DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS received on date 04/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, being reviewed and considered by the Examiner.
Status of Claims
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to the correspondence filed on 01/23/2025.
Claims 1-20 are considered in this Office Action. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 16, and 18- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Marta Karczewicz (US 20180324417 A1) (hereinafter Karczewicz):
Regarding Claim 1, Karczewicz teaches a method of video decoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors ([0012], a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, causes one or more processors of a device configured to decode video data.), the method comprising:
receiving a video bitstream comprising a current picture that includes plurality of blocks, the plurality of blocks including a current block ([0070], Video decoder 30 may receive a bitstream generated by video encoder 20; [0069], the bitstream may include a sequence of bits that forms a representation ... encoded picture may include encoded representations of blocks of the picture; [0072], video decoder 30 may use inter prediction or intra prediction to generate one or more predictive blocks for each PU of a current CU; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode.);
performing an intra prediction for the current block of the plurality of coding blocks ([0070], Video decoder 30 may receive a bitstream generated by video encoder 20; [0069], the bitstream may include a sequence of bits that forms a representation ... encoded picture may include encoded representations of blocks of the picture; [0071], as part of decoding a picture of the video data, video decoder 30 may use inter prediction or intra prediction to generate predictive blocks; [0072], video decoder 30 may use inter prediction or intra prediction to generate one or more predictive blocks for each PU of a current CU; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode.);
applying a bilateral filter for the current block ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples.); and
reconstructing the current block based on the intra prediction and an output of the bilateral filter ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0072], Video decoder 30 may reconstruct a coding block of the current CU based on samples of the predictive blocks of the PUs of the current CU and residual samples of the transform blocks of the TUs of the current CU; [0176], Decoded picture buffer 116 may store the reconstructed coding blocks after filter unit 114 performs the one or more deblocking operations on the reconstructed coding blocks ... intra-prediction processing unit 126 may use reconstructed coding blocks in decoded picture buffer 116 to perform intra prediction on other PUs in the same picture as the CU; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples to produce filtered reference samples, generate a prediction block using the filtered reference samples, and add samples of the prediction block to the determined residual video data to produce a decoded block of video data.).
Regarding Claim 2, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the bilateral filter is applied before performing the intra prediction ([0130], Prior to performing the intra prediction, video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks.).
Regarding Claim 3, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein performing the intra prediction comprises applying a position dependent prediction combination (PDPC) technique ([0125], video decoder 30 may be configured to determine to use MDIS or another intra reference sample filtering method for intra prediction based on combinations of already coded information or the usage of existing coding tools, including but not limited to: EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag.).
Regarding Claim 4, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the bilateral filter is applied after performing the PDPC technique ([0136], video decoder 30 may be configured to use the bilateral filter described above to generate the reference samples and replaces the unfiltered/filtered reference samples applied in PDPC mode.).
Regarding Claim 5, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the bilateral filter is applied before performing the PDPC technique ([0125], video decoder 30 may be configured to use MDIS or another intra reference sample filtering method when the NSST index is 0 (i.e., no secondary transform is used) and the PDPC mode flag is 0 (PDPC is not applied); [0083], video decoder 30 may be configured to filter the neighboring reference samples using a 2-Tap bilateral or 3-Tap (1,2,1)/4 filter. Such filtering processes may be referred to as intra reference smoothing or mode-dependent intra smoothing (MDIS).).
Regarding Claim 6, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the current block has a block size that meets one or more criteria ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples to produce filtered reference samples; [0126], video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode, EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag, block size; [0152], video decoder 30 may be configured to derive the planar mode prediction filters applied on a block having a first particular block size using the planar prediction filter applied on different block having a different block size.).
Regarding Claim 7, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the current block has a block size that is greater than a predetermined threshold ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples to produce filtered reference samples; [0126], video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode, EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag, block size; [0083], When performing intra prediction, given the intra prediction mode index (predModeIntra) and block size (nTbS), video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 determines whether an reference smoothing process is performed and which filter (e.g., smoothing filter) is used.; [0096], If minDistVerHor is greater than intraHorVerDistThres[nTbS], filterFlag is set equal to 1. Note: greater than a predetermined threshold.).
