DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/07/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-24 are pending in this application.
Claims 1, 9, 16- 17, and 19 have been amended. Claims 2, 5, 18, and 20 are cancelled. Claims 21- 24 have been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6- 15, 19, and 21- 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Zhang (US 20190320171 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) further in view of Marta Karczewicz (US 20180324417 A1) (hereinafter Karczewicz):
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang teaches A method of video decoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors (video encoding and decoding method on a computing system with memory and processor [0150],[0157]), the method comprising
receiving a video bitstream (receiving the video bitstream [0037]) comprising a current picture that includes plurality of blocks, the plurality of blocks including a current block (the bitstream includes plurality of blocks including the current block [0042]);
identifying an intra prediction mode for the current block(the decoder determines the inter prediction mode for the current block [0146]; [0156]);
deriving a set of intra prediction samples for the current block by performing an intra prediction for the current block (generating intra prediction block for the current block [0119]; [0146]; [0046]. Note: the prediction block is the prediction samples);
reconstructing the current block using the refined set of intra prediction samples (reconstructing the current block using the filter prediction block [0148]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Karczewicz teaches deriving a refined set of intra prediction samples by applying a bilateral filter to the set of intra prediction samples for the current block (applying the bilateral filter to the samples [0006]; [0007]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 1. Karczewicz further teaches wherein performing the intra prediction comprises applying a position dependent prediction combination (PDPC) technique ([0125], video decoder 30 may be configured to determine to use MDIS or another intra reference sample filtering method for intra prediction based on combinations of already coded information or the usage of existing coding tools, including but not limited to: EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 4 , Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 3. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied after performing the PDPC technique ([0136], video decoder 30 may be configured to use the bilateral filter described above to generate the reference samples and replaces the unfiltered/filtered reference samples applied in PDPC mode.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 1. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the current block has a block size that meets one or more criteria ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples to produce filtered reference samples; [0126], video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode, EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag, block size; [0152], video decoder 30 may be configured to derive the planar mode prediction filters applied on a block having a first particular block size using the planar prediction filter applied on different block having a different block size.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 6. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the current block has a block size that is greater than a predetermined threshold ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples to produce filtered reference samples; [0126], video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode, EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag, block size; [0083], When performing intra prediction, given the intra prediction mode index (predModeIntra) and block size (nTbS), video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 determines whether an reference smoothing process is performed and which filter (e.g., smoothing filter) is used.; [0096], If minDistVerHor is greater than intraHorVerDistThres[nTbS], filterFlag is set equal to 1. Note: greater than a predetermined threshold.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 6. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the current block has a block size that is less than a predetermined threshold ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples to produce filtered reference samples; [0126], video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode, EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag, block size; [0083], When performing intra prediction, given the intra prediction mode index (predModeIntra) and block size (nTbS), video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 determines whether an reference smoothing process is performed and which filter (e.g., smoothing filter) is used; [0089], If one or more of the following conditions are true, filterFlag is set equal to 0; [0094], The variable intraHorVerDistThres[nTbS] is specified in Table 8-3; [0095], The variable filterFlag is derived as follows: [0096], If minDistVerHor is greater than intraHorVerDistThres[nTbS], filterFlag is set equal to 1.; [0097], Otherwise, filterFlag is set equal to 0; Note: less than a predetermined threshold.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 1. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the intra prediction mode for the intra prediction meets one or more criteria ([0126], when MDIS is used, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples; [0128], When performing intra prediction, given the prediction sample location, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to determine that one filter from the determined subset of filters for the particular intra prediction mode is applied to the intra reference samples to generate the intra prediction sample value ... for planar mode, the top-right and bottom left reference sample of a block of video data may be filtered with a different filter than was applied to the top reference sample and the left reference sample; [0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 9. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the one or more criteria comprise a criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a direct current (DC) mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode and 33 angular modes [not a direct current (DC) mode]. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 9. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the one or more criteria comprise a criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a planar mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode [not a planar mode] and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 9. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the one or more criteria comprise a first criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a planar mode, and a second criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a DC mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 9. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the one or more criteria comprise a first criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a pure vertical mode, and a second criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a pure horizontal mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks; [0080], For each given angular intra prediction direction, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may identify an intra prediction direction with an index, for example, as shown in FIG. 4. For example, intra prediction mode 10 corresponds to a pure horizontal prediction direction, and intra prediction mode 26 corresponds to a pure vertical prediction direction.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 9. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the one or more criteria comprise a first criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a pure vertical mode or adjacent mode, and a second criterion that the intra prediction mode is not a pure horizontal mode or adjacent mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks; [0080], For each given angular intra prediction direction, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may identify an intra prediction direction with an index, for example, as shown in FIG. 4. For example, intra prediction mode 10 corresponds to a pure horizontal prediction direction, and intra prediction mode 26 corresponds to a pure vertical prediction direction; [0197], Video decoder 30 may further determine reference samples of the current block of video data based on the intra prediction mode (1304), and determine filter coefficients for a bilateral filter based on a distance between the reference samples and neighboring reference samples [adjacent mode] and based on a sample value difference between the reference samples and the neighboring reference samples (1306).).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 9. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the one or more criteria comprise a criterion that the intra prediction mode is not an angular mode ([0077], FIG. 4 is a conceptual diagram showing an example of 35 intra prediction modes 209 defined in HEVC. In HEVC, a luma block may be predicted using one of 35 intra prediction modes, including the planar mode, the DC mode [not an angular mode] and 33 angular modes. The 35 modes of the intra prediction defined in HEVC are indexed as shown in Table 1 below; [0134], The parameters used in the bilateral filter may be signaled or derived for each block, or for a group of selected blocks; video decoder 30 may be configured to determine the parameters based on coded information, including but not limited to intra prediction mode, indices/flags used for other coding tools ... and/or bilateral filter parameters used in spatial/temporal neighboring blocks.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang teaches a method of video encoding performed at a computing system having memory and one or more processors (video encoding and decoding method on a computing system with memory and processor [0028]; [0030]; [0150]; [0157]), the method comprising
receiving video data comprising a current picture that includes plurality of blocks, the plurality of blocks including a current block ( receiving a picture of video data comprising blocks and includes the current block [0113]; [0116] [0042]; [0037]);
identifying an intra prediction mode for the current block(determining the inter prediction mode for the current block [0050]; [0117]; [0146]; [0156]);
deriving a set of intra prediction samples for the current block by performing an intra prediction for the current block (generating intra prediction block for the current block [0119]; [0146]; [0046]. Note: the prediction block is the prediction samples);
encoding the current block in accordance with the refined set of intra prediction samples ( encoding the block by computing the residual from the filter prediction block [0095]; [0125]); and
signaling the current block in a video bitstream (signaling the block to the video bitstream [0130]- [0131]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Karczewicz teaches deriving a refined set of intra prediction samples by applying a bilateral filter to the set of intra prediction samples for the current block (applying the bilateral filter to the samples [0006]; [0007]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 21, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 19. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the intra prediction mode for the intra prediction meets one or more criteria ([0126], when MDIS is used, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples; [0128], When performing intra prediction, given the prediction sample location, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to determine that one filter from the determined subset of filters for the particular intra prediction mode is applied to the intra reference samples to generate the intra prediction sample value ... for planar mode, the top-right and bottom left reference sample of a block of video data may be filtered with a different filter than was applied to the top reference sample and the left reference sample; [0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 22, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 19. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the current block has a block size that meets one or more criteria ([0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples to produce filtered reference samples; [0126], video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode, EMT flag, EMT index, NSST index, PDPC flag, block size; [0152], video decoder 30 may be configured to derive the planar mode prediction filters applied on a block having a first particular block size using the planar prediction filter applied on different block having a different block size.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 23, Zhang teaches non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more instructions (instructions on non-transitory medium[0039]) and a video bitstream that is generated by a video encoding method (generating the bitstream by the encoder [0030]), the one or more instructions when executed by a processor, cause a computing system to perform the video encoding method (instructions executed by the processor and performs the coding method [0028]; [0030]; [0039] [0150]; [0157]), the video encoding method comprising:
identifying an intra prediction mode for a current block of video data (determining the inter prediction mode for the current block [0050]; [0117]; [0146]; [0156]);
deriving a set of intra prediction samples for the current block by performing an intra prediction for the current block (generating intra prediction block for the current block [0119]; [0146]; [0046]. Note: the prediction block is the prediction samples);
encoding the current block in accordance with the refined set of intra prediction samples ( encoding the block by computing the residual from the filter prediction block [0095]; [0125]); and
transmitting the video bitstream, wherein the video bitstream comprises the encoded current block (outputting and transmitting the bitstream containing the encoded block [0030]; [0131]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Karczewicz teaches deriving a refined set of intra prediction samples by applying a bilateral filter to the set of intra prediction samples for the current block (applying the bilateral filter to the samples [0006]; [0007]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Regarding Claim 24, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 23. Karczewicz further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied for the current block when the intra prediction mode for the intra prediction meets one or more criteria ([0126], when MDIS is used, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may determine which intra reference smoothing filter (e.g., the values of the filter coefficients and the number of filter taps) is applied for intra prediction based on already coded information, including but not limited to: intra prediction mode; [0012], a device configured to decode video data to receive the current block of video data encoded using an intra prediction mode ... apply the bilateral filter with the determined filter coefficients to the determined reference samples; [0128], When performing intra prediction, given the prediction sample location, video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to determine that one filter from the determined subset of filters for the particular intra prediction mode is applied to the intra reference samples to generate the intra prediction sample value ... for planar mode, the top-right and bottom left reference sample of a block of video data may be filtered with a different filter than was applied to the top reference sample and the left reference sample; [0130], video decoder 30 may be configured to apply a bilateral filter to intra prediction reference samples from previously decoded blocks ... prediction values obtained from the filtered intra prediction reference samples may be added to the residual data to recover the samples values for the current block of video data.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz above to increase coding efficiency (Karczewicz [0117]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Zhang (US 20190320171 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) in view of Marta Karczewicz (US 20180324417 A1) (hereinafter Karczewicz) further in view of Geert Van der Auwera (US 20190306513 A1) (hereinafter Auwera):
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied to the set of intra prediction samples(applying the bilateral filter to the set of intra samples [0147]; [0101]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Auwera teaches when a PDPC process is not applied for the current block (the PDPC is turned off for the current block and uses the normal intra prediction [0119]).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz to further add the enabling and disabling PDPC as disclosed by Auwera above to improve the performance of video coding (Auwera [0031]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li Zhang (US 20190320171 A1) (hereinafter Zhang) in view of Marta Karczewicz (US 20180324417 A1) (hereinafter Karczewicz) further in view of Geonjung Ko (US 20210289197 A1) (hereinafter Ko):
Regarding Claim 17, Zhang in view of Karczewicz teach the method of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the bilateral filter is applied to the set of intra prediction samples(applying the bilateral filter to the set of intra samples [0147]; [0101]).
Zhang does not explicitly teach the following limitations; however, in an analogous art, Ko teaches wherein a single reference line is used for the intra prediction ([0088], As shown in FIG. 5, the size of the current block is WxH and samples of a single reference line adjacent to the current block are used for intra prediction.).
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the video coding data method as disclosed by Zhang to add the applying of bilateral filter to the samples as disclosed by Karczewicz to further add the prediction in view of the reference line as disclosed by Ko above to improve the coding efficiency (Ko [0059]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHMOUD KAMAL ABOUZAHRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2486
/JAMIE J ATALA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2486