DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS AND CONTROL METHOD COMPRISING RECEIVING A SCAN JOB INCLUDING SCAN SETTINGS, A TRANSMISSION DESTINATION AND A TOKEN, SAVE THE SCAN JOB IN THE IMAGE PROCESSING APPARATUS AND EXECUTE THE TRANSMISSION OF THE SCAN JOB.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US Pub 2023/0188664) in view of Mizuno (US Pub 2024/0028271).
Re claim 1: Sugawara discloses an image processing apparatus comprising:
a scanner; a storage device configured to save one or more jobs (e.g. the MFP contains a scanner and a storage device used to store the scanned data, which is taught in ¶ [33] and [38].);
[0033] Upon start-up, for example, upon power-on, the CPU 302 executes a boot program stored in the ROM 304. This boot program is used to read out a control program stored in the storage device 305 and load the control program into the RAM 303. After executing the boot program, the CPU 302 executes the control program loaded into the RAM 303 and performs control processing. Further, the CPU 302 stores data to be used during execution of the control program into the RAM 303, and reads and writes the data. The storage device 305 can also store various settings required to execute the control program and image data obtained by scanning a document using a scanner 315. The various settings and data can be read and written by the CPU 302. The CPU 302 communicates with other apparatuses on the network 104 via the network I/F 306, and also communicates with the cloud server 102 on the Internet 105 via a gateway.
[0038] The scan controller 314 transmits the control command to the connected scanner 315 in response to an instruction from the CPU 302, and writes the image data received from the scanner 315 into the RAM 303.
one or more memories storing a program; and one or more processors, that when executing the program (e.g. the device contains a CPU and multiple memory devices to store programs and data, which is taught in ¶ [33] above.),
cause the image processing apparatus to:
receive, from an information processing apparatus, a scan job including a scan setting, a transmission destination of image data to be obtained in a reading process by the scanner based on the scan setting and a token acquired from an authorization server to access the transmission destination (e.g. the MFP receives from an external device, a scanning job that includes a scanning setting, a destination to send the scan job after the document is scanned and a token that is acquired from an authorization server. The token allows for the MFP and scan data to access a destination to store the scanned data, which is taught in ¶ [42]-[44], [65], [66] and [70].);
[0042] The user starts scanning using the image forming apparatus 101 by setting the cloud server 102 as a destination from a scan application of the information processing apparatus 100. In this case, the information processing apparatus 100 transmits an authorization/authentication 401 to the authorization server 103 from the information processing apparatus 100 before scanning is executed. The authorization/authentication 401 indicates processing of transmitting an authorization request and user authentication information input on an authorization screen received based on the authorization request to the authorization server 103. This processing will be described in detail with reference to a sequence diagram of FIG. 5. The authorization server 103 processes the authorization/authentication 401 to issue an access token 402 to allow the scan application to access the cloud server 102, and transmits the access token 402 to the information processing apparatus 100. Upon receiving the access token 402, the information processing apparatus 100 transmits a scan instruction 403 to the image forming apparatus 101.
[0043] The scan instruction 403 includes the access token 402 and a uniform resource identifier (URI) indicating an address of the cloud server 102. A plurality of addresses can also be designated in the scan instruction 403. In this case, the authorization/authentication 401 is executed for each address and an access token for each address is acquired. The scan instruction 403 including a set of the acquired access token and the corresponding address is transmitted to the image forming apparatus 101. The present exemplary embodiment illustrates a case where only the cloud server 102 is set as a destination.
[0044] When the image forming apparatus 101 receives the scan instruction 403, the scanner 315 scans a document and generates scanned data 404 including image data. The image forming apparatus 101 transmits the scanned data 404 to which the access token 402 is added to the cloud server 102.
[0065] The scan setting screen 620 is a screen for various settings to execute scanning in the image forming apparatus 101. Before the scan setting screen 620 is displayed, the scan application 602 acquires capability information about the scanner 315 from the image forming apparatus 101, and displays scan settings 621 to 625 based on the capability information. In the scan source setting 621, the user sets one of “book” to scan a document placed on the platen glass and “feeder” to scan a document placed on the ADF. In the scanning side designation 622, the user sets one of “double-sided” scanning of a document and “one-sided” scanning of a document. In the file format setting 623, the user sets a file format for a file to be generated based on image data generated by scanning the document. In the file format setting 623, the user can set file formats such as JPEG, TIFF, and PDF. In the scan document size setting 624, the user sets the size of a document sheet to be scanned in the image forming apparatus 101. In the scan document size setting 624, the user can designate the size of a document to be scanned, such as a letter size, A4-size, and A3-size. The address 625 indicates a setting for designating the address where scanned data is to be transmitted. In the address 625, various cloud servers that are set in the information processing apparatus 100 are displayed as selectable addresses. In the address displayed on the address 625, the URL of the cloud server 102, the name of the cloud server 102, and an icon indicating the cloud server 102, and the like are displayed. In the address 625, the address of the information processing apparatus 100 can also be set. In this case, the image data generated by scanning the document in the image forming apparatus 101 is stored in the storage device 205 of the information processing apparatus 100.