Regarding Claim 8, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the current block has a block size that is less than a predetermined threshold ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples to produce filtered reference samples; [0126], video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode, EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag, block size; [0083], When performing intra prediction, given the intra prediction mode index (predModeIntra) and block size (nTbS), video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 determines whether an reference smoothing process is performed and which filter (e.g., smoothing filter) is used; [0089], If one or more of the following conditions are true, filterFlag is set equal to 0; [0094], The variable intraHorVerDistThres[nTbS] is specified in Table 8-3; [0095], The variable filterFlag is derived as follows: [0096], If minDistVerHor is greater than intraHorVerDistThres[nTbS], filterFlag is set equal to 1.; [0097], Otherwise, filterFlag is set equal to 0; Note: less than a predetermined threshold.).
Regarding Claim 9, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when an intra prediction mode for the intra prediction meets one or more criteria ([0126], when MDIS is used, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples; [0128], When performing intra prediction, given the prediction sample location, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to determine that one filter from the determined subset of filters for the particular intra prediction mode is applied to the intra reference samples to generate the intra prediction sample value ... for planar mode, the top-right and bottom left reference sample of a block of video data may be filtered with a different filter than was applied to the top reference sample and the left reference sample; [0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data.).
Regarding Claim 10, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria comprise a criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a direct current (DC) mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode and 33 angular modes [not a direct current (DC) mode]. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
Regarding Claim 11, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria comprise a criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a planar mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode [not a planar mode] and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
Regarding Claim 12, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria comprise a first criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a planar mode, and a second criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a DC mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
Regarding Claim 13, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria comprise a first criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a pure vertical mode, and a second criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a pure horizontal mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks; [0080], For each given angular intra prediction direction, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may identify an intra prediction direction with an index, for example, as shown in FIG. 4. For example, intra prediction mode 10 corresponds to a pure horizontal prediction direction, and intra prediction mode 26 corresponds to a pure vertical prediction direction.).
Regarding Claim 14, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria comprise a first criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a pure vertical mode or adjacent mode, and a second criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a pure horizontal mode or adjacent mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks; [0080], For each given angular intra prediction direction, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may identify an intra prediction direction with an index, for example, as shown in FIG. 4. For example, intra prediction mode 10 corresponds to a pure horizontal prediction direction, and intra prediction mode 26 corresponds to a pure vertical prediction direction; [0197], Video decoder 30 may further determine reference samples of the current block of video data based on the intra prediction mode (1304), and determine filter coefficients for a bilateral filter based on a distance between the reference samples and neighboring reference samples [adjacent mode] and based on a sample value difference between the reference samples and the neighboring reference samples (1306).).
Regarding Claim 15, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the one or more criteria comprise a criterion that the intra prediction mode is not an angular mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode [not an angular mode] and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
Regarding Claim 16, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when a PDPC process is not applied for the current block ([0125], video decoder 30 may be configured to use MDIS or another intra reference sample filtering method when the NSST index is o (i.e., no secondary transform is used) and the PDPC mode flag is 0 (PDPC is not applied); [0083], video decoder 30 may be configured to filter the neighboring reference samples using a 2-Tap bilateral or 3-Tap (1,2,1)/4 filter. Such filtering processes may be referred to as intra reference smoothing or mode-dependent intra smoothing (MDIS); [0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data.).
Regarding Claim 18, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein applying the bilateral filter for the current block comprises applying the bilateral filter for only a subset of samples within the current block ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks. In other examples, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to ... reference sample location, prediction sample position, and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks; [0150], in planar mode, for different prediction sample locations, different reference samples may be used to generate the prediction samples. In one example, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may generate the top-left prediction sample, using the reference sample TL, above reference sample rx,-1, and the left reference sample r-1,y.).
