein changing the color palette to the reduced color palette within the vector artwork comprises:
determining to replace a first color value that was omitted from the reduced color palette, the first color value associated with a gradient fill of the vector artwork (par. 0088: “For more objects having a complex color type, such as pattern fill, gradient fill, texture fill, etc. the colors associated with the complex color types are recorded. This resulting set of colors is then provided to color bucketization manager 712 to group the colors according to similarity of color characteristics.”); and
replacing the first color value with a second color value that was included in the reduced color palette by associating a color stop of the gradient fill with the second color value (par. 01120: “In some embodiments, the change to the proportional dominant color palette includes replacing a first color value associated with a first dominant color with a second color value.”).
Regarding claim 16, Saha teaches the system of claim 11, wherein changing the color palette to the reduced color palette within the vector artwork comprises replacing one or more fill colors within the vector artwork while maintaining one or more stroke colors (par. 0035: “As shown, palette extraction engine 202 include color extractor 203 to extract a set of colors 204 from the input vector graphic 200. The color extractor 203 references various color parameters (e.g., stroke color, fill color, etc.) to identify or derive color information for the path objects in a given vector graphic. In one example, the color extractor 203 identifies the color of an object having a solid color by referencing a fill color.”).
Regarding claim 17, Saha teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing executable instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising:
extracting vector paths from a vector artwork having a color palette that includes a set of color values (par. 0035: “As shown, palette extraction engine 202 include color extractor 203 to extract a set of colors 204 from the input vector graphic 200. The color extractor 203 references various color parameters (e.g., stroke color, fill color, etc.) to identify or derive color information for the path objects in a given vector graphic.”);
generating, using the vector paths, a sorted list of color values based on a total area of the vector artwork that corresponds to each color value from the set of color values (par. 0090: “The dominant color identifier 714 then determines a dominant color for each bucket based on the colors in each bucket. For example, in some embodiments, the dominant color of a given bucket is the color from that bucket covering the largest area of the input vector graphic. Alternatively, the median color value of the bucket is identified as the dominant color. For example, if the colors in a bucket are sorted by shade and tint values, then the median shade or tint value is used to obtain the dominant color.”);
receiving, via a client device displaying the vector artwork, user input for reducing the color palette of the vector artwork (par. 0120: “Moreover, the client device 1006A receives a request (i.e., via user input) to modify a proportional dominant color palette and provide the request to the one or more servers 1004.”); and
modifying, in response to the user input, the vector artwork by reducing the set of color values within the vector artwork using the sorted list of color values (par. 0110: “In some embodiments, the method further includes receiving, by the user input manager, a request to recolor the vector graphic, the request including a change to the proportional dominant color palette, and recoloring, by a recolor manager, the vector graphic based on the change to the proportional dominant color palette to generate a recolored vector graphic image. In some embodiments, the change to the proportional dominant color palette includes replacing a first color value associated with a first dominant color with a second color value.”).
Regarding claim 18, Saha teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein reducing the set of color values within the vector artwork comprises replacing one or more color values from the set of color values with one or more other color values from the set of color values (par. 0110, as above in claim 17 rejection).
Regarding claim 19, Saha teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18, wherein replacing the one or more color values with the one or more other color values from the set of color values comprises replacing a first color value with a second color value based on a Euclidean distance between the first color value and the second color value (par. 0064: “In some embodiments, a palette flow includes flows that are computed based on an amount of work required to transform a color distribution of the original proportional dominant color palette 602 into a source color distribution of the updated proportional dominant color palette 610. For instance, computing the palette flow could involve minimizing an earth-mover distance between a color distribution of the original proportional dominant color palette 602 and a color distribution of the updated proportional dominant color palette 610. Computing an earth-mover distance involves computing the amount of work required to change the input color distribution into the output color distribution. For instance, the work contributed to the earth-mover distance by an input color and an output color is modeled as a movement of a certain amount of mass along a distance between a first point in a color space, such as a first set of L*a*b* color space values defining an input color, and a second point in the color space, such as a second set of L*a*b* color space values defining an output color. In this scenario, the modeled “mass” is referred to as a “flow” between the input color, which is defined by the first set of L*a*b* color space values, and the output color, which is defined by the second set of L*a*b* color space values.”).
Regarding claim 20, Saha teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein generating, using the vector paths, the sorted list of color values based on the total area of the vector artwork that corresponds to each color value from the set of color values comprises generating, using the vector paths, the sorted list of color values based on total areas of the vector artwork that correspond to color value clusters determined from the set of color values, at least one color value cluster including two or more color values from the set of color values (par. 0081: “In some embodiments, the input color information included in the input graphic color information is mapped to the updated dominant color palette using a palette flow. For instance, the color update engine 612 maps a color from the proportional dominant color palette 602 to a color of the updated dominant color palette 610. In examples involving paths with constant colors, the particular color and the corresponding color within the proportional dominant color palette could be the same. In examples involving a palette color determined from a clustering process, the color update engine 612 identifies which color within the proportional dominant color palette was determined from the cluster to which the particular color was assigned.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saha (US 20220237831 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakamoto (US 20220254142 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Saha teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, but fails to teach:
determining that the color palette of the vector artwork is in a cyan, magenta, yellow, and key (CMYK) color format; and
converting the color palette from the CMYK color format to a red, green, and blue (RGB) color format,
wherein determining the subset of color values comprises determining the subset of color values using the RGB color format.
Sakamoto teaches determining that the color palette of the vector artwork is in a cyan, magenta, yellow, and key (CMYK) color format (par. 0066: “The difference information generation unit 12 generates the difference information by determining whether the same pixel (Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and Black (CMYK)) presents or not at each of the pixel positions defined by resolution of the image.”); and
converting the color palette from the CMYK color format to a red, green, and blue (RGB) color format (par. 0118: “Accordingly, the difference information generation unit 12 performs the smoothing processing on a CMYK image with which dots are conspicuous. By using Gaussian smoothing for the smoothing processing, a CMYK image is converted into an RGB image.”),
wherein determining the subset of color values comprises determining the subset of color values using the RGB color format (par. 0066: “With respect to images each of which is based on Red, Green and Blue, so-called RGB images, the difference information generation unit 12 calculates, for each of the pixel positions according to resolution, a value in relation to difference for each of Red, Green, and Blue (each of the Red, the Green, and the Blue, each of the RGB). In case of RGB images, a value range of −255 to 255 (in a case of 8 bits per pixel) is used in relation to the difference for each of Red, Green, and Blue.”).
It would have been obvious to one familiar in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the color palette format conversion of Sakamoto in the palette adjustment system of Saha, as both are in the same field of endeavor of image color adjustment. Such conversion is well-known in the art and commonly-practiced by those in the field of endeavor.
Conclusion
/RYAN ALLEN BARHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613