[0066] A scan button 626 is a button to set the items 621 to 625 displayed on the scan setting screen 620 in the scan instruction 403 and transmit the scan instruction 403 to the image forming apparatus 101 to cause the image forming apparatus 101 to start scanning.
[0070] Upon receiving the access token, the information processing apparatus 100 transmits the scan instruction including the access token and the address of the cloud server 102 set in the address setting 625 to the image forming apparatus 101. The scan instruction according to the first exemplary embodiment includes scan settings (a scan source, designation of a scan name, a file format, and the size of a document to be scanned) made on the scan setting screen 620, the address, and the format associated with the access token for each address. A scan instruction 1505 illustrated in Table 1 indicates setting items for the scan instruction 1505 and examples of the settings. The items for scan settings in the scan instruction 1505 are displayed based on the scanner capabilities in the image forming apparatus 101. If the scan instruction 1505 includes no scan settings, the scan instruction 1505 may be displayed on the control panel 309 of the image forming apparatus 101 to receive scan settings.
save the received scan job in the storage device (e.g. the received scan job is stored in the MFP in order for the MFP to send the scanned data to the proper destination, which is taught in ¶ [42]-[44], [65], [66] and [70] above.);
identify a target scan job from the storage device (e.g. a user is shown the target job to indicate the scanning processing, which is taught in ¶ [73].); and
[0073] On an end screen 660, the information processing apparatus 100 receives the job end notification 513 from the image forming apparatus 101 and displays information indicating that the scan processing ends. The file name of the scanned data stored in the cloud server 102 is displayed on a file name 661. If a plurality of pieces of scanned data is transmitted, the file names of the pieces of scanned data, respectively, are displayed in a list form. If a plurality of addresses is designated, the file names are associated with the addresses, respectively, to be displayed.
execute a transmission process based on image data obtained by executing the identified scan job and a token and a transmission destination included in the identified scan job (e.g. the scan job is executed based on the image data obtained from the scanning, the token and the transmission included in the scanning instructions, which is taught in ¶ [42]-[44], [65], [66] and [70] above.).
However, Sugawara fails to specifically teach the features of identify, based on a user operation via an operation unit of the image processing apparatus, a target scan job from the storage device.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Mizuno. Similar to the primary reference, Mizuno discloses reservation scan jobs (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Mizuno discloses identify, based on a user operation via an operation unit of the image processing apparatus, a target scan job from the storage device (e.g. a user can identify the scan job stored within the MFP using the MFP display, which is taught in ¶ [94].).
[0093] In S1101, according to an instruction from a user who operates the MFP 100, the reservation scan control unit 508 of the MFP 100 starts the reservation scan application.
[0094] In S1102, the reservation scan control unit 508 of the MFP 100 displays a reservation scan job selection screen (FIG. 12) on the operation unit 102. FIG. 12 is a drawing showing an example of a reservation scan job selection screen. A list of reservation scan jobs stored in the MFP 100 is displayed on the reservation scan job selection screen. In FIG. 12, a name 1201 is the name of the reservation scan job. A selection button 1202 is a button for selecting which reservation scan job is to be executed. When a reservation scan job is selected by the selection button 1202, the scan execution screen shown in FIG. 13 is displayed. Note that, although, in FIG. 12, only the name 1201 is displayed, of course, other information such as scan setting and the date and time when the reservation scan job is specified may be displayed.
Therefore, in view of Mizuno, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of identify, based on a user operation via an operation unit of the image processing apparatus, a target scan job from the storage device, incorporated in the device of Sugawara, in order to identify a scan job within the MFP that may have experienced a transmission error, which improves operability of the MFP by allowing error recovery (as stated in Mizuno ¶ [05] and [06]).