Regarding Claim 19, Karczewicz teaches a method of video encoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors ([0007], a method of encoding video data including receiving a current block of video data; [0013], a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, causes one or more processors of a device configured to encode video data.), the method comprising:
receiving video data comprising a current picture that includes plurality of blocks, the plurality of blocks including a current block ([0052], video encoder 20 may encode CUs of a picture of the video data. In some codecs, as part of encoding a CU, video encoder 20 may partition a coding block of the CU into one or more prediction blocks; [0011], an apparatus configured to encode video data, the apparatus including means for receiving a current block of video data.);
encoding the current block by applying an intra prediction to the current block ([0011], an apparatus configured to encode video data, the apparatus including means for receiving a current block of video data, means for determining an intra prediction mode for the current block of video data ... means for encoding the residual video data as an encoded block of video data; [0054], A video coder, such as video encoder 20 ... may perform intra prediction using an intra prediction mode selected from a plurality of available intra prediction modes.);
signaling the current block in a video bitstream ([0011], an apparatus configured to encode video data, the apparatus including means for receiving a current block of video data ... means for encoding the residual video data as an encoded block of video data; [0048], Video encoder 20 may include, in a bitstream, an encoded representation of the video block; [0133], video encoder 20 may be configured to signal the parameters in the equation above (e.g., a, 00 and al) in high-level syntax elements in the encoded video bitstream, including but not limited to a video parameter set (VPS), a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), and/or a slice header.); and
signaling whether to apply a bilateral filter for the current block in the video bitstream ([0011], an apparatus configured to encode video data, the apparatus including means for receiving a current block of video data ... means for encoding the residual video data as an encoded block of video data; [0048], Video encoder 20 may include, in a bitstream, an encoded representation of the video block; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks. In other examples, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/ flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
Regarding Claim 20, Karczewicz teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method ([0009], an apparatus configured to encode video data, the apparatus including a memory configured to store a current block of video data ... and encode the residual video data as an encoded block of video data; ; [0048], Video encoder 20 may include, in a bitstream, an encoded representation of the video block.), the video encoding method comprising:
receiving video data comprising a current picture that includes plurality of blocks, the plurality of blocks including a current block ([0052], video encoder 20 may encode CUs of a picture of the video data. In some codecs, as part of encoding a CU, video encoder 20 may partition a coding block of the CU into one or more prediction blocks; [0011], an apparatus configured to encode video data, the apparatus including means for receiving a current block of video data.); and
encoding the current block by applying an intra prediction to the current block ([0011], an apparatus configured to encode video data, the apparatus including means for receiving a current block of video data, means for determining an intra prediction mode for the current block of video data ... means for encoding the residual video data as an encoded block of video data; [0054], A video coder, such as video encoder 20 ... may perform intra prediction using an intra prediction mode selected from a plurality of available intra prediction modes.); and
wherein the video bitstream comprises encoded information for the current block and an indicator indicating whether to apply a bilateral filter to the encoded information for the current block ([0011], an apparatus configured to encode video data, the apparatus including means for receiving a current block of video data ... means for encoding the residual video data as an encoded block of video data; [0048], Video encoder 20 may include, in a bitstream, an encoded representation of the video block; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks. In other examples, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marta Karczewicz (US 20180324417 A1) (hereinafter Karczewicz) in view of Geonjung Ko (US 20210289197 A1) (hereinafter Ko):
Regarding Claim 17, Karczewicz teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks; [0145], In some examples, multiple reference lines (e.g., multiple rows or columns of sample values) may be filtered by the bilateral or non-local bilateral filter.).
Karczewicz does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Ko teaches wherein a single reference line is used for the intra prediction ([0088], As shown in FIG. 5, the size of the current block is WxH and samples of a single reference line adjacent to the current block are used for intra prediction.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video encoding and video decoding method as disclosed by Karczewicz to the teachings of Ko as disclosed above to improve the coding efficiency (Ko [0059]).
Conclusion
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486