Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remark entered on April 20, 2026.
Claim 1-19 & 21 pending in the instant application.
Claims 1-3, 5 & 17-19 are amended.
Claim 20 is cancelled.
Claim 21 is newly added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 04/20/2026, pages 8-9, regarding the rejection of claim 1, and similarly claim 17 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered, and are moot upon further consideration and a new ground(s) of rejection made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2019/0306526 A1) (hereinafter Cho) in view of He et al. (US 2021/0029378 A1) (hereinafter He), further in view of Lee (US 2019/0238880 A1) (hereinafter Lee), and further in view of Zheng et al. (US 2012/0230392 A1) (hereinafter Zheng) as outlined below.
In response to Applicant’s remark that Examiner’s previously-cited references do not show the Applicant’s newly-recited claim limitations, the Examiner directs Applicant’s attention to the rejection of claim 1 & 17 below, wherein Applicant’s newly-recited limitations are addressed by Lee for the reasons as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 17 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al. (US 2019/0306526 A1) (hereinafter Cho) in view of He et al. (US 2021/0029378 A1) (hereinafter He), further in view of Lee (US 2019/0238880 A1) (hereinafter Lee), and further in view of Zheng et al. (US 2012/0230392 A1) (hereinafter Zheng).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a method of video decoding [Paragraph [0246], Fig. 2, decoding], comprising:
receiving a coded video bitstream comprising coded information of a current block in a current picture [Paragraph [0249]-[0253], Fig. 2, decoding apparatus receives bitstream output];
determining that the coded information indicates an inter prediction of the current block with at least a first reference picture and a second reference picture [Paragraph [0249]-[0253] & [0396], Fig. 2, decoding apparatus receives bitstream output, including on inter mode for prediction mode using bi-prediction];
determining to apply a uni-directional optical flow (UDOF) on at least a sample in the current block; deriving an optical flow motion vector that refines a motion vector of the sample [Paragraph [0755]-[0758], Optical flow generated through deep learning as UDOF]; and
reconstructing at least the sample based on the optical flow motion vector [Paragraph [0755]-[0758] & [0778], Also, extrapolation that generates a frame disposed to the left or right of two frames may be performed using the two frames and the optical flow, and reconstructing frames].
However, Cho does not explicitly disclose the optical flow motion vector being derived based on the first reference picture and the second reference picture.
He teaches of the optical flow motion vector being derived based on the first reference picture and the second reference picture [Paragraph [0084]-[0092], Bi-directional optical flow, referencing two pictures].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Cho to add the teachings of He as above, to improve coding performance and refinement (He, Paragraph [0003]-[0004] & [0079]).
Then, Cho and He do not explicitly disclose the optical flow motion vector being derived based on a brightness constancy of the sample and corresponding samples in the first reference picture and the second reference picture.
Lee teaches of the optical flow motion vector being derived based on a brightness constancy of the sample and corresponding samples in the first reference picture and the second reference picture [Paragraph [0240]-[0250], Assuming that an object moves at steady speed for a short time in addition to the condition of an optical flow (brightness constancy constraint (BCC)), when bi-directional reference pictures are present with reference to a current picture as in FIG. 7, motion vectors at a position A and a position B may be represented as the same symmetrical value].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Cho to add the teachings of Lee as above, to improve predictor without the transmission of additional information using an optical flow (Lee, Paragraph [0006]-[0016] & [0240]).
Lastly, Cho, He, and Lee do not explicitly disclose inter prediction of the current block with at least a first reference picture and a second reference picture that are both on a same side of the current picture in a display order.
Zheng teaches of inter prediction of the current block with at least a first reference picture and a second reference picture that are both on a same side of the current picture in a display order [Paragraph [0094], Fig. 10, In this example, a first motion vector (mv0) and a second motion vector (mv1) point to data associated with a same predictive frame (i.e., that of a previous frame). ].
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Cho to add the teachings of Zheng as above, by defining an additional MVP candidate for the second motion vector of a bi-predictive video block, improved compression may be achieved (Zheng, Abstract).
Regarding claim 17, method claim 17 recites limitations similar and reciprocal to the method of decoding as claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 17 corresponds to method claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Regarding claim 21, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 21 recites limitations similar to the method of decoding as claimed in claim 1. Therefore non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claim 21 corresponds to method claim 1, and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-16, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The various claimed limitations mentioned in the claims are not taught or suggested by the prior art taken either singly or in combination, with emphasize that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements make them allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487