Re claim 5: Sugawara discloses a method for controlling an image processing apparatus including a scanner and a storage device configured to save one or more jobs, the method comprising:
receiving, from an information processing apparatus, a scan job including a scan setting, a transmission destination of image data to be obtained in a reading process by the scanner based on the scan setting, and a token acquired from an authorization server to access the transmission destination (e.g. the MFP receives from an external device, a scanning job that includes a scanning setting, a destination to send the scan job after the document is scanned and a token that is acquired from an authorization server. The token allows for the MFP and scan data to access a destination to store the scanned data, which is taught in ¶ [42]-[44], [65], [66] and [70] above.);
saving the received scan job in the storage device (e.g. the received scan job is stored in the MFP in order for the MFP to send the scanned data to the proper destination, which is taught in ¶ [42]-[44], [65], [66] and [70] above.);
identifying a target scan job from the storage device (e.g. a user is shown the target job to indicate the scanning processing, which is taught in ¶ [73] above.); and
executing a transmission process based on image data obtained by executing the identified scan job and a token and a transmission destination included in identified the scan job (e.g. the scan job is executed based on the image data obtained from the scanning, the token and the transmission included in the scanning instructions, which is taught in ¶ [42]-[44], [65], [66] and [70] above.).
However, Sugawara fails to specifically teach the features of identify, based on a user operation via an operation unit of the image processing apparatus, a target scan job from the storage device.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Mizuno. Similar to the primary reference, Mizuno discloses reservation scan jobs (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Mizuno discloses identify, based on a user operation via an operation unit of the image processing apparatus, a target scan job from the storage device (e.g. a user can identify the scan job stored within the MFP using the MFP display, which is taught in ¶ [94] above.).
Therefore, in view of Mizuno, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of identify, based on a user operation via an operation unit of the image processing apparatus, a target scan job from the storage device, incorporated in the device of Sugawara, in order to identify a scan job within the MFP that may have experienced a transmission error, which improves operability of the MFP by allowing error recovery (as stated in Mizuno ¶ [05] and [06]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara, as modified by Mizuno, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sato (US Pub 2021/0096800).
Re claim 2: However, Sugawara fails to specifically teach the features of the image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the one or more processors further cause the image processing apparatus to transmit identification information issued to identify a scan job saved in the storage device to the information processing apparatus as a transmission source of the scan job,
wherein the scan job is saved in association with the issued identification information in the storage device, and
wherein the user operation is an operation of identifying the identification information for identifying the target scan job.
However, an aspect this is well known in the art as evidenced by Mizuno. Similar to the primary reference, Mizuno discloses reservation scan jobs (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Mizuno discloses wherein the scan job is saved in association with the issued identification information in the storage device (e.g. the system stores a job onto a MFP in association with the scan ID that is issued, which is taught in ¶ [112].), and
[0112] In S1402, the reservation scan control unit 508 of the MFP 100 registers the storage destination in the list of error reservation scan jobs. FIG. 16 is a drawing showing an example of a list of error reservation scan jobs. A reservation scan job ID 1501 is the reservation scan job ID of the reservation scan job issued in S1105. A transmission destination 1502 is a storage destination and includes information on the storage server 120 and a path to the storage destination, which is used during retransmission. An image file 1503 is the storage destination of the image file of the error reservation scan job, and the storage destination stored in S1401 is set. Thus, the error notification includes identification information that identifies data including the token that is stored in the image processing apparatus, which is used as information that causes authentication for re-acquisition of the token. The reservation scan job ID 1501 in the present embodiment is an example of the identification information.
wherein the user operation is an operation of identifying the identification information for identifying the target scan job (e.g. the user can input a scan ID that is used to identify the scan job associated with the scan ID, which is taught in ¶ [95].).
[0095] In S1103, the reservation scan control unit 508 of the MFP 100 displays a reservation scan execution screen (FIG. 13) on the operation unit 102. FIG. 13 is a diagram showing an example of a reservation scan execution screen. A name 1301 is the name of the selected reservation scan job. Scan setting 1302 is the scan setting of the selected reservation scan job, and the storage destination 1303 is the storage destination for the selected reservation scan job on the storage server 120. These items of information are the reservation scan job settings in FIG. 9 that have been stored in the MFP 100 in S607. In the case in which the scan setting is changed, when a setting change button 1304 is pressed by the user, a scan setting change screen (not illustrated) is displayed, and the setting can be changed to a setting that is different from the scan setting that has been set by the client terminal 130. A field 1305 is a scan ID input field. In S602, by inputting the scan ID of the reservation scan job issued when the user performs the setting on the client terminal 130, it is confirmed whether or not the reservation scan job is executed by a rightful user. A button 1306 is a scan button, and when the scan button is pressed down, a scan is executed, and storage processing is performed to the specified storage destination of the storage server 120. A button 1307 is a return button, and when the return button is pressed down, the screen returns to the reservation scan selection screen as shown in FIG. 12. Note that, although, in the present embodiment, an example in which authentication is not performed in the MFP 100 is shown, a mode in which authentication is performed in the MFP 100 may be adopted. Alternatively, a mode may be adopted in which the client terminal 130 specifies a user of the MFP 100 and generates a reservation scan job, and the reservation scan control unit 508 displays only the reservation scan job of a user who has logged in to the MFP 100 and been authenticated.
Therefore, in view of Mizuno, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the scan job is saved in association with the issued identification information in the storage device, and wherein the user operation is an operation of identifying the identification information for identifying the target scan job, incorporated in the device of Sugawara, in order to identify a scan job within the MFP that may have experienced a transmission error, which improves operability of the MFP by allowing error recovery (as stated in Mizuno ¶ [05] and [06]).
However, the combination above fails to specifically teach the features of wherein the one or more processors further cause the image processing apparatus to transmit identification information issued to identify a scan job saved in the storage device to the information processing apparatus as a transmission source of the scan job.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Sato. Similar to the primary reference, Sato discloses performing a scan job (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Sato discloses wherein the one or more processors further cause the image processing apparatus to transmit identification information issued to identify a scan job saved in the storage device to the information processing apparatus as a transmission source of the scan job (e.g. the invention discloses a MFP that is used to transmits ID information to identify the scan job back to a transmission source of the scan job. This occurs before a scan job is started and temporarily stored before sending it to the transmission scan job source. The MFP also stores information in association with the scan job, which is taught in ¶ [67] and [68].).
Therefore, in view of Sato, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the one or more processors further cause the image processing apparatus to transmit identification information issued to identify a scan job saved in the storage device to the information processing apparatus as a transmission source of the scan job, incorporated in the device of Sugawara, as modified by Mizuno, in order to allow for a user to acquire the scan ID information and perform the scan job at the MFP without returning to the client device for operation, which can accomplish the push operation and reduce the return of the user to the client device (as stated in Sato ¶ [92] and [93]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara, as modified by Mizuno, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori (US Pub 2009/0153918).
Re claim 3: However, Sugawara fails to specifically teach the features of the image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the scan job is saved in association with user information in the storage device, and
wherein the scan job saved in association with the user information regarding a user logged in by a login operation on the image processing apparatus in the storage device is identified as the target scan job.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Mori. Similar to the primary reference, Mori discloses performing a scan job (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Mori discloses wherein the scan job is saved in association with user information in the storage device (e.g. a scan job table is saved in association with a user ID, which is taught in ¶ [37] and [58]-[61].), and
[0037] First, the client computer 101 generates a scan job at step S201 in accordance with an operation performed by the user. Next, the client computer 101 transmits the generated scan job to and registers it in the image forming apparatus 103 at step S202. The image forming apparatus 103 is capable of scanning in an image from a document and of capturing the image as electronic data. The processing at step S202 is executed automatically at the moment the processing of step S201 is completed. The image forming apparatus 103 accepts log-in processing from the user at any timing. When log-in is accepted and authentication of the user succeeds, the image forming apparatus 103 causes the scan job registered by the user to be displayed on the control panel of the apparatus.
[0058] FIG. 8 is a diagram illustrating an example of a scan job table in which scan jobs are registered.
[0059] The scan job table is table data for registering scan jobs and is stored in the storage device of the image forming apparatus 103. The table includes "JOB ID" for uniquely identifying jobs, "USER ID" for identifying users who have registered jobs, "REGISTRATION TIME" indicating times at which jobs were registered, and "PRE-REGISTRATION TYPE" indicating types of scan jobs. Also included are "EVIDENCED DOCUMENT TYPE" representing types of evidenced documents, "NUMBER OF SCANNED SHEETS" for setting numbers of sheets scanned, "PREVIEW" for setting whether or not to present a preview display at the time of scanning, and "DOUBLE-SIDED SETTING" for setting whether or not to perform doubled-sided scanning. Further included are "CHANGE RESOLUTION" for setting whether or not a change is resolution is allowed, "RESOLUTION DESIGNATION" for setting specific values of resolution, and "STORAGE SERVER" for designating storage destination of scanned data. It should be noted that "PREVIEW", "DOUBLE-SIDED SETTING" and "CHANGE RESOLUTION" have been set to either "YES", indicating that the item is allows, or to "NO", indicating that the item is not allowed. Further, "RESOLUTION DESIGNATION" is set to "DEFAULT" a previously designated resolution is set.
[0060] FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example of an individual-job table according to this embodiment.
[0061] The individual-job table is a table that holds more detailed information for every job ID described in FIG. 8. This table also is stored in the storage device of the image forming apparatus 103. Data such as "COMPANY NAME", "ACCOUNT NAME", "ITEM NAME", "AMOUNT", "TRANSACTION NAME" and "REMARKS" to be retained on a per-page basis is stored in this table.
wherein the scan job saved in association with the user information regarding a user logged in by a login operation on the image processing apparatus in the storage device is identified as the target scan job (e.g. the user can see target scan jobs after logging into a MFP using their user ID. The user is shown their scan job that is associated with the user ID, which is taught in ¶ [37] above.).
Therefore, in view of Mori, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the scan job is saved in association with user information in the storage device, and wherein the scan job saved in association with the user information regarding a user logged in by a login operation on the image processing apparatus in the storage device is identified as the target scan job, incorporated in the device of Sugawara, as modified by Mizuno, in order to acquire a scan job stored in association with user information to allow for the output and judging of consistency of the form, which improves the operation of the scanning device and reduces waste (as stated in Mori ¶ [05]-[07]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara, as modified by Mizuno, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mori (US Pub 2017/0048416).
Re claim 4: Sugawara discloses the image processing apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein a scan job received from the information processing apparatus including scan settings, a transmission destination corresponding to the predetermined storage service, and a token for accessing the transmission destination is saved in the storage device (e.g. the MFP receives from an external device, a scanning job that includes a scanning setting, a destination to send the scan job after the document is scanned and a token that is acquired from an authorization server. The token allows for the MFP and scan data to access a destination to store the scanned data, which is taught in ¶ [42]-[44], [65], [66] and [70] above.).
However, Sugawara fails to specifically teach the features of wherein the one or more processors further cause the image processing apparatus to transmit registration information indicating that information regarding the image processing apparatus is registered in a predetermined storage service to the information processing apparatus, and wherein a scan job received from the information processing apparatus after the transmission of the registration information.
However, this is well known in the art as evidenced by Cho. Similar to the primary reference, Cho discloses registering the MFP with a server (same field of endeavor or reasonably pertinent to the problem).
Cho discloses wherein the one or more processors further cause the image processing apparatus to transmit registration information indicating that information regarding the image processing apparatus is registered in a predetermined storage service to the information processing apparatus, and wherein a scan job received from the information processing apparatus after the transmission of the registration information (e.g. the system discloses registering MFPs with a cloud server and transmitting the MFP information that are registered on a cloud server to mobile devices in order to have these users register to use these devices. The address of the cloud server associated with the MFPs is an indication that these MFPs are registered with the server. This process is explained in ¶ [353]-[356]. With this occurring before the user can utilize the functions of the MFP, this process can occur before sending a scan job to the registered MFP. Applying this feature of the server to the MFP in the above combination performs the features of the claims.).
[0353] The first image forming device 200-1 is located in the first the management office and communicates with the first management server 400-1. The second image forming device 200-2 is located in the second the management office and communicates with the second management server 400-2.
[0354] The first manager 11 may register the first image forming device 200-1 at a cloud server 100′ by using the first management server 400-1. The second manager 12 may register the second image forming device 200-2 at the cloud server 100′ by using the second management server 400-2. The method for registering an image forming device will be described below in further detail with reference to FIG. 25.
[0355] The first manager 11 may register the first image forming device 200-1 at the cloud server 100 and then transmit a message for registering a device to use the first image forming device 200-1 to the residents of ‘Apartment building-A’ by using the first management server 400-1. The message may include a first link address for registering a device to use the first image forming device 200-1 (for example, a link address provided by the cloud server 100).
[0356] As an example, assuming that a first user 20-1 and a second user 20-2 are the residents of ‘Apartment building-A,’ the message for registering a device may be transmitted to a first mobile device 301-1 of the first user 20-1 and a second mobile device 301-2 of the second user 20-2. Accordingly, the first user 20-1 and the second user 20-2 may check the message displayed in the mobile devices 301-1, 301-2 and request for the registration of a device to use the first image forming device 200-1 to the cloud server 100.
Therefore, in view of Cho, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to have the feature of wherein the one or more processors further cause the image processing apparatus to transmit registration information indicating that information regarding the image processing apparatus is registered in a predetermined storage service to the information processing apparatus, and wherein a scan job received from the information processing apparatus after the transmission of the registration information, incorporated in the device of Sugawara, as modified by Mizuno, in order to provide an indication that a MFP is registered with a server before allowing the user device to utilize the registered MFP, which allows for the cloud service to support the MFP service in a manner to improve system operation and charging data management (as stated in Cho ¶ [50] and [345]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Doui discloses determining if a MFP is registered within a cloud server.
/CHAD DICKERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683